输入搜索

欧洲

巴黎在混沌中作为罢工关闭地铁,冻结城市

巴黎地铁站,2017。
巴黎地铁站,2017。 (照片:SofieLayla Thal)

“员工罢工说,'我们希望在合理的年龄退休并获得合理的养老金。'”

由于巴黎16地铁线路的运输工人对计划中的养老金改革提出抗议,法国巴黎周五因罢工而瘫痪。 巴黎的十条16地铁线完全关闭,而其他地铁的服务中断。 据报道,巴黎上班族骑车,走路或待在家里,导致整个城市出现混乱,混乱和巨大的交通拥堵。

瘫痪运动

当地媒体分享的照片显示局促地铁平台和等待乘车的人群,因为只有少数火车正在运行,公共汽车服务也受到严重干扰, 英国广播公司报道.

法国官员报道了389KM在巴黎高峰时段的高峰期交通堵塞情况 - 比通常数量增加了一倍多。

此次罢工是2007以来最大规模的罢工,是为了抗议法国总统伊曼纽尔·马克龙(Emmanuel Macron)最近批准的养老金改革计划。 Macron希望实施全民养老金制度,他声称这将建立一个更公平的公共养老金体系,并将取代针对不同行业的数十种不同的养老金计划。

其他行业的工人,包括律师,航空公司工作人员和医务工作者,预计将在下周开始罢工。

“这不是少数特权阶层的罢工,”CGT(劳工总联合会)负责人Philippe Martinez表示, 告诉France Info Radio。 “员工罢工说,'我们希望在合理的年龄退休并获得合理的养老金。'”

有争议的养老金改革

马克龙的养老金计划将从目前的55时代推迟地铁工人的退休年龄。 正如BBC报道的那样几十年前,地铁工人通过谈判将退休年龄设定为55--这个年龄的选择部分是为了弥补过境工人在地下花费的长时间工作。

根据全民养老金计划,那些在64年龄之前退休的人将获得较低的退休金; 那些在63退休的人将减少百分之五。

在回应对新的养老金改革的担忧时,法国总理爱德华·菲利普周四强调,改革对每个人都是公平的。

“我们将构建一个真正的通用系统,每个支付的欧元将为每个人提供相同的权利,无论是劳动者,店主,研究员,农民,公务员,医生还是企业家,” 菲利普说.

法国政府的目标是在明年年初之前对养老金改革计划进行投票。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari是加沙地带的自由撰稿人,记者和讲师。 拉米为全球多家媒体提供英语服务,包括印刷,广播和电视。 他可以在Facebook上作为Rami Munir Almeghari和电子邮件联系 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Paris in Chaos as Strike Shuts Down Metro, Freezes City

Paris metro station, 2017.
Paris metro station, 2017. (Photo: SofieLayla Thal)

“It’s a strike by employees saying, ‘We want to retire at a reasonable age with a reasonable pension.’”

Paris, France was crippled by a strike on Friday as transport workers on Paris’s 16 metro lines protested over planned pension reforms. Ten of Paris’ 16 metro lines were shut down completely while service on others was disrupted. Paris commuters reportedly cycled, walked or stayed at home, leading to chaos, confusion and huge traffic jams across the city.

Paralyzed Movement

Photos shared by local media outlets showed cramped metro platforms and crowds of people waiting to ride, as only a few trains were running and bus service was also severely disrupted, BBC reported.

French officials reported over 389KM of traffic jams in Paris during peak evening rush hour – more than double the usual amount.

The strike which is the largest since 2007 was launched in protest of a recent pension reform plan endorsed by French President Emmanuel Macron. Macron wants to implement a universal pension system which he claims would make a fairer public pension system and would replace dozens of varying pension plans in place for different industries.

Workers in other industries including lawyers, airline staff members and medical workers are expected to strike beginning next week.

“It’s not a strike by the privileged few,” Philippe Martinez, head of the CGT (General Confederation of Labor) union, told France Info Radio. “It’s a strike by employees saying, ‘We want to retire at a reasonable age with a reasonable pension.’”

Controversial Pension Reforms

Macron’s pension plan would push back the age of retirement for metro workers from the current age of 55. As the BBC reported, metro workers negotiated decades ago to set the age of retirement at 55 – that age was chosen in part to compensate for the long hours transit workers spend underground.

Under the universal pension plan, those who retired before the age of 64 would receive lower pensions; those who retired at 63 would receive five percent less.

Responding to concerns over the new pension reforms, French Prime Minister Edouard Philippe, stressed on Thursday that the reforms would prove fair to everyone.

“We’re going to construct a truly universal system where every euro paid in will provide the same rights for everyone, whether a laborer, a shop owner, a researcher, a farmer, a civil servant, a doctor or an entrepreneur,” Philippe said.

The French government is aiming to have the pension reform plan voted on by early next year.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.