输入搜索

反战 亚太

澳大利亚是否应该考虑使用核武器?

在核武器系统评估计划模拟战斗任务期间,在犹他州测试和训练范围内的非武装AGM-86B空射巡航导弹在其最终目标9月22 2014上进行演习。
在核武器系统评估计划模拟战斗任务期间,在犹他州测试和训练范围内的非武装AGM-86B空射巡航导弹在其最终目标9月22 2014上进行演习。 (图片:美国空军,工作人员中士Roidan Carlson)

“澳大利亚的战略形势发生了巨大转变。”

澳大利亚前国防部高级官员和情报分析师的新书敦促澳大利亚考虑发展核武库,以对抗中国在太平洋地区崛起的大国。

这本书的标题是 如何保卫澳大利亚怀特·怀特教授称,澳大利亚的无核武器政策不再具有相关性,并补充说,中国作为亚太地区最主要力量的地位意味着澳大利亚不能再依赖美国或英国的安全。

怀特还写道,堪培拉应该增加其国防预算(从GDP的2%增加到3%) 中国继续增加自己的军费开支.

“澳大利亚的战略形势正在发生巨大转变。 自欧洲定居澳大利亚以来,我们再也不能假设我们将拥有像英国或美国这样强大的军事盟友作为太平洋地区的主导军事力量,“怀特告诉我们 9News.com。

然而,该教授认识到,如果澳大利亚要增加军费,例如削减教育或医疗补贴,就需要进行一些调整。

怀特还告诉9News,澳大利亚需要改变其国防开支,专注于创建更大的军事力量。 他说,法国设计的价值12亿的50潜艇的开发项目应该停止并由24低成本船只取代,同时也警告说澳大利亚空军需要购买超过目前72 F-35联合攻击战斗机的两倍以上(JSF)保卫国家免受空袭和海上袭击。

“JSF在我们的防守中起着至关重要的作用。 但我认为我们需要更大的前线战斗机机队。 而不是100战士的全部力量,我们可能需要在200附近,“怀特说。

国防部长怠慢核澳大利亚

国防分析师告诉9News,他希望他的书能引发政府关于国防的重要作用的辩论,并补充说澳大利亚的主要政党(工党和保守党)没有认真对待这个问题。

在他的书中,怀特认为美国的力量在减弱,因此强调澳大利亚政治家应该不再认为美国是亚太地区的主导力量,因为他们需要就如何在不依赖美国力量的情况下保护国家进行辩论。

澳大利亚国防部长琳达雷诺兹忽视怀特的建议,即该国应该发展核武库,并补充称澳大利亚致力于其在新西兰国家石油公司签署的“不扩散条约”(NPT)。

“澳大利亚支持其作为无核武器国家的”不扩散条约“承诺,不承认或发展核武器,”雷诺兹告诉 悉尼先驱晨报。

关于核澳大利亚的两项提案

格里菲斯亚洲研究所的防务专家彼得莱顿同意怀特对澳大利亚需要核武器的评估 在洛伊研究所的一篇文章中。 与怀特一样,莱顿认为,中国在有争议的南海和朝鲜因素中的军事存在是澳大利亚核立场发生变化的原因。 但是,由于澳大利亚是“不扩散核武器条约”的签署国,发展核武器的成本很高,这样的计划将面临障碍。

莱顿提出了两个可能的解决方案:首先,澳大利亚可以与美国共享核武器(德国,荷兰,意大利,比利时和土耳其已经与美国共享此类武器)。 这项安排涉及一个双重关键系统,但美国保留最终决定权。 Layton发出警告,虽然这是一个负担得起的选择,但它仍有风险,因为它仍然依赖于美国提供最终发言权,它仍然意味着澳大利亚需要获得能够向中国发动核打击的远程系统。

莱顿的第二个建议是澳大利亚和英国共同开发无畏级核潜艇。

“Dreadnoughts将很难找到,高度生存,能够对任何规模或复杂的对手造成巨大伤害。 第一次无畏舰的首次巡逻是为2028计划的。

“英国发现为Dreadnoughts提供资金的成本非常困难。 英国国防开支无法真正为常规和核力量提供资金。 因此,前者正面临着为后者提供资金的大幅削减,皇家海军陆战队和相关的两栖舰船可能会出现近期伤亡,“ 莱顿为洛伊研究所写道.

其他人认为网络安全应成为澳大利亚的焦点

在回应怀特的最新一本书时,前陆军总司令彼得莱希和高级分析师罗里·梅德卡尔夫认为,澳大利亚的核防御计划风险太大,并增加了核武器失控的威胁。

莱希告诉悉尼先驱晨报 更多核装备国家“造成更多风险:怀疑的风险,首次使用的风险,武器被扣押或落入非国家行为者控制之下的风险”。

虽然Medcalf告诉先驱报,澳大利亚应该专注于网络安全。

“澳大利亚需要保持其军事能力。 但它应该更加注重加强网络安全,因为它比传统的罢工更​​具危险性。

“澳大利亚有能力成为一个主要的网络力量。 如果一个主要国家试图威胁我们,为什么它会选择像入侵这样的东西,当21世纪这个聪明的事情要摧毁我们的关键基础设施并以这种方式实现政治投入时, Medcalf告诉先驱报。

澳大利亚战略政策研究所的国际网络政策中心(ICPC)于7月1日星期一发布了一份报告,该报告显示澳大利亚关键的政府基础设施面临着网络攻击的严重风险。

该机构还报告了澳大利亚基础设施提供商的缺点,例如对运营系统风险和解决方案的了解不足。

“在接下来的几年里,我们可以看到物联网,5G和一系列新功能的重大发展,这意味着我们将开始连接这些系统并使它们更有用和更有价值报告作者Rajiv Shah说:“但也更容易被黑客攻击。” 政府新闻。

在2017,澳大利亚推出了一个关键基础设施中心,该中心“适用于所有级别的政府,并与业主和运营商一起识别和管理澳大利亚关键基础设施的风险”,正如他们的网站所述。

然而,Shah向政府新闻解释说,虽然澳大利亚的框架已经到位,以防止网络安全攻击,但他们的资源不足。

“他们需要做的是获取资源,以确保我们的关键基础设施提供商了解这些问题,”Shah说。

“这真的是要走在前面。 互联网的历史表明,我们倾向于做一些事情,然后研究如何保护它。 我们现在需要做的工作。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

2评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 7, 2019

    如果我正确理解世界历史 - 而且我认为我这样做 - 军备竞赛就是战争的序曲。 我想知道中国对澳大利亚的威胁究竟是什么。 实际上有可能摧毁澳大利亚 - 全球变暖,这在澳大利亚相当于过热 - 已经走了很长一段路,不是吗?

    回复
    1. 抢劫 July 18, 2019

      没有。人为的气候变化是一个完整的神话!

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANTI WAR ASIA/PACIFIC

Could it be Time for Australia to Consider Nuclear Weapons?

An unarmed AGM-86B air-launched cruise missile maneuvers over the Utah Test and Training Range enroute to its final target Sept. 22, 2014, during a Nuclear Weapons System Evaluation Program simulated combat mission.
An unarmed AGM-86B air-launched cruise missile maneuvers over the Utah Test and Training Range enroute to its final target Sept. 22, 2014, during a Nuclear Weapons System Evaluation Program simulated combat mission. (Photo: U.S. Air Force, Staff Sgt. Roidan Carlson)

“There’s a massive shift in Australia’s strategic situation taking place.”

A new book by a former top Australian Defence Department official and intelligence analyst urges Australia to consider developing a nuclear arsenal to counter China’s rising power in the Pacific.

The book titled How to Defend Australia, by professor Hugh White, claims Australia’s non-nuclear weapon policy is no longer relevant, adding that China’s position as the most dominant power in the Asia Pacific region means Australia can no longer rely on U.S. or U.K. for security.

White also writes that Canberra should increase its defense budget (from two percent of GDP to three percent), given China continues to boost its own military spending.

“There’s a massive shift in Australia’s strategic situation taking place. For the first time since European settlement of Australia, we no longer can assume that we’ll have a strong military ally such as Britain or America as the dominant military power in the Pacific,” as White told 9News.com.

However, the professor recognized that there would be some adjustments needed if Australia were to boost its military expenditure, such as cuts in subsidies for education or health.

White also told 9News that Australia needed to alter its defense spending to focus on creating larger military forces. He said the development project of 12 submarines worth $50 billion designed by France should be stopped and replaced by 24 low-cost vessels, while also warning that the Australia Air Force needs to buy more than double the current 72 F-35 Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) to defend the country from air and sea strikes.

“The JSF plays a vital role in our defense. But I think we’re going to need a larger frontline fighter fleet. Instead of the total force of 100 fighters, we’ll probably need somewhere around 200,” White said.

Defense Secretary Snubs a Nuclear Australia

The defense analyst told 9News that he hoped his book will spark a debate in the government about the vital role of national defense, adding that Australia’s main political parties (Labour and Conservative) have not taken the issue seriously.

In his book, White argues U.S. power is waning and thus, stressed that Australian politicians should stop thinking that the U.S. is the dominant power in the Asia Pacific as they need a debate about how to protect the nation without relying on U.S. power.

Australia’s Defense Minister Linda Reynolds ignored White’s suggestion that the country should develop nuclear arsenals, adding that Australia is committed to the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) which it signed in 1970.

“Australia stands by its Non-Proliferation Treaty pledge, as a non-nuclear weapon state, not to acquire or develop nuclear weapons,” Reynolds told the Sydney Morning Herald.

Two Proposals for a Nuclear Australia

Peter Layton, a defense expert at the Griffith Asia Institute, concurred with White’s assessment that Australia needs to go nuclear in an article for the Lowy Institute. Like White, Layton argued that China’s military presence in the contested South China Sea and the North Korean factor were reasons for the change in Australia’s nuclear stance. However, such a plan would face obstacles as Australia is a signatory of the NPT and the costs to develop nuclear weapons are high.

Layton proposed two potential solutions: First, Australia could share nuclear weapons with the U.S. (Germany, Holland, Italy, Belgium and Turkey already share such weapons with the U.S.). The arrangement involves a dual-key system, but the U.S. retains final say. Layton warns while this is an affordable option it is risky as it still relies on the U.S. providing final say and it still means Australia would need to obtain a long-range system capable of delivering a nuclear strike to China.

Layton’s second suggestion is that Australia and the U.K. share the development of Dreadnought-class nuclear submarines.

“The Dreadnoughts will be very hard to find, highly survivable and able to inflict enormous damage on adversaries of any size or sophistication. The first Dreadnought’s maiden patrol is planned for 2028.

“The U.K. is finding the cost of funding the Dreadnoughts very difficult. British defense spending cannot really fund both a conventional and a nuclear force. As such, the former is facing deep cuts to finance the latter, with the Royal Marines and associated amphibious ships possible near-term causalities,” Layton wrote for the Lowy Institute.

Others Argue Cyber Security Should be Australia’s Focus

In response to White’s latest book, former army chief Peter Leahy and senior analyst Rory Medcalf argued that an Australian plan to arm with a nuclear defense is too risky, and increases the threat of nuclear weapons getting out of control.

Leahy told the Sydney Morning Herald that more nuclear-equipped countries “creates more risk: risk of suspicion, risk of first use, risk of the weapons being seized or falling under the control of non-state actors.”

While Medcalf told the Herald that Australia should instead focus on cybersecurity.

“Australia needs to maintain its military capability. But it should more focus on strengthening cybersecurity as it poses more danger than conventional strike.

“Australia has the capacity to be a major cyber power. If a major country was trying to threaten us, why would it opt for something like an invasion when the smart, 21st-century thing to do would be to cripple our critical infrastructure and achieve political submission that way,” Medcalf told the Herald.

The Australian Strategic Policy Institute’s International Cyber Policy Centre (ICPC) released a report on Monday, July 1, which revealed that Australia’s crucial government infrastructure is at critical risk of a cyber attack.

The institution also reported on the shortcomings of Australia’s infrastructure providers, such as inadequate knowledge about operational system risks and solutions.

“Over the next couple of years we can see a lot of significant development with the Internet of Things, 5G, and a range of new capabilities coming along that will mean we’ll start connecting these systems up and making them much more useful and valuable, but also much more liable to hacking,” Report author Rajiv Shah told Government News.

In 2017, Australia launched a Critical Infrastructure Center which “works across all levels of government, and with owners and operators to identify and manage the risks to Australia’s critical infrastructure,” as their website states.

However, Shah explained to Government News that while Australia’s framework is in place to safeguard against cybersecurity attacks they are under-resourced.

“What they need to be doing is getting the resources to make sure our critical infrastructure providers are aware of the issues,” Shah said.

“It’s really about getting ahead of the curve. The history of the internet shows that we tend to do something and then work out how to secure it later. We need to do the work now.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

2 Comments

  1. Larry Stout July 7, 2019

    If I understand world history correctly — and I think I do — an arms race is an overture to war. I wonder exactly what threat China poses to Australia. What actually threatens to destroy Australia — global warming, which in Australia amounts to superheating — has already gone a long way toward that end, hasn’t it?

    Reply
    1. Rob July 18, 2019

      No. Man-made climate change is a total myth!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.