输入搜索

亚太

印度民主如何被打破

印度总理纳伦德拉莫迪。
印度总理纳伦德拉莫迪。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

今年宣誓的第二个莫迪政权在短短三个月内就证明了我们可以期待的事情 - 对印度民主基础的无情攻击。

印度至上主义政府Narendra Modi在5月26,2014的第一次胜利及其再次当选的宣誓仪式上有一些显着的差异。 30-2019-XNUMX.

2014的胜利暂时尚未胜利。 有人试图描绘被邀请的南亚领导人的叙述,包括 巴基斯坦总理纳瓦兹谢里夫 和别的。 虽然来自宝莱坞的印度精英和明星点缀了总统官邸(新德里的Rashtrapati Bhawan)的前院,但向邻居们传达的信息是,印度是老大哥向其他国家伸出援助之手。 莫迪,他吹嘘自己克服了卑微的起点,一再表现出对创造历史和创造宏大叙事的偏爱。 在2019宣誓仪式上,莫迪政府似乎放弃了印度需要得到外界认可的借口。

莫迪的崛起

印度第一任总理贾瓦哈拉尔·尼赫鲁是一位着名的国际主义者。 他坚定地相信发展中国家之间的合作,以他的社会主义根源为基础,使他和其他传奇领袖一起出现 不结盟运动(不结盟运动)。 当印度国民大会在致力于将印度从受控经济体中解放出来的领导下,选择了新自由主义经济学的道路,更接近美国和以色列时,印度在1990中发生了重大转变。

然后出现了导致莫迪第一次胜利的运动的讽刺,他几乎无拘无束地释放了仇恨,以及他的“我们与他们对比”的言论(“我们”只能意味着“印度教印度” - 不管怎么说与术语一起出现的种姓并发症的分离)。 他主动邀请“敌国”巴基斯坦分享他的选举胜利的荣耀,被许多人誉为战略转变 - 从未实现过。

从谦卑的背景中吸引印度的大部分人作为“茶叶卖家”,他的追随者毫不羞耻地认为这个男人渴望拥有财富,穿着 一件非常昂贵的外套 (当他几个月后在德里会见奥巴马总统时)或使用奢华的勃朗峰笔签署文件,以表达他个人财富的誓言。

该政权的头五年是未来的迹象。 立即集中力量,攻击大学校园(特别是对质疑的学生领袖 这个霸权主义和原始法西斯主义的意识形态,从青少年时期开始修饰莫迪),削减了工人和农民的权利,逮捕了活动家和律师,最糟糕的是,那些不符合“理想”印第安人定义的印第安人的私刑 - 也就是说,穆斯林,达利特人,基督徒和共产党人(读:反对者)被残忍杀害。 理性主义者Narendra Dabholkar,Govind Pansare,MM Kalburgi和Gauri Lankesh(只有第一次发生在2014之前)遭到一个极端右翼团体的杀戮也是印度没有看到的。 这个印度人民党(BJP)政权的意识形态是Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh(RSS)。 该公司成立于1925,其核心信念是印度不应该成为一个民主共和国 但是印度神权政治; 它赞同不平等和歧视性的公民身份(遵循墨索里尼和希特勒),并且(在自己的着作中)结婚以推翻宪法。 围绕国家荣耀和“发展”的宣传包含了暴力,恐惧和私刑的血腥2014-2019现实。 单方面“放开”印度法律货币的举动削弱了印度萎靡不振的经济,并几乎扼杀了非正规部门。 关于执政党金库强化的报道只是被领导党的人扼杀,并且不能容忍媒体报道现实。 那些人现在处于肆无忌惮的权力之中。

重新选举,Modi 2.0

我几个月前写过这个政府 几乎宣布对自己的人民开战。 那是在2019结果之前,将至上主义者的胜利提升到更高的水平,嘲弄议会辩论和全党对话。 今年宣誓就职的第二个莫迪政府在短短三个月内证明了我们的期望。

议会于7月份通过了预算,此后一直用于推动立法,甚至没有将其提交议会委员会进行磋商或反馈。 这个第二个政权不仅显得特别匆忙,而且,正如莫迪在5月30上宣誓就职仪式所示 - 同一地点的客人数量增加了一倍至8,000--这次印度没有必要(也没有倾向)在国际上发送任何消息。 世界上六分之一的人生活在印度,作为他们现在统治者的唯一发言人,莫迪2.0政权认为没有必要平息任何外国关注的问题。

2008的第一届议会成立 匆忙修订“非法活动预防法” (UAPA)以一种制裁遏制少数民族公民自由的方式歪曲其含义,并以打击模糊定义的恐怖主义为幌子对其实施民族主义暴力。 (在此之前,UAPA最后一次由2004印度国民大会党领导的政权修改,目的是防止恐怖主义 - 而且具有讽刺意味的是,当时,这些修正案得到了至上主义的BJP的支持,只有议会左翼大声疾呼反对对个人自由提出严重质疑的有效法律。)即使在上一次10年度国会统治期间 - 其他方面也有相当不错的权利立法记录(无论是信息权,农村工作权,食物权,或森林工人的权利/ Adivasis),当时修订的UAPA的这些严厉条款被有选择地用于针对少数民族的青少年 - 通常由法院判断为捏造 - “恐怖主义”。现在这些偏差已被采取更进一步。 莫迪2.0政权现在通过了一项修正案,允许个人单方面被宣布为恐怖分子 - 没有经过司法审查,只有政府的行政决定 - 以及他/她的财产被附加和扣押。 好像这些修正案不够糟糕,完全是单方面和违宪的废除 印度宪法第370条 8月5剥夺了查谟和克什米尔邦的特殊地位(根据该州加入印度联盟的文书的法律要求)是莫迪2.0政权对法律,体面,道德和宪法的粗暴对待的最坏例子。

克什米尔山谷遭到封锁或淹没,互联网和通信关闭,甚至座机电话连接关闭。 一个根本的决定 这影响了克什米尔人民的存在主义现实,而没有听到他们的声音或代表。 几个月来,国家一直受到总统的统治。 如果Modi 1.0政府通过任命不关心平等和不歧视概念的男女关键岗位而被认可破坏和歪曲印度的机构,那么第二次,该政权将以任何反对派为目标而闻名印度联邦制。 现在没有任何印度国家能够摆脱这些贪婪的手。

Modi 2.0政权是如何取得惊人的胜利的呢?

在结果出来之前进行的现实评估是,人民党本身将获得180-200,而全国民主联盟党将在构成印度议会的220席位中占据240或542席位。 这是80-100的额外座位和一些似乎编程(甚至操纵一些)发送消息的巨大利润。

印度选举委员会(ECI)在整个七阶段投票阶段的运作方式引起了人们的注意。 有明确的努力既不质疑执政党使用的巨额资金(超出法律限制),也不通过滥用违反宪法规范的官方立场或言论来检查违反选举法的行为(阅读:仇恨言论)。 在印度2019选举中花费的钱多于美国大选($ 6十亿!),其中80百分比由执政的BJP花费。 他们通过制定不透明和不透明的法律(选举债券) - 在最后一个任期内 - 确保他们都有钱并且不需要披露来源。 无论是ECI还是印度最高法院都没有真正意义上的质疑这种滥用行为。 这反映了我们期望维护基本宪法原则的印度机构的侵蚀(如果不是完全接管)。

在此 RSS,BJP选举机的思想支柱, 一直有着强大的文化和社会存在,再次通过从国外到各种服装的资金自由流动变得容易。 无论RSS是在慈善机构还是教育机构中工作,其核心组成部分都是其意识形态的倾斜,弯曲或歪曲印度人的思想,转向毫无疑问的专制主义,在这种专制主义中,至高无上的男性印度教等级制度都被重新定价和验证。

通过非货币化和选举债券,获得资金的机会进一步增加,BJP现在拥有一台可以与RSS章鱼式组织竞争的选举机器。

宣传,任何专制的原始法西斯政权的关键工具,都是通过BJP的付费藏红花衬衫运行或推动的。 该党已经建立了一个强大的24小时连接 传播他们信息的网络(阅读:宣传),这不是一条信息,而是几条分层的信息:这些信号赞扬了一个强烈的领导者愿意为突然改变而罢工,诋毁反对派(人民党自上个任期以来所说的一个“国会 - 穆斯特[​​免费]巴拉特[印度]”),“促进”他们所引入的每一个政府计划 - 通过这次精心策划的宣传,其效力倍增和荣耀一千倍 - 并且一直以来,潜意识的消息和“仇恨”。

5月2019选举前几个月,经济状况不佳,农民抗议活动,反抗和好战的反对,以及对腐败的指控 阵风交易 已经开始打扰人民党的宣传安排了。 来到二月2019和 Pulwama恐怖袭击 在克什米尔山谷的中央后备警察部队(CRPF)工作人员很快就被转移到了那种糟糕的情报和治理失败之中,而是转向了一场高压,胸部重击的民族主义大男子主义表演。 在一周之内,在巴拉克特对巴基斯坦进行的一次“攻击” - 甚至其背后的效力,效率和真相引发了严重的问题 - 提供了必要的微小和平庸的素材来翻新莫迪,正如印度人所需要的那样,反对邪恶的人。

最后,严肃的问题 电子投票机(EVM)篡改 也有 被提出不能 希望远离。 要战斗的战斗需要考虑和处理 所有这些 的东西。 穆斯林抨击/侮辱,侵略性伪民族主义以及政府计划的“出售”这些几乎没有隐晦和校准的信息需要加以处理。 对于反对派的可耻贬低也是如此,这种贬低也以惊人的速度发生,几乎没有考虑到事实或真相。 正是这种令人生畏的错误信息,以及我们共同需要反击的精心组织和精干/组织的组织。

有什么可以做什么?

这是怎么回事? 谁能做到这一点? 反对派中看起来奄奄一息的政党需要被印度公民感动,推动和推动。 还记得(与2014不同,即使结果更令人吃惊,它们至少看起来可信)这次,国家权力也被(非法)用于从Facebook和其他平台获取数据到一方的服务,到通过,帮助进一步传播宣传信息 WhatsApp集团和Facebook 消息。 选民部分的结构性问题也是故意或以其他方式被剥夺权利(选民失踪)。 要解决的问题仍然存在:我们如何纠正失踪选民? 我们如何将选民带入民意调查?

政治教育和文化信息的坚定而细致的战略,包括宪政原则的历史和相关性,今天与以往一样重要,不仅需要创造和传播,而且需要有组织。 每个空间,学校,学院,办公室和 克panchayat 需要参与。 该活动需要持续,分层,有趣,历史,相关,旨在建立真正的观念,远离大量充满宣传的仇恨。

两个小实例给了我希望。 一个来自 上个月, 当左翼政党在孟买的Azad Maidan组织抗议,反对拆除宪法第370条。 许多在场的人认为与孟买通勤者交往很有用。 在错误的信息中有好奇心,这可能是我们的第一个教训:在首次建立新的社区意识后,我们如何重建能量以重建抵抗感?

其次,我们的反对派可能在议会中表现不佳。 但是,印度人能否创造性地在印度街头表现出强烈的团结反对意见?


这篇文章是由 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Teesta Setalvad

Teesta Setalvad是一位居住在印度的作家,活动家和记者。 她是一名写作研究员 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的项目,以及 正义与和平公民。 她一直是所有印度公民,特别是少数民族和妇女的公民权利的长期倡导者。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

How Indian Democracy Is Being Turned on Its Head

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi.
Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

The second Modi regime sworn in this year has demonstrated in just three months what we can expect – a relentless assault on the foundations of Indian democracy.

There were some notable differences between the swearing-in ceremonies of the Hindu-supremacist government of Narendra Modi in its first victory on May 26, 2014, and its re-election on May 30, 2019.

The 2014 victory was tentative yet triumphant. There were attempts to paint a narrative of the South Asian leaders who were invited, including Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and others. While Indian elite and stars from Bollywood dotted the forecourt of the president’s residence (Rashtrapati Bhawan, in New Delhi), the message to neighbors was that India is the Big Brother offering a hand to other nations. Modi, who touts the humble beginnings he overcame, has repeatedly shown a penchant for trying to make history and create a grand narrative. By the 2019 swearing-in ceremony, it seemed that Modi’s government had abandoned the pretense that India needed the approval of the outside world.

Modi’s Rise

India’s first prime minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, was a celebrated internationalist. His firm belief in collaborations among the developing nations, fed on his socialist roots, led him, along with other legendary leaders, to the emergence of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM). There was a major shift for India in the 1990s when the Indian National Congress, under a leadership committed to freeing India from a controlled economy, chose the path of neoliberal economics, drawing closer to the United States and Israel.

Then came the vitriol of the campaign that led to Modi’s first victory, his almost no-holds-barred unleashing of hatred, and his rhetoric of “us versus them” (where “us” can only mean “Hindu India”—never mind the segregations of caste complications that come with the term). His master stroke of inviting “enemy nation” Pakistan to share the glory of his electoral win was hailed by many as a strategic shift—one that never materialized.

Appealing to a vast section of India as the “tea seller” from a humble background, there was no shame for his followers that the man aspired to riches, wearing an outrageously expensive coat (when he met President Obama in Delhi months later) or using a luxe Mont Blanc pen as he signed documents to take his oath—crass expressions of personal wealth.

The first five years of the regime were signs of the time to come. An immediate centralization of power, an assault on university campuses (especially on student leaders who questioned this hegemonic and proto-fascist ideology that has groomed Modi since teenage years), cutbacks on workers’ and farmers’ rights, arrests on activists and lawyers and worst of all, lynchings of Indians who did not fit the definition of the ‘ideal’ Indian—that is, Muslims, Dalits, Christians and communists (read: dissenters) were brutally killed. The slaying of rationalists Narendra Dabholkar, Govind Pansare, M.M. Kalburgi and Gauri Lankesh (only the first happened before 2014) by an extreme right-wing group was also something India has not seen. The ideology of this Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) regime is the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). Founded in 1925, its core belief is that India should not be a democratic republic but a Hindu theocracy; it subscribes to unequal and discriminatory levels of citizenship (following both Mussolini and Hitler) and is wedded (in its own writings) to overthrow the Constitution. Propaganda around the glory of the nation and “development” subsumed the gory 2014-2019 reality of violence, fear and lynchings. The unilateral move to “liberalize” India’s legal currency crippled India’s flagging economy and virtually killed the informal sector. Reports of the aggrandizement of the ruling party’s coffers came in only to be snuffed out by men who led the party and were intolerant of media reporting reality. Those men are now in positions of unbridled power today.

Re-Election, Modi 2.0

I wrote some months ago that this government has all but declared a war against its own people. That was before the 2019 results that took the supremacist victory to even higher levels, making a mockery of parliamentary debate and all-party dialogue. The second Modi regime sworn in this year has demonstrated in just three months what we can expect.

Parliament, which met to pass the budget in July, has been used thereafter to push through legislation without even the show of referring them to parliamentary committees for consultation or feedback. Not only does this second regime seem in a particular hurry, but, as Modi’s swearing-in ceremony on May 30 showed—the number of guests at the same venue had doubled to 8,000—there was no need (nor inclination) this time for India to send any messages internationally. One-sixth of the world lives in India, and as sole spokespersons for those over whom they now rule, the Modi 2.0 regime felt no real need to assuage any foreign concerns.

The first session of Parliament in 2008 made rushed amendments to the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA) that perverted its meaning in a way that sanctioned the curbing of civil liberties of minorities, as well as nationalist violence against them under the guise of fighting vaguely defined terrorism. (Before that, the UAPA had last been amended by the 2004 Indian National Congress party-led regime with the intention of preventing terrorism—and, ironically, at the time, those amendments were supported by the supremacist BJP, with only the parliamentary left vociferously opposing validating laws that had serious questions for personal liberties.) Even during the previous 10 years of Congress rule—which had an otherwise decent record—of legislating on rights (be it the right to information, right to rural work, right to food, or rights of forest workers/Adivasis), these draconian provisions of the then-amended UAPA were used selectively in targeting youth from the minority on charges—often judged by courts to be fabricated—of “terrorism.” Now these aberrations have been taken a step further. And the Modi 2.0 regime has now passed an amendment that allows even an individual to be unilaterally declared a terrorist—without judicial scrutiny and only by the government’s executive decision—and his/her properties to be attached and seized. As if these amendments were not bad enough, the completely unilateral and unconstitutional abrogation of Article 370 of the Indian Constitution and stripping the state of Jammu and Kashmir of its special status (a legal requirement under the state’s Instrument of Accession to the Indian Union) on August 5 are the worst examples of Modi 2.0 regime’s running roughshod over law, decency, morality and the Constitution.

The Kashmir Valley has been blocked in or blotted out, internet and communications shut down, even landline phone connections shut down. A fundamental decision that affects the very existential reality of the Kashmiri people has been taken without hearing their voice or representation. The state has been under the president’s rule for months. If the Modi 1.0 government will be recognized for subverting and perverting India’s institutions by appointing to crucial posts men and women who have no regard for notions of equality and non-discrimination, then the second time around, the regime will be known for targeting any opposition to Indian federalism. No Indian state is now safe from these rapacious hands.

How did the Modi 2.0 regime notch up its spectacular victory?

A realistic assessment before the results were out was that the BJP itself would get about 180-200 and the National Democratic Alliance party would notch up about 220 or 240 seats out of the total 542 seats that make up the Indian Parliament. It’s the 80-100 seats extra and the massive margins in some that appeared programmed (and even manipulated for some) to send out a message.

The manner in which the Election Commission of India (ECI) functioned through the entire seven-stage polling phase has raised eyebrows. There was clear effort neither to question the huge display of funds (beyond legal limits) used by the ruling party nor to check violation of election law, through misuse of official position or speech that violated constitutional norms (read: hate speech). More money was spent on the Indian 2019 election than on the American elections ($6 billion!), of which 80 percent was spent by the ruling BJP. They have, through their enactment of a non-transparent and opaque law (electoral bonds)—during the last term—ensured that they both have the money and do not need to disclose the source. Neither the ECI nor India’s Supreme Court has in any real sense questioned this abuse. This reflects on the erosion (if not complete takeover) of India’s institutions whom we expect to uphold foundational constitutional principles.

The RSS, the ideological backbone of the BJP election machine, has always had a formidable cultural and social presence, again made easy with the free flow of funds from abroad to its various outfits. Whether the RSS works on charity or education, a core component is its ideological slant, bending or perverting Indian minds toward an unquestioning authoritarianism where a supremacist male Hindu hierarchy is both valorized and validated.

Through demonetization and election bonds, that access to funds has grown even further, and the BJP now has an election machine that can compete with the RSS’s octopus-like organization.

Propaganda, the key tool of any authoritarian protofascist regime, is run or fueled through the BJP’s paid saffron shirts. The party has put in place a formidable 24-hour-connected network that disseminates their message (read: propaganda), which is not one message but rather several layered messages: these praise the one strong leader willing to strike out for drastic change, vilify the opposition (the BJP since its last term has spoken of a “Congress-mukt [free] Bharat [India]”), “promote” every government scheme that they have introduced—its efficacy multiplied and glorified a thousand times over through this well-oiled propaganda—and all the while, layer this with a subconscious message of othering and “hatred.”

Months before the May 2019 elections, the poor economic conditions, farmers’ protests, a revived and belligerent opposition, and charges of corruption over the Rafale deal had started to bother the BJP’s dispensation of propaganda. Come February 2019 and the Pulwama terror attack on Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel in the Kashmir Valley was quickly diverted away from the abysmal intelligence and governance failure that it was, and instead spun into a high-voltage, chest-thumping show of nationalistic machismo. Within a week, a staged “attack” on Pakistan at Balakot—even the efficacy, efficiency and truth behind this raises serious questions—provided the requisite miniscule and banal fodder to refurbish Modi as the man India needed, the man against evil.

Finally, serious questions of electronic voting machine (EVM) tampering have also been raised that cannot be wished away. The battle to be fought needs to factor in and deal with all of these things. The scarcely veiled and calibrated messages of Muslim-bashing/othering, aggressive pseudo-nationalism, and the “selling” of the government schemes need to be dealt with. As does the shameful belittling of the opposition that is also happening at alarming speed with little regard for facts or the truth. It is this formidable body of misinformation and meticulously well-organized and well-oiled/heeled organization that we collectively need to counter.

What Can Be Done?

How, is the question? Who can do this? Political parties in the Opposition that look moribund need to be moved, shoved, and pushed by Indian citizens. Remember also that (unlike in 2014 when even if the results were more startling, they at least appeared believable) this time, state power has also been (illegally) used to garner data from Facebook and other platforms to the service of one party, to help further disseminate the propagandist message, through WhatsApp groups and Facebook messaging. There is also the structural issue of sections of voters who have been deliberately or otherwise disenfranchised (missing voters). The questions to address remain: How will we rectify those missing voters? And how will we bring voters out to the polls?

A hard and meticulous strategy for political education and cultural messaging that includes the history and relevance of principles of constitutionalism is as relevant today as ever before and needs to be not just created and disseminated but organized. Every space, school, college, office, and gram panchayat needs to be involved. The campaign needs to be sustained, layered, fun, historic, relevant, and aimed at building real perceptions away from heaps of propaganda-filled hate.

Two little instances give me hope. One is from last month, when left parties organized a protest at Azad Maidan in Mumbai against the dismantling of Article 370 of the Constitution. Many present felt that engaging with the Mumbai commuter was useful. There was curiosity in the midst of misinformation, that then can be our first lesson: how do we refurbish energies toward rebuilding a sense of resistance after first establishing our new sense of communities?

Second, our Opposition may be weak in Parliament. However, can Indians creatively work to show a strong united opposition on India’s streets?


This article was produced by Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Teesta Setalvad

Teesta Setalvad is a writer, activist, and journalist living in India. She is a writing fellow for Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute, and the secretary of Citizens for Justice & Peace. She has been a longtime advocate for civil rights for all Indian citizens, especially minorities and women.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.