输入搜索

环境

特朗普政府废除清洁水法规

数千人在明尼苏达州的圣保罗市进行了这次抗焦油沙滩活动。 抗议者呼吁停止使用焦油砂,清洁水和清洁能源。 日期:六月6,2015。 (照片:Fibonacci Blue)
数千人在明尼苏达州的圣保罗市进行了这次抗焦油沙滩活动。 抗议者呼吁停止使用焦油砂,清洁水和清洁能源。 日期:六月6,2015。 (照片:Fibonacci Blue)

“这将是混乱。 我们将看到全国各地的诉讼。“

环境保护署(EPA)周四废除了奥巴马时代的一项规定,扩大了联邦政府对该国大部分水体的监管权力。

清洁水规则,也称为美国沃特世(WOTUS)规则,限制在湿地,溪流和其他水体附近使用污染物,以保护该国的饮用水。 清洁水规则的反对者包括许多农业团体,他们将其视为联邦政府的超越范围,并侵犯了他们使用某些农药和化肥的能力。

“今天的最终规则结束了一次令人震惊的夺权,”美国环保局局长安德鲁·惠勒说道 星期四在新闻发布会上说。 值得注意的是,Wheeler在加入特朗普政府之前曾为煤炭巨头默里能源公司工作,这家公司已经支付了数百万美元的罚款。 污染水.

惠勒认为放松管制意味着“农民,财产所有者和企业将花费更少的时间和金钱来确定他们是否需要联邦许可证以及更多时间来建设基础设施。”法院裁决已经停止了28州的清洁水法案,以及EPA的变化会削减对剩余22的保护。

该规则的支持者指出了美国饮用水中已经存在的严重污染 PFOA'永远化学品'遍布全国 导致密歇根州弗林特的污染。 研究 来自环境工作组的人士估计,取消奥巴马时代的保护措施可能会对全国约100万人的饮用水造成威胁。

批评者认为,特朗普政府的环境监管回滚代表了公司利润优先于公共健康的优先次序。 DowDupont的众多资深人士在农业部工作 前孟山都公司高管已被提名 领导鱼类和野生动物管理局,前化石燃料游说者经营 环保局 内政部.

特朗普政府特别发誓要“让孟山都回来了“关于草甘膦的规定,并反对禁止毒死蜱(一种与儿童严重脑损伤有关的农药)以及许多其他监管回滚中的禁令。

“干净的水对所有生命都至关重要,但特朗普政府不再保护它,而是给予大污染者另一份施舍,” 说过 Marcie Keever,地球之友的节目总监。 这些不道德的决定将使那些已经无法获得洁净水的弱势群体面临更大的风险。“

环保主义者发誓要反击

虽然有些人担心,在特朗普任命保守派法官布雷特卡瓦诺和尼尔戈索赫之后,最高法院很难扭转局面,环保主义者已承诺打击这一决定。

“这将是混乱,”哈佛大学法学院环境法教授理查德拉扎鲁斯告诉 “纽约时报”。 “我们将看到全国各地的诉讼。”

“这届政府对美国的自然遗产和我们珍视的野生动物一无所知,”他说 布雷特哈特尔,生物多样性中心的政府事务主任。 “我们将打击这次非法回滚以及特朗普极其有害的反环境议程的各个方面。”

“这种废除是令人愤慨的,”清洁水行动总裁兼首席执行官Bob Wendelgass表示 共同的梦想,“但这只是对我们的水的基本保护的广泛攻击的一部分 - 我们不会让特朗普政府获胜。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Trump Administration Repeals Clean Water Regulations

Thousands marched through St. Paul, Minnesota for this anti-tar sands event. Protesters called for the end of using tar sands oil, clean water and clean energy. Date: June 6, 2015. (Photo: Fibonacci Blue)
Thousands marched through St. Paul, Minnesota for this anti-tar sands event. Protesters called for the end of using tar sands oil, clean water and clean energy. Date: June 6, 2015. (Photo: Fibonacci Blue)

“It’s going to be chaos. We’re going to see suits brought all over the country.”

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) repealed an Obama-era rule on Thursday that expanded the federal government’s regulatory power over much of the nation’s water bodies.

The Clean Water Rule, also known as Waters of the United States (WOTUS) Rule, restricted the use of pollutants near wetlands, streams, and other water bodies in order to protect the country’s drinking water. Opponents of the Clean Water Rule included many agricultural groups who viewed it as federal overreach and intrusive on their ability to use certain pesticides and fertilizers.

“Today’s final rule puts an end to an egregious power-grab,” EPA head Andrew Wheeler said Thursday in a news conference. Notably, Wheeler worked for coal giant Murray Energy before joining the Trump administration, a company that has paid millions in fines for contaminating water.

Wheeler argued the deregulation would mean “farmers, property owners and businesses will spend less time and money determining whether they need a federal permit and more time building infrastructure.” Court rulings had already stalled the Clean Water Act in 28 states, and the EPA’s change would slash the protections for the remaining 22.

Supporters of the rule point to the severe contamination already present in America’s drinking water, from PFOA ‘forever chemicals’ throughout the nation to lead contamination in Flint, Michigan. Research from the Environmental Working Group estimated that the removal of the Obama-era protections could threaten the drinking water of about 117 million people nationwide.

Critics argue the Trump administration’s environmental regulatory rollbacks represent the prioritization of corporate profits over public health. Numerous veterans of DowDupont work in the Department of Agriculture, a former Monsanto executive has been nominated to head the Fish and Wildlife Service, and former fossil fuel lobbyists run the EPA and Interior Department.

The Trump administration has notably vowed to “have Monsanto’s back” on glyphosate regulations, and fought against bans on chlorpyrifos, a pesticide linked to severe brain damage in children, among numerous other regulatory rollbacks.

“Clean water is essential to all life, but instead of protecting it, the Trump administration is giving Big Polluters another handout,” said Marcie Keever, a program director for Friends of the Earth. “Vulnerable communities who already suffer from a lack of access to clean water will be put at even greater risk by this immoral decision.”

Environmentalists Vow To Fight Back

While some are concerned the change will be hard to reverse in the Supreme Court after Trump’s appointments of conservative judges Brett Kavanaugh and Neil Gorsuch, environmentalists have pledged to fight the decision.

“It’s going to be chaos,” Richard Lazarus, a professor of environmental law at Harvard Law School, told the New York Times. “We’re going to see suits brought all over the country.”

“This administration has shown nothing but disdain for America’s natural heritage and the wildlife we cherish,” said Brett Hartl, government affairs director at the Center for Biological Diversity. “We’ll fight this illegal rollback and every aspect of Trump’s incredibly harmful anti-environmental agenda.”

“This repeal is outrageous,” said Bob Wendelgass, president and CEO of Clean Water Action, as per Common Dreams, “but it’s just one part of a broad assault on fundamental protections for our water—and we’re not going to let the Trump administration win.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.