输入搜索

警察/监狱

埃里克加纳的家庭得到了小规模的正义,但腐败的制度仍然存在

埃里克加纳抗议
Eric Garner抗议活动,纽约市。 日期:十二月,2014。 (照片:Paul Silva)

“这个案件已经对每个有色人种的暴力事件进行了下雨。”

纽约警察局 解雇了这名军官 他的窒息导致埃里克加纳周一去世,结束了为期五年的法律纠纷,该活动激活了一场打击警察对少数民族暴行的运动。

7月2014,埃里克加纳在史坦顿岛被警察猛烈摔跤以销售免税卷烟 - 尽管目前还不清楚他是否在试图逮捕时这样做。 在一个 迅速传播病毒的手机视频有问题的军官丹尼尔潘塔莱奥可以看到他的胳膊搂住加纳的脖子,而加纳一再恳求“我无法呼吸”,直到他失去知觉。

蓄积 在人行道上一动不动地戴上手铐 在四名紧急救援人员赶到现场前几分钟,然后他们未能向他提供任何形式的紧急援助或立即将他放在担架上。 一小时后,他在医院被宣布死亡。

在被告知加纳已经心脏骤停并可能已经死亡之后,NYPD中尉克里斯托弗·班农 回答: “没有大碍。 我们正在实施合法逮捕。“

一个乌托里后来发现埃里克加纳的脖子上有四层肌肉和组织出血。 该 体检医师说 这种伤害是由于窒息和压迫造成的,导致致命的一轮哮喘。 纽约警察局局长比尔布拉顿 也承认了 Pantaleo使用武力 似乎是一个被禁止的扼流圈虽然他有时试图走回阻碍入场。

史坦顿岛的一个大陪审团决定放弃对Pantaleo的刑事指控,引发纽约市的大规模抗议活动。 Pantaleo在过去的五年里一直在办公室工作,但是在今年夏天通过部门审判重新进入了新闻周期,最终导致他周一失去了工作。

纽约警察局局长James P. O'Neill 称决定 当军官的工会承诺争取上诉时,解雇Pantaleo“非常困难”。

“加纳先生死亡的意外后果必然会产生其后果,”奥尼尔专员说。 “很明显丹尼尔潘塔莱奥再也不能担任纽约市警察。”

Eric Garner案例代表什么

“我无法呼吸。”12月2014。 (摄影:Tim Pierce)

史蒂夫·努涅斯是哈佛大学神学院的毕业生,专门研究政治暴力和美国社会的种族主义历史,他向公民真理讲述了他对埃里克加纳案的看法:

纽约警察局局长丹尼尔·潘塔莱奥将他勒死,埃里克·加纳喘息着'我不能喘不过气来'十一次。 当特朗普总检察长威廉巴尔放弃针对潘塔莱奥的联邦案件时,他扼杀了美国惩罚制度留下的任何合法性,“Núñez说。

根据泄露的文件,Pantaleo在窒息Garner之前有四项经过证实的虐待指控,其中包括一次辱骂性停止和骚扰以及一次滥用车辆停止和搜查。 ThinkProgress。 纽约市民间投诉审查委员会建议尽可能采取最严厉的纪律处分措施 ThinkProgress 被称为“慢性虐待史”,NYPD给了Pantaleo最小的纪律处分。

“在一个拥有一个 99%起诉成功率 在确保联邦大陪审团的起诉书中,真正令人震惊的是,不到1%的官员 谁杀了某人 由于2005因谋杀或过失杀人指控被起诉,“Núñez告诉公民真相。 “埃里克加纳被丹尼尔潘塔莱奥勒死,但他被美国不愿意对那些我们授权执行我们的法律的人执行法律所杀害。”

作为一个 特种部队的老兵,Núñez对美国的结构性种族主义持独一无二的观点。 他认识到无数交织的政策旨在征服黑人,对加纳和他的女儿的死负责:

“在2017结束时,加纳的女儿,27埃里卡加纳 - 斯纳普斯因哮喘发作导致第二次心脏病发作陷入昏迷状态。 从住房隔离到高档化,食品种族隔离到无法获得种族化医疗服务,她被设计为窒息黑人的联锁系统所杀害。

系统性问题

此外 许多其他种族差异 在美国刑事司法系统中, 非洲裔美国人体验的可能性是3.6的两倍 据报道,与白人相比,警察的力量相比 警务公平中心。 一项新的研究发表在 诉讼中的国家科学院院士 发现警察杀人现在是年轻男子死亡的主要原因,大约有一千名黑人男子面临致命的警察暴力事件 - 比白人男性死亡率高出2.5倍。

调查记者Matt Taibbi的书 我无法呼吸, 司法系统对埃里克加纳案件处理的一个说明,揭示了为防止对不良警察的起诉而建立的程序。

Taibbi解释说,在一天内听到多起案件的标准,常设大陪审团案件,警察杀人案件通常是在特殊的大陪审团中组装的,这些陪审团在一个案件上花费数月时间。 Taibbi认为,检察官和警察经常分享的保护关系,以及特别大陪审团决策过程缺乏透明度,都会使公众无视,并使警察的暴力行为无法解释。

泰比 笔记 在纽约市,以及像迈克尔布朗在弗格森被杀的案件中,“活动人士怀疑检察官基本上是在这些可疑的长期秘密法庭上提起诉讼。 没有办法知道。 在弗格森,当一名大陪审员起诉公开谈论案件的权利时,法院驳回了这一请求。“

Ramsey Orta

“拍摄这场悲剧的人Ramsey Orta声称,纽约警察局瞄准,骚扰和逮捕他,不断报复拍摄暴力行为,最终导致他被判有罪并被判处4一年徒刑,”Núñez告诉Citizen Truth。

#FreeRamsey在推特上宣布Pantaleo将于周一被解雇后在推特上发布趋势。 Orta被指控他和许多活动家声称是非法的指控,因为 Daily Dot解释道:

“根据纽约警察局的一份报告,警察声称他们看到奥尔塔在女人的裤子上塞了一把枪。 他们回收的枪没有子弹,没有夹子,没有指纹,并且据报道多年前被盗。“

警方还声称他们有关于奥塔的母亲帮助他卖毒品的镜头,他们也逮捕了她。 奥尔塔从来没有见过视频证据,而是根据他的母亲的自由采取了认罪协议 每日点.

“这个案件已经对每个有色人种的暴力事件进行了下雨甚至远程参与,但是,在一个法律体系中,大陪审团可以起诉一个火腿三明治,如果那是[检察官]想要的,Pantaleo甚至没有丢失他的徽章,更不用说了Núñez在7月份表示,在行政法官推荐Pantaleo于8月2被解雇之前。

正义的衡量标准

虽然潘塔莱奥的解雇延迟了对加纳家庭的正义度量,但批评者认为必须采取更广泛的措施来结束警察的暴行。 在她去世前,埃里卡加纳通过任命一名独立律师调查所有警察暴力案件,努力改革该制度。

努涅斯认为,要实现真正的改革需要公众意识的深刻转变:

“如果我们真的希望能够改变和发展社会,我们必须停止假装我们正在处理一个破碎的系统,并接受系统按预期工作的不方便的事实。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 八月21,2019

    “每当”A“法律试图将他的道德标准强加于”B“时,”A“很可能是一个恶棍。 - HL Mencken

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

Eric Garner’s Family Receives Small Measure of Justice, But Corrupt System Remains

Eric Garner Protests
Eric Garner Protests, New York City. Date: December, 2014. (Photo: Paul Silva)

“This case has rained violence upon every person of color even remotely involved.”

The New York Police Department fired the officer whose chokehold led to the death of Eric Garner on Monday, closing a five-year legal battle over an event that vitalized a movement to fight police brutality against minorities.

In July 2014, Eric Garner was violently wrestled to the ground by police in Staten Island for selling untaxed cigarettes – although it is unclear if he was doing this at the time of the attempted arrest. In a cell phone video that rapidly went viral, Daniel Pantaleo, the officer in question, can be seen squeezing his arm around Garner’s neck while Garner repeatedly pleads “I can’t breathe” until he goes unconscious.

Garner laid motionless and handcuffed on the sidewalk for several minutes before four emergency responders arrived to the scene, who then failed to provide him any form of emergency aid or promptly place him on a stretcher. He was pronounced dead in the hospital an hour later.

After being told that Garner had gone into cardiac arrest and might be dead, N.Y.P.D. Lieutenant Christopher Bannon replied: “Not a big deal. We were effecting a lawful arrest.”

An autopsy later revealed hemorrhaging to four layers of muscle and tissue in Eric Garner’s neck. The medical examiner said the injuries had been caused by the chokehold and compression, which led to a fatal round of asthma. N.Y.P.D. commissioner Bill Bratton also conceded that Pantaleo’s use of force appeared to be a prohibited chokehold, though he at times tried to walk back the chokehold admission.

A grand jury in Staten Island then decided to decline criminal charges against Pantaleo, igniting mass protests in New York City. Pantaleo worked office duty for the past five years, but reentered the news cycle this summer over a departmental trial which finally resulted in the loss of his job on Monday.

N.Y.P.D. Commissioner James P. O’Neill called the decision to fire Pantaleo “extremely difficult” while the officer’s union pledged to fight for an appeal.

“The unintended consequence of Mr. Garner’s death must have a consequence of its own,” said Commissioner O’Neill. “It is clear that Daniel Pantaleo can no longer serve as a New York City police officer.”

What The Eric Garner Case Represents

“I Can’t Breathe.” December 2014. (Photo: Tim Pierce)

Steve Núñez, a graduate of the Harvard Divinity School who specializes in political violence and the history of racism in American society, spoke to Citizen Truth about his view of the Eric Garner case:

“Eric Garner gasped ‘I CAN’T BREATHE’ eleven times as NYPD officer Daniel Pantaleo strangled him to death. When Trump Administration Attorney General William Barr dropped the federal case against Pantaleo, he strangled any semblance of legitimacy that the U.S. punishment system had left,” Núñez said.

Pantaleo had four substantiated allegations of abuse before choking Garner, including an abusive stop and frisk and an abusive vehicle stop and search, according to leaked documents provided to ThinkProgress. While the N.Y.C. Civilian Complaint Review Board recommended the harshest disciplinary action possible for what ThinkProgress called a “chronic history of abuse,” the N.Y.P.D. gave Pantaleo the weakest disciplinary action it could.

“In a system that boasts a 99% prosecutorial success rate in securing indictments in federal grand juries, it is truly astounding that less than 1% of officers who have killed someone since 2005 have been indicted on murder or manslaughter charges,” Núñez told Citizen Truth. “Eric Garner was strangled by Daniel Pantaleo but he was killed by the American unwillingness to enforce laws upon those we authorize to enforce our laws.”

As a veteran of the special forces, Núñez holds a unique perspective on structural racism in the United States. He perceives a myriad of interwoven policies designed to subjugate black people as responsible for the deaths of Garner and his daughter:

“At the end of 2017, Erica Garner-Snipes, Garner’s daughter, 27, slipped into a coma after a second heart attack caused by an asthma attack; from housing segregation to gentrification, food apartheid to lack of access to racialized medical care, she was killed by the interlocking systems designed to suffocate Black people.”

Systemic Problems

In addition to numerous other racial disparities in the American criminal justice system, African-Americans are 3.6 times more likely to experience force by police officers compared to whites, according to the Center for Policing Equity. A new study published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences found that police killings are now a leading cause of death for young men, with roughly one in a thousand black men facing fatal police violence – a rate 2.5 times more likely than for white men.

Investigative journalist Matt Taibbi’s book I Can’t Breathe, an account of the justice system’s handling of the Eric Garner case, reveals a process built to prevent the indictment of bad cops.

Taibbi explains that instead of the standard, standing grand jury cases that hear multiple cases in one day, police-killing cases are often assembled in special grand juries that spend months on a single case. Taibbi argues the protective relationship prosecutors and police often share, as well as the lack of transparency regarding special grand juries’ decision-making processes, serve to shut out the public and keep police violence unaccountable.

Taibbi notes that in New York City, as well as in cases like Michael Brown’s killing in Ferguson, “activists suspected prosecutors were essentially putting on defense cases in these suspiciously long, secret tribunals. There was no way to know. In Ferguson, when a grand juror sued for the right to talk about the case in public, courts rejected the request.”

Ramsey Orta

“Ramsey Orta, the man who filmed the tragedy, alleges that N.Y.P.D. targeted, harassed, and arrested him constantly in retaliation for filming the violence which ultimately led to his conviction and 4-year prison sentence,” Núñez told Citizen Truth.

#FreeRamsey trended on Twitter after news broke that Pantaleo would be fired on Monday. Orta was imprisoned on charges he and many activists claim are illegitimate, as the Daily Dot explains:

“According to an N.Y.P.D. report, officers claimed they saw Orta stuff a gun down a woman’s pants. The gun they recovered had no bullets, no clip, no fingerprints, and had been reported stolen years prior.”

Police also claimed they had footage of Orta’s mother helping him sell drugs, and they arrested her as well. Orta has never seen the video evidence, but took a plea deal in exchange for his mother’s freedom, as per the Daily Dot.

“This case has rained violence upon every person of color even remotely involved, yet, in a legal system in which a grand jury could indict a ham sandwich if that’s what [prosecutors] wanted, Pantaleo hasn’t even lost his badge, let alone gone to trial,” Núñez said in July, before an administrative judge recommended Pantaleo be fired on August 2.

A Measure Of Justice

While Pantaleo’s firing gives a delayed measure of justice to Garner’s family, critics argue broader measures must be taken to end police brutality. Before her death, Erica Garner fought to reform the system by appointing an independent counsel to investigate all police violence cases.

Núñez argues that a profound shift in public awareness is needed to enact true reform:

“If we truly hope to transform and progress as a society, we must stop pretending that we are dealing with a broken system and come to terms with the inconvenient truth that the system is working just as intended.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout August 21, 2019

    ‘Whenever “A” attempts by law to impose his moral standards upon “B,” “A” is most likely a scoundrel.’ — HL Mencken

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.