输入搜索

美洲

巴哈马难民因签证混乱而被美国救援渡轮拒之门外

美国海岸警卫队检查飓风多利安受损地区,以支持巴哈马的搜索和救援以及人道主义援助,4,2019。 海岸警卫队正在支持巴哈马国家紧急事务管理局和皇家巴哈马国防军,他们正在巴哈马领导搜索和救援工作(照片:美国海岸警卫队海员Erik Villa Rodriguez)
美国海岸警卫队检查飓风多利安受损地区,以支持巴哈马的搜索和救援以及人道主义援助,4,2019。 海岸警卫队正在支持巴哈马国家紧急事务管理局和皇家巴哈马国防军,他们正在巴哈马领导搜索和救援工作(照片:美国海岸警卫队海员Erik Villa Rodriguez)

“在飓风多利安之后,成千上万的巴哈马人寻求庇护或开始重建,我们不能在昨晚在弗里波特发生那种混乱。”

数以百计的飓风多利安幸存者是 告诉下船渡轮 在自由港,大巴哈马群岛于周日开往佛罗里达州劳德代尔堡,此前在遭受破坏的岛屿上,水,食物和电力有限。 虽然星期六海关和边境管制局最终在佛罗里达州处理了几乎1,500巴哈马难民,但周日事件对于欢迎多利安幸存者的官方政策感到困惑。

至少44人被五级飓风杀死,估计有数千人飓风至少失踪 70,000人无家可归.

海关和边境巡逻队指责渡轮公司告诉巴哈马人撤离, 据见证情况的记者Brian Entin说“如果这些人确实留在船上并且到了,我们就会对它们进行处理,”一位官员告诉Entin。 “他们没有被任何政府机构下船。”

据Entin称,这家私人渡轮公司表示,美国当局告诉他们,进入美国需要签证。

“就像这样的最后一分钟,”巴哈马难民和他的孩子雷纳德奥利弗告诉迈阿密电视台WSVN的记者,“这是有害的,因为我正在看着我的女儿们哭泣,但事实就是如此。”

星期一,代理海关和边境管制局局长马克·摩根在事件发生后试图安慰陷入困境的巴哈马人:

“这是一项人道主义任务,”摩根说。 “如果你的生命处于危险之中并且你在巴哈马群岛......你将被允许来到美国,无论你是否有旅行证件。”他说处理将迅速得到处理。

特朗普总统 好像很矛盾 摩根在同一天晚些时候的保证,认为“非常坏的人”可以利用这个过程,并警告不要欢迎巴哈马人。

“我们必须非常小心,”特朗普说。 “每个人都需要完整的文档。 因为,看起来,巴哈马在前往巴哈马群岛时遇到了一些不应该存在的巨大问题。“

特朗普补充说:“我不想让不应该在巴哈马群岛的人进入美国 - 包括一些非常坏的人和非常糟糕的帮派成员。”

佛罗里达州参议员里克斯科特敦促官员澄清签证规则,并迅速有组织地应对危机。

“在飓风多利安之后,成千上万的巴哈马人寻求庇护或开始重建,我们不能在昨晚在弗里波特发生那种混乱,”参议员斯科特说。

科学家们长期以来一直警告说,气候变化将增加极端天气事件的强度和频率。 研究表明 相对贫穷的全球南方将面临比富裕的全球北方更严重的后果,加剧难民危机和政治两极分化。

批评人士认为灾难性的风暴就像 玛丽亚飓风 在波多黎各, 莫桑比克的旋风Idai巴哈马的飓风多里安代表了一些强风暴,并警告他们将继续摧毁脆弱的社会,使受害者受到富裕政府的支配。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS

Bahamian Refugees Rejected From US Rescue Ferry Over Visa Confusion

The U.S. Coast Guard inspects damaged areas by Hurricane Dorian in support of search and rescue and humanitarian aid in the Bahamas, Sept. 4, 2019. The Coast Guard is supporting the Bahamian National Emergency Management Agency and the Royal Bahamian Defense Force, who are leading search and rescue efforts in the Bahamas (Photo: U.S. Coast Guard Seaman Erik Villa Rodriguez)
The U.S. Coast Guard inspects damaged areas by Hurricane Dorian in support of search and rescue and humanitarian aid in the Bahamas, Sept. 4, 2019. The Coast Guard is supporting the Bahamian National Emergency Management Agency and the Royal Bahamian Defense Force, who are leading search and rescue efforts in the Bahamas (Photo: U.S. Coast Guard Seaman Erik Villa Rodriguez)

“As hundreds of thousands of Bahamians seek refuge or start to rebuild after Hurricane Dorian, we cannot have the kind of confusion that occurred last night in Freeport.”

Hundreds of Hurricane Dorian survivors were told to disembark a ferry in Freeport, Grand Bahamas bound for Fort Lauderdale, Florida on Sunday after days on the devastated island with limited water, food, and power. While almost 1,500 Bahamian refugees were ultimately processed in Florida by Customs and Border Control on Saturday, the incident Sunday represents confusion over the official policy on welcoming Dorian survivors.

At least 44 people were killed by the category five hurricane with thousands estimated to be missing and at least 70,000 people left homeless.

Customs and Border Patrol blamed the ferry company for telling the Bahamians to evacuate, according to Brian Entin, a reporter who witnessed the situation: “If those folks did stay on the boat and arrived, we would have processed them,” an official told Entin. “They were not ordered off the boat by any government entity.”

The private ferry company, however, said U.S. authorities told them that visas would be required for entry into the U.S., according to Entin.

“At the last minute like this,” Renard Oliver, a Bahamian refugee with his child, told a reporter with the Miami television station WSVN, “It’s hurtful because I’m watching my daughters cry, but it is what it is.”

On Monday Acting Customs and Border Control head Mark Morgan sought to comfort distressed Bahamians after the incident:

“This is a humanitarian mission,” said Morgan. “If your life is in jeopardy and you’re in the Bahamas … you’re going to be allowed to come to the United States, whether you have travel documents or not.” He said the processing would be handled expeditiously.

President Trump seemed to contradict Morgan’s assurance later the same day, arguing that “very bad people” could exploit the process and warned against welcoming Bahamians.

“We have to be very careful,” Trump said. “Everybody needs totally proper documentation. Because, look, the Bahamas had some tremendous problems with people going to the Bahamas that weren’t supposed to be there.”

“I don’t want to allow people that weren’t supposed to be in the Bahamas to come into the United States — including some very bad people and very bad gang members,” Trump added.

Florida Senator Rick Scott urged officials to clarify the rules on visas and respond to the crisis in a rapid and organized manner.

“As hundreds of thousands of Bahamians seek refuge or start to rebuild after Hurricane Dorian, we cannot have the kind of confusion that occurred last night in Freeport,” said Senator Scott.

Scientists have long warned that climate change will increase the intensity and frequency of extreme weather events. Studies have shown that the relatively poor global south will face harsher consequences than the wealthy global north, exacerbating refugee crises and political polarization.

Critics argue catastrophic storms like Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico, Cyclone Idai in Mozambique, and Hurricane Dorian in the Bahamas represent some of these intensified storms and warn they will continue to destroy vulnerable societies, leaving victims at the mercy of wealthy governments.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.