输入搜索

公司文化

'抹大拉的马利亚'给出了当代,女权主义的宗教故事

鲁尼玛拉作为玛丽抹大拉的截图
鲁尼玛拉和华金凤凰在抹大拉的玛利亚明星。 (图片:YouTube截图)

据称导演加思戴维斯专注于玛丽抹大拉的女性影响,但这部电影也遇到了争议,因为两位主要演员都不属于中东血统。

新电影 抹大拉的马利亚 据报道,正在为着名的圣经故事添加一个当代和女权主义的旋律,这个故事是关于一位与耶稣基督一起旅行并目睹他被钉十字架,埋葬和复活的犹太妇女。

由Garth Davis执导(狮子),电影明星鲁尼玛拉(龙纹身的女孩)作为名义角色和华金凤凰(她的, 走线)作为耶稣。 两位演员都有精神背景:玛拉是天主教徒并参加天主教学校; 凤凰城没有成长为基督徒,但认为自己是“精神上的

从历史上看,圣经和宗教信徒对玛利亚抹大拉的遗产并不总是很友好。 在591年,教皇格雷戈里大帝声称她是一名妓女,这部电影引发了争议。 由于她的性别和缺乏婚姻,她与耶稣的关系一直充满争议,并且她被指责因为非正统的生活方式而被“恶魔附身”。

最终,由于她的力量和品格的独立性,玛丽被许多人视为女权主义者的开拓者 - 她基本上离开了她的生活,跟随耶稣。 据推测,她是耶稣复活的第一个见证人。

她现在被许多宗教派别视为圣徒,包括天主教会(在1969之前不会停止称她为“罪恶”),以及东正教,英国圣公会和路德教会。

在新电影中,玛丽拒绝结婚,而是跟随一位旅行的拉比耶稣。 一路走来,她坚决反对她对使徒彼得的指导和对耶稣的影响。

“她确实想到了男女之间的不公正和不公平,”女演员玛拉 说过。 “她也非常勇敢地把一切都抛在身后,跟随一群人走。”

“令人难以置信的是,[玛丽]在这场运动中发挥了重要作用,”菲尼克斯补充道。 “你意识到这个故事中的女性被解雇和被忽视了多少。”

据称导演加思戴维斯专注于玛丽抹大拉的女性影响,而不是传统上男性化的角色,在耶稣故事的新复述中。

戴维斯说,在澳大利亚长大的时候,他感到与教会“脱节”。 他在有组织的宗教之外寻求灵性,而这是一个潜在的主题 抹大拉的马利亚。 戴维斯认为新电影是“精神的”而不是宗教的。

这部电影也得到了满足 争议 因为两位主要演员都不属于中东血统。 然而,戴维斯声称这是他当代解释的一部分,并补充说演员阵容包括各种各样的民族。

戴维斯说:“演员是一个使故事现代化并使其反映我们现在所处的多元文化世界的机会。” “最终,对我来说最重要的事情就是找到能够以深情和情感的方式捕捉到这些角色的演员。”

与世界上其他地方一样,美国人口中的很大一部分都是宗教信徒。 像电影一样 抹大拉的马利亚通过重新诠释,或许可以为新一代和后代人扩展其主题的真实性和吸引力。

抹大拉的马利亚 4月12上映的电影将在4月19的数字平台上播出。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

‘Mary Magdalene’ Gives Contemporary, Feminist Spin on Religious Story

screenshot of Rooney Mara as Mary Magdalene
Rooney Mara and Joaquin Phoenix star in Mary Magdalene. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

Director Garth Davis allegedly focuses on the feminine influences of Mary Magdalene, but the film has also been met with controversy because neither lead actors are of Middle Eastern descent.

The new movie Mary Magdalene is reportedly adding a contemporary and feminist spin to the famous Bible story about a Jewish woman who traveled with Jesus Christ and witnessed his crucifixion, burial and resurrection.

Directed by Garth Davis (Lion), the film stars Rooney Mara (The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo) as the titular character and Joaquin Phoenix (Her, Walk the Line) as Jesus. Both actors have spiritual backgrounds: Mara was raised Catholic and attended Catholic schools; Phoenix wasn’t raised Christian but considers himself “spiritual”.

Historically, the Bible and religious followers have not always been kind to Mary Magdalene’s legacy. In the year 591, Pope Gregory the Great alleged that she was a prostitute, which the film disputes. Her relationship with Jesus has been steeped in controversy due to her gender and lack of marriage, and she was accused of being “possessed by demons” for her unorthodox lifestyle.

Eventually, Mary came to be regarded by many as a feminist trailblazer for her strength and independence of character — she essentially left her life behind to follow Jesus. It’s also been speculated that she was the first witness of Jesus’ resurrection.

She is now considered a saint by many religious denominations including the Catholic Church (which didn’t cease calling her “sinful” until 1969), as well by the Eastern Orthodox, Anglican, and Lutheran churches.

In the new film, Mary refuses to marry and instead follows a traveling rabbi, Jesus. Along the way, she stands firm against resistance to her guidance and influence over Jesus by the apostle Peter, for instance.

“She does think about the injustices and unfairness between men and women,” actress Mara said. “She was also fiercely brave to leave everything behind and go follow a group of men.”

“It was incredible what a significant role [Mary] played in this movement,” Phoenix added. “You realize how much the women in this story had been dismissed and disregarded.”

Director Garth Davis allegedly focuses on the feminine influences of Mary Magdalene, instead of the more traditionally masculine characters, in this new retelling of Jesus’ story.

Davis said he felt “disconnected” from church while growing up in Australia. He sought spirituality outside of organized religion instead, which is an underlying theme in Mary Magdalene. Davis considers the new film “spiritual” rather than religious.

The film has also been met with controversy because neither lead actors are of Middle Eastern descent. However, Davis alleged that this was part of his contemporary interpretation, adding that the cast consists of various ethnicities overall.

“The casting was an opportunity to modernize the story and make it reflect the multicultural world we’re living in now,” Davis said. “And ultimately, the most important thing for me was finding actors who captured those characters in a soulful and emotional way.”

A huge segment of the U.S. population is religious, like everywhere else in this world. A movie like Mary Magdalene, with its renewed interpretation, can perhaps expand the truth and appeal of its subject matter for new and upcoming generations.

Mary Magdalene premiered in theaters April 12 and will be available on digital platforms on April 19.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.