输入搜索

美洲 分析

缺乏美国枪支控制引发了墨西哥的记录流血事件

美国海关和边境保护局官员在亚利桑那州的卢克维尔港进行出境检查后,在发现未报告的美国货币,武器和弹药分别缉获后,逮捕了两名墨西哥国民。 日期:三月16,2017(照片:美国海关与边境保护局)
美国海关和边境保护局官员在亚利桑那州的卢克维尔港进行出境检查后,在发现未报告的美国货币,武器和弹药分别缉获后,逮捕了两名墨西哥国民。 日期:三月16,2017(照片:美国海关与边境保护局)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

“合法出口的美国枪支已被用于大屠杀,失踪以及与墨西哥犯罪集团大规模勾结的安全部队。”

(帕克阿斯曼, InSight Crime美国枪支多年来一直流入墨西哥腐败的安全部队和犯罪组织手中,但美国仍在努力阻止致命武器跨越其南部边境。

在2013和2018之间,墨西哥当局收回并交给美国酒精,烟草,火器和炸药局(ATF)的70枪支的96,036百分比被追溯到美国。 官方政府数据。 仅在2018,在墨西哥回收的一半16,343枪支是在美国制造的。

墨西哥是一个拥有该国的国家 与枪有关的死亡人数排名第三 在世界范围内,继续看到历史性的暴力水平。 在2017,墨西哥遭遇了它 最凶杀的一年 在历史上,因为这些记录开始保存在1997中。 杀人数量 再次飙升 在2018,这个国家正在加速发展 达到历史新高 再一次到2019结束。

火力也增加了。 截至7月底2019,墨西哥外交部长马塞洛·埃布拉德说,在该国的犯罪现场查获了攻击性武器和自动步枪的数量 跳了起来 按122百分比和63百分比分别表示。

在边境城市蒂华纳, 据San Diego Union-Tribune报道 蒂华纳的警察局长表示,“自从2016来自美国以来,警方几乎每一把枪就被查获了”。 这个城市已成为其中之一 最致命的 在世界上作为敌对团伙 发动无情的战争 控制甲基苯丙胺和芬太尼等合成药物的销售。

一些专家估计 超过210,000武器 每年都被偷运到美墨边境。

市场问题

美国采购的枪支问题落入墨西哥有组织犯罪集团手中的问题是一个市场问题。 美国拥有大量武器 - 尤其是武器 高功率 那些 - 缺乏强有力的控制机制。 与此同时,墨西哥的犯罪分子不断寻找这种武器。

“墨西哥的犯罪分子正在使用武器来控制他们领土内经济上发生的任何事情,以及相互之间的领土争端,”全球交易所的研究员和活动家John Lindsay-Poland告诉InSight Crime。 “市场的需求方面没有改变,供应方面的动态非常适合满足这种需求。”

美国枪支进入墨西哥的最常见方式之一是通过购买秸秆。 这是一个人代表不允许拥有武器的人在美国合法购买武器的时候。 走私者争取美国人用干净的记录从授权经销商那里购买枪支,然后将武器向南移过边境。

枪支经常被分解成碎片,隐藏在电子产品中或以其他方式伪装以躲避当局。

“即使在非常明显的贩卖模式,几乎粗心大意的情况下,枪支经销商也没有义务做任何事情,”亚历克斯·亚布隆(Alex Yablon)说道,他是一名记者,专门报道针对枪支暴力的新闻组织The Trace的美国枪支政策。 “实际上没有一种机制可以切断[美国枪支到墨西哥]的流量。”

对于边境当局和海关官员来说,查找非法武器非常困难。 他们缺乏充分检查的资源 数量巨大 每天过境的货物和车辆。 直接腐败和a 缺乏机构间合作 也使这些努力复杂化。

法律上的差距和陷阱

秸秆购买和非法贩运并不是美国枪支落入坏人行列的唯一途径。 美国是全球最大的枪支供应商。 然而,为控制持牌经销商向国际行为者合法销售枪支的机制已经失败。

A 2月2019审核 例如,美国国务院监察长办公室发现,国防贸易管制局(DDTC)没有确保永久性出口许可证申请符合批准标准。

在12月21和8月2017之间提交的审计中审查的2018枪支出口许可证申请中,该报告发现国务院官员批准了所有人,“尽管没有必要的信息”。

更重要的是,根据现行法律,国务院应该通知美国国会是否批准了价值超过$ 1百万的枪支销售。 但据报道,国会从未收到过超过17百万的1枪支出口协议的通知。

审计强调了工作人员轮调,缺乏培训和人员削减以解释这些缺点。 据报道,截至7月2018,负责检查枪支协议的机构的人员配置减少了28%。 该部门还缺乏进行检查的“标准培训计划”。

国际政策中心安全援助监测主任克里斯蒂娜娜阿拉伯告诉InSight Crime,“非常关心的是,未授权出售武器出口许可证的人正在这样做。” “对于国务院来说,这似乎不是一个优先事项。”

这个过程中的差距会产生严重的后果。 根据美国人口普查局的贸易数据,在2015和2017之间,美国向墨西哥出口了价值近100万美元的枪支和弹药。 拦截报道.

多年来,墨西哥士兵被指控犯有一系列严重的侵犯人权行为,其中包括: 法外处决。 根据截获报告,“合法出口的美国枪支已被用于大规模屠杀,失踪以及与墨西哥犯罪集团大规模勾结的安全部队”。

更好的前进道路?

专家们一致认为,美国可以实施各种战略,以减缓在南部边境非法贩运的美国枪支数量,同时还可以保障国际枪支的合法销售。

Global Exchange的Lindsay-Poland表示,在联邦一级,结束向美国输入高能攻击武器将有助于限制此类武器流入墨西哥。

在州一级,对可以从单一经销商处购买的枪支数量(特别是长武器)实施普遍背景调查和限制,也可能减少墨西哥用于实施暴力犯罪的武器数量。

InSight Crime咨询的专家同意ATF和国务院需要更多的资源和人员来处理非法枪支贩运,并确保合法枪支出口的过程没有缺陷。

但这还不够。

“有资源问题和政治意愿问题,”Lindsay-Poland告诉InSight Crime。 “你可以把更多的资源投入到一个机构中,但如果政治意志不能真正防止武器进入坏人,那就不会产生那么大的差别。”

美国总统唐纳德特朗普的政府没有表现出对抗该国武器问题的任何愿望。 事实上,提议改革 缓解枪支出口管制 对于美国武器制造商而言 仍处于不确定状态 - 如果通过,可以向墨西哥和拉丁美洲其他地方发送新一波枪支。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

4评论

  1. J.P 10-2019-XNUMX

    我喜欢你们做的事,但是你的文章非常误导。

    1。 多年来,美国政府一直向墨西哥毒品集团充满枪支。 与此同时,在墨西哥,不可能合法拥有同样的火力,甚至手枪也很难购买。 这使得人们坐在鸭子身边。 因此,无辜平民被屠杀的原因是因为他们根本无法为自己辩护。

    https://www.cbsnews.com/news/mexicans-have-the-right-to-own-guns-but-few-do/

    2。 在同一时期,墨西哥对帮派的枪支销售一直在增加,美国也向所有公民提供各种类型武器的武器销售。 枪支增长图表和暴力犯罪图表之间存在直接关联。 随着枪支销售的增加,在美国,暴力犯罪一直在急剧下降。 这表明墨西哥并没有缺乏枪支控制导致死亡,这太过分了。

    https://www.nationmaster.com/country-info/compare/Mexico/United-States/Crime/Violent-crime

    回复
    1. 劳伦冯伯纳斯 10-2019-XNUMX

      公平的批评,毫无疑问美国政府喜欢贩卖武器......合法或非法! 谢谢你的开场恭维! 如果你不问我,你喜欢我们作为一个组织/媒体机构做什么,我们可以做些什么呢?

  2. 太平绅士 11-2019-XNUMX

    我喜欢你们不是在意识形态上偏向某种方式。 您有MAGA会员和进步人员为您和其他人工作。 只要直接表达了事实,我对意识形态偏见没有任何错误。 这是我读你们的原因之一。 大多数文章都包含事实和数据,无论哪一方写入。

    回复
    1. 劳伦冯伯纳斯 11-2019-XNUMX

      感谢您的反馈。 我认为我们需要更多保守的作家,但我没有与他们联系的好运......但我们正在寻找。 在我看来,每个人都有一种自然偏见会影响整个媒体,所以尽可能多地引入不同的视角是理解大局的关键。 随着我们的成长,这是一个目标,可以带来更多的观点,并做更深入的工作。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS ANALYSIS

Lack of US Gun Control Provokes Record Bloodshed in Mexico

U.S. Customs and Border Protection officers conducting outbound inspections at Arizona’s Port of Lukeville arrested two Mexican nationals after finding unreported U.S. currency, weapons and ammunition in separate seizures. Date: March 16, 2017 (Photo: U.S. Customs and Border Protection)
U.S. Customs and Border Protection officers conducting outbound inspections at Arizona’s Port of Lukeville arrested two Mexican nationals after finding unreported U.S. currency, weapons and ammunition in separate seizures. Date: March 16, 2017 (Photo: U.S. Customs and Border Protection)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“Legally exported U.S. firearms have been used in massacres, disappearances, and by security forces that collude with criminal groups in Mexico on a broad scale.”

(By Parker Asmann, InSight Crime) U.S. firearms have flowed into the hands of corrupt security forces and criminal organizations in Mexico for years, yet the United States is still struggling to stem the tide of deadly weaponry moving across its southern border.

Between 2013 and 2018, 70 percent of the 96,036 firearms recovered by Mexican authorities and turned over to the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) were traced back to the United States, according to official government data. In 2018 alone, half of the 16,343 firearms recovered in Mexico were manufactured in the United States.

This comes as Mexico, a country with the third most gun-related deaths in the world, continues to see historic levels of violence. In 2017, Mexico suffered its most homicidal year in history since such records started being kept in 1997. The number of killings surged again in 2018, and the country is on pace to reach a record high once more by the end of 2019.

Firepower has also increased. As of the end of July 2019, Mexico Foreign Minister Marcelo Ebrard said that the number of assault weapons and automatic rifles seized at crime scenes in the country has jumped by 122 percent and 63 percent, respectively.

In the border city of Tijuana, the San Diego Union-Tribune reported that “nearly every single gun seized by police since 2016 came from the United States,” according to Tijuana’s police chief. The city has become one of the most deadly in the world as rival gangs wage a ruthless war to control sales of synthetic drugs like methamphetamine and fentanyl.

Some experts estimate that more than 210,000 weapons are smuggled across the US-Mexico border each year.

A Market Issue

The problem of U.S.-sourced firearms finding their way into the hands of Mexico’s organized crime groups is a market issue. The United States has a glut of weapons — especially high-powered ones — and lacks strong control mechanisms. At the same time, criminal actors in Mexico are in constant search of such weaponry.

“Criminal actors in Mexico are using weapons to control whatever happens economically in their territory, and to dispute territory between each other,” John Lindsay-Poland, a researcher and activist at Global Exchange, told InSight Crime. “The demand side of the market has not changed, and dynamics on the supply side are really perfect to meet that demand.”

One of the most common ways that U.S. firearms make their way into Mexico are through straw purchases. This is when an individual legally purchases a weapon in the United States on behalf of somebody who isn’t allowed to own one. Smugglers enlist Americans with clean records to buy guns from authorized dealers, and then the weapons are moved south across the border.

The guns are often broken down into pieces, hidden in electronics or disguised in other ways to evade authorities.

“Even in cases with very obvious patterns of trafficking, almost carelessly obvious, gun dealers don’t have a duty to do anything,” said Alex Yablon, a reporter who covers U.S. gun policy for The Trace, a news organization focused on gun violence. “There really isn’t a mechanism for cutting off this flow [of US guns to Mexico].”

For border authorities and customs officials, locating illegal weapons is extraordinarily difficult. They lack the resources to adequately inspect the enormous quantities of goods and vehicles crossing the border each day. Outright corruption and a lack of interagency collaboration also complicate these efforts.

Legal Gaps and Pitfalls

Straw purchases and illegal trafficking aren’t the only ways that U.S. firearms get into the hands of bad actors. The United States is the largest supplier of firearms globally. The mechanisms, however, put in place to control legal sales of firearms by licensed dealers to international actors have failed.

February 2019 audit from the Office of the Inspector General at the U.S. State Department, for example, found that the Directorate of Defense Trade Controls (DDTC) did not ensure that permanent export license applications met standards for approval.

Of the 21 firearms export license applications reviewed in the audit that were filed between December 2017 and August 2018, the report found that State Department officials approved all but one “despite the absence of required information.”

What’s more, under current law, the State Department is supposed to notify the U.S. Congress if sales of firearms valued at over $1 million are approved. But Congress was never notified of 17 firearms export agreements that exceeded $1 million, according to the report.

The audit highlighted staff rotations, a lack of training and personnel cuts to explain these shortcomings. As of July 2018, the agency tasked with examining firearms agreements had a 28 percent reduction in staffing, according to the report. The department also lacks a “standard training program” for conducting checks.

“It’s extremely concerning that individuals who aren’t authorized to sign off on export licenses for the sales of weapons are doing so,” Christina Arabia, the director of the Security Assistance Monitor at the Center for International Policy, told InSight Crime. “It doesn’t seem like it’s much of a priority for the State Department.”

Gaps in this process can have severe consequences. Between 2015 and 2017, the United States exported nearly $123 million worth of firearms and ammunition to Mexico, according to U.S. Census Bureau trade data reported by the Intercept.

Over the years, Mexican soldiers have been accused of a range of severe human rights abuses, including extrajudicial killings. “Legally exported U.S. firearms have been used in massacres, disappearances, and by security forces that collude with criminal groups in Mexico on a broad scale,” according to the Intercept report.

A Better Path Forward?

Experts agree that the United States can implement a variety of strategies to slow the number of US firearms illegally trafficked across the southern border, while also safeguarding legal international sales of firearms.

At the federal level, ending the importation of high-powered assault weapons into the United States would help restrict the flow of such weapons into Mexico, said Global Exchange’s Lindsay-Poland.

On the state level, enforcing universal background checks and placing limits on the number of firearms — particularly long weapons — that can be purchased from a single dealer would also likely reduce the number of weapons used in Mexico to commit violent crimes.

Experts consulted by InSight Crime agree that both the ATF and State Department need more resources and personnel to tackle illegal gun trafficking and to ensure the process for legal gun exports isn’t flawed.

But that’s not enough.

“There’s a resource issue and a political will issue,” Lindsay-Poland told InSight Crime. “You can put more resources into an agency, but if the political will isn’t there to actually prevent weapons from getting to bad actors, it’s not going to make that much of a difference.”

The administration of U.S. President Donald Trump hasn’t shown any desire to confront the country’s weapons problem. In fact, a proposed reform to ease firearm export controls for U.S. weapons manufacturers — while still in limbo — could send a new wave of firearms to Mexico and elsewhere in Latin America if passed.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

4 Comments

  1. J. P. September 10, 2019

    I love what you guys do but your article is very misleading.

    1. The U.S. Government has been flooding Mexican drug groups with guns for years. Meanwhile, in Mexico it is impossible to own the same kind of firepower legally, and even pistols are very difficult to purchase. This makes the people sitting ducks. So the reason innocent civilians are getting slaughtered is because they simply cannot defend themselves.

    https://www.cbsnews.com/news/mexicans-have-the-right-to-own-guns-but-few-do/

    2. In the same period of time that Mexico’s gun sales to gangs have been increasing, the US has also had booming weapons sales to all its citizens of various types of weapons. There is a direct correlation between the gun growth charts and violent crime charts. As gun sales have gone UP, in the US, violent crime has been plummeting. This shows that it isn’t a lack of gun control causing the deaths in Mexico, it’s too much of it.

    https://www.nationmaster.com/country-info/compare/Mexico/United-States/Crime/Violent-crime

    Reply
    1. Lauren von Bernuth September 10, 2019

      Fair criticism, no doubt the U.S. government loves trafficking in weapons sales … legally or illegally! Thank you for the opening compliment too! If you don’t me asking, what do you like that we do as an organization/media outlet and what could we do better on?

  2. J.P. September 11, 2019

    I like that you guys aren’t ideologically biased one way or the other. You have MAGA members and progressives working for you and others in between. I have nothing wrong with ideological bias so long as the facts are directly represented. It’s one of the reasons I read you guys. Most of your articles have facts and data in them, regardless of which side writes it.

    Reply
    1. Lauren von Bernuth September 11, 2019

      Thank you for the feedback. I think we need more conservative writers but I haven’t had as much luck connecting with them… but we are on the lookout. Everybody has a natural bias which will influence the whole media outlet, in my opinion, so bringing in as many different perspectives as possible is key to understanding the bigger picture. As we grow, that is a goal to bring in more perspectives and do more in-depth work.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.