输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

OxyContin生产商迫于支付数十亿美元来解决阿片类药物诉讼

处方阿片类药物的照片,一项新的阿片类药物法案,刚刚通过以解决阿片类药物危机
来自K-State Research and Extension的处方阿片类药物。 (图片来自Flickr)

OxyContin的制造商Purdue Pharma和其他制药公司都希望就其在阿片类药物流行中的作用达成数十亿美元的和解协议。

路透社能够独立验证NBC 报告 关于OxyContin的制造商Purdue Pharma LP,以大约$ 2,000十亿到十亿XXX十亿美元的价格,在美国各地提出约10阿片类药物诉讼。 路透社通过与接近情况的两个人谈话证实了这份报告,同意在深层次背景下与出口商谈。

这一消息是在俄克拉荷马州的一位法官裁定约翰逊和约翰逊支付1000万新西兰元之后不久发布的 先例设定决定 本周早些时候

针对普渡制药的诉讼

“诉讼指控总部位于康涅狄格州斯坦福德的Purdue Pharma积极营销处方阿片类药物,同时误导处方者和消费者长期使用的风险。 Purdue和Sacklers [Purdue Pharma LP的所有者]否认了这些指控,“路透社说道。 报告.

该解决方案最终可能会改变制药公司在美国开展业务的方式,“普渡大学和萨克勒家族的代表就上周在克利夫兰[俄亥俄州]潜在的数十亿美元定居点的问题与城市,县和州进行了讨论,一位熟悉此事的人士表示,“报告仍在继续。

一位接近情况的人告诉路透社,这笔交易将导致Purdue Pharma重组成为一个持续十年的营利性“公益信托”,该公司向该基金提供约7十亿到十亿分之一十亿美元的资金。 该人士说:“这些钱来自销售毒品,包括那些打击阿片类药物过量的药物。” 额外付款将来自公司的现金和保险单,“路透社消息人士说。

根据纽约时报的报道,Sackler家族将放弃Purdue Pharma的所有权,并支付3十亿美元的自有资金作为和解的一部分。 萨克勒家族也正在考虑出售其拥有的另一家制药公司Mundipharma来帮助支付和解费用。

NPR通过Purdue Pharma LP确认报告

“Purdue Pharma已向NPR [国家公共广播电台]证实,正在进行全球和解谈判,以解决对该公司的所有索赔。 已发布的报告显示该交易可能涉及高达12亿的支付以及破产程序,这将迫使Sackler家族放弃对该公司的所有权,“ 说过 NPR周三。

他们的报告还包括来自政府消息来源的信息,他们表示制药公司Allergan和远藤国际也在寻求达成和解协议 - 在强制公司宣布他们在上诉法院对俄克拉荷马州的裁决提出质疑之后寻求类似协议。

在周三发布的一封电子邮件中,马萨诸塞州司法部长Maura Healey表示,她将反对Sackler家族的保密协议。 马萨诸塞州开放 诉讼 反对公司。

“多年来,萨克勒家族的成员试图掩盖他们在创造和利用阿片类药物流行病方面的作用。 我们欠马萨诸塞州和全国各地的家庭要求Purdue和Sacklers负责,确保他们所做的证据被公之于众,并让他们支付他们造成的损失,“Healey在电子邮件中说。

目前正在大规模生产阿片类药物的大型制药公司正在讨论的诉讼和待定解决方案可能会减少美国境内的过量用药数量。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

OxyContin Producers Pressured To Pay Billions To Settle Opioid Lawsuits

photo of prescription opioids, a new opioid bill just passed to address the opioid crisis
Prescription opioids from K-State Research and Extension. (Image via Flickr)

Purdue Pharma, the maker of OxyContin, and fellow pharmaceutical companies are all looking to make billion-dollar settlement deals over their role in the opioid epidemic.

Reuters was able to independently verify an NBC report regarding Purdue Pharma LP, the makers of OxyContin, offering to settle approximately 2,000 opioid lawsuits around the United States for around $10 billion to $12 billion. Reuters verified the report by speaking with two individuals close to the situation agreeing to speak to the outlet on deep background.

The news comes shortly after an Oklahoma judge ruled Johnson & Johnson to pay $572 million in a precedent-setting decision earlier in the week.

The Lawsuit Against Purdue Pharma

“The lawsuits have accused the Stamford, Connecticut-based Purdue Pharma of aggressively marketing prescription opioids while misleading prescribers and consumers about risks from their prolonged use. Purdue and the Sacklers [owners of Purdue Pharma LP] have denied the allegations,” said Reuters in their report.

The settlement could ultimately change the way pharmaceutical companies do business within the United States, “Representatives for Purdue and the Sackler family held discussions with cities, counties and states on the contours of the potential multibillion-dollar settlement last week in Cleveland [Ohio], said a person familiar with the matter,” the report continued.

An individual close to the situation told Reuters the deal would lead to Purdue Pharma restructuring into a for-profit “public benefit trust” that would last a decade, with the company contributing approximately $7 billion to $8 billion to said fund. “The money coming from the sales of its drugs, including those that combat opioid overdoses, the person said. Additional payments would come from the company’s cash and insurance policies,” said Reuters source.

According to a NY Times report, the Sackler family would give up ownership of Purdue Pharma and pay $3 billion of their own money as part of the settlement. The Sackler family is also considering selling Mundipharma, another pharmaceutical firm it owns to help pay for the settlement.

NPR Confirms Report With Purdue Pharma LP

“Purdue Pharma has confirmed to NPR [National Public Radio] that global settlement talks are underway that would resolve all claims against the company. Published reports suggest the deal could involve payments of up to $12 billion and a bankruptcy process that would force the Sackler family to give up ownership of the company,” said NPR on Wednesday.

Their report also included information from a governmental source on background who stated pharmaceutical companies Allergan and Endo International were also looking to make settlement deals — along with Johnson & Johnson looking for a similar deal after announcing their will to challenge the Oklahoma ruling in the appellate court. 

In an email released Wednesday, Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey stated she would oppose a confidentiality agreement for the Sackler family. Massachusetts has an open lawsuit against the company.

“For years, members of the Sackler family tried to hide their role in creating and profiting off the opioid epidemic. We owe it to families in Massachusetts and across the country to hold Purdue and the Sacklers accountable, ensure that the evidence of what they did is made public, and make them pay for the damage they have caused,” Healey said in the email.

The lawsuits and pending settlements currently being discussed by large pharmaceutical companies who mass produce opioids may lead to reducing the number of overdoses seen within the United States.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.