输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH TRENDING汤臣倍健/ SCI / TECH

谷歌首席执行官面临DOD审查项目Dragonfly,秘密中国搜索引擎

谷歌首席执行官桑达皮采(摄影:意大利米兰的Maurizio Pesce)
谷歌首席执行官桑达皮采(摄影:意大利米兰的Maurizio Pesce)

谷歌高管正在与中国合作,制作一个版本的搜索引擎,审查中国政府认为不合适的主题。

谷歌首席执行官桑达皮采是 和...见面 参谋长联席会议主席约瑟夫·邓福德将军担心该公司与中国的关系。 邓福德将军对谷歌在北京2017开设的人工智能实验室表示不满,他说:“谷歌在中国所做的工作间接地使中国军队受益。”

中国的争议

谷歌引起了争议 报告 它一直在帮助中国开发其代号为Project Dragonfly的搜索引擎的审查版本。 蜻蜓会阻止公民获取有关人权,民主和和平抗议的信息,以及中国政府认为不合适的其他话题。 这些启示导致了 抗议, 辞职 员工的来信 恳求谷歌领导停止其对Dragonfly的工作。

3月27,参议员约什霍利(R-Missouri),经常批评大科技, 要求Pichai 公开解决与中国商业伙伴关系的担忧,并说:

“值得一提的是,谷歌与一个经常违反基本人类自由的国家合作可以获得什么,包括维持 拘留设施 近百万维吾尔穆斯林,禁止言论和新闻自由,压制其基督教,藏传佛教和其他宗教团体。“

在公众对Dragonfly的强烈抗议之后,谷歌高管们将工程师从该项目中撤出,声称计划启动它已被取消。 但根据a 3月27,来自The Intercept的2019报道谷歌高管的一个独家组织仍然对审查的搜索引擎进行秘密的“绩效评估”。 该报告称,该技术巨头中不到十几名顶级员工可以访问机密评论。

互联网的两个版本即将到来

去年9月,前谷歌CEO埃里克施密特 预测互联网 未来几年将会出现“分歧”,以美国为首的开放版本以及由中国人主导的版本。 根据施密特的说法,在中国创造的财富规模是“惊人的”,而中国的互联网服务占GDP的比例大于美国,他们所拥有的权力是强大的。 经过经济学家泰勒考恩的质疑,施密特详细阐述了他的预测:

“如果你认为中国就像'噢,他们对互联网很好',你就错过了这一点。 全球化意味着他们也可以玩。 我想你会看到来自中国的产品和服务的卓越领导力。 真正存在的危险是,随着这些产品和服务的出现,政府采取了不同的领导制度,审查制度,控制权等等。看看BRI(一带一路倡议)的运作方式......这些国家完全有可能开始接受中国拥有一些失去自由的基础设施。“

在此 带和道路倡议 (BRI)是一项庞大的中国倡议,旨在通过亚洲,非洲和欧洲的大型基础设施项目扩大该国的战略影响力。 除了扩大陆地和海上贸易网络,BRI还致力于促进数字贸易。 正是通过这些网络,施密特所指的“中国主导”版本的互联网才能获得国际影响力。

根据 泄露文件 由拦截提供,Dragonfly将允许中国共产党监视人们的搜索,同时阻止成千上万的短语,如“学生抗议”和“诺贝尔奖”。谷歌之前曾与中国从2006到2010,前任首席执行官谢尔盖布林 拉动了公司的运营 来自国家的审查政策。 在已经秘密推翻了布林的决定之后,谷歌高管必须对他们在中国的运营保持透明,并保持互联网的完整性。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH TRENDING-HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Google CEO Faces DOD Scrutiny Over Project Dragonfly, Secret China Search Engine

Sundar Pichai, CEO, Google (Photo by Maurizio Pesce from Milan, Italy)
Sundar Pichai, CEO, Google (Photo by Maurizio Pesce from Milan, Italy)

Google executives are working with China to produce a version of its search engine that will censor topics deemed unsuitable by the Chinese government.

Google CEO Sundar Pichai is meeting with General Joseph Dunford, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, over concerns about the company’s involvement with China. General Dunford expressed discontent over an artificial intelligence lab Google opened in Beijing in 2017, saying, “The work that Google is doing in China is indirectly benefiting the Chinese military.”

Controversy in China

Google has drawn controversy over reports it has been helping China develop a censored version of its search engine, code-named Project Dragonfly. Dragonfly would prevent citizens from accessing information about human rights, democracy and peaceful protests, among other topics the Chinese government deems unsuitable. The revelations led to protests, resignations and letters from employees imploring Google’s leadership to cease its work on Dragonfly.

On March 27, Senator Josh Hawley (R-Missouri), a frequent critic of big tech, called for Pichai to publicly address concerns regarding his business partnership with China, saying:

“It is worth asking what Google stands to gain from partnering with a country that routinely violates basic human liberties, including maintaining detention facilities for nearly a million Uyghur Muslims, banning freedom of speech and the press, and repressing its Christian, Tibetan Buddhist and other religious communities.”

After the public outcry over Dragonfly, Google executives moved engineers away from the project, claiming plans to launch it had been canceled. But according to a March 27, 2019 report from The Intercept, an exclusive group of Google executives is still conducting secret “performance reviews” of the censored search engine. The report says fewer than a dozen top employees at the tech giant have access to the classified reviews.

Two Versions of the Internet Coming

Last September, former Google CEO Eric Schmidt predicted the internet will likely “bifurcate” in coming years, with an open U.S.-led version and a censored Chinese-led version. According to Schmidt, the scale of wealth being created in China is “phenomenal,” and with China’s internet service being a greater percentage of GDP than the U.S.’s, the power they could wield is formidable. After being questioned by economist Tyler Cowen, Schmidt elaborated on his prediction:

“If you think of China as like ‘Oh yeah, they’re good with the Internet,’ you’re missing the point. Globalization means that they get to play too. I think you’re going to see fantastic leadership in products and services from China. There’s a real danger that along with those products and services comes a different leadership regime from government, with censorship, controls, etc. Look at the way BRI (the Belt and Road Initiative) works… it’s perfectly possible those countries will begin to take on the infrastructure that China has with some loss of freedom.”

The Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) is a colossal Chinese initiative focused on expanding the country’s strategic influence with huge infrastructure projects across Asia, Africa and Europe. In addition to expanding land and maritime trade networks, the BRI seeks to facilitate digital trade. It is through these networks the “Chinese-led” version of the internet Schmidt refers to could gain international influence.

According to leaked documents provided by The Intercept, Dragonfly would allow China’s Communist Party to surveil people’s searches while blocking thousands of phrases, such as “student protest” and “Nobel Prize.” Google previously worked with China from 2006 to 2010, before former CEO Sergey Brin pulled the company’s operations from the country over its censorship policies. Having secretly reversed Brin’s decision once already, it is imperative for Google executives to be transparent about their operations with China and preserve the integrity of the internet.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.