输入搜索

中东

以色列准备进行统一政府谈判,主要打击内塔尼亚胡

Benny Gantz中将在2012巡回以色列边境,向士兵和官员介绍情况,以确保对未来可能发生的任何事件保持高度准备和警觉。 (照片:以色列军队)
Benny Gantz中将在2012巡回以色列边境,向士兵和官员介绍情况,以确保对未来可能发生的任何事件保持高度准备和警觉。 (照片:以色列军队)

“我认为实际上有一个相当不错的论点,即这实际上是以色列最重大的选举之一。”

以色列五个月内的第二次选举导致陷入僵局,本尼甘特的中间派蓝白党赢得33席位以色列议会的120席位,称为以色列议会,以及本杰明内塔尼亚胡的右翼利库德党席位获得31席位61席位多数。 由于他希望全面的选举胜利破灭,内塔尼亚胡周四向他的主要竞争对手伸出援手,要求建立一个联盟。

“在选举期间,我呼吁建立右翼政府,” 内塔尼亚胡在一份声明中说。 “不幸的是,选举结果表明这是不可能的。 因此,别无选择,只能组建一个尽可能广泛的广泛团结政府。“

然而,高级蓝白党领袖摩西亚龙周四表示,他的政党“不会进入由内塔尼亚胡领导的联盟”。

“以我为首的蓝色和白色赢得了大选,”前陆军总司令甘兹周四表示。 “我们不会受到指示。”蓝白党领导人已经指出内塔尼亚胡即将在10月举行的腐败听证会,声称他们不会与被起诉的领导人合作。

“在我的领导下,我感兴趣并打算组建一个广泛而自由的团结政府。 一个将传达人民意志的政府,“甘茨继续说道。

内塔尼亚胡说,他对Gantz的回应感到“惊讶和失望”。

即时结果

内塔尼亚胡是以色列执政时间最长的总理,他离开这一职位将立即产生影响。 他将吞并西岸部分地区的计划将被推迟,他将免除持续贪污指控的能力将被取消,这意味着他可能会被指控并被迫辞去政府职务。

“这两个问题都会产生严重影响,前者可能会在未来解决以色列 - 巴勒斯坦冲突,后者可能会影响以色列民主的健康,” 大西洋的纳坦萨克斯, 提到兼并和内塔尼亚胡的腐败指控。 “周二的结果将不会产生和平,也不会解决以色列的内部挑战,但他们至少暂时避开这些前景。”

本周的选举是为了应对以色列4月份的最后一次选举后出人意料的事态发生,当时担任内塔尼亚胡在1990s的盟友并担任外交部长兼国防部长的小党主席阿维格多·利伯曼拒绝了加入总理的右翼联盟,使内塔尼亚胡获得议会多数席位。 世俗主义者利伯曼要求通过一项法案,强制征服极端正统的犹太人进入军队,内塔尼亚胡的神职人员支持的集团拒绝了。

由于没有统治多数,内塔尼亚胡推动了第二次选举,现在似乎已经确定了他的命运。 利伯曼的世俗民族主义政党赢得了8席位,使他处于有利位置,否决了他不想要的联盟,其中包括阿拉伯人,自由派或极端正统党派。 分析人士认为利伯曼正在推动蓝白党的右翼联盟以及内塔尼亚胡的利库德集团。

值得注意的是,联合名单,一个阿拉伯政党联盟,赢得了13席位,使其成为议会中的第三大党,也可能成为主要反对派集团的主席。 其余的座位 被分配给超正统派对Shas和United Torah犹太教,赢得了9和8席位,右翼Yamina,赢得了7,左倾工党,赢得了6席位,以及民主联盟, 5。

以色列政策论坛智囊团的政策主管迈克尔·科普洛告诉我说:“我认为实际上有一个相当不错的论点,即这实际上是以色列最重大的选举之一。” VOX。 “内塔尼亚胡一直在做的事情确实侵蚀了以色列境内任何权力分立的感觉,这使得不同国家机构的独立性受到质疑。”

内塔尼亚胡的命运

内塔尼亚胡最近几周采取了严厉的措施,以振兴他的基地,甚至造成 Facebook暂时制裁 总理的页面回应了一个帖子,该文章敦促选民避免政府,包括“想要摧毁我们所有人的阿拉伯人 - 妇女,儿童和男人”,内塔尼亚胡指责这是一名职员。

“耶路撒冷邮报”内塔尼亚胡还计划在他的司法部长说服他放弃这一策略之前,入侵加沙推迟选举。

甘茨回应了内塔尼亚胡计划加沙入侵Twitter的消息,称:“内塔尼亚胡因政治目的而消除了模棱两可的态度。 现在他失去了它,并想把我们拖入战争推迟选举。 这是一个属于[电视节目]纸牌屋的场景,而不是以色列国。“

“无论结果如何,除非任何神奇的兔子从帽子中脱身,内塔尼亚胡的总理生涯似乎已经结束,”断言 中东之眼的Richard Silverstein。 内塔尼亚胡需要让反对派人员叛逃或重新获得利伯曼的支持以获得多数票。 而且由于他的腐败指控使他成为政治责任,这些可能性不太可能。

“我们尚未与Bibi完成,从技术上讲,虽然Bibi已经离开,但Bibi已成为历史,”前首相Ehud Olmert告诉他 纽约人的Bernard Avishai 在星期二晚上。 “唯一能够站在国家统一政府首脑的人是甘茨。 被起诉的总理不能留任。“

巴勒斯坦

一些,如 拦截的Mehdi Hasan认为Gantz和内塔尼亚胡之间在巴勒斯坦政策上的差异在很大程度上是肤浅的。 哈桑指出,在以色列选举当天的星期二,荷兰一家法院辩论,当他是以色列国防军的领导人时,是否要对加沙的战争罪征收Gantz。 甘兹有 吹嘘 关于巴勒斯坦领土遭到破坏的说法是“加沙部分地区被送回石器时代”。

Citizen Truth的Rami Almeghari他的总部设在加沙地带,他写过以色列政策如何禁止加沙从战争中修复:

“自从2005脱离接触以来,加沙一直没有被允许修复其饱受战争蹂躏的基础设施,因为以色列继续破坏该地区的生活,以打击'哈马斯恐怖组织'为借口攻击加沙地带,从而阻止任何机会巴勒斯坦民族团结。“

巴勒斯坦裔美国律师,作家和活动家 Noura Erakat与Hasan交谈同样认为甘茨与内塔尼亚胡一样具有军国主义色彩。 埃拉卡特认为,“区分巴勒斯坦人和以色列犹太人的51法律,以及以色列犹太人或征服巴勒斯坦公民的特权”都是“坦诚地建立公民身份,二等地位”,禁止巴勒斯坦人参与公平的民主进程。

“以色列不是一个世俗民主国家,”写道 中东之眼的Richard Silverstein。 “这是民族主义,巴勒斯坦公民的权利从属于犹太人的权利。 没有执政的以色列联盟 永远 包括巴勒斯坦政党。“

西尔弗斯坦认为,以色列政治制度的悲剧性矛盾 - 它不能同时成为一个自由民主国家和一个将阿拉伯人视为二等公民的犹太国家 - 无论最终多数联盟的形式如何,都将无法解决。

“在这次选举中没有任何一方认真对待与巴勒斯坦人的冲突; 它根本不在以色列的政治议程上,“ 西尔弗斯坦写道。 这位记者写道,以色列的选举打破了解决以色列最大,最无法解决的问题的新局面。 这意味着战争将继续,暴力将继续,仇恨将继续有增无减。“

埃雷卡特 提供了一个更有希望的未来观点,指出对以色列 - 巴勒斯坦在美国政治中的冲突和巴勒斯坦激进主义的持久性的看法不断变化:

“我的主要希望是看看加沙地带的200万巴勒斯坦人,他们现在已经参加了加沙地带连续三周的73rd行进到这个军事化的外围,他们被关押在一个露天监狱。被枪杀的可能性很大,没有人注意到他们。 然而,他们仍然保持着坚韧,顽固,坚定,并且已经做出了 - 他们的要求已经明确,这是对围困,回归权和自由的终结。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 19-2019-XNUMX

    犯罪犹太复国主义殖民地的变化越多,他们就越相同。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Israel Prepares For Unity Government Negotiations In Major Blow To Netanyahu

Lt. Gen. Benny Gantz touring the Israeli borders in 2012, briefing soldiers and officers positioned to maintain a high-level of readiness and alertness for any future events that may occur. (Photo: Israeli Army)
Lt. Gen. Benny Gantz touring the Israeli borders in 2012, briefing soldiers and officers positioned to maintain a high-level of readiness and alertness for any future events that may occur. (Photo: Israeli Army)

“I think there actually is a pretty decent argument to be made that this actually is one of Israel’s most momentous elections.”

Israel’s second election in five months has resulted in an impasse, with Benny Gantz’ centrist Blue and White Party winning 33 seats of the 120-seat Israeli parliament, called the Knesset, and Benjamin Netanyahu’s right-wing Likud party taking 31 seats, both short of a 61-seat majority. With his hopes for a full election victory dashed, Netanyahu reached out to his main rival on Thursday to call for a coalition.

“During the elections, I called for the establishment of the right-wing government,” said Netanyahu in a statement. “Unfortunately, election results show that this is not possible. Therefore, there is no choice but to form a broad unity government that is as wide as possible.”

However, senior Blue and White party leader Moshe Yaalon said on Thursday his party “will not enter a coalition led by Netanyahu.”

“Blue and White, headed by me, has won the election,” Gantz, a former army chief, said Thursday. “We will not be dictated to.” Blue and White party leaders have pointed to Netanyahu’s upcoming corruption hearing in October, asserting that they will not work with a leader who is under indictment.

“I am interested in and intend to form a broad and liberal unity government, under my leadership. A government that will convey the will of the people,” Gantz continued.

Netanyahu said he was “surprised and disappointed” by Gantz’ response.

Immediate Results

Netanyahu is Israel’s longest-reigning prime minister, and his removal from the position will have immediate consequences. His plans to annex parts of the West Bank will be postponed and his ability to grant himself immunity from ongoing corruption charges will be eliminated, meaning he will likely be charged and forced to resign from government.

“Both issues would have had serious ramifications, the former for the possibility of resolving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in the future, and the latter for the health of Israeli democracy,” wrote the Atlantic’s Natan Sachs, referring to annexation and Netanyahu’s corruption charges. “Tuesday’s results will not produce peace nor resolve Israel’s internal challenges, but they stave off those prospects, at least for the moment.”

This week’s election comes in response to a surprise turn of events after Israel’s last election in April, when Avigdor Lieberman, the head of a small party who had been Netanyahu’s ally in the 1990s and served under him as a foreign minister and defense minister, refused to grant Netanyahu a parliamentary majority by joining the prime minister’s right-wing coalition. Lieberman, a secularist, demanded a bill be passed to force the conscription of ultra-Orthodox Jews into the army, which Netanyahu’s theocratic-supported bloc refused.

With no governing majority, Netanyahu pushed for a second election which now seems to have secured his fate. Lieberman’s secular nationalist party won 8 seats, putting him in a powerful position to veto coalitions he doesn’t want, which would include Arabs, liberals, or ultra-Orthodox parties. Analysts view Lieberman as pushing for a right-wing coalition of the Blue and White party and Likud that sidelines Netanyahu.

Notably, the Joint List, an alliance of Arab parties, won 13 seats, making it the third largest party in the Knesset and the likely head of the main opposition bloc. The rest of the seats were allocated to ultra-Orthodox parties Shas and United Torah Judaism, who won 9 and 8 seats, the right-wing Yamina, who won 7, and the left-leaning Labor party, which won 6 seats, and the Democratic Union, which took 5.

“I think there actually is a pretty decent argument to be made that this actually is one of Israel’s most momentous elections,” Michael Koplow, policy director at the DC-based Israel Policy Forum think tank, told Vox. “Netanyahu has steadily been doing things that really erode any sense of separation of powers inside Israel and that call the independence of different state institutions into question.”

Netanyahu’s Fate

Netanyahu has taken severe measures in recent weeks to invigorate his base, even causing Facebook to temporarily sanction the prime minister’s page in response to a post that urged voters to avoid a government including “Arabs who want to destroy us all — women, children and men,” which Netanyahu blamed on a staffer.

According to the Jerusalem Post, Netanyahu also planned to invade Gaza to postpone the election, before his Attorney General convinced him to abandon the strategy.

Gantz responded to the news of Netanyahu’s planned Gaza invasion on Twitter, saying: “Netanyahu did away with ambiguity for political ends. Now he’s lost it and wants to drag us into war to postpone the elections. This is a scenario that belongs [in the TV show] House of Cards, not in the State of Israel.”

“Whatever the outcome, and barring any miraculous rabbits pulled from a hat, Netanyahu’s career as prime minister seems to be at an end,” asserted Middle East Eye’s Richard Silverstein. Netanyahu would need to get someone from the opposition to defect or regain Lieberman’s support to secure a majority. And because his corruption charges make him a political liability, these possibilities are unlikely.

“We are not yet done with Bibi, technically, although Bibi is gone, Bibi is history,” former Prime Minister Ehud Olmert told the New Yorker’s Bernard Avishai on Tuesday night. “The only person who could stand at the head of a national-unity government is Gantz. An indicted Prime Minister cannot remain in office.”

Palestine

Some, such as the Intercept’s Mehdi Hasan, view the differences between Gantz and Netanyahu on Palestine policy as largely superficial. Hasan notes that on Tuesday, the same day of the Israeli election, a Dutch court debated whether to charge Gantz for war crimes in Gaza when he was an IDF leader. Gantz has bragged about the destruction of the Palestinian territory by saying “parts of Gaza were sent back to the Stone Age.”

Citizen Truth’s Rami Almeghari, who is based in the Gaza Strip, has written about how Israeli policy has prohibited Gaza from repairing from its wars:

“Since the 2005 disengagement, Gaza has not been allowed to repair its war-torn infrastructure, as Israel has continued to undermine life in the territory, attacking the Strip under the pretext of fighting ‘the terrorist Hamas organization,’ and thus blocking any chances of Palestinian national unity.”

Palestinian American lawyer, author and activist Noura Erakat spoke with Hasan, similarly argues that Gantz is just as militaristic as Netanyahu. Erakat argues that the “51 laws that differentiate between Palestinians and Jewish Israelis, and that either privilege Jewish Israelis or subjugate the Palestinian citizens” proceed to “make citizenship frankly, a second class status,” prohibiting Palestinians from participating in a fair democratic process.

“Israel is not a secular democracy,” wrote Middle East Eye’s Richard Silverstein. “It is rather an ethnocracy, in which the rights of Palestinian citizens are subordinated to those of Jews. No ruling Israeli coalition has ever included Palestinian parties.”

Silverstein argues the tragic contradiction of Israel’s political system – that it cannot simultaneously be a liberal democracy and a Jewish state that treats Arabs as second class citizens – will remain unresolved no matter the shape of the final majority coalition.

“No party during this election offered any serious thought to the conflict with Palestinians; it is simply not on the Israeli political agenda,” wrote Silverstein. The journalist writes that the Israeli election breaks “no new ground in resolving Israel’s greatest, most unsolvable problem. This means the wars will continue, the violence will continue, the hatred will continue unabated.”

Erakat offers a more hopeful view of the future, pointing to shifting views on the Israel-Palestine conflict in US politics and the endurance of Palestinian activism:

“My primary source of hope is to look at the two million Palestinians in the Gaza Strip, who have now participated in the 73rd consecutive week of the Gaza March of Return of marching to this militarized perimeter where they are held in an open air prison at the sure risk of being shot to be killed, where nobody is paying attention to them. And yet, they have remained resilient, obstinate, consistent, and have made — their demands have been clear, which is an end to the siege, the right to return and their freedom.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout September 19, 2019

    The more things change in the criminal zionist colony, the more they stay the same.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.