输入搜索

公司文化

历史制作Beyoncé肖像将被添加到史密森尼国家肖像画廊

Beyonce Vogue封面
Beyonce 2016 World Formation Tour,作者:Kristopher Harris [CC BY-SA 2.5(https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)],来自Wikimedia Commons

“当我第一次开始,21多年前,我被告知我很难进入杂志的封面,因为黑人没有卖。 显然,这已被证明是一个神话。“

音乐巨星Beyoncé本周再次创造历史:摄影师Tyler Mitchell拍摄的照片将被添加到史密森尼国家肖像画廊华盛顿特区的永久收藏中。

最初的肖像创作于去年的Vogue杂志9月号首次出现在美国,Mitchell成为第一个拍摄时尚杂志封面的非洲裔美国人。

目前还没有关于肖像画正式在国家美术馆展出的消息,国家美术馆自1968以来一直是史密森学会的一部分。 画廊的标志是总统大厅,其中包含了几乎所有美国总统的肖像 - 仅有白宫收藏本身。

史密森尼学会成立于1846,“用于增加和传播知识”,由一组由美国政府管理的博物馆和研究中心组成。 作为美国历史和文化的堡垒,该机构被称为“国家的阁楼”,每年免费接待30百万游客。

在去年的Vogue,音乐巨星 回忆 她作为媒体中有色人种所面临的挑战。

“当我第一次开始,21多年前,我被告知我很难进入杂志的封面,因为黑人不卖,”碧昂丝评论道。 “显然,这已被证明是一个神话。 不仅是非洲裔美国人在Vogue最重要月份的封面上,这是非洲裔美国摄影师拍摄的第一部Vogue封面。“

这位歌手还解释了将Mitchell用作Vogue拍摄摄影师的重要性。

她说:“如果处于有利地位的人继续雇用并且只招待那些看起来像他们的人,听起来像他们,来自他们长大的同一个街区,他们将永远不会对与自己不同的经历有更多的了解。” “他们会雇用相同的模特,策划相同的艺术,一遍又一遍地演绎同样的演员,我们都会失败。”

Beyoncé在她的音乐和表演中特别注入了更多具有社会意识的问题。 去年,她成为第一位成为着名音乐节Coachella的非裔美国女性。 她的表现因庆祝非裔美国人文化而受到广泛赞誉。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

History-Making Beyoncé Portrait Will Be Added to Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery

Beyonce Vogue cover
Beyonce 2016 World Formation Tour, by Kristopher Harris [CC BY-SA 2.5 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons

“When I first started, 21 years ago, I was told that it was hard for me to get onto covers of magazines because black people did not sell. Clearly, that has been proven a myth.”

Music superstar Beyoncé is making history again this week: a portrait of her shot by photographer Tyler Mitchell will be added to the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery’s permanent collection in Washington D.C.

The original portrait made history last year when it first appeared in Vogue magazine’s September issue in the U.S., with Mitchell becoming the first African American to shoot a cover the fashion magazine.

There is no announcement yet of when the portrait will officially go on exhibition at the National Gallery, which has been a part of the Smithsonian Institution since 1968. A hallmark of the gallery is the Hall of Presidents, which contains portraits of nearly all American presidents—surpassed only by the White House collection itself.

Founded in 1846 “for the increase and diffusion of knowledge,” the Smithsonian Institution consists of a group of museums and research centers administered by the Government of the United States. As a bastion for U.S. history and culture, the institution has been dubbed “the nation’s attic” and welcomes 30 million visitors annually, free of charge.

In last year’s Vogue, the music superstar recounted the challenges she faced as a person of color in the media.

“When I first started, 21 years ago, I was told that it was hard for me to get onto covers of magazines because black people did not sell,” Beyoncé remarked. “Clearly that has been proven a myth. Not only is an African American on the cover of the most important month for Vogue, this is the first ever Vogue cover shot by an African American photographer.”

The singer also explained the significance of employing Mitchell as a photographer for her Vogue shoot.

“If people in powerful positions continue to hire and cast only people who look like them, sound like them, come from the same neighborhoods they grew up in, they will never have a greater understanding of experiences different from their own,” she said. “They will hire the same models, curate the same art, cast the same actors over and over again, and we will all lose.”

Beyoncé has notably incorporated more socially conscious issues in her music and performances. Last year, she became the first African American woman to headline the famed music festival, Coachella. Her performance was widely praised for celebrating African American culture.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.