输入搜索

美洲

洪都拉斯总统被指控从毒贩那里受贿

洪都拉斯总统胡安·奥兰多·埃尔南德斯在美国佛罗里达州迈阿密举行的中美洲繁荣与安全会议上。
洪都拉斯总统胡安·奥兰多·埃尔南德斯在美国佛罗里达州迈阿密举行的中美洲繁荣与安全会议上。 (照片:萨尔瓦多总统)

在检察官托尼·埃尔南德斯(TonyHernández)的审判中,美国检察官指控其兄弟胡安·奥兰多·埃尔南德斯总统的贿赂金额为1.5 X百万。

(通过 人民派遣)期待已久的胡安·安东尼奥·“托尼·埃尔南德斯”因贩毒而受审的审判于2 10月星期三在纽约开始。 洪都拉斯胡安·奥兰多·埃尔南德斯总统的弟弟托尼·埃尔南德斯被指控将大量可卡因贩运到美国。 在开庭审理期间,一名美国检察官指控墨西哥毒l华金·古兹曼(JoaquínGuzmán)(通常被称为“ El Chapo”)向托尼行贿1美元,意在向总统本人行贿。

检察官杰森·里奇蒙(Jason Richmon)还声称,托尼·埃尔南德斯(TonyHernández)利用其兄弟的行政关系多年偷渡了大量可卡因进入美国并收受贿赂,而约赫(JOH)为他提供了保护。 托尼·埃尔南德斯(Tony Hernandez)在2018的11月​​在迈阿密的一次反毒品行动中被捕,并被控以四项不同的罪行。 纽约检察官已将JOH标记为该案的同谋。 洪都拉斯是从拉丁美洲走私到美国的可卡因的主要运输路线。

里奇蒙德在审判中表示,JOH和其他政客和政府官员“依靠毒品收益来资助国民党的竞选活动和其他政治行动,以控制洪都拉斯政府的大片土地,贿赂有助于确保可卡因安全通过的官员。 ”

埃尔南德斯总统在一条推文中否认参与毒品犯罪。 他说,这些指控是“ 100%的虚假,荒谬和可笑”,而且“不及《爱丽丝梦游仙境》严重。”

然而,此案再次揭露了JOH政府的腐败和欺诈性质。 8月,当泄露该案的文件,称JOH为共谋者时,要求JOH辞职的社会和政治运动大大加强了。 大规模示威 报告发布之周,洪都拉斯各地举行了会议,要求麻醉品独裁者辞职。

JOH被认为是美国总统唐纳德·特朗普政府的亲密盟友。 上周,他访问了美国并签署了一份 安全第三国 移民协议将减少从中美洲国家寻求美国庇护的移民人数。 该协议将使美国能够将寻求庇护者送往洪都拉斯,以处理他们的庇护申请。 然而,由于该国的普遍贫困,暴力,腐败和该国缺乏机会,每个月有成千上万的洪都拉斯人离开他们的国家,主要是去美国。

自从JOH在2017进行欺诈性连任以来,针对他的新自由主义,反人民和镇压政策进行了一系列动员。 腐败案以及不人道的移民协议,进一步强化了人们的普遍观念,即政府是腐败的,没有为人民的利益而努力。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS

Honduran President Accused of Taking Bribes From Drug Traffickers

President of Honduras, Juan Orlando Hernández, at the Conference on Prosperity and Security in Central America, Miami, Florida, USA.
President of Honduras, Juan Orlando Hernández, at the Conference on Prosperity and Security in Central America, Miami, Florida, USA. (Photo: President, El Salvador)

During the trial of Tony Hernández, a US prosecutor alleged that his brother, President Juan Orlando Hernández received 1.5 million in bribes.

(By Peoples Dispatch) The long-awaited trial of Juan Antonio “Tony” Hernández on charges of drug trafficking began on Wednesday, October 2 in New York. Tony Hernández, the younger brother of the President of Honduras Juan Orlando Hernández, is accused of trafficking tons of cocaine into the United States. During the opening of the trial, a US prosecutor alleged that Mexican drug lord Joaquín Guzmán, commonly known as  “El Chapo”, gave 1 million USD to Tony as a bribe that was intended for the president himself.

Prosecutor Jason Richmon also alleged that Tony Hernández used his brother’s administrative connections to smuggle large amounts of cocaine into the US for years and in exchange of bribes, while JOH provided him with protection. Tony Hernandez was arrested during an anti-drug operation in Miami in November 2018 and has been charged with four separate crimes. The New York prosecutor has labelled JOH as a co-conspirator of the case. Honduras is a major transit route for cocaine smuggled from Latin America to the US.

In the trial, Richmond stated that JOH and other politicians and government officials “relied on drug proceeds to fund National Party campaigns and other political operations, to control large swaths of the Honduran government, to bribe officials who helped ensure safe passage for their cocaine.”

In a tweet, President Hernández denied any involvement in drug crimes. He said that the allegations were “100% false, absurd and ridiculous” and were “less serious than Alice in Wonderland.”

Nevertheless, the case has once again brought to light the corrupt and fraudulent character of the government of JOH. In August, when documents from the case were leaked which named JOH as a co-conspirator, the social and political movement calling for JOH’s resignation, strengthened immensely. Massive demonstrations were held across Honduras in the week when the report was released demanding the resignation of narco-dictator.

JOH is considered to be a close ally of US President Donald Trump’s administration. Last week, he visited the US and signed a Safe-Third Country immigration agreement to cut down the number of migrants from Central American countries seeking asylum in the US. The said agreement would allow the US to send asylum seekers to Honduras to process their asylum applications. However, thousands of Hondurans leave their country every month, mainly for the US, due to the endemic poverty, violence, corruption and lack of opportunities in the country.

Since, JOH’s fraudulent re-election in November 2017, there have been several series of mobilizations against his neoliberal, anti-people and repressive policies. The corruption case, as well as the inhuman immigration agreement, reinforce the popular belief that the government is corrupt and not working in the interests of its people.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.