输入搜索

欧洲

英国Cower到特朗普了吗? 英国大使辞职后的辩论漩涡

Kim Darroch在接受彭博新闻采访时说。 (图片:YouTube)
Kim Darroch在接受彭博新闻采访时说。 (图片:YouTube)

“Kim Darroch实际上已经被迫出去执行外交官被任命的工作,这是可耻的。”

英国驻美国大使周三辞职后泄露了特使对特朗普总统不满的私人观点,引发总统谴责英国特使并宣布:“我们将不再与他打交道”。

这些电报显示了大使对特朗普政府的坦诚评估,意在与英国政府的一个高级官员团体共享。 该 资深外交官Kim Darroch称特朗普“笨拙无能”和“放射不安全感”,也表示担心他可能会对“狡猾的俄罗斯人”感激不尽,并且他的伊朗政策“不连贯”。

“我们并不认为这届政府会变得更加正常; 功能失调; 不太可预测; 少派; 在外交上笨拙和无能,“Darroch写道。

“每日邮报 周日发布了敏感电报,领导特朗普总统周一与英国大使断绝关系 提到他 作为一个“非常愚蠢的家伙”和周二的“古怪”。

英国应对电缆泄漏

达罗奇周三辞职, “目前的情况使我无法按照自己的意愿履行自己的职责。”英国顶级政客的不同反应,例如下个月竞争取代特里萨梅作为首相的两位候选人,进一步导致争议。

外交大臣杰里米·亨特对Darroch被迫离职以分享他的诚实观察并履行其工作的基本职责表示遗憾。

“我们有一位优秀的外交官,他正在做他应该做的事情 - 给予坦率的评估,对他所发布的国家的政治情况进行个人评估 - 这就是我为他辩护的原因,”亨特 告诉记者。 “而且我认为我们都应该这样做。”

鲍特·约翰逊,亨特的前任外交大臣和他的首相职位的竞争对手, 打了一个不同的语气:“我认为非常重要的是我们应该建立密切的伙伴关系,与美国保持密切的友谊。”

约翰逊是这个种族的领跑者,也是最有可能的未来总理,在周四之前选择不公开支持即将卸任的大使,这引起了其他立法者的严厉批评。

“Kim Darroch实际上已经被迫出去完成外交官被任命的工作,这是可耻的,” 啾啾 苏格兰首席部长Nicola Sturgeon。 “鲍里斯约翰逊昨晚失败了,为他辩护 - 并坚持唐纳德特朗普的行为 - 说了很多话。”

“鲍里斯约翰逊甚至还没有PM,他已经对英国的国际声誉造成严重打击......” 啾啾 独立议员Nick Boles。 “英国人现在可以看到鲍里斯约翰逊将成为唐纳德特朗普的贵宾犬,他对白宫任何命令的回应将是:'总统先生,有多高?

外交事务委员会主席Tom Tugendhat, 告诉 天空新闻:“如果我们允许自己被欺负我们选择代表我们的人,那么坦率地说,主权意味着什么? 如果你甚至不能选择谁代表你,那么你以什么方式负责任何事情?“

电缆泄漏是否有预谋?

所谓的“Brexiteers”认为,他们可以通过与特朗普政府达成一项新的贸易协议来弥补因打破欧盟贸易集团而遭受的任何经济损失,并利用其对美国的新影响力作为对欧盟其他国家的影响力

一些分析师,如 拦截的罗伯特麦基相信泄露电缆的人试图驱逐达罗克并用Nigel Farage取代他,这是一位慷慨激昂的特朗普支持者和坚定退欧的支持者。

正如前英国驻法国大使彼得·里基茨(Peter Ricketts)所写 监护人:“英国体制内的某个人故意积累了他的评估,然后选择了最大影响的时刻来泄漏它。 这不是一个自发决定公开单一文件:它需要预谋,因此需要议程。“

泄漏被赋予了这一事实,这一理论得到了加强 Isabel Oakeshott一位与英国脱欧公关人员及其财务支持者亚伦班克斯(Aaron Banks)关系密切的英国退欧记者,被称为“脱欧的坏男孩”。

泄漏后,Farage立刻 要求 达罗奇被解雇了。 不久之后,亲英脱欧集团Leave.EU,由班克斯资助, 建议 Farage成为新任大使:“英国脱欧美国驻华大使是唐纳德特朗普称之为”坏人“的人。 他需要被驱逐出华盛顿,取而代之的是总统的最爱。“

对英国奴役的指责

虽然英国脱欧倡导者经常在争取恢复自治的论点中引用对大英帝国的荣耀的怀旧,但批评者指出,休假运动依赖美国作为一种新的奴役形式。

“英国与欧洲生活平衡,” 说过 法国总统伊曼纽尔·马克龙在2017批评英国退欧。 “但现在它正在成为一个附庸国,意味着它正在成为美国的初级伙伴。”

历史学家马克斯·黑斯廷斯(Max Hastings)也对英国脱欧运动的依赖美国经济支持的策略提出了挑战 “纽约时报”:“他们有一个非常不同寻常的信念,即如果他们对特朗普有足够的吸收力,那么这届政府就会对他们有所帮助。”

特朗普总统持有一个 77%不利评级 在英国,但在保守党的强硬派中受到强烈支持,使得以更强大的美国关系取代欧盟合作的问题变得两极分化。

Leave的策略是以美国的关系取代英国对欧盟的依赖,这是另一个问题 边境上的微妙和平 爱尔兰共和国和北爱尔兰之间。

欧盟成员国不允许与外国谈判双边贸易协定,这意味着英国只能在完全退出欧盟后与美国达成新的协议。 这将要求北爱尔兰(英国的一部分)和爱尔兰共和国之间的新加强边界,后者仍留在欧盟

专家警告说,对现在无缝边界实行海关和移民检查将会重新唤起“麻烦”的敌意,这是长期以来在希望留在英国的新教徒工会主义者与大多数天主教民族主义者之间长达数十年的爱尔兰冲突。形成一个主权的爱尔兰。

发言人佩洛西4月份警告称,如果国会违反1998耶稣受难日协议,国会将与英国达成任何新的贸易协议,该协议正式被认为是“麻烦”的终结。 耶稣受难日协议承诺爱尔兰和英国之间的跨境合作,两国都有 定义 开放边界是“和平进程中最切实的象征”

“让我说清楚,”佩洛西 告诉 爱尔兰议会。 “如果英国脱欧协议破坏了耶稣受难日协议,那么就不会有美英贸易协定。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 July 12, 2019

    另一个“冰山一角”的例子。 政府在幕后所做的事情与他们的公共姿势完全不同。 透明度不是“西方民主国家”(或任何其他政府)的一个方面。

    回复
  2. jameswdj96 July 21, 2019

    谢谢你的分享! 如果您想找到最好的历史报纸,请查看我的网页: https://couponupto.com/coupons/historic-newspapers

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Did the UK Cower to Trump? Debate Swirls After UK Ambassador Resigns

Kim Darroch in an interview with Bloomberg News. (Photo: YouTube)
Kim Darroch in an interview with Bloomberg News. (Photo: YouTube)

“It is shameful that Kim Darroch has effectively been forced out for doing the job that diplomats are appointed to do.”

The United Kingdom’s ambassador to the United States resigned Wednesday after leaked diplomatic cables exposed the envoy’s unflattering private views of President Trump, triggering the president to denounce the British envoy and declare: “we will no longer deal with him.”

The cables revealed the ambassador’s candid assessments of the Trump administration, meant to be shared with only an exclusive group of senior officials in the British government. The veteran diplomat, Kim Darroch, described Trump as “clumsy and inept” and “radiating insecurity,” also voicing concern that he could be indebted to “dodgy Russians” and that his Iran policy is “incoherent.”

“We don’t really believe this administration is going to become substantially more normal; less dysfunctional; less unpredictable; less faction riven; less diplomatically clumsy and inept,” wrote Darroch.

The Daily Mail published the sensitive cables on Sunday, leading President Trump to cut ties with the UK ambassador on Monday and refer to him as a “very stupid guy” and “wacky” on Tuesday.

UK Responds to Cable Leak

Darroch resigned on Wednesday, saying “The current situation is making it impossible for me to carry out my role as I would like.” Differing responses to the situation from top British politicians, such as the two candidates competing to replace Theresa May as Prime Minister next month, led to further controversy.

Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt expressed regret that Darroch was forced to leave his post for sharing his honest observations and fulfilling the basic duties of his job.

“We had a fine diplomat who was just doing what he should have been doing — giving a frank assessment, a personal assessment of the political situation in the country that he was posted (to) — and that’s why I defended him,” Hunt told reporters. “And I think we all should.”

Boris Johnson, Hunt’s predecessor as Foreign Secretary and his rival for the Prime Minister position, struck a different tone: “I think it’s very important we should have a close partnership, a close friendship with the United States.”

Johnson, the race’s frontrunner and most likely future Prime Minister, chose not to publicly support the outgoing ambassador until Thursday, prompting heavy criticism from other lawmakers.

“It is shameful that Kim Darroch has effectively been forced out for doing the job that diplomats are appointed to do,” tweeted Scottish First Minister Nicola Sturgeon. “Boris Johnson’s failure last night to stand up for him — and stand up to the behavior of Donald Trump — spoke volumes.”

“Boris Johnson isn’t even PM yet and he is already responsible for a grievous blow to the U.K.’s international reputation…” tweeted independent lawmaker Nick Boles. “The British people can now see that Boris Johnson will be Donald Trump’s poodle, that his response to any command from the White House will be: ‘How high, Mr. President?”

Tom Tugendhat, chair of the foreign affairs committee, told Sky News: “If we allow ourselves to be bullied in who we chose to represent us, then frankly, what does sovereignty mean? If you can’t even choose who represents you, then in what way are you in charge of anything?”

Was the Cable Leak Premeditated?

So-called “Brexiteers” argue they could remedy any economic damage suffered from breaking with the E.U. trade bloc by forging a new trade agreement with the Trump administration and use their new clout with the U.S. as leverage over the rest of the E.U.

Some analysts, such as the Intercept’s Robert Mackey, believe the person who leaked the cables sought to oust Darroch and replace him with Nigel Farage, an impassioned Trump supporter and proponent of a hard-Brexit.

As Peter Ricketts, a former U.K. ambassador to France, wrote in the Guardian: “someone inside the British system deliberately amassed a stash of his assessments, then chose the moment of maximum impact to leak it. This was not a spontaneous decision to make public a single document: it required premeditation and therefore an agenda.”

This theory is strengthened by the fact that the leaks were given to Isabel Oakeshott, a pro-Brexit journalist with ties to Farage and his financial backer Aaron Banks, known as the “Bad Boy of Brexit.”

After the leaks, Farage immediately demanded Darroch be fired. Shortly after, pro-Brexit group Leave.EU, which is funded by Banks, suggested Farage become the new ambassador: “Britain’s anti-Brexit ambassador to the U.S. is what Donald Trump would call a ‘bad hombre.’ He needs to be banished from Washington and replaced by a favorite of the President.”

Accusations of British Servitude

While Brexit advocates often invoke nostalgia for the glory of the British Empire in their argument for reclaiming autonomy, critics point to the Leave campaign’s reliance on the U.S. as a new form of servility.

“Britain lived in an equilibrium with Europe,” said French President Emmanuel Macron in 2017, criticizing Brexit. “But now it is becoming a vassal state, meaning it is becoming the junior partner of the United States.”

Historian Max Hastings also challenged the Brexit movement’s strategy of depending on the U.S. for economic support, telling the New York Times: “They have a quite extraordinary belief that if they suck up sufficiently to Trump, this administration will do them favors.”

President Trump holds a 77% unfavorable rating in the U.K., but enjoys strong favor among the conservative party’s hard-right, making the issue of replacing E.U.-cooperation with stronger U.S. ties a polarizing one.

Another issue with Leave’s strategy of replacing the U.K.’s dependence on the E.U. with a bolstered U.S. relationship is the delicate peace on the border between the Irish Republic and Northern Ireland.

E.U. member states are not allowed to negotiate bilateral trade agreements with foreign countries, meaning the U.K. could only strike a new deal with the U.S. after a full withdrawal from the European Union. That would require a newly fortified border between Northern Ireland, which is part of the U.K., and the Irish Republic, which remains in the E.U.

Experts warn imposing customs and immigration checks on the now seamless border would reawaken the hostility of “The Troubles,” the decades-long Irish conflict between the mostly Protestant unionists, who wanted to stay in the U.K., and the mostly Catholic nationalists, who wanted to form a sovereign Ireland.

Speaker Pelosi warned in April that Congress would fight any new trade deal with the U.K. if it jeopardized the 1998 Good Friday Agreement, which is officially recognized as the end of The Troubles. The Good Friday accords pledged cross-border cooperation between Ireland and the U.K., and both countries have defined the open border as “the most tangible symbol of the peace process”

“Let me be clear,” Pelosi told Ireland’s parliament. “If the Brexit deal undermines the Good Friday accords, there would be no chance of a U.S.-U.K. trade agreement.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 12, 2019

    Another “tip of the iceberg” example. What governments do behind the scenes is uniformly very different from their public postures. Transparency is not an aspect of “Western democracies” (or any other governments).

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.