输入搜索

非洲 分析 TRENDING-AFRICA

飓风伊达摧毁了莫桑比克,因为国家在债务危机中挣扎

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,后果,15-16 March 2019(Denis Onyodi:IFRC / DRK / Climate Center)
Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,后果,15-16 March 2019(Denis Onyodi:IFRC / DRK / Climate Center)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

贝拉“将成为历史上第一个被气候变化彻底摧毁的城市,”莫桑比克的前第一夫人说,这是飓风艾达的毁灭。

尽管是联合国 描述 飓风艾达是南半球有史以来最严重的自然灾害之一,危机的全面规模及其破坏性的媒体报道相对较少。

3月初,飓风首先袭击了莫桑比克和沿海非洲,但它却反弹回海,直接返回莫桑比克第四大城市贝拉。 在那里,已经确认了第一批霍乱病例和国际红十字会联合会 (IFRC)估计贝拉的90百分比被摧毁。

莫桑比克前第一夫人和人道主义GraçaMachel 说过 贝拉“将成为历史上第一个被气候变化彻底摧毁的城市。”自从14三月袭击莫桑比克海岸以来,飓风的死亡人数已经减少。 达到了超过750一些莫桑比克环境部长Celso Correia称之为初步调查。

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,后果,15-16 March 2019(Denis Onyodi:IFRC / DRK / Climate Center)

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,后果,15-16 March 2019(Denis Onyodi:IFRC / DRK / Climate Center)

贝拉人口约为500,000,是一个人口 关键贸易港口 在向邻国分发燃料的地区。 该市市长Daviz Samongo与世界银行合作,建立了一个广泛的排水渠和保水池系统,为海平面上升做好准备。 这个价值120百万美元的项目成功地处理了最近的洪水事件,但与150 Cyclone Idai类别的4-mile-per-hour winds无法匹敌。

“很明显,我们有一个旋风类别4,它非常脆弱,”世界银行高级城市专家Michel Matera告诉 美联社。 “是的,我们做的是正确的,但这还不够。”对该地区的原始破坏进一步恶化是在贝拉的一个贫困社区Munhava的霍乱新证实。

莫桑比克全国医疗援助主任Ussene Essi对霍乱调查结果发表评论说:“我们做了 实验室测试 并且可以证实这五个人的霍乱检测呈阳性。 它会传播。 当你有一个案例时,你不得不期待社区中有更多的案例。“

是第二次灾难来到莫桑比克?

世界卫生组织有 警告 如果像霍乱这样的水传播疾病在该地区蔓延,那么“第二次灾难”的可能性 世界卫生组织正准备从全球库存向南部非洲发送900,000剂量的口服霍乱疫苗,预计将在本周晚些时候发送。

贝拉无国界医生组织紧急协调员Gert Verdonck与 监护人 关于当地的情况。 “飓风严重破坏了该市的供水系统,导致许多人无法获得干净的饮用水。 这意味着他们别无选择,只能从受污染的水井中饮用。 有些人甚至在路边喝着积水。 当然,这会导致患腹泻的患者增加。 过去几天,无国界医生支持的健康中心已有数百名患者出现急性水样腹泻。

现在是联合国世界粮食计划署 考虑 莫桑比克是全球最受关注的问题之一,与也门,叙利亚和南苏丹等国家一样,估计约有一百万人受到影响,其中近一半是儿童。 国内冲突,严重的债务危机以及激烈的圣战恐怖主义进一步加剧了飓风引发的问题。 这些相互交织的问题与易受气候变化影响的其他国家相似,了解它们之间的联系对于应对未来灾害至关重要。

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,贝拉撤离人员,21 March 2019(Denis Onyodi:IFRC / DRK /气候中心)Aman带着他的两个孩子从Bezi港附近的Praia Nova海滩从Buzi抵达。

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,贝拉的撤离人员,21 March 2019(Denis Onyodi:IFRC / DRK / Climate Center)
阿曼带着他的两个孩子从Bezi港附近的Praia Nova海滩的Buzi乘船。

莫桑比克腐败的历史阻碍了恢复能力

莫桑比克是葡萄牙殖民地,直到在1975获得独立。 这个南部非洲国家开始在自独立以来赢得每次选举的执政党Frelimo和Renamo之间发动16年内战,Renalo是一个反叛组织,由白人罗得西亚和南非种族隔离等外国人建立和资助,旨在防止这个新独立的国家支持他们国家的黑人游击队。

在1992签署了一项和平协议,赋予Renamo作为政党的合法性。 根据一个 外交政策调查两个政党之间的紧张局势仍然比一般报道的更为暴力,近年来政府的侵略导致数千名莫桑比克人逃往邻国马拉维。

在1992达成和平协议后,莫桑比克迅速成为全球10增长最快的经济体之一,GDP增长率平均为 8-1995一年的2015百分比。 在2010,标准银行集团表示可以发现丰富的海上天然气田 将莫桑比克变成下一个卡塔尔.

但在2016披露的消息中,该州暗中接受了2亿美元的政府担保贷款引发了金融危机。 议会从未批准秘密贷款,其披露导致国际货币基金组织,世界银行和西方国家(如英国和葡萄牙)暂停融资,以及美国司法部的调查。

至少 500 百万加元 贷款方案的遗失,确认已经花费了200百万美元用于银行家和政客的回扣和贿赂。 据称为莫桑比克有希望的海事部门(因此称为“金枪鱼债券”丑闻)的渔船提供资金的贷款是以高价出售在军用巡逻艇上的。 这些船都没有部署 旋风救济反应.

莫桑比克政府后来 提起诉讼 针对瑞士信贷在“金枪鱼债券”丑闻中扮演的角色,以及美国司法部已经起诉三名前瑞士信贷银行家。 作为司法部调查的一部分,前莫桑比克财政部长曼努埃尔·张在南非被捕,黎巴嫩商人让·布斯坦尼也是如此。 根据 “金融时报”总统菲利普·纽西(Filipe Nyusi)和他的弗雷利莫(Frelimo)党在揭露之后基本保持沉默,有证据表明该党参与了丑闻。

蒂姆琼斯,政策负责人 银禧债务运动,描述了这种情况。 “对于整个国际社会,尤其是英国政府来说,这是一个严厉的起诉书,即秘密贷款披露三年后,莫桑比克的不公正债务状况尚未得到解决。 没有迹象显示英国当局正在调查伦敦银行在危机中的作用。 过去三年未能解决莫桑比克的债务危机现在可能会阻碍重建飓风艾迪的努力。“

这些严重的经济问题将限制莫桑比克应对飓风袭击最严重地区的能力。 政府可能会被迫将其安全部队重新聚焦在富含天然气的德尔加杜角省(Cabo Delgado Province),那里的圣战组织武装分子一直在进行恐怖主义行动。

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,后果,15-16 March 2019(Denis Onyodi:IFRC / DRK / Climate Center)

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,后果,15-16 March 2019(Denis Onyodi:IFRC / DRK / Climate Center)

根据Jubilee债务运动,政府债务增长 80国家的百分比 在危机发生后的两年内遭受了严重的自然灾害。 在最容易受到气候变化影响的国家中,超过一半的国家面临着拖欠债务的高风险。 这造成了一种恶性循环,在这种恶性循环中,自然灾害摧毁了负债累累的发展中国家,使它们陷入更深的债务并抑制了它们的发展能力。

但是,极端债务不仅阻碍了救济工作,债券持有人也将其作为杠杆来抓住债务人的自然资源。 在莫桑比克,这意味着天然气。

“金融时报”莫桑比克将为债券持有人提供高达5亿美元的未来天然气收入作为其有争议债务的支付。 埃克森美孚和安达科正在计划在莫桑比克的德尔加杜角省开展大型项目,其他主要公司如卡塔尔石油公司对这项投资表示了兴趣。

Frelimo,Fossil Fuels和Jihadists

2月21,2019,圣战叛乱分子 袭击了安达科石油队的车队 在德尔加杜角(Cabo Delgado),这是该国首次针对化石燃料开发商的暴力事件。 莫桑比克的圣战叛乱使分析师感到困惑,因为武装分子对他们的动机和目标一直保持着沉默。

反对党Renamo的新总统 说过 叛乱是与国家精英争夺卡波德尔加多丰富自然资源的斗争的一部分。 根据 纽约时报的Leigh Elston作为非洲能源部门的专家,“贫困和不平等的加剧被认为是其(叛乱的)根源。 天然气项目将进一步扰乱该地区的经济平衡。“

政府已通过人权观察谴责的大规模逮捕来应对叛乱活动, 报告,“据称,[S]安全部队被任意拘留,虐待和即决处决了他们怀疑属于激进组织的数十人。 自飓风来袭以来,德尔加多角的州长已经 拒绝允许媒体 已经拘留了两名记者,以报道圣战起义。

对外政策 据报道,莫桑比克执政党Frelimo近年来对可疑的Renamo支持者进行了一场恐怖活动。 他们的调查暗示Frelimo士兵焚烧村庄,强奸和即决处决,同时指责反对派Renamo党与国有媒体。 他们的发现得到了证实 联合国难民署, 无国界医生组织 人权观察。 一个 47页面起诉书 在美国法院提起的内部通讯表明 进一步入罪 Frelimo派对。

“为了确保该项目得到HoS [国家元首]的批准,我们必须在到达之前就付款达成一致,”一封电子邮件发送给黎巴嫩商人Jean Boustani,他在JFK机场被捕并被拒绝保释他在金枪鱼债券丑闻中的角色。 前总统阿曼多·格布扎在2015之前一直是国家元首,但尽管有证据表明他必须批准数百万美元的球拍,但检察官并没有追究他。 来自一个编辑名称的另一封电子邮件说:“所有参与者都希望在办公室里分享他的交易,因为一旦离开办公室,就很难,”指出,“还有其他玩家必须关注他们的兴趣之后,例如国防部,内政部,空军等。“Frelimo现任总统Filipe Nyusi在发送电子邮件时是国防部长。

Chatham House的非洲董事Alex Vines告诉记者 “金融时报” 美国“不太可能直接追捕格布扎先生,以免对那些越来越多地押注该国天然气的美国公司进行报复,”他说,“莫桑比克已经变得对美国更具战略性。”换句话说,因为美国公司莫桑比克参与了莫桑比克的天然​​气生产,司法部将避免在腐败丑闻中将该国的统治阶级入罪。

“资源诅咒”这个术语用来指那些拥有丰富自然资源的国家,这些国家未能发展,成为贪婪和制度化贪污的受害者。 在莫桑比克,执政党已经证明自己腐败和压迫,没有证据表明它会利用天然气收入来提升人口。

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,响应,18-20 March 2019(Denis Onyodi / IFRC-DRK-Climate Center)

Cyclone Idai,莫桑比克,响应,18-20 March 2019(Denis Onyodi / IFRC-DRK-Climate Center)

非洲债务危机与气候变化

其他遭受资源诅咒的非洲国家,如安哥拉,乍得,刚果共和国,苏丹和尼日利亚,也在处理债务危机和破坏性暴力。

In 安哥拉 政府收入的44百分比用于偿还外债,只有6百分比用于医疗保健(安哥拉有 儿童死亡率最高 在世界上)。 在乍得,一家名为Glencore的公司持有该国商业债务的98百分比。 乍得将其石油收入(主要出口)的85百分比用于偿还Glencore。

刚果共和国正在谈判它 与国际货币基金组织的第三次救助。 苏丹已经停止支付其十亿分之一十亿美元的债务,主要是在腐败的独裁者政权期间获得的 巴希尔。 尼日利亚是世界上生活极端贫困人口最多的国家,它指控外国石油和天然气公司 欠20十亿美元 在优秀的版税和税收。

国际货币基金组织警告非洲是 陷入债务危机国家18 该地区的债务与GDP比率高于50%。 中国,有 非洲国家债务的20百分比,是最大的债权国。 像世界银行这样的跨国机构 在35 百分之一,而像Glencore这样的私人债权人持有32百分比。 由于对债务减免不太开放的私人贷款人持有越来越多的债务,因此 国际货币基金组织敦促非洲国家 提高其公民的税收以保持偿付能力。 换句话说,世界上最贫困的人口正在面临加税以补贴腐败的政客和金融家。

根据 娜塔莎怀特 全球证人,在这些国家,“(商品)交易商放贷的主要动机是获得石油,这意味着各国可以按照既定条件抵押未来的石油生产。” 2018报告 来自联合国的气候变化易受风险影响的风险增加,导致在下一个168年度额外支付了10亿至10亿美元的债务,很明显石油换债的做法是不可持续的。

后果降临至少

造成气候变化最不负责任的人正在遭受最严重的后果。 腐败的领导人已经驱使他们的国家陷入掠夺性贷款的严重债务,使债权人能够利用他们的债务杠杆来开发化石燃料以谋取私利。 在政府间气候变化专门委员会召开之际IPCC)敦促大幅减产 为了避免总体灾难,碳排放必须加强国际金融的透明度。 更多Cyclone Idai即将到来,改变的时机已经不多了。

16岁的气候活动家Greta Thunberg说:“成年人一直在说:'我们应该为年轻人付出希望。' 但我不希望你的希望。 我不希望你有希望。 我要你恐慌。 我希望你能感受到我每天的恐惧。 然后我希望你采取行动。 我希望你在危机中采取行动。 我希望你表现得好像我们的房子着火了。 因为它是。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA ANALYSIS TRENDING-AFRICA

Cyclone Idai Devastates Mozambique as Country Struggles Through Debt Crisis

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, aftermath, 15-16 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi: IFRC/DRK/Climate Centre)
Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, aftermath, 15-16 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi: IFRC/DRK/Climate Centre)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Beira “will go down in history as having been the first city to be completely devastated by climate change,” said Mozambique’s former first lady on the devastation from Cyclone Idai.

Despite the UN describing Cyclone Idai as one of the worst-ever natural disasters in the southern hemisphere, the full scale of the crisis and its devastation has received relatively little media coverage.

The cyclone first struck Mozambique and coastal Africa in early March, but it bounced back out to sea only to return and head directly for Mozambique’s fourth largest city Beira. There, the first cases of cholera have been confirmed and the International Federation of the Red Cross (IFRC) estimated that 90 percent of Beira was destroyed.

Mozambique’s former first lady and humanitarian Graça Machel said Beira “will go down in history as having been the first city to be completely devastated by climate change.” Since hitting Mozambique’s coast on March 14, the cyclone’s death toll has reached more than 750, a number Mozambican environment minister Celso Correia calls preliminary.

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, aftermath, 15-16 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi: IFRC/DRK/Climate Centre)

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, aftermath, 15-16 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi: IFRC/DRK/Climate Centre)

Beira, which has a population of about 500,000, is a critical trading port in the region that distributes fuel to neighboring countries. The city’s mayor, Daviz Samongo, worked with the World Bank to create an extensive system of drainage canals and water retention basins to prepare for sea level rise. The $120 million-dollar project was successful in handling recent episodes of flooding but was no match for 150-mile-per-hour winds from the category 4 Cyclone Idai.

“[S]uddenly we have a cyclone category 4 hitting, and it’s very vulnerable,” Michel Matera, a senior urban specialist with the World Bank, told the Associated Press. “Yes, we were doing the right thing, but it was not enough.” Worsening the raw destruction to the region are the new confirmations of cholera in Munhava, an impoverished neighborhood in Beira.

Ussene Essi, Mozambique’s national director of medical assistance, commented on the cholera findings, saying, “We did the lab tests and can confirm that these five people tested positive for cholera. It will spread. When you have one case, you have to expect more cases in the community.”

Is a Second Disaster Coming to Mozambique?

The World Health Organization has warned of the potential for a “second disaster” if waterborne diseases like cholera spread in the region. WHO is preparing to send 900,000 doses of oral cholera vaccine to southern Africa from a global stockpile, with the shipment expected to be sent later this week.

Gert Verdonck, emergency coordinator for Médecins Sans Frontières in Beira, talked to the Guardian about the situation on the ground. “The cyclone substantially damaged the city’s water supply system, resulting in many people having no access to clean drinking water. This means that they have no option but to drink from contaminated wells. Some people are even resorting to drinking stagnant water by the side of the road. This, of course, results in an increase of patients suffering from diarrhea. The MSF-supported health centers have seen hundreds of patients with acute watery diarrhea in the past few days.”

The U.N. World Food Program now considers Mozambique one of its top concerns globally, in the same category as countries like Yemen, Syria and South Sudan, estimating that around 3 million people have been affected, nearly half of them children. Domestic strife, a crippling debt crisis, and surging jihadist terrorism further exacerbate the problems the cyclone unleashed. These interwoven issues hold parallels to other countries vulnerable to climate change, and understanding their connections is imperative to prepare for future disasters.

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, evacuees in Beira, 21 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi: IFRC/DRK/Climate Centre) Aman carries his two children off a boat that has arrived from Buzi at the Praia Nova beach, next to Beira port.

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, evacuees in Beira, 21 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi: IFRC/DRK/Climate Centre)
Aman carries his two children off a boat that has arrived from Buzi at the Praia Nova beach, next to Beira port.

History of Mozambique Corruption Hinders Recovery Ability

Mozambique was a Portuguese colony until gaining independence in 1975. The southern African country proceeded to wage a 16-year civil war between Frelimo, the ruling party which has won every election since independence, and Renamo, a rebel group founded and financed by foreigners like white Rhodesia and apartheid South Africa, which sought to prevent the newly independent nation from supporting black guerrillas in their countries.

A peace agreement was signed in 1992, granting Renamo legitimacy as a political party. According to an investigation by Foreign Policy, tensions between the two political parties remain more violent than commonly reported, with government aggression leading to the exodus of thousands of Mozambicans to neighboring Malawi in recent years.

After the peace deal in 1992, Mozambique quickly became one of the world’s 10 fastest-growing economies, with GDP growth averaging around 8 percent a year from 1995-2015. In 2010 abundant offshore gas fields were discovered that Standard Bank Group said could turn Mozambique into the next Qatar.

But in 2016 revelations that the state had secretly accepted $2 billion in government-guaranteed loans ignited a financial crisis. The parliament never approved the secret loans, and their disclosure led to the suspension of financing from the IMF, World Bank and Western countries like the U.K. and Portugal, as well as an investigation by the U.S. Department of Justice.

At least $500 million of the loan package is missing, with $200 million confirmed to have been spent on kickbacks and bribes for bankers and politicians. Loans that were supposed to finance fishing boats for Mozambique’s promising maritime sector (hence the name “Tuna Bond” scandal) were spent on military patrol boats at inflated prices. None of these boats has been deployed for cyclone relief response.

The Mozambican government later filed a lawsuit against Credit Suisse for its role in the “Tuna Bond” scandal, and U.S. Department of Justice has indicted three former Credit Suisse bankers. Former Mozambican Finance Minister Manuel Chang was arrested in South Africa as part of the DOJ investigation, as was Lebanese businessman Jean Boustani. According to the Financial Times, President Filipe Nyusi and his Frelimo party have remained largely silent following the revelations, with evidence implicating the party’s involvement in the scandal.

Tim Jones, head of policy at the Jubilee Debt Campaign, described the situation. “It is a damning indictment of the international community in general, and the U.K. government in particular, that three years after the secret loans were revealed, the unjust debt situation in Mozambique has not been resolved. There has been no sign of the U.K. authorities properly investigating the London banks for their role in the crisis. The failure to resolve Mozambique’s debt crisis in the past three years may now hamper efforts to rebuild following Cyclone Idai.”

These severe economic problems will limit Mozambique’s ability to respond to the areas the cyclone hit hardest. The government will likely be forced to refocus its security forces away from the natural gas-rich Cabo Delgado Province, where jihadist militants have been committing acts of terrorism.

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, aftermath, 15-16 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi: IFRC/DRK/Climate Centre)

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, aftermath, 15-16 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi: IFRC/DRK/Climate Centre)

According to the Jubilee Debt Campaign, government debt has grown in 80 percent of nations that suffered severe natural disasters within two years of their crises. Of the countries most vulnerable to climate change, more than half are at high risk of defaulting on their debt. This creates a vicious cycle where natural disasters devastate indebted, developing countries, putting them into deeper debt and inhibiting their ability to develop.

But not only does extreme debt impede relief efforts, bondholders use it as leverage to seize their debtor’s natural resources. In Mozambique that means natural gas.

According to the Financial Times, Mozambique will give bondholders up to half a billion dollars in future natural gas revenue as payment for their controversial debts. ExxonMobil and Andarko are planning mega projects in Mozambique’s Cabo Delgado province, with other major companies like Qatar Petroleum showing interest in the investment.

Frelimo, Fossil Fuels and Jihadists

On February 21, 2019, jihadist insurgents attacked an Andarko Petroleum convoy in Cabo Delgado, the first instance of violence against a fossil fuel developer in the country. Mozambique’s jihadist insurgency has confused analysts because the militants have been conspicuously quiet about their motivations and goals.

The new president of opposition party Renamo said the insurgency is part of a struggle with the national elite for control of Cabo Delgado’s rich natural resources. According to the New York Times’ Leigh Elston, an expert in Africa’s energy sector, “rising poverty and inequality are thought to be at its (the insurgency’s) root. The gas projects will further disrupt the area’s economic balance.”

The government has responded to the insurgency with mass arrests, which Human Rights Watch condemned, reporting, “[S]ecurity forces have allegedly arbitrarily detained, ill-treated and summarily executed dozens of people they suspected of belonging” to the militant group. Since the cyclone struck, Cabo Delgado’s governor has refused to allow the media to report on the jihadist uprising, having already detained two journalists.

Foreign Policy reports that Mozambique’s ruling party Frelimo has waged a campaign of terror against suspected Renamo supporters in recent years. Their investigation has implicated Frelimo soldiers in torching villages, rape and summary executions while blaming the opposition Renamo party with the state-owned media. Their findings are corroborated by the UNHCR, Doctors Without Borders and Human Rights Watch. A 47-page indictment filed in a U.S. court reveals internal communications that further incriminate the Frelimo party.

“To secure that the project is granted a go-ahead by the HoS [Head of State], a payment has to be agreed before we get there,” said one email to Lebanese businessman Jean Boustani, who was arrested at JFK airport and refused bail for his role in the Tuna Bond scandal. Former President Armando Guebuza was the head of state until 2015, but despite evidence he had to give the go-ahead to approve the multi-million dollar racket, prosecutors are not pursuing him. Another email from a redacted name says, “everyone involved will want to have his share of the deal while in office, because once out of the office, it will be difficult,” specifying, “there will be other players whose interest must be looked after, e.g., ministry of defense, ministry of interior, air force, etc.” Frelimo’s current president, Filipe Nyusi, was the Minister of Defense at the time of the email.

Alex Vines, Africa director at the Chatham House, told the Financial Times the U.S. was “unlikely to pursue Mr. Guebuza directly lest it risk retaliation against the U.S. firms that are increasingly betting on the country’s gas,” saying “Mozambique has become much more strategic to the United States.” In other words, because U.S. firms are involved in Mozambique’s natural gas production, the Department of Justice will avoid incriminating the country’s ruling class in the corruption scandal.

The “resource curse” is a term used to refer to countries endowed with rich natural resources that fail to develop, falling victim to greed and institutionalized graft. In Mozambique the ruling party has already proven itself corrupt and oppressive, and there is no evidence it would use natural gas revenue to uplift the population.

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, response, 18-20 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi/IFRC-DRK-Climate Centre)

Cyclone Idai, Mozambique, response, 18-20 March 2019 (Denis Onyodi/IFRC-DRK-Climate Centre)

African Debt Crisis and Climate Change

Other African countries suffering from the resource curse, such as Angola, Chad, the Republic of Congo, Sudan and Nigeria, are also dealing with debt crises and destructive violence.

In Angola 44 percent of government revenue is spent on servicing external debt, with only 6 percent spent on healthcare (Angola has the highest rate of child mortality in the world). In Chad, a single company, Glencore, holds 98 percent of the country’s commercial debt. Chad devotes 85 percent of its oil revenue (its primary export) to repaying Glencore.

The Republic of Congo is negotiating its third bailout with the IMF. Sudan has stopped making payments on its $50 billion in debt, mostly acquired during the regime of corrupt dictator Omar al-Bashir. Nigeria, the country with the largest number of people living in extreme poverty in the world, alleges foreign oil and gas companies owe $20 billion in outstanding royalties and taxes.

The IMF warns that Africa is descending into a debt crisis, with 18 countries in the region holding debt-to-GDP ratios above 50 percent. China, with 20 percent of African nation’s debt, is the largest creditor nation. Transnational institutions like the World Bank are at 35 percent, while private creditors like Glencore hold 32 percent. Because private lenders, less open to debt forgiveness, hold a growing percentage of debt, the IMF has urged African countries to raise taxes on their citizens to remain solvent. In other words, the most impoverished populations in the world are facing tax hikes to subsidize corrupt politicians and financiers.

According to Natasha White of Global Witness, in these countries, “[T]he main incentive for (commodity) traders to lend is to secure access to oil, which means countries may mortgage off future oil production on set terms.” With a 2018 report from the UN showing increased risk from vulnerability to climate change causing an additional $168 billion in debt payments over the next 10 years, it is clear the practice of oil for debt is not sustainable.

Consequences Befall Those With the Least

The people least responsible for causing climate change are suffering its worst consequences. Corrupt leaders have driven their countries into crippling debt with predatory loans, enabling creditors to use their debt leverage to develop fossil fuels for private gain. At a time when the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) urges drastic cuts to carbon emissions to avert total catastrophe, and tighter transparency measures must be put on international finance. More Cyclone Idai’s are coming, and the time to change is running out.

In the words of 16-year-old climate activist Greta Thunberg, “Adults keep saying: ‘We owe it to the young people to give them hope.’ But I don’t want your hope. I don’t want you to be hopeful. I want you to panic. I want you to feel the fear I feel every day. And then I want you to act. I want you to act as you would in a crisis. I want you to act as if our house is on fire. Because it is.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.