输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

Google Whistleblower公布了截尾黑名单网站数据库

Google徽标
Google徽标。 (摄影:Robert Scoble)

“但是,对于他们宣誓并说这些黑名单不存在,像我这样的员工能够只搜索公司的内部搜索引擎并看到他们这样做,至少是伪善的,这是伪证在最坏的情况下。“

一位前谷歌工程师泄露了几乎1,000文件,显示了科技巨头和他的前雇主实际上是如何审查和维护网站的黑名单,尽管谷歌一再声称它没有操纵其搜索引擎算法结果。

在谷歌工作了八年的Zachary Vorhies向Project Veritas和美国司法部反垄断部门发布了这些文件。 他周三以他的名字正式登记 - 这是他在谷歌发给他之后做出的决定 要求归还公司档案,并要求警方对他进行“健康检查”。 Voorhies也给了一个 访问 致Fox新闻撰稿人Sara Carter。

Vorhies的泄密事件发生在首席执行官Sundar Pichai去年12月在美国众议院司法委员会成员面前作证的几个月之后,题为“透明度和问责制:审查谷歌及其数据收集,使用和过滤实践”。

Pichai回答了有关搜索引擎偏见,内容审核,数据和位置跟踪以及Google为中国开发搜索引擎的计划的相关问题。

在听证会上,Pichai作证说搜索引擎在政治上是中立的,结果是由“相关性,新鲜度,受欢迎程度,其他人如何使用它”等因素决定的。

在对Veritas项目的采访中,Vorhies在国会称其为虚伪和可能的伪证之前提到了Pichai的证词。

“如果谷歌想要有政治偏见,并且他们想说他们有政治偏见,这是他们作为公司的权利。

“但是,对于他们宣誓并说这些黑名单不存在,像我这样的员工能够只搜索公司的内部搜索引擎并看到他们这样做,至少是伪善的,这是伪证在最坏的情况下,“Vorhies说。

Vorhies说他转向Project Veritas公开上述文件,因为他觉得他看到这个科技巨头的“黑暗”可能严重影响美国大选和美国人。

“我看到公司发生了一些黑暗和邪恶的事情,我意识到他们不仅要篡改选举,还要利用篡改选举来彻底推翻美国,”举报人告诉Project Veritas。

谷歌转储中有什么?

Vorhies发布了数百页内部Google文档,他说这些文档可供Google员工广泛使用。

“这些文件可供全公司公司内每位员工使用。 因此,作为公司的全职员工,我只搜索了一些关键字,这些文档开始弹出。 因此,一旦我开始找到一个文档并开始为其他文档找到关键字,我就会进入并继续这个循环,直到我有一个宝库和文档档案清楚地说明了系统,他们试图做什么非常清晰的语言,“Vorhies告诉Project Veritas。

这些文件中有一个标题为“现在谷歌新闻黑名单网站“Vorhies声称这显示了谷歌如何将数百个大多数保守的网站列入黑名单,但也包括像meidamatters.org和theantimedia.org这样的进步网站。

Vorhies在接受Sara Carter的采访时告诉她,他将自己的笔记本电脑邮寄给司法部,提供的文件证明谷歌操纵其算法并提供证据。

Vorhies告诉卡特说:“当他们看到谷歌实际上用这些文件撰写的内容时,实际上将在大学里教授极权主义国家可以利用这种能力做些什么。”

Project Veritas将Vorhies的Google转储组织成十个不同的可下载文件夹标题:审查,假新闻,领导力培训,党派,Everything.zip,政治,招聘实践,机器学习公平,心理研究,杂项和视频。 Citizen Truth已阅读了一些文件,但所有文件都是 任何人都可以在Project Veritas网站上阅读.

“假新闻”文件夹中的许多文件详细介绍了谷歌打击假新闻传播的努力。 一份题为“[培训] [全球]谷歌努力解决假新闻 - 2016 Q4.pdf”的文件概述了假新闻在2016选举期间如何传播,特别是“坏人如何使用Facebook新闻源推广虚假新闻网站”。

该文件解释了Google如何禁止此类网站通过Google Adsense从其网站中获利,但随后出现了一个新的广告,宣传了误导性内容。 谷歌发布禁止“虚假陈述内容”的发布商更新的解决方案显示了科技公司如何走出试图禁止“不良行为者”的界限,同时授予自己权力来确定什么是“虚假陈述内容”。

另一个 文件 标题为“边缘排名/分类:定义频道质量”列出了各种新闻网站的排名示例,包括CNN,Breitbart,The Young Turks和FOX News。 标题为的文件 “假新闻和其他边缘:Trashy回顾”显示视频被多个“人类评价者”评价。

转储中的其他文件涉及机器学习中的固有偏见,在Google创建多元化的员工队伍,甚至还包括一些谷歌员工的简历。

Vorhies声称谷歌恐吓

Vorhies声称,在他被社交媒体上的一个匿名账户“'”作为泄密者之后,Vorhies告诉他认为属于谷歌的Project Veritas,加利福尼亚的警察出现在他家。 Vorhies声称谷歌打电话给旧金山警方对他进行“健康检查”。

“他们进了大门,警察,他们开始敲我的门......所以警察决定他们打算再打电话。 他们打电话给联邦调查局,他们打电话给特警队。 他们召集了一个炸弹小组,“Vorhies在向Project Veritas描述这一经历时说道。

“[T]他是一个很大的方式,[谷歌试图]恐吓他们的公司流氓员工......”Vorhies补充说。

谷歌可以影响一个国家的政治吗?

上周二,8月6,总统唐纳德特朗普通过Twitter抨击谷歌,指责他们努力阻止他在即将到来的2020选举中再次当选,尽管特朗普没有提供详细证据。

特朗普发布了一条推文 福克斯和朋友 电视节目播出了对前谷歌工程师凯文塞内基的采访,后者称他因右倾政治观点被解雇,称谷歌正在努力阻止特朗普在2020当选。

“当特朗普总统在2016中获胜时,谷歌高管立即上台并大声哭泣 - 脸上流着泪水。 他们发誓永远不会再发生这种情况,他们希望利用他们拥有的所有权力和资源来控制向公众传播的信息,并确保特朗普在2020中失利,“ Kevin Cernekee说.

谷歌表示,Cernekee因多次违反公司政策而被解雇,包括滥用公司设备和下载机密公司信息; 谷歌称Cernekee是一名心怀不满的员工。

但谷歌实际上是否会在全国大选中拥有这么大的权力?

Jeff Hancock,DanaëMetaxa-Kakavouli和Joon Park, 在他们为卫报撰写的文章中,解释说像谷歌这样的搜索引擎可以在塑造公众舆论和政治观点方面发挥重要作用,是的,可能会影响选举的结果。

“最近 研究 建议搜索引擎,而不是提供一种中立的方式来寻找信息,实际上可能在塑造公众对政治问题和候选人的看法方面发挥重要作用。 一些 研究 甚至认为搜索结果会影响近距离选举的结果。 在一项名为In Google We Trust的研究中,参与者严格优先考虑搜索结果的第一页,以及该页面上结果的顺序,并且即使研究人员改变了实际结果的顺序,也继续这样做,“作者写道。

在作者提供的一个例子中,搜索“特朗普新闻”出现了9个搜索结果,其中8个是中左。 但正如作者所指出的那样,谷歌搜索引擎从一开始就设计用于从可信来源寻找信息,而特定搜索只在一个时间点进行一次搜索。 必须长时间观察和记录偏差。

问题仍然是Vorhies的文件是否真的证明谷歌操纵搜索结果并且不仅仅是过滤掉“假新闻”和“坏人”。

谷歌员工是否有目的地操纵其算法以实现预期的政治目标,或者Google正在努力解决假新闻和错误信息,这是其人类程序员悄悄进入的意外政治偏见? 或者谷歌已经全力以赴,并且正在解决假新闻的令人兴奋的问题,但可能缺乏提供足够的透明度来灌输对其机制的信心?

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 八月15,2019

    我似乎记得在某个地方读到绝对的权力绝对腐败。

    回复
  2. 贝蒂植物 17-2019-XNUMX

    在此之前,民主党人和共和党人都应该联合起来对抗谷歌。 没有一家公司能够产生这么大的力量。 回顾整个历史,看看这总是会导致什么。 完全控制!! 我投票给绿党,所以我很难说这个。 但事实上每次都更重要。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Google Whistleblower Reveals Database of Censored, Blacklisted Websites

Google Logo
Google Logo. (Photo: Robert Scoble)

“But for them to go under oath and say that theses blacklists don’t exist, well employees like me are able to just search through the internal search engine of the company and see that they do, it is hypocritical at the least and it’s perjury at the worst.”

A former Google engineer leaked nearly 1,000 files showing how the tech behemoth and his former employer does in fact censor and maintain a blacklist of websites, despite repeated Google claims that it does not manipulate its search engine algorithm results.

Zachary Vorhies, who worked at Google for eight years, released the documents to Project Veritas and the U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division. He went officially on the record with his name on Wednesday – a decision he says he made after Google sent him a letter demanding the return of company files and called the police to perform a “wellness check” on him. Voorhies also gave an interview to Fox News contributor Sara Carter.

Vorhies’ leak comes only months after CEO Sundar Pichai testified last December before members of the U.S. House of Representatives Judiciary Committee, in a hearing titled “Transparency & Accountability: Examining Google and its Data Collection, Use and Filtering Practices.”

Pichai answered questions pertaining to allegations of search engine bias, content moderation, data and location tracking and Google’s plans to develop a search engine for China.

During the hearing, Pichai testified that the search engine was politically neutral and results were determined by “things like relevance, freshness, popularity, how other people are using it.”

In his interview with Project Veritas, Vorhies referenced Pichai’s testimony before Congress calling it hypocritical and possible perjury.

“If Google wants to have political bias and if they wanna say they have political bias that is their right as a company.

“But for them to go under oath and say that theses blacklists don’t exist, well employees like me are able to just search through the internal search engine of the company and see that they do, it is hypocritical at the least and it’s perjury at the worst,” Vorhies said.

Vorhies said he turned to Project Veritas to go public with the documents because he felt he saw something “dark” in the tech giant that could severely affect U.S. elections and Americans as well.

“I saw something dark and nefarious going on with the company, and I realized that they were going to not only tamper with the elections but use that tampering with the elections to essentially overthrow the United States,” the whistleblower told Project Veritas.

What’s in the Google Dump?

Vorhies released hundreds of pages of internal Google documents which he said were widely available to Google employees.

“These documents were available to every single employee within the company that was full-time. And so as a fulltime employee at the company, I just searched for some keywords and these documents started to pop up. And so once I started finding one document and started finding keywords for other documents and I would enter that in and continue this cycle until I had a treasure trove and archive of documents that clearly spelled out the system, what they’re attempting to do in very clear language,” Vorhies told Project Veritas.

Among the documents is a file titled “news black list site for google now” which Vorhies alleges shows how Google has blacklisted hundreds of mostly conservative websites, though progressive-leaning websites like meidamatters.org and theantimedia.org are also included.

In his interview with Sara Carter, Vorhies told her he mailed his laptop to the Justice Department and that the provided documents would prove that Google manipulates its algorithms and provide evidence of how it was done.

“When they see what Google has actually written with the documents, this will actually be taught in universities of what totalitarian states can do with this type of capability,” Vorhies told Carter.

Project Veritas organized Vorhies’s Google dump into ten different downloadable folders titles: Censorship, Fake news, Leadership Training, Partisanship, Everything.zip, Politics, Hiring Practices, Machine Learning Fairness, Psychological Research, Misc and Video. Citizen Truth has read through some of the documents but all documents are available for anyone to read here on the Project Veritas website.

Many of the documents in the Fake News folder detail Google’s efforts to combat the spread of fake news. One document titled “[Training] [Global] Google efforts to address Fake News – 2016 Q4.pdf” outlines how fake news spread during the 2016 election and specifically how “bad actors used the Facebook News Feed to promote fake news sites.”

The document explains how Google banned such sites from monetizing their websites via Google Adsense but then a new issue of ads promoting misleading content appeared. Google’s solution to issue a publisher update banning “misrepresentative content” shows how the tech company is walking the fine line of trying to ban “bad actors” but also granting themselves the authority to determine what is “misrepresentative content.”

Another document titled “Fringe ranking/classifer: Defining channel quality” lists an example of a ranking of various news sites, including CNN, Breitbart, The Young Turks, and FOX News. A document titled “Fake news & other fringe: Trashy recap” reveals that videos are rated by multiple “human raters.”

Other documents in the dump touch on inherent bias in machine learning, creating a diverse workforce at Google and even include some resumes of Google employees.

Vorhies Alleges Intimidation by Google

Vorhies claimed that after he was ‘outed’ as a leaker by an anonymous account on social media, which Vorhies told Project Veritas he believed belonged to Google, police in California showed up at his home. Vorhies claimed that Google called San Francisco police to perform a “wellness check” on him.

“They got inside the gate, the police, and they started banging on my door… And so the police decided that they were going to call in additional forces. They called in the FBI, they called in the SWAT team. And they called in a bomb squad,” said Vorhies as he described the experience to Project Veritas.

“[T]his is a large way in which [Google tries to] intimidate their employees that go rogue on the company…” Vorhies added.

Can Google Influence a Country’s Politics?

Last Tuesday, August 6, President Donald Trump slammed Google via Twitter accusing them of working to prevent his re-election in the upcoming 2020 election, though Trump offered no detailed evidence.

Trump’s tweet came after a Fox and Friends television program aired an interview with former Google engineer Kevin Cernekee, who claims he was fired for his right-leaning political views, claimed Google was working to prevent Trump’s election in 2020.

“When President Trump won in 2016, Google executives went on stage right away and cried — literal tears streaming down their faces. They vowed that it would never happen again and they want to use all the power and resources they have to control the flow of information to the public and make sure that Trump loses in 2020,” said Kevin Cernekee.

Google says Cernekee was fired for multiple violations of company policy including misuse of company equipment and downloading confidential company information; Google describes Cernekee as a disgruntled employee.

But could Google actually wield that much power over a national election?

Jeff Hancock, Danaë Metaxa-Kakavouli, and Joon Park, in their article for the Guardian, explained that a search engine such as Google could play a vital role in shaping public opinion and political points of view and yes, could affect the result of an election.

“Recent studies suggest that search engines, rather than providing a neutral way to find information, may actually play a major role in shaping public opinion on political issues and candidates. Some research has even argued that search results can affect the outcomes of close elections. In a study aptly titled In Google We Trust participants heavily prioritized the first page of search results, and the order of the results on that page, and continued to do so even when researchers reversed the order of the actual results,” the writers wrote.

In one example the authors provided, a search for “Trump news” turned up nine search results, eight of which were center-left. But as the authors point out, the Google search engine is designed from the outset to look for information from credible sources and that particular search is only one search in one point of time. Bias must be observed and recorded over a long period of time.

The question remains whether Vorhies’ documents do, in fact, prove that Google manipulates search results and is not merely filtering out “fake news” and “bad actors.”

Are Google employees purposefully manipulating its algorithms to achieve an intended political goal or as Google works to tackle fake news and misinformation is the unintended political bias of its human programmers creeping in? Or has Google figured it all out and is fairly tackling the heady issue of fake news but maybe lacking in providing enough transparency to instill confidence in its mechanisms?

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry N Stout August 15, 2019

    I seem to recall reading somewhere that absolute power corrupts absolutely.

    Reply
  2. Betty flora September 17, 2019

    Both Democrats and Republicans should unite against Google on this one, before it’s too late. No one company should yield this much power. Just look back throughout history to see what this invariably leads to. Complete control!! I vote Green Party, so it pains me to say this. But the truth is more important every time.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.