输入搜索

亚太

为什么克什米尔在印度和俄罗斯的关系上投下阴影

印度总理纳伦德拉·莫迪在金砖国家国家元首和政府首脑的非正式会议上。 日期7 July 2017
印度总理纳伦德拉·莫迪在金砖国家国家元首和政府首脑的非正式会议上。 日期:7 July 2017。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

在这一点上,它不符合俄罗斯的区域和全球政策,这些政策越来越多地处于对抗美国的对抗模式中。

印度总理纳伦德拉·莫迪9月4-5对符拉迪沃斯托克的访问结果证明是虎头蛇尾。 该事件的主要结果可能是,莫迪现在可以将符拉迪沃斯托克添加到他目前参观的异国目的地,如乌兰巴托。 莫迪的访问将见证在西伯利亚,俄罗斯远东和北极地区推出印度经济伙伴关系的勇敢新世界。 但没有任何突破的证据。

真正令人惊讶的是,长期以来一直期待在莫迪访问期间签署的物流协议延期。

的文本 联合声明 似乎在两个外交政策机构的官僚层面上遭到了激烈的争斗。 两位“经过时间考验的朋友”已经避免承诺支持彼此的“共同利益”。这是俄中文件中不断的克制,在克什米尔危机的当前背景下,其价值将是不可估量的。 。

但实际上,印度正在优先考虑美国在克什米尔问题上的立场,试图通过各种方法来缓和它 - 通过扼杀和提出激励措施 - 而俄罗斯在这个时刻对印度的明显支持可能会适得其反。世界政治中的新冷战条件。

可以想象,从官僚那里向莫迪提出的建议可能是与俄罗斯人 - 尤其是与俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京 - 的过分争吵 - 此时可能只会对抗美国人,这将对印度的利益产生不利影响。 这可能解释了外交部长S. Jaishankar在8月28莫斯科访问期间在莫斯科的奇怪表现。

如果俄罗斯人感到短暂的改变,他们就不会表现出来。 但是,他们也应该受到指责。 事实上,俄罗斯 - 巴基斯坦的“解冻”已经不合时宜,即使在莫斯科和伊斯兰堡之间的探戈中没有发生太多事情,但认知很重要。 美国游说者极力鼓励的观点是,俄罗斯已经转移到印度和巴基斯坦之间的中间地带。

可以肯定的是,符拉迪沃斯托克联合声明显示,美俄印三角已成为“动能”。华盛顿正在进行实地考察。 印度精英的美国游说者将争辩说,鉴于克什米尔危机的性质,印度根本无法对抗西方世界。

美国和英国在利用这种复杂局势方面有着丰富的历史。 周一英国外交大臣多米奇拉布周一在下议院发表的严厉言论不过仅仅是巧合:

“重要的是,国际公认的人权得到充分尊重。 印度和巴基斯坦之间关于克什米尔问题的争端正在为他们从根本上解决联合国安理会决议和西姆拉协议所承认的问题。

“但人权问题不仅是印度或巴基斯坦的双边问题,也不是国内问题,而是国际问题。 我们期望所有合作伙伴尊重并遵守国际公认的人权标准。

“所有或任何侵犯人权的指控都令人深感关切。 必须彻底,及时,透明地对它们进行调查。 提出的问题和问题非常严重。

“除了希望尊重印度内部和克什米尔的宪法安排[废除第十九条第十一条]外,它们在国际上也具有影响,尤其是在涉及国际尊重和公认的人权时。”

按理说华盛顿和伦敦正在同步前进。 克什米尔问题有助于使印度成为一个完美的手段,并使其符合英美全球战略。 影响到这里的两个主要模板将是印度与俄罗斯的密切联系,其次是印度对美国印度太平洋战略的矛盾心理。

这一背景将解释为何与普遍预期相反,俄罗斯和印度推迟签署物流协议。 关键是,它在这一点上为印度的利益服务,而不是过于密切关注俄罗斯的区域和全球政策,这些政策越来越处于对抗美国的对抗模式。

我们不知道美国人会在多大程度上优先考虑德里关键政策制定者与俄罗斯的物流协议,但我们不知道,但在符拉迪沃斯托克发生的事情或未发生的情况肯定会超过眼睛。

同样,俄罗斯人似乎对美印印度造币“印度太平洋”插入联合声明表示坚定的“Nyet”。 关于亚太安全的措辞表明,俄罗斯方面注意不要侵犯中国的敏感性。

值得注意的是,印度决定在能源领域停止与俄罗斯的合作,尽管人们高度期望在符拉迪沃斯托克可以预期一些重大的公告。 或许,印度在这一点上优先考虑与美国的能源伙伴关系,这也恰好享有特朗普总统的个人支持和干预。 本月晚些时候,印度将在德克萨斯州休斯敦召开一次重要能源会议,以概述印度在美国能源产业投资的重大计划。

总的来说,符拉迪沃斯托克访问的结果标志着莫迪在过去几年中开创的印俄关系复兴中可以辨别的趋势的微妙逆转。 德里的计算结果可能是,当克什米尔危机触及危机时,美印战略伙伴关系重新启动已成为当务之急。 通过威胁要在克什米尔问题上进行调解,印度和莫迪面临压力,华盛顿“软化”了德里。 只要莫迪带着克什米尔的信天翁,他就会受到英美讹诈的攻击。

俄罗斯将感受到,尽管民族主义充满了各种各样的虚张声势,但印度的统治精英正在向后倾斜,以安抚美国在困难时期实施其克什米尔政策。 具有讽刺意味的是,这也是历史的悲剧性重演。

在1940晚期,在英美压力下,贾瓦哈拉尔·尼赫鲁将克什米尔问题带到了联合国安理会。 在那个时候,德里也有意识地决定不向苏联寻求帮助来冒犯西方。 (当时冷战爆发了。)最后,当时的驻苏联大使Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan博士(后来的印度总统)采取了个人主动,有些即兴(并且没有尼赫鲁的事先批准)在莫斯科与约瑟夫斯大林领导的外交部长安德烈·维辛斯基(1949-1953)会晤时,寻求苏联的帮助。

从那时起,苏联开始利用他们的否决权来拯救印度从英美陷入克什米尔问题。 当然,到那时,已经造成了巨大的破坏 - 联合国安理会已经采纳了有争议的决议(由美国和英国赞助),在J&K举行公民投票,至今仍困扰着印度。 唉,尼赫鲁在很大程度上受到当时包围他的印度外交政策精英中的亲西方小圈子的影响。


本文是由合作伙伴制作的 印度Punchline 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
MK Bhadrakumar

MK Bhadrakumar是一名前外交官,曾在29担任印度外交官,担任过印度驻土耳其和乌兹别克斯坦大使。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Why Kashmir Is Casting a Shadow on India and Russia’s Ties

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi at an informal meeting of heads of state and government of the BRICS countries. Date 7 July 2017
Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi at an informal meeting of heads of state and government of the BRICS countries. Date: 7 July 2017. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

It serves Indian interests at this point not to identify too closely with the Russian regional and global policies, which are increasingly in a confrontational mode vis-a-vis the U.S.

India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Vladivostok on September 4-5 has turned out to be anticlimactic. The main outcome of the event could be, arguably, that Modi can now add Vladivostok to the exotic destinations he’s toured so far such as Ulan Bator. There was much hype that Modi’s visit would witness the launch of a brave new world of Indian economic partnership in Siberia, the Russian Far East, and the Arctic regions. But there is no evidence of a breakthrough.

The real big surprise is that the logistics agreement, which has for a long time been expected to be signed during Modi’s visit, stands deferred.

The text of the joint statement seems to have been bitterly fought over at the bureaucratic level of the two foreign policy establishments. The two “time-tested friends” have avoided giving any commitment to supporting each other’s “common interests.” This is a constant refrain in the Russian-Chinese documents, and in the present context of the Kashmir crisis, its value would have been immeasurable.

But in reality, India is prioritizing the U.S. stance on Kashmir in an attempt to moderate it through various methods—by hunkering down as well as by holding out incentives—and a pronounced Russian backing for India at this juncture might prove to be counterproductive, given the New Cold War conditions in world politics.

Conceivably, the advice to Modi from the bureaucrats would have been that too much bonhomie with the Russians—especially with Russian president Vladimir Putin—at this point may only antagonize the Americans and that will be detrimental to Indian interests. This may explain External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar’s strange performance in Moscow on August 28 in the run-up to Modi’s visit.

If the Russians feel short-changed, they are not going to show it. But then, they are also to be blamed. The fact of the matter is that the Russian-Pakistani “thaw” has been untimely, and, even if nothing much is happening yet in the tango between Moscow and Islamabad, perceptions matter. And the perception, astutely encouraged by the U.S. lobbyists, is that Russia has moved to the middle ground between India and Pakistan.

To be sure, the Vladivostok joint statement shows that the U.S.-Russia-India triangle has become “kinetic.” Washington is having a field day. The U.S. lobbyists in the Indian elite will argue, not without some justification, that given the nature of the crisis in Kashmir, India simply cannot afford to antagonize the Western world.

The U.S. and UK have a rich history of exploiting such complex situations. The harsh remarks by the UK Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab on Monday in the House of Commons last week could not have been a mere coincidence:

“It is important that internationally recognized human rights are fully respected. The dispute between India and Pakistan in relation to Kashmir is for them fundamentally to resolve as recognized in UN Security Council resolutions and the Simla agreement.

“But the issue of human rights is not just a bilateral issue for India or Pakistan or a domestic issue but an international issue. We expect of all our partners that internationally recognized standards of human rights are respected and complied with.

“All or any allegations of human rights violations are deeply concerning. They must be investigated thoroughly and promptly and transparently. The concerns and issues raised are very serious.

“As well as wanting to respect the constitutional arrangements within India and in relation to Kashmir [abrogation of Article 370], they do also have implications internationally particularly as they touch on internationally respected and recognized human rights.”

It stands to reason that Washington and London are moving in tandem. The Kashmir issue lends itself as the perfect handle to make India behave and get it to fall in line with the Anglo-American global strategies. The two major templates impacting here will be India’s close ties with Russia and, secondly, India’s ambivalence vis-a-vis the U.S.’s Indo-Pacific strategy.

This backdrop will explain why contrary to the general expectation, Russia and India have deferred the signing of the logistics agreement. The point is, it serves Indian interests at this point not to identify too closely with the Russian regional and global policies, which are increasingly in a confrontational mode vis-a-vis the U.S.

To what extent the Americans would have prevailed upon key policymakers in Delhi to keep the logistics agreement with the Russians pending, we do not know, but there is certainly more to what happened—or didn’t happen—in Vladivostok than meets the eye.

Equally, Russians appear to have said a firm “Nyet” to any insertion of the U.S.-Indian coinage “Indo-Pacific” into the joint statement. The wording on Asia-Pacific security suggests that the Russian side took care not to trespass on Chinese sensitivities.

Again, notably, India decided to hold back on cooperation with Russia in the field of energy, although there were high expectations that some major announcements could be expected in Vladivostok. Perhaps, India prioritizes the energy partnership with the U.S. at this point, which also happens to enjoy President Trump’s personal support and intervention. India is holding a major energy conference in Houston, Texas, later this month to outline big plans for Indian investments in the U.S. energy industry.

On the whole, the outcome of the Vladivostok visit marks a subtle reversal of trend discernible in the revival of the India-Russia relations pioneered by Modi during the past couple of years. Delhi’s calculus could be that a reboot of the U.S.-Indian strategic partnership has become a dire necessity at the present juncture when Kashmir crisis has touched criticality. By piling pressure on India—and Modi personally—by threatening to mediate in the Kashmir issue, Washington has “softened up” Delhi. So long as Modi carries the Albatross of Kashmir, he becomes vulnerable to Anglo-American blackmail.

Russia will sense that despite all the bravado of nationalism, India’s ruling elite is bending over backward to appease the U.S. to navigate its Kashmir policies through a difficult period. Ironically, this is also a tragic replay of history.

In the late 1940s, under Anglo-American pressure, Jawaharlal Nehru took the Kashmir issue to the UN Security Council. At that time too, Delhi made a conscious decision not to offend the West by seeking help from the USSR. (Cold War had erupted by then.) It was left, finally, to the then-ambassador to the Soviet Union, Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (later India’s president) to take the personal initiative, somewhat impromptu (and without Nehru’s prior approval) to make a demarche seeking Soviet help, during a meeting in Moscow with Andrey Vyshinsky, foreign minister (1949-1953) under Joseph Stalin.

The Soviets began using their veto power to bail out India from the Anglo-American entrapment on Kashmir issue from that point onward. By then, of course, the great damage was already done—UN Security Council had already adopted the controversial resolutions (sponsored by the U.S. and UK) on holding plebiscite in J&K, which haunt India to this day. Alas, Nehru too was influenced largely by the pro-Western coterie among the Indian foreign-policy elite that surrounded him at that time.


This article was produced in partnership by Indian Punchline and Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
M.K. Bhadrakumar

M.K. Bhadrakumar is a former diplomat who served for more than 29 years as an Indian Foreign Service officer with postings including India’s ambassador to Turkey and Uzbekistan.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.