اكتب للبحث

حضاره

سيتم إضافة صورة بيونسي لصناعة التاريخ إلى معرض صور سميثسونيان الوطني

غطاء بيونسي فوغ
جولة بيونسي 2016 العالمية للتكوين ، بقلم كريستوفر هاريس [CC BY-SA 2.5 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)] ، عبر ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

"عندما بدأت لأول مرة ، قبل 21 منذ سنوات ، قيل لي إنه كان من الصعب علي الحصول على أغلفة المجلات لأن السود لا يبيعون. من الواضح أن هذا قد ثبت أنه خرافة ".

تصنع النجمة الموسيقية بيونسي التاريخ مرة أخرى هذا الأسبوع: ستتم إضافة صورة لقطتها التي التقطها المصور تايلر ميتشل إلى المجموعة الدائمة لمعرض سميثسونيان الوطني للصور في واشنطن العاصمة.

صنعت الصورة الأصلية التاريخ العام الماضي عندما ظهرت لأول مرة في عدد سبتمبر من مجلة Vogue في الولايات المتحدة ، حيث أصبح Mitchell أول أمريكي من أصل أفريقي يصور غلاف مجلة الموضة.

لا يوجد أي إعلان حتى الآن عن موعد عرض الصورة رسمياً في المعرض الوطني ، الذي كان جزءًا من معهد سميثسونيان منذ 1968. من العلامات المميزة للمعرض قاعة الرؤساء ، التي تحتوي على صور لجميع الرؤساء الأميركيين تقريبًا - لا تتجاوزهم سوى مجموعة البيت الأبيض نفسها.

تأسست مؤسسة سميثسونيان في 1846 "لزيادة ونشر المعرفة" ، وتتألف من مجموعة من المتاحف ومراكز البحوث التي تديرها حكومة الولايات المتحدة. باعتبارها معقلاً لتاريخ وثقافة الولايات المتحدة ، تم تسمية المؤسسة باسم "علية الأمة" وترحب بـ 30 مليون زائر سنويًا مجانًا.

في رواج العام الماضي ، نجم الموسيقى روى التحديات التي واجهتها كشخص ملون في وسائل الإعلام.

"عندما بدأت لأول مرة ، منذ سنوات 21 ، قيل لي إنه كان من الصعب بالنسبة لي أن أغطي أغلفة المجلات لأن السود لا يبيعون" ، علق بيونسي. من الواضح أن هذا قد ثبت أنه خرافة. ليس فقط أمريكي من أصل أفريقي على غلاف الشهر الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة لـ Vogue ، بل هو أول غلاف من نوع Vogue قام بتصويره مصور أمريكي من أصل أفريقي. "

كما أوضحت المغنية أهمية استخدام ميتشل كمصورة لتصويرها "فوغ".

وقالت: "إذا استمر الأشخاص الذين يشغلون مناصب قوية في توظيف وتوظيف الأشخاص الذين يشبهونهم فقط ، ويبدو أنهم مثلهم ، ينتمون إلى نفس الأحياء التي نشأوا فيها ، فلن يكون لديهم فهم أكبر للتجارب المختلفة عن تجاربهم". "سوف يقومون بتوظيف نفس النماذج ، ورعاية نفس الفن ، وإلقاء نفس الممثلين مرارًا وتكرارًا ، وسوف نخسر جميعًا".

أدرجت بيونسيه قضايا أكثر وعيًا اجتماعيًا في موسيقاها وأدائها. في العام الماضي ، أصبحت أول امرأة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي تتصدر مهرجان الموسيقى الشهير ، كوتشيلا. وأشاد أدائها على نطاق واسع للاحتفال بالثقافة الأمريكية الأفريقية.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

History-Making Beyoncé Portrait Will Be Added to Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery

Beyonce Vogue cover
Beyonce 2016 World Formation Tour, by Kristopher Harris [CC BY-SA 2.5 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons

“When I first started, 21 years ago, I was told that it was hard for me to get onto covers of magazines because black people did not sell. Clearly, that has been proven a myth.”

Music superstar Beyoncé is making history again this week: a portrait of her shot by photographer Tyler Mitchell will be added to the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery’s permanent collection in Washington D.C.

The original portrait made history last year when it first appeared in Vogue magazine’s September issue in the U.S., with Mitchell becoming the first African American to shoot a cover the fashion magazine.

There is no announcement yet of when the portrait will officially go on exhibition at the National Gallery, which has been a part of the Smithsonian Institution since 1968. A hallmark of the gallery is the Hall of Presidents, which contains portraits of nearly all American presidents—surpassed only by the White House collection itself.

Founded in 1846 “for the increase and diffusion of knowledge,” the Smithsonian Institution consists of a group of museums and research centers administered by the Government of the United States. As a bastion for U.S. history and culture, the institution has been dubbed “the nation’s attic” and welcomes 30 million visitors annually, free of charge.

In last year’s Vogue, the music superstar recounted the challenges she faced as a person of color in the media.

“When I first started, 21 years ago, I was told that it was hard for me to get onto covers of magazines because black people did not sell,” Beyoncé remarked. “Clearly that has been proven a myth. Not only is an African American on the cover of the most important month for Vogue, this is the first ever Vogue cover shot by an African American photographer.”

The singer also explained the significance of employing Mitchell as a photographer for her Vogue shoot.

“If people in powerful positions continue to hire and cast only people who look like them, sound like them, come from the same neighborhoods they grew up in, they will never have a greater understanding of experiences different from their own,” she said. “They will hire the same models, curate the same art, cast the same actors over and over again, and we will all lose.”

Beyoncé has notably incorporated more socially conscious issues in her music and performances. Last year, she became the first African American woman to headline the famed music festival, Coachella. Her performance was widely praised for celebrating African American culture.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.