اكتب للبحث

أفريقيا

الفصائل الليبية المتحاربة تبني جيوشاً من الوكلاء الأجانب في واشنطن

مؤيد يحمل صورة لزعيم المتمردين خليفة حفتر
مؤيد يحمل صورة لزعيم المتمردين خليفة حفتر. (الصورة: لقطة شاشة YouTube)

قد يتم تحديد مصير ليبيا من خلال أي طرف اشترى فريق العلاقات العامة الأفضل.

(بقلم ريد شامبلين ، مركز السياسة المستجيبةالحرب الأهلية الليبية تدور رحاها في عامها الثامن بصفتها أمراء الحرب خليفة حفتر يضع الحصار إلى طرابلس ، عاصمة البلاد ومقر الحكومة المدعومة من الأمم المتحدة.

أدى هجوم حفتر إلى تصعيد العنف الذي ابتليت به البلاد منذ سقوط من الديكتاتور القديم معمر القذافي في 2011 الربيع العربي. جيش حفتر الليبي الوطني الذي يسيطر عليه ثلثي أراضي البلاديقف متهما العشرات من جرائم الحرب، بما في ذلك القاتل غارة جوية في مركز احتجاز المهاجرين في طرابلس ، مثل العديد من الدول في جميع أنحاء العالم تحول الولاءات نحو أمير الحرب وبعيدًا عن الحكومة المدعومة من الأمم المتحدة.

ما يقرب من 5,000 على بعد أميال من واشنطن ، المعركة محتدمة على جبهة مختلفة: لقد وقعت كل من الحكومة الليبية والمتمردين صفقات بملايين الدولارات مع جماعات الضغط البارزة في العاصمة حيث يهدفون إلى كسب دعم صانعي السياسة الأميركيين.

غادر يتبارى بعد هجوم حفتر ، الزئبق الشؤون العامة و رئيس مجموعة السياسات إضافة 17 عملاء أجانب على الأقل إلى عمليات التأثير الأجنبية لـ الحكومة الليبية منذ أوائل مايو. وتشمل التعيينات النائب السابق. جون تانر (D-Tenn.) ، عضو قوي طويل الأمد في لجنة الشؤون الخارجية بمجلس النواب ونائب رئيس مجموعة برايم بوليسي ، إدوارد كوكس، كبير مستشاري السياسة السابقين للسيناتور المتقاعد أورين هاتش (R-يوتا).

الحكومة متفق عليه لدفع الزئبق 2 مليون دولار سنويا في الحفاظ على خدماتهم. Prime Policy Group ، من ناحية أخرى ، تقول إنها توصلت لاتفاق شفهي على العمل على الموالية للمصلحة العامة الأساس.

وقالت المنظمة في بيان "إن ليبيا الموحدة والديمقراطية تخدم مصلحة الليبيين وتعزز الأهداف الأمنية للولايات المتحدة". خبر صحفى.

جيش حفتر الليبي الوطني التعاقد خمسة عملاء ووكلاء أجانب في شركة Linden Government Solutions ، وهي شركة في تكساس يرأسها ستيفن باين المسؤول السابق في إدارة بوش. الترتيب ، ذكرت لأول مرة من قبل APستشمل رسميا لقاءات مع المسؤولين الأمريكيين ، "بناء التحالف الدولي والعلاقات العامة العامة".

باين لديه تاريخ واسع مع الدولة المضطربة في شمال إفريقيا. زار في 2011 مع النائب السابق. كيرت ويلدون (R-Penn.) قبل سقوط القذافي ، مما يساعد على التفاوض لإطلاق سراح ثلاثة صحفيين مسجونين. في الوقت نفسه ، كان يمول زيارة ويلدون على أمل أن يقنع عضو الكونغرس السابق القذافي بالتنحي. باين لديه علاقات وثيقة مع ثلاثة من أبناء القذافي.

سنة واحدة صفقة مع ليندن تبلغ قيمتها حوالي 2 مليون دولار. على الرغم من عدم ذكر ذلك صراحةً في العقد ، فقد يكون لكلا الطرفين مصلحة في النفط الليبي الوفير ، كما ذكر باين والمستشار القانوني براين إيتنغر العلاقات العميقة في أسواق الطاقة الدولية وحفتر مؤخرا المكتسبة السيطرة من الشرارة ، أكبر حقل نفط في ليبيا.

دعمت إدارة أوباما بحماس حكومة الوفاق الوطني ، قول شراكة أميركا مع الحكومة "هي في مصلحة الأمن القومي لأميركا في معركتنا ضد داعش". في حين تعهدت الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من القوى الكبرى اسمياً بدعم حكومة الوفاق الوطني في طرابلس لسنوات ، فإن نجاح حفار العسكري جعل الكثير من يعيد النظر في المكان الذي تكمن فيه ولاءاتهم .

يبدو أن إدارة ترامب منقسمة على أي جانب لدعمها ، حيث أشاد الرئيس أمير الحرب بفوزه على الجماعات الإسلامية و مشجع مسيرة الجيش الوطني الليبي في طرابلس مكالمة هاتفية أبريل. مستشار الأمن القومي جون بولتون أيضا شجع هجوم حفتر ، بحسب مصادر دبلوماسية.

دعم البيت الأبيض لحفتار اشتباكات مع الموقف الرسمي لوزارة الخارجية ، والذي لا يزال في صالح الحكومة الليبية. في أبريل 7 ، وزير الخارجية مايك بومبو أدانهجوم حفتر وحث كلا الجانبين على متابعة الحل الدبلوماسي.

وقال بومبيو في بيان في ذلك الوقت: "لقد أوضحنا أننا نعارض الهجوم العسكري من قبل قوات خليفة حفتر ونحث على الوقف الفوري لهذه العمليات العسكرية ضد العاصمة الليبية".

لكن في منتصف أبريل ، الولايات المتحدة رفض لدعم قرار مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة الداعي إلى وقف إطلاق النار على مستوى البلاد ، والانضمام إلى روسيا ، حليف حفتر ، في هزيمة القرار. لم تقدم الولايات المتحدة سبب الرفض.

صالح ترامب المفاجئ لحفتار كان نتيجة ل الضغط شديد من ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان والرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي. المملكة العربية السعودية و مصرالى جانب الإمارات العربية المتحدة و روسيا، تدعم حفتر والجيش الوطني الليبي.

فرنسا لديها أيضا سرا أيد حفتر ، مع أخبار كسر يوم الأربعاء أن الصواريخ المضادة للدبابات التي عثر عليها في قاعدة للجيش الوطني الليبي تابعة للقوات الفرنسية الخاصة العاملة في المنطقة. الأمة لديها استثمارات نفطية كبيرة في ليبيا التي أصبحت الآن تحت سيطرة حفتر.

كان حفتر لاعبًا قويًا في ليبيا منذ 1969 ، عندما كان ضابطًا شابًا في الجيش شارك في انقلاب القذافي ضد الملكية الليبية. تم اختياره كأحد كبار المستشارين العسكريين للقذافي بعد ذلك بوقت قصير.

Haftar انقلبت ضد القذافي بعد أن تنكر الديكتاتور رحلته العسكرية التي تمت الموافقة عليها في تشاد المجاورة. انضم إلى جماعة معارضة تدعمها وكالة المخابرات المركزية الجبهة الوطنية لإنقاذ ليبيا قبل الفرار من البلاد بعد أ فشل الانقلاب محاولة في 1996.

أمضى حفتر التالي سنوات 20 الذين يعيشون في ولاية فرجينيا الشمالية ، مع بعض الشك في أن قربه من وكالة المخابرات المركزية، التي نظمت العديد من محاولات الاغتيال ضد القذافي ، أشارت إلى وجود علاقة مستمرة. إنه لا يزال يحمل الجنسية الأمريكية.

Haftar عاد إلى ليبيا في 2014 وشكلت بهدوء جيش لمعارضة الميليشيات الإسلامية المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء الأمة التي مزقتها الحرب ، واكتسبت الدعم من شكلت حديثا مجلس النواب الليبي.

في 2015 ، هو أصبح القائد من الجيش الوطني الليبي ، والتي في وقت لاحق انقسم إلى فصيلين: أحدهما يدعم حكومة مجلس النواب المتمركزة في مدينة طبرق الشرقية والآخر ، الجيش الليبي ، لدعم حكومة الوفاق الوطني التي تدعمها الأمم المتحدة.

لعبت قوات حفتر دورًا رئيسيًا في إضعاف داعش والمتطرفين الآخرين ، واستعادة المدن الكبرى في بنغازي في و2017 درنة في 2018. الآن ، تهدف قوات حفتر إلى إخراج حكومة الوفاق الوطني من السلطة إلى الأبد عن طريق الاستيلاء على طرابلس.

أكثر من 1,000 الناس مات منذ شن حفتر هجوم طرابلس في أبريل. مجلس الأمن الدولي لديه وكرر يدعو إلى حل دبلوماسي وسط تصاعد العنف.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
زائر رد

تقوم Citizen Truth بإعادة نشر المقالات بإذن من مجموعة متنوعة من المواقع الإخبارية ومنظمات الدعوة ومجموعات المراقبة. نختار المقالات التي نعتقد أنها ستكون مفيدة ومفيدة لقرائنا. تحتوي المقالات المختارة أحيانًا على مزيج من الرأي والأخبار ، وأية آراء من هذا القبيل هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AFRICA

Warring Libyan Factions Build Armies of Foreign Agents in Washington

Supporter holding a picture of rebel leader Khalifa Haftar
Supporter holding a picture of rebel leader Khalifa Haftar. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

The fate of Libya may be determined by which side bought the better public relations team.

(By Reid Champlin, Center for Responsive Politics) The Libyan civil war rages well into its eighth year as warlord Khalifa Haftar lays siege to Tripoli, the nation’s capital and seat of the United Nations-backed government.

Haftar’s attack has escalated the violence that has plagued the country since the downfall of longtime dictator Muammar Gaddafi in the 2011 Arab Spring. Haftar’s Libyan National Army, which controls over two-thirds of the nation’s territory, stands accused of dozens of war crimes, including a deadly airstrike on a Tripoli migrant detention center, as many nations around the world shift allegiances toward the warlord and away from the U.N.-backed government.

Almost 5,000 miles away in Washington, the battle rages on a different front: Both the Libyan government and the rebels have inked multi-million dollar deals with prominent D.C. lobbyists as they aim to win the backing of American policymakers.

Left scrambling after Haftar’s attack, Mercury Public Affairs and Prime Policy Group added at least 17 foreign agents to foreign influence operations for the Libyan government since early May. The hires include former Rep. John Tanner (D-Tenn.), a longtime stalwart on the House Foreign Affairs Committee and vice chairman of Prime Policy Group, and Edward Cox, former senior policy advisor to retired Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah).

The government agreed to pay Mercury $2 million annually in retaining their services. Prime Policy Group, on the other hand, says it made a verbal agreement to work on a pro-bono basis.

“A unified, democratic Libya is in the best interest of Libyans and furthers the security goals of the United States,” the organization said in a press release.

Haftar’s Libyan National Army has contracted five foreign agents and operatives at Linden Government Solutions, a Texas firm headed by former Bush administration official Stephen Payne. The arrangement, first reported by the AP, will officially include meetings with U.S. officials, “international coalition building and general public relations.”

Payne has an extensive history with the troubled North African nation. He visited in 2011 with former Rep. Curt Weldon (R-Penn.) before the fall of Gaddafi, helping to negotiate the release of three imprisoned journalists. At the same time, he was bankrolling Weldon’s visit in hopes the former congressman could convince Gaddafi to step down. Payne has close ties to three of Gaddafi’s sons.

The one-year deal with Linden is worth about $2 million. While not explicitly mentioned in the contract, both parties may have an interest in Libyan’s abundant oil, as Payne and legal counsel Brian Ettinger have deep ties in international energy markets and Haftar recently gained control of El Sharara, Libya’s largest oil field.

The Obama administration fervently backed the Government of National Accord, saying America’s partnership with the government “is in America’s national security interest in our fight against ISIL.” While the U.S. and other major powers have nominally pledged support for Tripoli’s Government of National Accord for years, Haftar’s military success has made many reconsider where their allegiances lie.

The Trump administration appears to be divided on which side to support, with the president reportedly praising the warlord for his victories against Islamist groups and encouraging the Libyan National Army’s march on Tripoli in an April phone call. National Security Advisor John Bolton also encouraged Haftar’s attack, according to diplomatic sources.

The White House’s support for Haftar clashes with the State Department’s official position, which is still in favor of the Libyan government. On April 7, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo condemnedHaftar’s attack and urged both sides to pursue a diplomatic solution.

“We have made clear that we oppose the military offensive by Khalifa Haftar’s forces and urge the immediate halt to these military operations against the Libyan capital,” Pompeo said in a statement at the time.

But in mid-April, the U.S. refused to support a U.N. Security Council resolution calling for a nationwide ceasefire, joining Russia, a Haftar ally, in defeating the resolution. The U.S. did not provide a reason for the refusal.

Trump’s sudden favor for Haftar was reportedly the result of intense pressure from Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed Bin Salman and Egyptian President Abdel Fattah Al Sisi. Saudi Arabia and Egypt, alongside the United Arab Emirates and Russia, are backing Haftar and the Libyan National Army.

France has also covertly supported Haftar, with news breaking Wednesday that anti-tank missiles recovered at a Libyan National Army base belong to French special forces working in the region. The nation has significant oil investments in Libya that are now under the control of Haftar.

Haftar has been a power player in Libya since 1969, when, as a young army officer, he took part in Gaddafi’s coup against the Libyan monarchy.  He was named one of Gaddafi’s top military advisers shortly thereafter.

Haftar turned against Gaddafi after the dictator disavowed his sanctioned military excursion into neighboring Chad. He joined the CIA-backed opposition group National Front for the Salvation of Libya before fleeing the country following a failed coup attempt in 1996.

Haftar spent the next 20 years living in northern Virginia, with some suspecting that his proximity to the CIA, which organized numerous assassination attempts against Gaddafi, indicated an ongoing relationship. He continues to hold American citizenship.

Haftar returned to Libya in 2014 and quietly formed an army to oppose the Islamist militias scattered throughout the war-torn nation, gaining the support of the newly-formed Libyan House of Representatives.

In 2015, he became commander of the Libyan National Army, which later split into two factions: one in support of the House of Representatives government based in the eastern city of Tobruk and the other, the Libyan Army, in support of the U.N.-backed Government of National Accord.

Haftar’s forces played a major role in weakening ISIL and other extremists, retaking the major cities of Benghazi in 2017 and Derna in 2018. Now, Haftar’s forces are aiming at sweeping the Government of National Accord out of power for good by taking Tripoli.

More than 1,000 people have died since Haftar launched the Tripoli offensive in April. The U.N. Security Council has reiterated its calls for a diplomatic solution amidst the escalating violence.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.