اكتب للبحث

البيئة أوروبا

موجة الحر التاريخية في أوروبا علامة على تدهور الأحوال الجوية ، ويحذر خبراء الأرصاد الجوية

رجل يحاول أن يبرد في نافورة ماء بينما تضرب موجة الحر أوروبا. (الصورة: لقطة شاشة YouTube)
رجل يحاول أن يبرد في نافورة ماء بينما تضرب موجة الحر أوروبا. (الصورة: لقطة شاشة YouTube)

"ستصبح موجات الحرارة أكثر شدة ، وستزداد سحبها ، وستصبح أكثر تطرفًا ، وستبدأ في وقت مبكر ، وستنتهي في وقت لاحق."

تنتشر سجلات درجات الحرارة الشهرية طوال الوقت في جميع أنحاء أوروبا مع ارتفاع موجة الحر الشديد في القارة - وهي ظاهرة مناخية يقول خبراء البيئة إنها توضح المخاطر المباشرة لتغير المناخ. وصلت فرنسا إلى درجة 114 فهرنهايت لأول مرة في التاريخ المسجل خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع حيث عانت القارة متعددة الوفيات المرتبطة بالحرارة من الظروف القاسية.

وقال إيتيان كابيكيان ، خبير الأرصاد الجوية في ميتيو- فرنسا: "هذا تاريخي" وصي. "إنها المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها تسجيل درجة حرارة تزيد عن 45 ° C (113 ° F) في فرنسا."

أوروبا تستجيب لموجة الحر

توضح موجة الحر الحالية للقادة الأوروبيين أهمية تكييف بنيتهم ​​التحتية مع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة. المدن مكتظة بالسكان تميل إلى الحصول على أكثر سخونة أكثر من المناطق الريفية وضواحيها ، حيث تؤدي الأسطح المرورية والاصطياد الحراري إلى إطالة درجات الحرارة المرتفعة ، ومن المتوقع أن تهاجر أعداد متزايدة من الناس إلى المدن في السنوات المقبلة. تم افتتاح غرف التبريد العامة في باريس والمدن الأخرى كجزء من خطة أوسع لمعالجة الظروف التي سمحت للموت 14,000 بالموت في فرنسا خلال موجة الحرارة في 2003.

يوم الأربعاء ، وضعت ألمانيا قيود السرعة على الطريق السريع بسبب المخاوف من أن درجات الحرارة الشديدة قد تسبب تشققات خطيرة في أسطح الطرق ، حيث سجلت البلاد أعلى درجة حرارة في يونيو. كما حطمت جمهورية التشيك وبولندا سجلات درجة الحرارة خلال الأسبوع.

تم إغلاق مدارس 4,000 في فرنسا استجابة لدرجات الحرارة الحارقة ، والتي حذر الخبراء من أنها غير آمنة للطلاب. الحرارة الشديدة يمكن أن تقلل أيضًا من الإنتاجية دراسة 2018 هارفارد للصحة العامة وجد أن الطلاب في الغرف ذات التكييف غير الكافي كان لديهم وقت رد فعل أقل بنسبة 13٪ من الطلاب في الغرف الأكثر برودة.

"سوف نحتاج إلى تغيير نظامنا وطريقة العمل والبناء بشكل مختلف" قال الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون ، مشددًا على ضرورة "تكييف المجتمع وعاداته".

كما عانت أجزاء أخرى من العالم من حرارة شديدة خلال الشهر الماضي ، بما في ذلك موجة حارة في الهند أسفرت عن مقتل العشرات. حطمت جرينلاند الأرقام القياسية مع ذوبان الجليد الأكبر في هذه المرحلة من العام ، حيث ارتفعت درجات الحرارة إلى درجة 40 أعلى من المعتاد.

يقول العلماء إن تغير المناخ سوف يتسبب في أن تصبح موجات الحرارة أطول وأكثر حدة.

وقالت كلير نوليس ، المتحدثة باسم المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية ، "ستصبح موجات الحرارة أكثر شدة ، وستزداد سحبها ، وستصبح أكثر تطرفًا ، وستبدأ في وقت مبكر ، وستنتهي في وقت لاحق". رويترز.

ترامب يواصل حملة ضد اتفاق باريس

في غضون ذلك ، خلال قمة G-20 في اليابان الأسبوع الماضي ، حاول الرئيس ترامب إقناع قادة دول مثل المملكة العربية السعودية والبرازيل وأستراليا وتركيا بمعارضة التزاماتهم بموجب اتفاقية باريس ، وفقًا السياسية. اختارت الدول الأخرى في نهاية المطاف دعم التزاماتها ، تاركة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية باعتبارها الطرف الوحيد الوحيد.

"لدينا أنظف المياه التي لدينا على الإطلاق ، ولدينا أنظف الهواء الذي حصلنا عليه من قبل ، لكنني لست على استعداد للتضحية بالقوة الهائلة لما قمنا ببنائه على مدى فترة طويلة من الزمن وما" لقد تم تعزيزها وإحيائها " قال الرئيسموضحا قراره.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الولايات المتحدة تصنف 123rd من دول 195 للحصول على جودة الهواء ، وفقًا لوكالة أسوشيتد برس للأنباء ، مع مقتل أشخاص من 24,000 بسبب تلوث الدخان سنويًا كما يستخدم عشرات الملايين من الأمريكيين مياه الشرب غير المأمونة ، كما يتضح من الوعي المتزايد ببرنامج "PFOA"المواد الكيميائية إلى الأبد"التلوث في الغذاء الأمريكي وإمدادات المياه.

"لا يعمل دائمًا مع طاحونة هوائية. عندما تنفجر الريح ، لا يعمل المصنع. لا تعمل دائمًا مع الطاقة الشمسية لأن الطاقة الشمسية ليست قوية بدرجة كافية ، والكثير منها يريد الذهاب إلى طاقة الرياح ، مما تسبب في الكثير من المشاكل.

"الرياح لا تعمل في معظمها دون دعم. تدفع الولايات المتحدة مبالغ هائلة من الإعانات للرياح. قال الرئيس: "أنا لا أحب ذلك ، أنا لا أحب ذلك".

تعليقات الرئيس تأتي كما الطاقة المتجددة تجاوزت الفحم في إنتاج الطاقة في الولايات المتحدة لأول مرة في أبريل.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ستاوت يوليو 2، 2019

    ليس هناك ما هو أبسط من قياس الاحترار العالمي. لا يتطلب الأمر سوى قراءات منتظمة لمقاييس الحرارة الموضوعة في الغلاف الجوي وفي المحيطات ، وهو ما يفعله العلماء ، في جميع أنحاء العالم ، لبعض الوقت. يمكن استرجاع البيانات المناخية التاريخية وعصور ما قبل التاريخ بوسائل مثل التحليل النظائري لنوى الجليد الجليدي. حقيقة أن كوكب الأرض قد تم تبريده وتسخينه بالفعل بشكل جذري في أوقات مختلفة في الماضي الجيولوجي دون أي تأثير بشري ، ولكن لا يترتب على ذلك أنه لا يوجد أي تأثير بشري على التيار ، في تقدم ، ارتفاع في المحيطات والغلاف الجوي العالمي يعني درجات الحرارة .

    العلم مؤسسة غير كاملة ، وفقًا لفلسفتها الخاصة ، لا تخضع أبدًا للمراجعة. تسمى المراجعات المستمرة والمتعددة البحث. كما هو الحال بالنسبة للعلم ، فهو يظل أفضل رهان للبشرية للوصول إلى بعض التقريب بين "الحقيقة" و "الحقيقة" - بدلاً من تعويض "شعورك بالرضا (أو المنفعة سياسياً وفي" الواقع "المربح على المدى القصير).

    يكره الناس أن يكونوا مشوشين (أي متناقضين) من الحقائق. تعد Dubya و Trump مثالين بارزين على نفس العقلية ، حيث يرفضان الملفات المفيدة والدقيقة مع موجة من اليد ، لصالح الشعور الغريزي المزعج والاندفاع الصاعد.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT EUROPE

Europe’s Historic Heat Wave a Sign of Worsening Weather Extremes, Warns Meteorologists

A man attempts to cool off at a water fountain as a heat wave strikes Europe. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)
A man attempts to cool off at a water fountain as a heat wave strikes Europe. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

“Heat waves will become more intense, they will become more drawn out, they will become more extreme, they will start earlier, and they will finish later.”

Monthly and all-time temperature records have been breaking across Europe as an extreme heat wave scorches the continent – a weather phenomenon environmentalists say demonstrates the immediate dangers of climate change. France reached 114 degrees Fahrenheit for the first time in recorded history over the weekend as the continent suffered multiple heat-related deaths from the extreme conditions.

“This is historic,” a Météo-France meteorologist, Etienne Kapikian, told the Guardian. “It’s the first time a temperature in excess of 45°C (113°F) has ever been recorded in France.”

Europe Responds to Heat Wave

The current heat wave is showing European leaders the importance of adapting their infrastructure to rising temperatures. Densely packed cities tend to get hotter than rural and suburban areas, as traffic and heat-trapping surfaces prolong high temperatures, and growing numbers of people are expected to migrate to cities in the coming years. Public cooling rooms were opened in Paris and other cities as part of a broader plan to remedy the conditions that allowed 14,000 people to die in France during a heat wave in 2003.

On Wednesday, Germany placed speed restrictions on the autobahn due to fears that extreme temperatures could cause dangerous cracks in road surfaces, as the country recorded its highest-ever June temperature. The Czech Republic and Poland also broke their temperature records during the week.

Around 4,000 schools were closed in France in response to the searing temperatures, which experts warned was unsafe for students. Extreme heat can also lessen productivity, as a 2018 Harvard School of Public Health study found students in rooms with inadequate air conditioning had 13% slower reaction time than students in cooler rooms.

“We will need to change our set-up, our way of working, build differently,” said French President Emmanuel Macron, stressing a necessary “adaptation of society and its habits”.

Other parts of the world also endured extreme heat over the past month, including a heat wave in India that resulted in dozens of deaths. Greenland broke records with the largest ice melt at this point of the year on record, as temperatures soared 40 degrees above normal.

Scientists say climate change will cause heat waves to become longer and more severe.

“Heat waves will become more intense, they will become more drawn out, they will become more extreme, they will start earlier, and they will finish later,” Clare Nullis, a spokesperson for the World Meteorological Organization, told Reuters.

Trump Continues Campaign Against Paris Agreement

Meanwhile, during the G-20 Summit in Japan last week, President Trump tried to convince leaders of countries like Saudi Arabia, Brazil, Australia and Turkey to oppose their Paris Agreement commitments, according to Politico. The other countries ultimately chose to back their commitments, leaving the USA as the only outlier.

“We have the cleanest water we have ever had, we have the cleanest air we’ve ever had, but I’m not willing to sacrifice the tremendous power of what we’ve built up over a long period of time and what I’ve enhanced and revived,” said the president, explaining his decision.

However, the US ranks 123rd out of 195 countries for air quality, according to AP News, with 24,000 people killed by smog pollution annually. Tens of millions of Americans also use unsafe drinking water, as shown by growing awareness of PFOA “forever chemicals” contamination in US food and water supplies.

“It doesn’t always work with a windmill. When the wind goes off, the plant isn’t working. It doesn’t always work with solar because solar’s just not strong enough, and a lot of them want to go to wind, which has caused a lot of problems.

“Wind doesn’t work for the most part without subsidy. The United States is paying tremendous amounts of subsidies for wind. I don’t like it, I don’t like it,” said the president.

The president’s comments come as renewables surpassed coal in U.S. energy production for the first time in April.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 2, 2019

    Nothing is simpler to measure than global warming. It requires only regular readings of thermometers placed in the atmosphere and in the oceans, which scientists have been doing, worldwide, for quite some time. Historical and prehistoric climatological data are retrievable by such means as isotopic analysis of cores of glacial ice. The fact that planet earth has indeed cooled and warmed rather drastically at various times in the geological past without any human influence, but it does not follow that there is no human influence on the current, in progress, rise in global ocean and atmosphere mean temperatures.

    Science is an imperfect enterprise and, by its own philosophy, is neverendingly subject to revision. The constant and multifarious revisions are called research. Imperfect as science is, it remains humankind’s best bet for arriving at some approximation of “truth” and “fact” — as opposed to making up your own feel-good (or politically expedient and in the short-term profitable) “reality”.

    People hate to be confused (i.e., contradicted) by facts. Dubya and Trump are outstanding examples of the same mindset, dismissing informative and nuanced dossiers with a wave of the hand, in favor of so-called gut feeling and peevish impulsiveness.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.