اكتب للبحث

البيئة

بحث عن "تهب العقل" يقول إن زراعة الأشجار هي أفضل إجابة لتغير المناخ

يقوم جورج كروز بجمع الحشائش بينما يقوم خورخي كريستوبال ، كلاهما من ضباط الحفاظ على المتطوعين في الطيران المدني في 36th ، بقوائم جرد أنواع الأشجار في قاعدة أندرسون الجوية ، غوام ، أبريل 12 ، 2014. يعد هذا الموقع موطنًا لأنواع الأشجار الحرجية الأصلية المزروعة حديثًا من 17 ، لتشمل أشجار اليوجا وإيفيت وأهجو. توفر هذه الأشجار موطنًا حيويًا لمضارب الفاكهة ماريانا المهددة والمهددة بالانقراض. (صورة لسلاح الجو الأمريكي / الرقيب ميليسا ب. وايت / أطلق سراحه)
يقوم جورج كروز بجمع الحشائش بينما يقوم خورخي كريستوبال ، كلاهما من ضباط الحفاظ على المتطوعين في الطيران المدني في 36th ، بقوائم جرد أنواع الأشجار في قاعدة أندرسون الجوية ، غوام ، أبريل 12 ، 2014. يعد هذا الموقع موطنًا لأنواع الأشجار الحرجية الأصلية المزروعة حديثًا من 17 ، لتشمل أشجار اليوجا وإيفيت وأهجو. توفر هذه الأشجار موطنًا حيويًا لمضارب الفاكهة ماريانا المهددة والمهددة بالانقراض. (صورة لسلاح الجو الأمريكي / الرقيب ميليسا ب. وايت / أطلق سراحه)

"لجزء بسيط من تكلفة التخفيضات الضريبية على ترامب ، يمكننا دفع تريليون شجرة جديدة وتعويض 2 / 3rd من جميع الانبعاثات حتى الآن."

بحث جديد من المجلة علوم يُظهر أن إعادة التحريج يمكن أن تلعب دورًا أكبر بكثير مما كان متوقعًا في السابق في إزالة انبعاثات الكربون الناتجة عن الأنشطة البشرية من الغلاف الجوي. وجد العلماء ، الذين حسبوا عدد الأشجار التي يمكن زراعتها دون اقتحام المناطق الحضرية أو المناطق الزراعية ، نتائج وصفوها بأنها "العقل تهب".

هذه الكمية الجديدة تقييم ويوضح البروفيسور توم كراوثر ، وهو مؤلف مشارك للدراسة ، لصحيفة الغارديان: "إن استعادة [الغابات] ليست مجرد أحد حلولنا المتعلقة بتغير المناخ ، إنها الحل الساحق الأعلى". "ما يهب ذهني هو المقياس. اعتقدت أن عملية الاستعادة ستكون في قمة 10 ، لكنها أكثر قوة بشكل ساحق من جميع حلول تغير المناخ الأخرى المقترحة. "

يقدر فريق كروثر أنه يوجد حاليًا حوالي 3 تريليون شجرة في العالم ، أي حوالي نصف العدد الموجود قبل المجتمع البشري. يحسب الباحثون أنهم قد يزرعون تريليون شجرة ، والتي من شأنها أن تمتص 205 مليار طن متري من الكربون من الغلاف الجوي ، مقابل 300 مليار دولار. يُعتقد أن البشر أطلقوا حوالي 300 مليار طن متري منذ بداية الثورة الصناعية ، مما يجعل إعادة التحريج الجماعي قادرة على إزالة ثلثي الانبعاثات البشرية ، وفقًا لل بحث.

"لجزء بسيط من تكلفة التخفيضات الضريبية في ترامب ، يمكننا دفع ثمن تريليون شجرة جديدة وتعويض 2 / 3rd من جميع الانبعاثات حتى الآن ،" حركة شروق الشمس. لدينا حلول جاهزة للعمل ؛ نحن فقط نفتقد الإرادة السياسية للعمل ".

يزعم النقاد أن زراعة الأشجار ليست حلا سحريا للأزمة البيئية متعددة الأوجه ، لأن الفوائد الكاملة لإعادة التحريج ستستغرق عقودا لتظهر في وقت الانقراض السريع و زيادة انبعاثات الكربون.

الـ تسارع إزالة الغابات في البرازيل ، موطن 60٪ من غابات الأمازون المطيرة ، هو المحرك الأكثر أهمية في إزالة الغابات على المستوى العالمي. معدل إزالة الغابات ارتفع 88٪ في يونيو 2019 على عكس 2018 يونيو ، نتيجة لسياسة الرئيس اليميني المتطرف جير بولسونارو البيئية. ينكر الرئيس البرازيلي تغير المناخ ويحمل علاقات وثيقة بقطاع الصناعات الزراعية.

لكن بولسونارو لا يمكن إلقاء اللوم عليه بالكامل في عملية إزالة الغابات السريعة ، حيث إن تنمية الغابات المطيرة مدعومة بالطلب العالمي الضخم على منتجات مثل فول الصويا ولحم البقر في الصين ودول أخرى. يجادل البعض بأن زيادة وعي المستهلك بإزالة الغابات ستكون استراتيجية أكثر فعالية في الدفاع عن الأمازون من التركيز على بولسونارو.

النقاد الآخرين يجادل الغابات أحادية الثقافة يمكن أن تكون مزعجة جماليا وضارة للحياة البرية الأصلية. وجهود الغابات الطموحة في أيرلندا ، على سبيل المثال ، قد ألهمت ردود الفعل من المجتمعات المحلية التي تجادل بأن مبادرة حكومتهم تمثل مجهودًا من أعلى إلى أسفل دون مراعاة الاحتياجات الفريدة لمختلف المجالات.

"نحن لسنا ضد الأشجار ، نحن ضد هذا" ، وقال ويلي ستيوارت من Drumnadober ، ايرلندا ، ل وصي. إنها ثقافة أحادية - حاجز أخضر في كل مكان حولنا. انه شئ فظيع."

ولكن على الرغم من أن إعادة التحريج قد لا تكون "رصاصة فضية" في معالجة أزمة المناخ ، إلا أن الخبراء يعتقدون أنه يمكن أن يكون عنصرًا لا يتجزأ من استراتيجية أوسع تشمل خفض الانبعاثات والطاقة المتجددة.

جان فرانسوا باستين ، عالم مشارك في الدراسة ، قال يجب أن تؤثر النتائج الجديدة على السياسة العامة: "يجب على الحكومات الآن إدراج عامل [استعادة الأشجار] في استراتيجياتها الوطنية".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

4 تعليقات

  1. بول يوليو 9، 2019

    لذلك ، إذا كانت زراعة الأشجار هي #1 soln لعكس #ClimateChange ، فيجب أن تكون إزالة الغابات العالمية مرتبطة على الأقل كسبب رئيسي. وبالنظر إلى أن #1 محرك إزالة الغابات على مستوى العالم هو BigMeat & Dairy (60٪ من جميع الأراضي التي يستخدمها الإنسان الآن تستخدم لرعي الحيوانات المستزرعة وزراعة محاصيل الأعلاف للحيوانات المستزرعة - في الولايات المتحدة وحدها ، يتم استخدام 70٪ من جميع الحبوب كمحاصيل علفية الحيوانات المستزرعة) التي تجعل التخلي عن عادات اللحوم والألبان لدينا هو #1 soln لـ ClimateChange.

    لا تقل عن الأطواق التي قفزت عليها الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ والفاو خلال العقدين الماضيين للتستر على هذه الحقيقة المنطقية البسيطة.

    رد
  2. ألفونسو يوليو 9، 2019

    ألم يكن ملايين الجاموس يرعون السهول بأعداد أكبر من أبقارنا ، وهل تسبب الجاموس في تغير المناخ؟ أيضًا ، إذا تخلصنا من الأبقار ، فهذا يزيل الكلاب والقطط ، لأن الكثير من طعام الكلاب والقطط يصنع مع اللحم البقري ، لكن من المحتمل ألا يكون ذلك مهمًا أيضًا.

    رد
    1. لاري ستاوت يوليو 9، 2019

      ألفونسو ، لم يشارك في إزالة الغابات البيسون في رعي السهول الكبرى الطبيعية.

  3. لاري ستاوت يوليو 9، 2019

    "... إن تنمية الغابات المطيرة مدعومة بالطلب العالمي الضخم على منتجات مثل فول الصويا ولحم البقر في الصين ودول أخرى."

    الاكتظاظ السكاني هو جذر كل البرامج البشرية العظيمة تقريبًا. الزيادة السكانية = الطلب غير المستدام = تدمير العالم الطبيعي الذي دعمنا وهو ضروري لمنع انقراضنا.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

‘Mind Blowing’ Research Says Planting Trees is Top Answer to Climate Change

George Cruz collects weeds as Jorge Cristobal, both 36th Civil Engineer Squadron Environmental Flight volunteer conservation officers, inventories tree species on Andersen Air Force Base, Guam, April 12, 2014. The site is home to 17 newly-planted native limestone forest tree species, to include the Yoga, Ifit and Ahgao trees. These trees provide vital habitat for the threatened and endangered Mariana fruit bat. (U.S. Air Force photo/Staff Sgt. Melissa B. White/Released)
George Cruz collects weeds as Jorge Cristobal, both 36th Civil Engineer Squadron Environmental Flight volunteer conservation officers, inventories tree species on Andersen Air Force Base, Guam, April 12, 2014. The site is home to 17 newly-planted native limestone forest tree species, to include the Yoga, Ifit and Ahgao trees. These trees provide vital habitat for the threatened and endangered Mariana fruit bat. (U.S. Air Force photo/Staff Sgt. Melissa B. White/Released)

“For a fraction of the cost of the Trump tax cuts, we could pay for a trillion new trees and offset 2/3rd of all emissions to date.”

New research from the journal Science shows that reforestation could play a much larger role than previously anticipated in removing human-caused carbon emissions from the atmosphere. The scientists, who calculated how many trees could be planted without intruding on urban areas or agricultural areas, found results they described as “mind-blowing.”

“This new quantitative evaluation shows [forest] restoration isn’t just one of our climate change solutions, it is overwhelmingly the top one,” Professor Tom Crowther, a co-author of the study, told the Guardian. “What blows my mind is the scale. I thought restoration would be in the top 10, but it is overwhelmingly more powerful than all of the other climate change solutions proposed.”

Crowther’s team estimates that there are currently around 3 trillion trees in the world, which is about half the number that existed before human society. The researchers calculate that they could plant one trillion trees, which would soak up 205 billion metric tons of carbon from the atmosphere, for $300 billion dollars. Humans are believed to have released around 300 billion metric tons since the beginning of the industrial revolution, making mass reforestation capable of removing two-thirds of human emissions, according to the research.

“For a fraction of the cost of the Trump tax cuts, we could pay for a trillion new trees and offset 2/3rd of all emissions to date,” tweeted the Sunrise Movement. “We have solutions ready to go; we’re just missing the political will to act.”

Critics contend that planting trees is not a panacea to the multifaceted environmental crisis, as the full benefits of reforestation would take decades to manifest at a time of rapid extinction and increasing carbon emissions.

The acceleration of deforestation in Brazil, home to 60% of the Amazon rainforest, is the most significant driver in global deforestation. The rate of deforestation rose 88% in June 2019 as opposed to June 2018, a consequence of far-right President Jair Bolsonaro’s environmental policy. The Brazilian president denies climate change and holds close ties to the agribusiness sector.

But Bolsonaro cannot be entirely blamed for the rapid deforestation, as rainforest development is fueled by huge global demand for products like soy and beef in China and other countries. Some argue raising consumer awareness of deforestation would be a more effective strategy in defending the Amazon than focusing on Bolsonaro.

Other critics argue monoculture forests can be aesthetically displeasing and harmful to native wildlife. Ireland’s ambitious forestation efforts, for example, have inspired backlash from local communities who argue their government’s initiative represents a top-down effort without consideration for the unique needs of different areas.

“We’re not anti-trees, we’re anti-this,” Willie Stewart of Drumnadober, Ireland, told the Guardian. “It’s industrial monoculture – a green barrier all around us. It’s horrible.”

But while reforestation may not be a “silver bullet” in addressing the climate crisis, experts believe it could be an integral element of a broader strategy including reduced emissions and renewable energy.

Jean-François Bastin, a scientist involved in the study, said the new findings should impact public policy: “Governments must now factor [tree restoration] into their national strategies.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

4 Comments

  1. Paul July 9, 2019

    So, if planting trees is the #1 soln to reversing #ClimateChange, then global deforestation must be at least tied as a leading cause. And given the #1 driver of global deforestation is BigMeat&Dairy (60% of all lands now used by humans are used to graze farmed animals and grow feed crops for farmed animals- in the US alone 70% of all grains are used as feed crops for farmed animals) then that makes giving up our Meat&Dairy habits the #1 soln to ClimateChange.

    It’s nothing less than stunning the hoops that the IPCC and FAO have jumped through over the past two decades to cover up this simple logical fact.

    Reply
  2. Alfonso July 9, 2019

    Weren’t the millions of buffalo grazing the Plains in greater numbers than our cows, and did the buffalo cause climate change? Also, if we get rid of cows, that eliminates dogs and cats, because a lot of dog and cat food is made with beef, but they probably aren’t that important either.

    Reply
    1. Larry Stout July 9, 2019

      Alfonso, no deforestation was involved in the bisons’ grazing on the natural Great Plains.

  3. Larry Stout July 9, 2019

    “…rainforest development is fueled by huge global demand for products like soy and beef in China and other countries.”

    Overpopulation is the root of nearly all of mankind’s great proglems. Overpopulation = unsustainable demand = destruction of the natural world that has sustained us and is necessary to prevent our self-extinction.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.