输入搜索

亚太 警察/监狱

斯诺登表示,如果给予公平审判,他将返回美国

爱德华·斯诺登在华盛顿特区的沃德曼万豪酒店举行的2015国际学生自由会议上发表演讲
爱德华·斯诺登在华盛顿特区沃德曼公园万豪酒店举行的2015国际学生自由会议上发表讲话(照片:Gage Skidmore)

“我不是要求原谅。 我不是要求通行证。 我要求的是公平审判。“

美国国家安全局举报人爱德华·斯诺登本周一直在接受主要媒体采访,期待他的回忆录发行, 永久记录。 举报人谈到了他对未来的恐惧,他回到美国的愿望,以及他对现任美国总统唐纳德特朗普的看法。

在2013中,斯诺登泄漏了有关该机构大量收集民用电话和互联网元数据的NSA信息。 斯诺登的启示 导致了二十多个法案 国会意味着要彻底改革违宪的无证政府监督。

斯诺登说 守护者 他认为自9月18袭击事件以来的11年代是“通过美国自我毁灭,随着秘密政策,秘密法律,秘密法庭和秘密战争的颁布,美国遭到破坏的连续性”。

斯诺登表示,如果不能正确理解和规范新技术,最糟糕的情况还未到来:“最大的危险仍然存在,人工智能能力的改进,如面部和模式识别。”

他告诉 卫报的Ewen MacAskill 他在莫斯科的时间目前居住在庇护所,为普京的威权政府提供了良好的宣传:

“一个政治问题具有传奇色彩的国家,我们每天都听到的人权问题终于在某种程度上成功地在人权记录上找到了一个亮点......他们为什么要这样做呢?”

斯诺登表示他渴望在俄罗斯留下庇护,他希望去法国,德国或美国等地。

“我在[法国前总统弗朗索瓦]奥朗德的2013申请庇护,当然我们很乐意看到[Emmanuel] Macron发出邀请,”斯诺登说,尽管马克龙的顾问暗示斯诺登的庇护不太可能,因为它马克龙的一位顾问称,这将对法国与美国的关系造成外交损害“没有任何决定” 周一告诉RTL。

斯诺登说 MSNBC的Brian Williams 他在27申请庇护的每个2013国家都被前副总统乔拜登或国务卿约翰克里召集,并告诉他们如果给予举报人避难所将会产生“严重后果”。

斯诺登说,美国是他的首选目的地,他不是要求赦免,而是要求公平审判。

“我当然想回到美国,”斯诺登 告诉CBS。 “这是最终目标。 但如果我要在狱中度过余生,那么我们所有人必须同意的一个底线要求至少是我得到了公正的审判。“

“这是政府拒绝保证的一件事,因为他们不会让我获得所谓的'公共利益防御',”他说。

“我不是要求原谅。 我不是要求传球,“斯诺登继续道。 “我要求的是一个公正的审判。 这是任何美国人应该要求的底线。 如果没有陪审团能够决定他们所做的是对还是错,我们不希望人们被投入监狱。“

在总统候选人中,伯尼·桑德斯曾表示,他希望看到一项决定结束斯诺登的永久流亡,众议员塔尔西·加巴德说她会原谅他。 特朗普同时称他为叛徒并谈到 给予NSA泄密者死刑。 斯诺登 告诉威廉姆斯 他尚未在2020比赛中占据一席之地,但对总统的心理进行了有趣的分析。

“唐纳德特朗普对我一无所知,就像一个从来没有真正了解过他无需支付的爱情的男人,” 斯诺登说 威廉姆斯。 “所以他所做的一切都是通过一种交易主义来实现的。 我认为,他实际上正在寻找的只是让人们喜欢他,不幸的是,这会产生很多负面影响。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 18-2019-XNUMX

    我们要提到地狱冻结吗?

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC POLICE/PRISON

Snowden Says He Would Return To US If Given A Fair Trial

Edward Snowden speaking at the 2015 International Students for Liberty Conference at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Edward Snowden speaking at the 2015 International Students for Liberty Conference at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in Washington, D.C. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“I’m not asking for a pardon. I’m not asking for a pass. What I’m asking for is a fair trial.”

NSA Whistleblower Edward Snowden has been giving interviews with major media outlets this week in anticipation of the release of his memoir, Permanent Record. The whistleblower has spoken about his fears of the future, his desire to return to the United States, and his views on current U.S. President Donald Trump.

In 2013 Snowden leaked classified NSA information about the agency’s mass collection of civilian phone and internet metadata. Snowden’s revelations led to over two dozen bills in Congress meant to overhaul unconstitutional warrantless government surveillance.

Snowden told the Guardian that he views the 18 years since the September 11 attacks as “a litany of American destruction by way of American self-destruction, with the promulgation of secret policies, secret laws, secret courts and secret wars.”

Snowden said the worst is yet to come if new technology is not properly understood and regulated: “The greatest danger still lies ahead, with the refinement of artificial intelligence capabilities, such as facial and pattern recognition.”

He told the Guardian’s Ewen MacAskill that his time in Moscow, where he currently lives in asylum, has provided Putin’s authoritarian government good publicity:

“A country whose political troubles are legendary, whose problems with human rights we hear about every single day has finally, somehow, managed to have one bright spot on their human rights record … Why would they give that up?”

Snowden said he yearns to leave asylum in Russia, and that he hopes to go somewhere like France, Germany or the U.S..

“I applied for asylum in France in 2013 under [former French President François] Hollande and of course we would love to see [Emmanuel] Macron roll out an invitation,” Snowden said, although Macron’s adviser has hinted that Snowden’s asylum is unlikely because it would cause diplomatic damage to France’s relationship with the U.S. “Nothing has been decided,” a Macron adviser told RTL on Monday.

Snowden told MSNBC’s Brian Williams that every one of the 27 countries he applied to for asylum in 2013 was called by either former Vice President Joe Biden or Secretary of State John Kerry and told there would be “serious consequences” if they granted the whistleblower refuge.

Snowden said the U.S. is his preferred destination and that he is not asking for a pardon, but a fair trial.

“Of course I would like to return to the United States,” Snowden told CBS. “That is the ultimate goal. But if I’m going to spend the rest of my life in prison, then one bottom-line demand that we all have to agree to is at least I get a fair trial.”

“That is the one thing the government has refused to guarantee because they won’t provide me access to what’s called a ‘public interest defense,'” he said.

“I’m not asking for a pardon. I’m not asking for a pass,” Snowden continued. “What I’m asking for is a fair trial. And this is the bottom line that any American should require. We don’t want people thrown in prison without the jury being able to decide that what they did was right or wrong.”

Of the presidential candidates, Bernie Sanders has said he’d like to see a resolution ending Snowden’s permanent exile and Rep. Tulsi Gabbard has said she would pardon him. Trump meanwhile, has called him a traitor and spoke of giving the NSA leaker the death penalty. Snowden told Williams he hadn’t yet taken a position on the 2020 race, but offered an interesting analysis of the president’s psyche.

“Donald Trump strikes me like nothing so much as a man who has never really known a love that he hasn’t had to pay for,” Snowden told Williams. “And so everything that he does is informed by a kind of transactionalism. I think and what he’s actually looking for is simply for people to like him, unfortunately that produces a lot of negative effects.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout September 18, 2019

    Shall we mention hell freezing over?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.