اكتب للبحث

الشرق الأوسط

كوشنر يجتمع مع القادة العرب كمؤتمر محتمل للسلام

جاريد كوشنر ، كبير مستشاري الرئيس دونالد ج. ترامب ، يتلقى هدية من وزير الدفاع العراقي عرفان الحيالي في وزارة الدفاع في بغداد ، العراق ، أبريل 3 ، 2017. (DoD Photo by Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Dominique A. Pineiro)
جاريد كوشنر ، كبير مستشاري الرئيس دونالد ج. ترامب ، يتلقى هدية من وزير الدفاع العراقي عرفان الحيالي في وزارة الدفاع في بغداد ، العراق ، أبريل 3 ، 2017. (DoD Photo by Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Dominique A. Pineiro)

صهر الرئيس ترامب ، جاريد كوشنر ، في جولة في الشرق الأوسط ربما قبل مؤتمر للدول العربية في كامب ديفيد.

الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي وكرر دعم بلاده للسلام الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي الذي يحترم قرارات الشرعية الدولية ، مع القدس الشرقية المحتلة عاصمة لدولة فلسطينية مستقبلية. جاءت تصريحات السيسي خلال اجتماع في القاهرة يوم الخميس مع مبعوث السلام في الشرق الأوسط للرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب ، جاريد كوشنر.

يزور كوشنر ، صهر ترامب ، منطقة الشرق الأوسط لحشد الدعم لخطة ترامب للسلام بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين ، المعروف باسم "صفقة القرن".

في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع ، زار مبعوث السلام الأمريكي العاهل الأردني الملك عبد الله الثاني الذي ردد بدوره نفس الموقف من السيسي المصري. أخبر العاهل الأردني كوشنر أنه لا يمكن للأردن أن يقبل سوى حل الدولتين ، والذي يعتبره أكثر الحلول قابلية للتطبيق للنزاع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي.

ومع ذلك ، فإن إدارة ترامب الحالية تبدو معارضة لحل الدولتين ، حيث اعترفت الإدارة بشكل مثير للجدل بالقدس الشرقية المحتلة كعاصمة لإسرائيل ونقلت السفارة الأمريكية من تل أبيب إلى القدس. مثل هذه الخطوة لم تشهد دعمًا من الإدارات الأمريكية السابقة منذ 1996 عندما صادق كونغرس الولايات المتحدة على نقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس.

كجزء من جولة كوشنر في الشرق الأوسط ، سيلتقي مع زعماء عرب آخرين من المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والقطري وغيرهم. يُنظر إلى الجولة الحالية على أنها متابعة ، في أعقاب ورشة العمل التي قادها كوشنر في دولة البحرين في الخليج العربي في أواخر يونيو.

حضر ورشة العمل العديد من الهيئات بما في ذلك المسؤولين الحكوميين ورؤساء الأعمال من مختلف البلدان. وتناولت إمكانات تحقيق الرخاء الاقتصادي في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة.

رفضت السلطة الفلسطينية وقاطعت ورشة العمل الاقتصادية قائلة إن أي ازدهار اقتصادي يجب أن يأتي نتيجة لحل سياسي عادل ودائم.

ذكرت وكالة الأنباء الفلسطينية المحلية المحلية أن الرئيس الأمريكي يمهد الطريق لعقد مؤتمر سلام في وقت ما في المستقبل القريب في كامب ديفيد ، خارج واشنطن العاصمة في ماريلاند.

من المرجح أن يدعو المؤتمر الدول العربية الرئيسية بما في ذلك مصر والسعودية لإيجاد حل سلمي للمنطقة ، ويفترض أنه يتمشى مع رؤية ترامب الخاصة بالحل. ومع ذلك ، ذكرت معان أنه من غير المحتمل دعوة إسرائيل لحضور اجتماع كامب ديفيد لأنه قد يمنع حضور بعض الدول العربية.

اقترح معان أيضًا أن يقول ترامب حسناً لإنشاء كيان فلسطيني ووجود الفلسطينيين في منطقة القدس ، دون أن يقول بخير لدولة فلسطينية.

عارضت السلطة الفلسطينية إلى حد كبير خطط ترامب لإيجاد حل إسرائيلي فلسطيني. قطعت العلاقات الرسمية بين الجانبين منذ ديسمبر من عام 2018 ، عندما اعترف ترامب بالقدس الشرقية المحتلة كعاصمة لإسرائيل.

بعد عدة أشهر ، قطعت واشنطن المساعدات المالية للسلطة الفلسطينية وامتنعت عن تمويل وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين ، المعروفة باسم الأونروا.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
رامي المغاري

رامي المغاري كاتب مستقل وصحفي ومحاضر في قطاع غزة. ساهم رامي باللغة الإنجليزية في العديد من وسائل الإعلام في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك المطبوعات والإذاعة والتلفزيون. يمكن الوصول إليه على فيسبوك بصفته رامي منير المغاري وعلى البريد الإلكتروني باسم [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ستاوت أغسطس 2، 2019

    ما "عصر ما بعد الاستعمار"؟

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Kushner Meets with Arab Leaders as Possible Lead-Up to Peace Conference

Jared Kushner, Senior Advisor to President Donald J. Trump, receives a gift from Iraqi Minister of Defense Erfan al-Hiyali at the Ministry of Defense in Baghdad, Iraq, April 3, 2017. (DoD Photo by Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Dominique A. Pineiro)
Jared Kushner, Senior Advisor to President Donald J. Trump, receives a gift from Iraqi Minister of Defense Erfan al-Hiyali at the Ministry of Defense in Baghdad, Iraq, April 3, 2017. (DoD Photo by Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Dominique A. Pineiro)

President Trump’s son-in-law, Jared Kushner, is off on a Middle East tour possibly ahead of an Arab states conference at Camp David.

Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi reiterated his country’s support for a Palestinian-Israeli peace that honors international legitimacy resolutions, with occupied East Jerusalem as the capital of a future Palestinian state. Sisi’s remarks came during a meeting in Cairo on Thursday with Middle East peace envoy of U.S. President Donald Trump, Jared Kushner.

Kushner, the son-in-law of Trump, is visiting the Middle East region to garner support for Trump’s plan for peace between Palestinians and Israelis, known commonly as the “Deal of the Century.”

Earlier this week, the U.S. peace envoy visited Jordan’s King Abdallah II who in turn echoed the same stance by Sisi of Egypt. The Jordanian monarch told Kushner that Jordan can only accept a two-state solution, which he sees as the most viable solution for the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.

However, the current Trump administration seems opposed to a two-state solution, as the administration controversially recognized occupied East Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and moved the American embassy from Tel-Aviv to Jerusalem. Such a move had not seen support from previous U.S. administrations since 1996 when the United States’ Congress endorsed the transfer of the U.S. embassy to Jerusalem.

As part of Kushner’s Middle East tour, he will meet with other Arab leaders from Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Qatari and others. The current tour is seen as a follow-up, following the Kushner-led economic workshop in the Arab Gulf state of Bahrain in late June.

The workshop was attended by several bodies including government officials and business heads from various countries. It addressed possibilities for creating economic prosperity in the occupied Palestinian territories.

The Palestinian Authority (P.A.) rejected and boycotted the economic workshop, saying that any economic prosperity should come as a result of a just and durable political solution.

The local Palestinian Maan News Agency reported that the U.S. president is laying the groundwork for a peace conference to be held sometime in the near future in Camp David, outside of Washington D.C. in Maryland.

The conference would likely invite key Arab countries including Egypt and Saudi Arabia to find a peaceful solution for the region, presumably in line with Trump’s own vision for a solution. However, Maan reported that Israel was unlikely to be invited to a Camp David meeting as it could prevent the attendance of some Arab nations.

Maan also suggested that Trump would say okay to the creation of a Palestinian entity and existence of Palestinians in the Jerusalem area, without saying okay to a Palestinian state.

The Palestinian Authority has largely opposed Trump’s plans for an Israeli-Palestinian solution. Formal ties between the two sides have been severed since December of 2018, when Trump recognized occupied East Jerusalem as the capital of Israel.

Several months later, Washington cut off financial assistance to the P.A. and refrained from funding the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestinian Refugees, known as UNRWA.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 2, 2019

    What “post-colonial era”?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.