اكتب للبحث

الشرق الأوسط

المراهق السعودي قد يتعرض للموت بعد الاحتجاج وهو طفل

يواجه مرتضى قريع عقوبة الإعدام في المملكة العربية السعودية. الموافقة المسبقة عن علم: منظمة العفو الدولية
يواجه مرتضى قريع عقوبة الإعدام في المملكة العربية السعودية. (الصورة: منظمة العفو الدولية)

تم اعتقاله في سبتمبر / أيلول 2014 وانتقل إلى مركز الأحداث في دار الملاذ في مدينة الدمام. ذكرت التقارير أنه احتُجز في الحبس الانفرادي لمدة شهر أثناء تعرضه للضرب اللاإنساني والتعذيب أثناء الاستجواب.

أعلنت منظمة العفو الدولية جمهورها إعلان يوم الجمعة فيما يتعلق بمصير المواطن السعودي البالغ من العمر 18 ، مرتضى قريع ، الذي يحتجزه مسؤولون سعوديون.

أكدت المنظمة [منظمة العفو الدولية] أن النيابة العامة في المملكة العربية السعودية سعت لعقوبة الإعدام بالنسبة لمرتاجا قريريس في أغسطس / آب 2018 بسبب سلسلة من الجرائم ، التي يرجع تاريخ بعضها إلى ما كان عليه في سن 10 فقط. كان سي ان كشف يواجه هذا الأسبوع عقوبة الإعدام ونشر شريط فيديو يظهر فيه المشاركة في احتجاجات الدراجات في المنطقة الشرقية بالمملكة العربية السعودية عندما كان صغيراً في 2011.

سي ان ان البند بالتفصيل الفيديو الذي استعرضه المخرج.

مشياً على الأقدام ، توشك مرتجيا قوريس ، البالغة من العمر 10 ، على قيادة مجموعة من أطفال 30. في لقطات فيديو حصلت عليها سي إن إن ، كان يرتدي بنطلون جينز مطوي وجلد أسود يتخبط على قدميه ، مبتسماً على الكاميرا التي تسجل الحدث. قد تبدو وكأنها رحلة منتظمة بالدراجة ، لكن المجموعة تنظم احتجاجًا.

بعد لحظات من انطلاقها ، يضيع قريريس في بحر الأولاد ، ويكافح من أجل الاستمرار وهو يرفع مكبر الصوت ويضغط على شفتيه. "الناس يطالبون بحقوق الإنسان!"

عمليات الإعدام شائعة في المملكة العربية السعودية

أعدم السعوديون الناس 37 في يوم من شهر أبريل ، معظمهم من الأقلية الشيعية. وكتبت Sky News أن جثة رجل ورأسه المقطوع تم تثبيتهما على عمود كتحذير للآخرين. ومن بين القتلى عبد الكريم الحواج ، الذي تم اعتقاله في سن 16 لمشاركته في الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة. كان أكبر عدد من عمليات الإعدام في يوم واحد منذ 2 January [sic] ، 2016 ، عندما الناس 47 قُتل ، "تابع المنفذ.

وقالت لين معلوف ، مديرة أبحاث الشرق الأوسط: "لدى السلطات السعودية سجل حافل في استخدام عقوبة الإعدام كسلاح لسحق المعارضة السياسية ومعاقبة المتظاهرين المناهضين للحكومة - بمن فيهم الأطفال - من الأقلية الشيعية المضطهدة في البلاد". في منظمة العفو الدولية فيما يتعلق بمحنة قريريس.

قُبض على قريع في سبتمبر / أيلول 2014 وانتقل إلى مركز الأحداث في دار الملاذ في مدينة الدمام. تفيد التقارير بأنه احتُجز في الحبس الانفرادي لمدة شهر أثناء تعرضه للضرب اللاإنساني والتعذيب أثناء الاستجواب.

في مايو / أيار 2017 ، نُقل إلى سجن المباحث في الدمام ، وهو سجن للبالغين ، رغم أنه كان يبلغ من العمر 16 فقط. وطوال فترة احتجازه ، مُنع من الاتصال بمحامٍ إلى ما بعد جلسة المحكمة الأولى التي عُقدت في أغسطس / آب 2018 في المحكمة الجنائية المتخصصة ، وهي محكمة لمكافحة الإرهاب أُنشئت في 2008 ، والتي تُستخدم على نحو متزايد في القضايا التي تشمل نشطاء حقوق الإنسان والمتظاهرين ". تفاصيل منظمة العفو الدولية.

حقوق الإنسان لا تزال مشكلة في المملكة العربية السعودية

في محاولة للعلاقات العامة لتحسين مكانتها الدولية ، قامت المملكة العربية السعودية بذلك مستعمل World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) كوسيلة لاقتناص العناوين العامة. كان آخرها في سلسلة من الأحداث المتعاقد عليها هو Summer Showdown الذي وقع يوم الجمعة الماضي. تعرضت هذه الأحداث لتدقيق شديد بعد أن تبين أن المملكة العربية السعودية أمرت بقتل الصحفي وتقطيعه جمال خاشقجي. ومع ذلك ، فإن القيود المفروضة على حقوق الإنسان تمتد إلى جرائم القتل السابقة والإعدام العام الوحشي.

في 2018 ، بقي نظام الوصاية التمييزية للذكور في المملكة العربية السعودية على حاله رغم تعهدات الحكومة بإلغائه. بموجب هذا النظام ، يجب على النساء البالغات الحصول على إذن من ولي الأمر الذكور - عادة ما يكون الزوج أو الأب أو الأخ أو الابن - للسفر إلى الخارج أو الحصول على جواز سفر أو الزواج أو الخروج من السجن "، على حد قول هيومن رايتس ووتش (HRW) في هم آخر تقرير العالم عن المملكة.

"تحد السلطات السعودية من قدرة المرأة على الزواج بحرية من خلال مطالبتها بالحصول على إذن ولي الأمر الذكر. عادة ما تُعطى موافقة المرأة شفهياً أمام مسؤول ديني يقوم بالزواج ، ويتعين على كل من المرأة وولي أمرها توقيع عقد الزواج. في حين أن الرجال يمكنهم الزواج من أربع زوجات في وقت واحد ، "اقرأ 2019 من يناير تقرير من هيومن رايتس ووتش بعنوان ، المملكة العربية السعودية: أسباب 10 لفرار النساء.

يستخدم تطبيق Absher في المملكة العربية السعودية لانتهاك استقلالية المرأة التي تعيش في البلاد. "على الرغم من أن Absher ليس إلزاميًا ، فقد حان ليحل محل بطاقات تصريح السفر المطلوبة للنساء في المملكة العربية السعودية" ، Citizen Truth وذكرت في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
والتر ييتس

Walter Yeates هو صحفي وروائي وكاتب سيناريو يعمل في Standing Rock مع قدامى المحاربين العسكريين و First People في ديسمبر 2016. يغطي مجموعة من المواضيع في Citizen Truth وهو مفتوح للحصول على نصائح واقتراحات. تويتر: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall أو www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. Mi chiedo se il nostro governo abbia già interrotto i rapporti diplomi con governi dalla "giustizia" così nefanda e calpestatrice dei diritti umani come sono i paesi arabi.E se non li ha interrotti، che cosa aspetta.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Saudi Teen May Be Put To Death After Protesting As A Child

Murtaja Qureiris is facing the death penalty in Saudi Arabia. Pic: Amnesty International
Murtaja Qureiris is facing the death penalty in Saudi Arabia. (Photo: Amnesty International)

He was arrested in September 2014 and moved to the Dar al-Mulahaza juvenile detention center in al-Dammam city. Reports stated he was held in solitary confinement for a month while being subject to inhumane beatings and torture during interrogations.

Amnesty International made a public declaration on Friday concerning the fate of 18-year-old Saudi national, Murtaja Qureiris who is being held by Saudi Arabian officials.

The organization [Amnesty International] has confirmed that Saudi Arabia’s Public Prosecution sought the death penalty for Murtaja Qureiris in August 2018 for a series of offences [sic], some of which date back to when he was just 10 years old. CNN had revealed this week that he is facing the death penalty and published video footage showing him participating in bike protests in Saudi Arabia’s Eastern Province as a young boy in 2011.

The CNN article detailed the video reviewed by the outlet.

Foot on pedal, 10-year-old Murtaja Qureiris is about to lead the group of around 30 children. In video footage obtained by CNN, he is wearing rolled up denim jeans and black flip-flops on his feet, and grinning at the camera recording the event. It may look like a regular bike ride, but the group is staging a protest.

Moments after they set off, Qureiris gets lost in the sea of boys, struggling to keep up as he lifts a megaphone and presses it against his lips. “The people demand human rights!” he shouts.

Executions Common In Saudi Arabia

“The Saudis executed 37 people on one day in April, most of them minority Shia Muslims. The body and severed head of one man were pinned to a pole as a warning to others,” wrote Sky News. “Among those killed was Abdulkareem al Hawaj, who had been arrested at the age of 16 for involvement in anti-government protests. It was the largest number of executions in a single day since 2 January [sic], 2016, when 47 people were killed,” the outlet continued.

“The Saudi Arabian authorities have a chilling track record of using the death penalty as a weapon to crush political dissent and punish anti-government protesters – including children – from the country’s persecuted Shi’a minority,” said Lynn Maalouf, Middle East Research Director at Amnesty International in relation to the plight of Qureiris.

Qureiris was arrested in September 2014 and moved to the Dar al-Mulahaza juvenile detention center in al-Dammam city. Reports state he was held in solitary confinement for a month while being subject to inhumane beatings and torture during interrogations.

“In May 2017 he was moved to al-Mabaheth prison in al-Dammam, an adult prison, even though he was just 16 years old. Throughout his detention he was denied access to a lawyer until after his first court session in August 2018 at the Specialized Criminal Court, an anti-terror court set up in 2008, that has increasingly been used for cases involving human rights activists and protesters,” Amnesty International details.

Human Rights Remains An Issue In Saudi Arabia

In a public relations attempt to improve their international standing, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has used World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) as a way to grab public headlines. The latest in a series of contracted events was Summer Showdown which took place this past Friday. These events have come under heavy scrutiny after Saudi Arabia was found to have ordered the murder and dismembering of journalist Jamal Khashoggi. However, humans rights limitations extend past extrajudicial murders and brutal public executions.

“In 2018, Saudi Arabia’s discriminatory male guardianship system remained intact despite government pledges to abolish it. Under this system, adult women must obtain permission from a male guardian—usually a husband, father, brother, or son—to travel abroad, obtain a passport, marry, or be discharged from prison,” says Human Rights Watch (HRW) in their latest World Report on the kingdom.

“Saudi authorities limit a woman’s ability to enter freely into marriage by requiring her to obtain the permission of a male guardian. A woman’s consent is generally given orally before a religious official officiating for the marriage, and both the woman and her male guardian are required to sign the marriage contract. Whereas men can marry up to four wives at a time,” read a January 2019 report from HRW entitled, Saudi Arabia: 10 Reasons Why Women Flee.

The Absher application is used in Saudi Arabia to violate the autonomy of women living in the country. “While the  Absher isn’t mandatory, it has come to replace the travel permission cards women needed within Saudi Arabia,” Citizen Truth reported earlier this month.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Raffaela Sannino June 13, 2019

    Mi chiedo se il nostro governo abbia già interrotto i rapporti diplomatici con governi dalla “giustizia”così nefanda e calpestatrice dei diritti umani come sono i paesi arabi.E se non li ha interrotti, che cosa aspetta.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.