输入搜索

国家

HR 1通过! 众议院通过全面的新财政和选举改革

美国国旗在美国中期选举当天在美国国会大厦圆顶前飞行,因为选民前往全国各地投票选举33美国参议员和美国华盛顿众议院的所有435成员。 ,11月6,2018。 路透社/ Jim Bourg /文件照片
美国国旗在美国中期选举当天在美国国会大厦圆顶前飞行,因为选民前往全国各地投票选举33美国参议员和美国华盛顿众议院的所有435成员。 ,11月6,2018。 路透社/ Jim Bourg /文件照片

在234-193的党派投票中,众议院批准了“为人民法案”。

美国众议院周五通过立法,民主党人表示将削减大额利益在联邦选举中的影响力,使投票变得更容易,并解决扭曲国会选区偏好特定政党的“分歧”。

在向共和党总统唐纳德·特朗普发出的警告中,民主党人在该法案中列入了一项规定,要求所有总统和总统候选人公开他们的税务申报 - 这是目前白宫居民坚决拒绝做的事情。

一些国会调查人员认为,这些回报可以揭示特朗普是否在俄罗斯有任何商业交易可能会影响他与莫斯科的关系,无论是作为总统候选人还是作为总统。

在234-193的党派投票中,众议院批准了“为人民法案”,众议院议长南希 佩洛西 在2018国会竞选活动中承诺,民主党人将采取这些活动来帮助清理美国政治和促进投票权。

在法案通过前不久, 佩洛西 他说,它“结束了大型,黑暗,特殊利益资金在政治中的主导地位,并赋予小型捐赠者和基层人民权力”,并“打击选民镇压”。

但这项措施很可能只会成为民主党人的竞选工具,因为他们试图扩大他们在众议院的席位数量,并在2020选举中占领参议院和白宫。

参议院多数党领袖米奇·麦康奈尔(Mitch McConnell)曾多次抨击民主党法案,在共和党控制的参议院中几乎没有机会。

支持者表示,该立法将使选民登记变得更加容易,在选举日扩大投票时间,恢复对重罪判处服刑的美国公民的投票权,支持投票机和选举基础设施,防范网络攻击和其他干扰。

这项立法是在美国情报机构发现俄罗斯参与2016美国总统大选以及莫斯科被指控试图影响其他民主国家选举结果之后发布的。 俄罗斯否认干涉2016选举。

特别检察官罗伯特·穆勒(Robert Mueller)一直在调查特朗普的竞选活动是否与他在俄罗斯白宫成功竞选的方式有所勾结。 特朗普否认他的竞选与莫斯科之间存在任何勾结,并将穆勒的调查称为“猎巫”。

众议院法案将要求各州设立独立委员会来吸引国会选区,而不是主要由州长和立法机关掌握的权力。

国会议员将采用更严格的道德标准,小型竞选捐款将与联邦基金相匹配,试图削弱大捐助者的影响力。

将其称为“民主党政治家保护法案”,麦康奈尔抨击立法,认为这将使华盛顿过分控制选举,同时不必要地使用税收资金进行政治竞选。

作为参议院多数党领袖,麦康奈尔有权在很大程度上决定上议院的立法辩论。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 库尔特 8 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日

    Hr-1更吸烟和镜子。 如果政府不是特别兴趣,我们会在最初的法治中同意。“我们在法律面前一律平等。 那些在联邦政府内部进行内幕交易的人将不得不被起诉。 之后,那些想要竞选公职的人必须接受测试,以确保他们符合资格。 处于10百分比以上的人将获得相等的通风时间。 这也可能包括辩论时间。
    任何捐赠都会被视为贿赂,
    并且捐助者将被起诉。 如果你想要一个真正的政府,你必须删除所有的钱,因为钱腐败。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

HR 1 Passes! House Passes Sweeping New Campaign Finance and Election Reform

A United States flag flies in front of the U.S. Capitol dome at sunrise on the day of the U.S. midterm election as voters went to the polls across the country to elect 33 U.S. senators and all 435 members of the U.S. House of Representatives in Washington, U.S., November 6, 2018. REUTERS/Jim Bourg/File Photo
A United States flag flies in front of the U.S. Capitol dome at sunrise on the day of the U.S. midterm election as voters went to the polls across the country to elect 33 U.S. senators and all 435 members of the U.S. House of Representatives in Washington, U.S., November 6, 2018. REUTERS/Jim Bourg/File Photo

In a party-line vote of 234-193, the House approved the “For the People Act.”

The U.S. House of Representatives on Friday passed legislation that Democrats say will lessen the influence of big-money interests in federal elections, make voting easier and tackle “gerrymandering” that skews the makeup of congressional districts to favor particular political parties.

In a warning shot to Republican President Donald Trump, Democrats included a provision in the bill requiring all presidents and presidential nominees to make public their tax filings – something the current White House resident has steadfastly refused to do.

Some congressional investigators think those returns could shed light on whether Trump has had any business dealings in Russia that could have influenced his relations with Moscow, either as a presidential candidate or as president.

In a party-line vote of 234-193, the House approved the “For the People Act,” a bill House Speaker Nancy Pelosi promised in the 2018 congressional election campaigns that Democrats would pursue to help clean up American politics and foster voting rights.

Shortly before passage of the bill, Pelosi said it “ends the dominance of big, dark, special-interest money in politics and it empowers small donors and the grassroots” and “fights voter suppression.”

But the measure is likely to become merely a campaign tool for Democrats as they try to expand the number of seats they hold in the House and to capture the Senate and White House in the 2020 elections.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, a Republican, has repeatedly attacked the Democratic bill, leaving little chance for it in the Republican-controlled Senate.

Backers say the legislation would make voter registration easier, expand voting hours on election days, restore voting rights to U.S. citizens who have served prison sentences for felonies and shore up voting machines and election infrastructure against cyber attacks and other interference.

The legislation comes after U.S. intelligence agencies found that Russia meddled in the 2016 American presidential elections and as Moscow has been accused of trying to influence the outcome of elections in other democracies. Russia has denied meddling in the 2016 election.

Special Prosecutor Robert Mueller has been investigating whether Trump’s campaign colluded with Russia in a way that was beneficial to his successful 2016 White House bid. Trump has denied there was any collusion between his campaign and Moscow, and has labeled Mueller’s probe a “witch hunt.”

The House bill would require states to establish independent commissions for drawing congressional districts, instead of the power residing mainly in the hands of state governors and legislatures.

Tougher ethics standards would be imposed on members of Congress, and small campaign donations would be matched with federal funds to try to blunt the influence of big donors.

Calling it the “Democrat Politician Protection Act,” McConnell has lambasted the legislation, arguing it would give Washington too much control over elections while unnecessarily using tax dollars for political campaigns.

As Senate majority leader, McConnell has the power to largely decide what legislation is debated in the upper chamber.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Kurt March 8, 2019

    Hr-1 is more smoke and mirrors. To have a government thats not all special intrest we would agree in the original rule of law.”we are all equal under the law. Then those doing insider trading in the federal government’s would have to be prosecuted. After that those wanting to run for office would have to be tested to be sure they qualify. Those in the upper 10 percent would recieve equal air time. This could include debate time as well.
    Any donation would be looked at as a bribe,
    and the donor would be prosecuted. If you want a real government’s, you have to remove all the money because money corrupts.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *