اكتب للبحث

البيئة تتجه للبيئة

ضياع التنوع البيولوجي الأسوأ في تاريخ البشرية - خطر انقراض 1 مليون نوع من الحيوانات

تقع جرو ختم الراهب في هاواي المفطوم حديثًا في جزيرة ترايج ، فرقاطة المياه الضحلة الفرنسية.
تقع جرو ختم الراهب في هاواي المفطوم حديثًا في جزيرة ترايج ، فرقاطة المياه الضحلة الفرنسية. ختم هاواي الراهب في خطر وشيك من الانقراض. انقرض ختم الراهب الكاريبي في القرن 20th. (الصورة: مارك سوليفان)

"أكثر من 40٪ من أنواع البرمائيات ، وحوالي 33٪ من الشعاب المرجانية المكونة للشعاب المرجانية وأكثر من ثلث جميع الثدييات البحرية مهددة".

يوجد حاليا مليون نوع من الحيوانات مهددة بالانقراض ، وفقًا لتقرير تاريخي جديد صادر عن المنبر الحكومي الدولي للعلوم والسياسات في مجال التنوع البيولوجي والنظم الإيكولوجية (IPBES). التقرير يجد أن الطبيعة تتآكل بسرعة أكبر بكثير مما كان يُعتقد سابقًا ، وتعلن أنه يجب اتخاذ إجراء تحويلي لتجنب الضرر الذي لا رجعة فيه في المحيط الحيوي.

كما ذكرت أكسيوس لأول مرة، يعد تقرير IBPES أول تحليل عالمي لحالة الطبيعة ، بما في ذلك ليس فقط تأثير تغير المناخ ، ولكن أيضًا الصيد الجائر والصيد والتلوث والإفراط في السكان. يعرض المؤلفون المشاركون في التقرير 310 تفاصيل أشكال الحياة المحددة الأكثر عرضة للانقراض:

"انخفض متوسط ​​وفرة الأنواع المحلية في معظم الموائل البرية الرئيسية بنسبة 20٪ على الأقل ، معظمها منذ 1900. أكثر من 40٪ من أنواع البرمائيات ، وحوالي 33٪ من الشعاب المرجانية المكونة للشعاب المرجانية وأكثر من ثلث جميع الثدييات البحرية مهددة. الصورة أقل وضوحًا بالنسبة لأنواع الحشرات ، لكن الأدلة المتوفرة تدعم تقديرًا مبدئيًا لتهديد 10٪. ما لا يقل عن أنواع الفقاريات 680 قد تم دفعها للانقراض منذ القرن 16 وأكثر من 9٪ من جميع السلالات المدجنة من الثدييات المستخدمة في الأغذية والزراعة قد انقرضت بواسطة 2016 ، مع 1,000 على الأقل من السلالات التي لا تزال مهددة. "

"شبكة الحياة المترابطة المتوترة بشكل متزايد"

إلى جانب مأساة فقدان التنوع البيولوجي ، تُظهر هذه النتائج كيف أن الاضطرابات في سلاسل الغذاء تضر بشكل مباشر بالحضارة الإنسانية. الشعاب المرجانية ، على سبيل المثال ، هي جزء أساسي من سلاسل الأغذية البحرية وتساعد في إعادة تدوير المغذيات ، و بعض التقديرات أظهر أن أكثر من مليار شخص يعتمدون عليهم في الغذاء.

"أصبحت شبكة الحياة الأساسية المترابطة على الأرض أصغر وأصبحت متوترة بشكل متزايد" قال جوزيف سيتيل ، عالم أحياء شارك في رئاسة الدراسة.

وأشار كبير المستشارين في أوشنا فيليب تشو إلى تورط النفايات البلاستيكية في تهديد الحياة البحرية:

"نشهد زيادات مقلقة في وفيات الأسماك والثدييات البحرية والسلاحف التي تتناول المواد البلاستيكية. تتفكك هذه المواد البلاستيكية في المحيط إلى جزيئات مجهرية [تستهلكها الأسماك ، الأسماك التي نأكلها الآن. "

لكنها ليست متأخرة جدا ...

بينما يرسم التقرير صورة قاتمة للطريق الذي تسلكه البشرية ، فإنه ينص صراحة على أنه لم يفت الأوان لمنع أسوأ عواقب فقدان التنوع البيولوجي وتغير المناخ. كتب السير روبرت واتسون ، رئيس التقرير ، عمودًا فيه الحارس معربا عن رأيه في الحلول المحتملة ، بما في ذلك تحول الممارسات الزراعية. يوضح واتسون أنه إذا كانت هدر الغذاء بلدًا ، فسيحتل المرتبة الثالثة بين أسوأ مصادر انبعاثات الكربون في العالم ، بعد الصين والولايات المتحدة:

"نحتاج إلى إعادة توجيه الدعم الحكومي نحو زراعة أكثر استدامة وتجديدًا. لن يسهم هذا فقط في امتصاص الكربون وتقليل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة الأخرى ، بل يمكن أن يوقف أيضًا مسارًا مخيفًا حيث تكون الأراضي الزراعية مثقلة للغاية لدرجة أنها في النهاية توقف عن النمو المحاصيل ".

أكسيوس علق أنه بينما من المحتمل أن يتم رفض التقرير من قبل إدارة ترامب وغيره من المتشككين في المناخ ، إلا أنه سيعطي المزيد من الشرعية ل حركات المناخ المزدهرة والقادة التقدميين يقومون بحملات من أجل التغيير السريع.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT TRENDING-ENVIRONMENT

Biodiversity Loss Worst in Human History – 1 Million Animal Species Risk Extinction

A newly weaned Hawaiian monk seal pup rests at Trig Island, French Frigate Shoals.
A newly weaned Hawaiian monk seal pup rests at Trig Island, French Frigate Shoals. The Hawaiian Monk seal is in imminent danger of extinction; the Caribbean Monk seal became extinct in the 20th century. (Photo: Mark Sullivan)

“More than 40% of amphibian species, almost 33% of reef-forming corals and more than a third of all marine mammals are threatened.”

One million animal species are currently threatened with extinction, according to a landmark new report by the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystems (IPBES). The report finds that nature is being eroded far more rapidly than previously thought, and declares transformational action must be taken to avert irreversible damage to the biosphere.

As Axios first reported, the IBPES report is the first-ever global analysis of the state of nature, including not only the impact of climate change, but also overfishing and hunting, pollution, and overpopulation. The report’s 310 contributing authors detail the specific life forms most vulnerable to extinction:

“The average abundance of native species in most major land-based habitats has fallen by at least 20%, mostly since 1900. More than 40% of amphibian species, almost 33% of reef-forming corals and more than a third of all marine mammals are threatened. The picture is less clear for insect species, but available evidence supports a tentative estimate of 10% being threatened. At least 680 vertebrate species had been driven to extinction since the 16th century and more than 9% of all domesticated breeds of mammals used for food and agriculture had become extinct by 2016, with at least 1,000 more breeds still threatened.”

‘Interconnected Web of Life Increasingly Frayed’

Beyond the tragedy of losing biological diversity, these findings show how disruptions in food chains directly harm human civilization. Coral reefs, for example, are an essential part of marine food chains and assist with nutrient recycling, and some estimates show that over one billion people depend on them for food.

“The essential, interconnected web of life on Earth is getting smaller and increasingly frayed,” said Josef Settele, a biologist who co-chaired the study.

Oceana senior advisor Philip Chou referred to the involvement of plastic waste in threatening marine life:

“We are seeing alarming increases in the deaths of fish, marine mammals and turtles ingesting plastics. These plastics break apart in the ocean into microscopic particles [that are] consumed by fish, fish we now eat.”

But It’s Not Too Late…

While the report paints a grim picture of the route humanity is taking, it explicitly states it is not too late to prevent the worst consequences of biodiversity loss and climate change. Sir Robert Watson, chair of the report, wrote a column in The Guardian expressing his view on potential solutions, including a transformation of agricultural practices. Watson makes the point that if food waste were a country, it would rank as the third worst source of carbon emissions in the world, after China and the United States:

“We need to redirect government subsidies towards more sustainable and regenerative farming. This will not only contribute towards absorbing carbon and reducing the emissions of other greenhouse gases, it can also halt a frightening trajectory where farmland is so overloaded that eventually it just stops growing crops.”

Axios commented that while the report will likely be dismissed by the Trump administration and other climate skeptics, it will give further legitimacy to burgeoning climate movements and progressive leaders campaigning for rapid change.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.