输入搜索

警察/监狱

数百起案件被佛罗里达州毒品种植计划逮捕

扎克韦斯特在特雷莎奥多姆的交通停留期间。 (图片:YouTube)
扎克韦斯特在特雷莎奥多姆的交通停留期间。 (图片:YouTube)

“毫无疑问,韦斯特的罪行是蓄意的,他的行为将无辜的人关进监狱。”

佛罗里达州杰克逊县代表Zach Wester周三因52罪名被捕,包括敲诈勒索,非法监禁,伪造证据和拥有受控物质,这是对Wester是否在交通站点为受害者种植毒品进行长达9个月的调查的结果。

对涉及Wester的300案件进行了审查,之后在119中删除了费用。 佛罗里达州官员宣布调查仍在进行中,但强调对韦斯特的指控是基于11案件,他们不相信有数百名受害者。

“还有大量的工作要做。 但我不相信100受害者附近有任何地方。 我们可能已经确定了大多数受害者,我们可能(没有),“州检察官威廉”比尔“埃丁斯在新闻发布会上说。

受害者

塔拉哈西民主党人说道 韦斯特的一名受害者是本杰明鲍林,他曾在2017因涉嫌拥有甲基苯丙胺和吸毒用具而被捕。

“韦斯特声称他在汽车里闻到了大麻,虽然鲍林是一名乘客,司机否认吸毒。 在韦斯特宣布他在汽车里发现毒品之后,鲍灵发誓自从早些时候因酒驾被捕以来一直很干净。 当时,他在获得女儿监护权后定期接受检测,“民主党人写道。

“此外,Bowling在被捕后自愿接受了药物测试,结果是阴性,”逮捕报告说。 “保龄球联系了警长办公室,并要求对这些药物进行DNA和指纹测试。 保龄球还要求身体摄像机视频,但从未收到它。 由于被捕,保龄球失去了对女儿的监护权。“

民主党特蕾莎·奥多姆(Teresa Odom)的另一名受害者在一次新闻发布会上哭泣,讨论对韦斯特的指控,并告诉记者她不知所措。

韦斯特去年因奥地利的毒品指控被逮捕并被捕。 然而,韦斯特自己的身体相机在他戴上手套寻找奥多姆的卡车之前,手里拿着某种小袋子向他展示。 所有指控最终都落在奥多姆身上。

调查

根据塔拉哈西民主党人的说法,对韦斯特的调查源于“他在法院周围的不端行为的窃窃私语。”调查发现42的毒品用具,10袋甲基苯丙胺和5袋大麻隐藏在他的无标记和无担保的证据袋中。巡逻车。

“位于副韦斯特巡逻车内的物品没有按照合法证据,保管物品或销毁物品的要求进行维护,” 逮捕宣誓书说。 “所发现的多件物品与他们的交通阻塞和逮捕过程中被用来制造证据的物品一致,外观相似。”

调查最终发现,韦斯特经常将受害者停在交通站点并在他们的车辆上种植毒品,然后因虚假毒品罪被捕。

“毫无疑问,韦斯特的罪行是蓄意的,他的行为将无辜的人关进监狱,”佛罗里达州执法部特工克里斯威廉姆斯在新闻发布会上说。 “我为我们的代理人和分析师在这个案件中表现出的努力和奉献精神感到自豪,以确保正义得到伸张。”

然而,正如帮助调查韦斯特的前助理国家律师克里斯蒂娜•普什里(Christina Pumphrey)告诉民主党人,对韦斯特的指控带来了一定程度的正义,但他们没有给受害者带来他们失去的时间。

“我很高兴他不在路上,”她说。 “我很高兴他显然面临指控。 它没有改变其他人因为他而经历的事情。 它没有给他们时间。 它没有给他们退钱。 它没有删除他们的记录 - 他们至少仍然有逮捕历史。 但它仍然是一种东西。“

由于敲诈勒索罪,Wester在州监狱面临最多30年。 其他重罪指控的最高刑期为五年,可能导致13年判刑,但法官可以选择增加刑期。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

Florida Deputy Arrested For Drug Planting Scheme, Hundreds of Cases Reviewed

Zach Wester during a traffic stop with Teresa Odom. (Photo: YouTube)
Zach Wester during a traffic stop with Teresa Odom. (Photo: YouTube)

“There is no question that Wester’s crimes were deliberate and that his actions put innocent people in jail.”

Jackson County, Florida Deputy Zach Wester was arrested Wednesday on 52 counts including racketeering, false imprisonment, fabricating evidence, and possession of a controlled substance in the culmination of a nine-month-long probe into whether Wester planted drugs on victims at traffic stops.

Over 300 cases involving Wester were reviewed after which charges were dropped in 119. Florida officials announced the investigation is still ongoing but stressed that the charges against Wester were based on 11 cases and they didn’t believe there were hundreds of victims.

“There’s a substantial amount of work to be done. But I have no belief that there’s anywhere near 100 victims. We may have identified most of the victims, we may (have) not,” State Attorney William “Bill” Eddins said in a press conference.

The Victims

The Tallahassee Democrat profiled one of Wester’s victims, Benjamin Bowling, who Wester arrested in 2017 on charges of possession of methamphetamine and drug paraphernalia.

“Wester claimed he smelled marijuana in the vehicle, though Bowling, a passenger, and the driver denied doing drugs. After Wester announced he’d found drugs in the car, Bowling swore he’d been clean since an earlier DUI arrest. At the time, he was being tested regularly after gaining custody of his daughter,” the Democrat wrote.

“Furthermore, Bowling voluntarily took a drug test after he was arrested and it was negative,” the arrest report says. “Bowling contacted the Sheriff’s Office and requested that the drugs were tested for DNA and fingerprints. Bowling also requested the body camera video but never received it. Bowling lost custody of his daughter because of the arrest.”

Another victim profiled by the Democrat, Teresa Odom, wept during a press conference discussing the charges against Wester and told reporters she was overwhelmed.

Odom was pulled over and arrested on drug charges last year by Wester. However, Wester’s own body camera shows him with some kind of baggie in his hand before he puts gloves on to search Odom’s truck. All charges were ultimately dropped against Odom.

 

The Investigation

According to the Tallahassee Democrat, the investigation into Wester stemmed from “whispers of his misconduct around the courthouse.” The investigation found 42 pieces of drug paraphernalia, ten baggies of methamphetamine and five baggies of marijuana concealed in an unmarked and unsecured evidence bag in his patrol car.

“The items located within Deputy Wester’s patrol car were not maintained as required of legitimate evidence, items for safe keeping or items for destruction,” the arrest affidavit says. “The multiple items located were consistent with, and similar in appearance to, items believed to have been used to fabricate evidence during (his) traffic stops and arrests.”

The investigation ultimately discovered that Wester routinely pulled over victims for traffic stops and planted drugs on their vehicles, then arrested them for false drug charges.

“There is no question that Wester’s crimes were deliberate and that his actions put innocent people in jail,” Florida Department of Law Enforcement special agent Chris Williams said in a news release. “I am proud of the hard work and dedication shown by our agents and analysts on this case to ensure justice is served.”

However, as Christina Pumphrey, a former assistant state attorney who helped investigate Wester, told the Democrat the charges against Wester bring a measure of justice but they don’t give the victims back their lost time.

“I’m glad he’s off the road,” she said. “I’m glad he’s obviously facing charges. It doesn’t change what the rest of the people went through because of him. It doesn’t give them their time back. It doesn’t give them their money back. It doesn’t expunge their records — they still have at least arrest histories. But it’s still something.”

Wester faces a maximum of 30 years in state prison for the racketeering charges. The other felony charges have maximum sentences of five years which could result in a 13-year sentence, but a judge could opt to increase the sentences.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.