اكتب للبحث

الحرب ضد الشرق الأوسط

هل الناقل الأمريكي في الخليج الفارسي هو علامة دنيئة للحرب مع إيران؟

لقطة جوية من ar: USS أبراهام لنكولن (CVN-72) أثناء نشرها المجدول بانتظام والقيام بعمليات قتالية لدعم عملية المراقبة الجنوبية
لقطة جوية من ar: USS أبراهام لنكولن (CVN-72) أثناء نشرها المجدول بانتظام والقيام بعمليات قتالية لدعم عملية المراقبة الجنوبية. نوفمبر ، 2002 (الصورة: البحرية الأمريكية Kittie VandenBosch)

وجهة النظر هذه - أن بولتون يقود ترامب إلى مواجهة عسكرية محفوفة بالمخاطر مع خصم أمريكا الرئيسي في الشرق الأوسط - تتصاعد في جميع أنحاء العالم.

"تحت سماء مرصعة بالنجوم ، انطلقت الطائرات المقاتلة التابعة للبحرية الأمريكية من على سطح حامل الطائرة وحلقت شمالًا فوق المياه المظلمة في شمال بحر العرب ، في إشارة إلى إيران على أنها الرمز الأول للوجود العالمي للجيش الأمريكي. حيها ، وربما للبقاء ، "تبدأ أسوشيتد برس (ا ف ب) تقرير حول ما يمكن أن يكون علامة بارزة للأوقات القادمة في الشرق الأوسط.
"يو إس إس أبراهام لنكولن ، مع كتيبة من المدمرات والطرادات البحرية وقوة قتالية حول طائرة 70 ، هو محور رد البنتاغون على ما تسميه التهديدات الإيرانية بمهاجمة القوات الأمريكية أو الشحن التجاري في منطقة الخليج الفارسي. في السنوات الأخيرة ، لم يكن هناك وجود منتظم لحاملة الطائرات الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط.

القوات تضغط من أجل الحرب مع إيران

واشنطن بوست مؤخرا تقرير بقلم جوشوا بارتلو وديفيد فهرنتهولد وتايلور لاك ، قاموا بتفصيل ما يمكن أن ينظر إليه على أنه محاولة ضغط من جانب الشيخ العراقي الأثري نهارو الكسنانان لبدء صراع مع إيران.
"في يوليو / تموز [2018] ، كتب شيخ عراقي ثري اسمه نهرو الكسنازان رسائل إلى مستشار الأمن القومي جون بولتون ووزير الخارجية مايك بومبو يحثهم على إقامة علاقات أوثق مع أولئك الذين يسعون للإطاحة بالحكومة الإيرانية" ، بدأ التحقيق قطعة. "بعد أربعة أشهر ، دخل إلى فندق ترامب الدولي في واشنطن وقضى ليالي 26 في جناح في الطابق الثامن - وهي زيارة تقدر تكلفتها بعشرات الآلاف من الدولارات".
من خلال أبحاثهم ، تتراوح الأجنحة في فندق Trump من حوالي 1,000 $ إلى 2,000 $ في الليلة. لم يعلق الفندق ولا البيت الأبيض ولا مكتب الأمن القومي على الواشنطن بوست على القصة. صرح كاسنازان بأنه لم يستخدم إقامته في محاولة للضغط على إدارة ترامب ، لكن واشنطن بوست ذكرت أنه سعى لعقد اجتماعات غير رسمية مع أعضاء وزارة الخارجية.
لفتت اتصالات كاسنزان مع بولتون الكثير من الاهتمام حيث يعتقد الصحفيون والناشطون عن كثب على فترة ولاية بولتون في إدارة ترامب ، إلى جانب مسيرته المهنية في السياسة ، أنه ظل طويلاً في صراع عسكري مع إيران. مقال مايو من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية اليوم وصف دينامية له مع الرئيس ترامب.
وجهة النظر هذه - أن بولتون يقود ترامب إلى مواجهة عسكرية محفوفة بالمخاطر مع العدو الأمريكي الرئيسي في الشرق الأوسط - تتصاعد في جميع أنحاء العالم ، من طهران إلى واشنطن. لكن خبراء الأمن القومي داخل البيت الأبيض وخارجه يقولون إن دور بولتون مبالغ فيه - وتأثيره على الرئيس مبالغ فيه ، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر باحتمال حرب مكلفة مع إيران.

هل الحرب مع إيران قادمة؟

قال الأدميرال جون إف جي واد ، قائد مجموعة لينكولن المضاربة عند التحدث إلى وكالة الأسوشييتد برس: "منذ أن كنا نعمل في المنطقة ، كان لدينا العديد من التفاعلات مع الإيرانيين". "حتى هذه اللحظة كانت جميعها آمنة ومهنية - أي أن الإيرانيين لم يفعلوا شيئًا لعرقلة مناورتنا أو تصرفوا بطريقة تتطلب منا اتخاذ إجراءات دفاعية."
في أوائل مايو ، بعد الهجوم على ناقلات النفط السعودية ، تم إلقاء اللوم على إيران. ومع ذلك ، فإن الأدلة الصارمة لم تر النور العام ، وتنفي إيران كل تورطها في الهجمات ضد خصومهم. قفز بولتون ووزير الخارجية مايك بومبو على الهجوم والاتهامات. الحارس وذكرت في الموعد:
في أعقاب هجمات الناقلة ، رفعت الإدارة الرهان. كما تم تسريب تفاصيل اجتماع الأمن القومي بالبيت الأبيض. لقد كشفوا أن باتريك شاناهان ، القائم بأعمال وزير الدفاع ، قد قدم خطة جديدة لإرسال قوات 120,000 إلى الشرق الأوسط ، من المفترض أن يردع إيران. وثمة خيار آخر قيد المناقشة وهو ضربات صاروخية متعددة الأغراض من البحر والجو على المنشآت العسكرية الإيرانية والأهداف ذات الصلة بالسلاح النووي.
في حين زعم ​​مسؤولو إدارة ترامب أن إيران تمثل تهديدًا وشيكًا للولايات المتحدة وحلفائها ، على الصعيدين الدولي والمحلي ، قوبلت الشكوك. من جانبه ، يبدو الرئيس ترامب محفوراً في موقف عدم شن حرب ضد إيران ، ومع ذلك فقد غير رأيه بشأن العديد من المواضيع طوال فترة رئاسته.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
والتر ييتس

Walter Yeates هو صحفي وروائي وكاتب سيناريو يعمل في Standing Rock مع قدامى المحاربين العسكريين و First People في ديسمبر 2016. يغطي مجموعة من المواضيع في Citizen Truth وهو مفتوح للحصول على نصائح واقتراحات. تويتر: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall أو www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANTI WAR MIDDLE EAST

Is A US Carrier In Persian Gulf An Omnious Sign Of War With Iran?

An aerial ‘bow shot’ of en:USS Abraham Lincoln (CVN-72) during her regularly scheduled deployment conducting combat operations in support of Operation Southern Watch
An aerial ‘bow shot’ of en:USS Abraham Lincoln (CVN-72) during her regularly scheduled deployment conducting combat operations in support of Operation Southern Watch. November, 2002 (Photo: US Navy Kittie VandenBosch)

That view – that Bolton is driving Trump into a perilous military confrontation with America’s principal foe in the Middle East – is ricocheting across the globe.

“Under a starry sky, U.S. Navy fighter jets catapulted off the aircraft carrier’s deck and flew north over the darkened waters of the northern Arabian Sea, a[n] unmistaken signal to Iran that the foremost symbol of the American military’s global reach is back in its neighborhood, perhaps to stay,” begins an Associated Press (AP) report on what could be a foreboding sign of times to come in the Middle East.
“The USS Abraham Lincoln, with its contingent of Navy destroyers and cruisers and a fighting force of about 70 aircraft, is the centerpiece of the Pentagon’s response to what it calls Iranian threats to attack U.S. forces or commercial shipping in the Persian Gulf region. In recent years, there has been no regular U.S. aircraft carrier presence in the Middle East,” the piece would continue.

Forces Pushing For War With Iran

A recent Washington Post report by Joshua Partlow, David A. Fahrenthold, and Taylor Luck detailed what could be seen as a lobbying effort by wealthy Iraqi sheik Nahro al-Kasnazan to begin a conflict with Iran.
“In July [2018], a wealthy Iraqi sheikh named Nahro al-Kasnazan wrote letters to national security adviser John Bolton and Secretary of State Mike Pompeo urging them to forge closer ties with those seeking to overthrow the government of Iran,” began the investigative piece. “Four months later, he checked into Trump International Hotel in Washington and spent 26 nights in a suite on the eighth floor — a visit estimated to have cost tens of thousands of dollars.”
By their research, suites at the Trump hotel range from about $1,000 to $2,000 per night. Neither the hotel, White House, nor the National Security office commented to the Washington Post on the story. Kasnazan states he did not use his stay in an attempt to lobby the Trump administration, but the Washington Post reported he did seek informal meetings with members of the state department.
Kasnazan’s communication with Bolton drew much attention as journalists and activists keeping a close eye on Bolton’s tenure in the Trump administration, along with his career in politics, believe he has long angled for a military conflict with Iran. A May article from the USA Today described his dynamic with President Trump.
That view – that Bolton is driving Trump into a perilous military confrontation with America’s principal foe in the Middle East – is ricocheting across the globe, from Tehran to Washington. But national security experts inside and outside the White House say Bolton’s role has been exaggerated – and his influence with the president has been overstated, particularly when it comes to the prospect of a costly war with Iran.

Is War With Iran Oncoming?

“Since we’ve been operating in the region, we’ve had several interactions with Iranians,” stated Rear Admiral John F. G. Wade, commander of the Lincoln strike group when speaking to the AP. “To this point all have been safe and professional — meaning, the Iranians have done nothing to impede our maneuverability or acted in a way which required us to take defensive measures.”
In early May, after Saudi Arabian tankers were attacked all blame was laid on Iran. However, ironclad evidence has yet to see public light, and Iran denies all involvement with the attacks against their adversary. Bolton and Secretary of State Mike Pompeo jumped on the attack and the accusations. The Guardian reported at the time:
In the wake of the tanker attacks, the administration upped the ante. Details of a White House national security meeting were also leaked. They revealed that Patrick Shanahan, the acting defence [sic] secretary, had presented a new plan to send 120,000 troops to the Middle East, supposedly to deter Iran. Another option under discussion was multiple sea and air-launched missile strikes on Iran’s military facilities and suspected nuclear-related targets.
While Trump administration officials have claimed Iran presents an imminent threat to the United States and their allies, both internationally and domestically the claims are met with skepticism. For his part, President Trump seems dug into a position of not launching a war against Iran, yet he has changed his mind on numerous topics throughout his Presidency.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.