输入搜索

国家

尽管穆勒的不祥警告,麦康纳还阻止选举安全法案

肯塔基州参议员Mitch McConnell在马里兰州国家港口的2013保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。
肯塔基州参议员Mitch McConnell在马里兰州国家港口的2013保守政治行动会议(CPAC)上发表讲话。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“穆勒的证词应该是每个美国人,民主党人,共和党人,自由主义者,保守主义者的警告,以至于我们选举的完整性受到威胁。”

尽管特别顾问罗伯特·穆勒(Robert Mueller)在周三举行的为期一天的国会证词中警告未来的选举干涉,参议院共和党人 阻止了四项提案 在特别律师的证词的24小时内强制执行选举保障。

“这不是一次尝试。 他们在我们坐在这里时正在这样做,他们希望在下一次竞选期间这样做,“穆勒谈到俄罗斯时说。 “为了防止这些入侵,还有许多工作要做 - 不仅是俄罗斯人,还有其他人。”

虽然政治评论员普遍认为穆勒在上午会议上对特朗普政府的司法阻挠进行质疑时受到限制,但他对俄罗斯选举干涉的立场非常明确。

“我们期待他们在下一次竞选期间再次这样做,”穆勒说。 这位特别顾问还表示,“还有更多的国家正在开发复制俄罗斯在2016中所做的事情”。

海德史密斯,McConnell Block Senate Bills

尽管穆勒的声明,共和党参议员辛迪海德史密斯在周三晚上阻止了两项旨在加强选举安全的法案,但没有给出任何理由。 参议院多数党领袖米奇麦康奈尔周四拒绝了类似的两项法案,其中一项将增加选举援助委员会的资金,并要求使用纸质选票。 该法案通过众议院225-184只有一个共和党投票,导致麦康奈尔要求民主党人寻求“政治利益”。

“显然,这一要求并不是制定法律的认真努力。 显而易见的是,只有在众议院获得一个单独的共和党投票才能获得一致通过参议院的一致同意,“McConnell 说过。 麦康奈尔还表示,他认为该法案名声扫地,因为它来自于那些大肆宣扬特朗普 - 俄罗斯勾结的“阴谋论”。

另一项也被麦康奈尔拒绝的法案将要求联邦调查局向外国演员提供援助提议。

根据 舒默说,如果麦康奈尔不喜欢目前的提议,他们可以谈判新的提案。 “让我们在场上提出另一项法案并进行辩论,”少数党领袖说,麦康奈尔没有回应。

“共和党领导人已经表示他打算将这项法案埋没在立法墓地中,”舒默说。

虽然美国法律目前禁止运动接受外国援助,但特朗普总统一再表示愿意接受有关其政治对手的外国情报。

穆勒听证会

在星期三的下午会议上,众议员亚当席夫 穆勒是否准确地说,特朗普竞选官员“围绕那些被盗文件制定了他们的策略,他们的消息策略”,参考了俄罗斯人在2016活动期间被黑客攻击并由维基解密发布的文件。

“一般来说,这是真的,”穆勒回答道。

“然后他们撒谎掩盖起来了?”

“一般来说,这是真的,”穆勒回答道。

后来在证词中,希夫 总结了他的观点 关于穆勒的调查结果:“你的工作告诉我们一个决心隐瞒他们腐败使用外国帮助的运动,他们冒着被告诉你,联邦调查局和国会的风险入狱,事实上,有些人已经入狱这样的谎言。“

另外,在周三穆勒作证后,特朗普在审问期间将记者称为“假新闻”, ,“维基解密就像其他一切一样是骗局”,尽管事实如此 他赞扬道 该组织在2016中多次。

“如果你听互联网,这是我们国家历史上最糟糕的表现之一,”总统说 说过。 “这是民主党人和其他人用来试图做非法推翻的一系列虚假事实,但我们会发现这一点。”

参议员舒默说:“穆勒的证词是对选举安全的号角。” “穆勒的证词应该是每个美国人,民主党人,共和党人,自由主义者,保守主义者的警告,我们选举的完整性将受到威胁。 ......这就是这个国家的未来,“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

McConnell Blocks Election Security Bill Despite Mueller’s Ominous Warnings

Senator Mitch McConnell of Kentucky speaking at the 2013 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland.
Senator Mitch McConnell of Kentucky speaking at the 2013 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“Mueller’s testimony should be a wake-up call to every American, Democrat, Republican, liberal, conservative, that the integrity of our elections is at stake.”

Despite special counsel Robert Mueller’s warnings of future election interference during his daylong congressional testimony on Wednesday, Senate Republicans blocked four proposals to enforce election security within 24 hours of the special counsel’s testimony.

“It wasn’t a single attempt. They’re doing it as we sit here, and they expect to do it during the next campaign,” Mueller said of Russia. “Much more needs to be done in order to protect against these intrusions—not just by the Russians, but others as well.”

While political commentators broadly agreed that Mueller was restrained when questioned on the Trump administration’s obstruction of justice in the morning session, his position on Russian election interference was emphatically clear.

“We are expecting them to do it again during the next campaign,” said Mueller. The special counsel also said that “many more countries are developing capabilities to replicate” what Russia did in 2016.

Hyde-Smith, McConnell Block Senate Bills

Despite Mueller’s statements, Republican Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith blocked two bills aimed at bolstering election security on Wednesday evening without giving a reason. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell rejected similar two bills on Thursday, one of which would increase funding for the Election Assistance Commission and demand the use of paper ballots. The bill, which passed the House 225-184 with only one Republican voting for it, led McConnell to claim Democrats were seeking a “political benefit.”

“Clearly this request is not a serious effort to make a law. Clearly something so partisan that it only received one single solitary Republican vote in the House is not going to travel through the Senate by unanimous consent,” McConnell said. McConnell also said he felt the bill was discredited because it came from the “same folks who hyped up a conspiracy theory” about Trump-Russia collusion.

The other bill, also rejected by McConnell, would have required campaigns to inform the FBI about offers for assistance from foreign actors.

According to The Hill, Schumer said that if McConnell didn’t like the current proposals they could negotiate new ones. “Let’s put another bill on the floor and debate it,” said the minority leader, to which McConnell did not respond.

“The Republican leader has already indicated his intention to bury this bill in the legislative graveyard,” said Schumer.

While U.S. law currently forbids campaigns from accepting foreign assistance, President Trump has repeatedly expressed willingness to receive foreign intelligence on his political opponents.

Mueller Hearing

During the afternoon session on Wednesday, Rep. Adam Schiff asked Mueller whether it was accurate to say that Trump campaign officials “built their strategy, their messaging strategy, around those stolen documents,” in reference to the documents hacked by the Russians and released by WikiLeaks during the 2016 campaign.

“Generally, that’s true,” Mueller replied.

“And then they lied to cover it up?”

“Generally, that’s true,” answered Mueller.

Later in the testimony, Schiff summarized his perspective on Mueller’s findings: “Your work tells of a campaign so determined to conceal their corrupt use of foreign help that they risked going to jail by lying to you, to the FBI and to Congress about it and, indeed, some have gone to jail over such lies.”

Alternatively, Trump lambasted reporters as “fake news” during questioning after Mueller’s testimony on Wednesday, saying, “WikiLeaks is a hoax just like everything else,” despite the fact that he praised the organization multiple times in 2016.

“If you listen to the internet, this was one of the worst performances in the history of our country,” the president said. “It was a fake set of facts that the Democrats used, and others, to try and do really an illegal overthrow, but we’re going find out about that.”

“Mueller’s testimony was a clarion call for election security,” argued Sen. Schumer. “Mueller’s testimony should be a wake-up call to every American, Democrat, Republican, liberal, conservative, that the integrity of our elections is at stake. … This is all about the future of this country,”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.