اكتب للبحث

البيئة

إدارة ترامب تلغي قوانين المياه النظيفة

سار الآلاف من خلال سانت بول ، مينيسوتا لهذا الحدث رمال مكافحة القطران. دعا المتظاهرون إلى نهاية استخدام زيت رمال القطران والمياه النظيفة والطاقة النظيفة. التاريخ: يونيو 6 ، 2015. (الصورة: فيبوناتشي بلو)
سار الآلاف من خلال سانت بول ، مينيسوتا لهذا الحدث رمال مكافحة القطران. دعا المتظاهرون إلى نهاية استخدام زيت رمال القطران والمياه النظيفة والطاقة النظيفة. التاريخ: يونيو 6 ، 2015. (الصورة: فيبوناتشي بلو)

ستكون الفوضى. سنرى الدعاوى المرفوعة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. "

ألغت وكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) حكمًا في عهد أوباما يوم الخميس وسّع نطاق السلطة التنظيمية للحكومة الفيدرالية ليشمل الكثير من المسطحات المائية في البلاد.

قيدت قاعدة المياه النظيفة ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم قاعدة مياه الولايات المتحدة (WOTUS) ، استخدام الملوثات بالقرب من الأراضي الرطبة والمجاري المائية وغيرها من المسطحات المائية من أجل حماية مياه الشرب في البلاد. شمل معارضو قاعدة المياه النظيفة العديد من المجموعات الزراعية التي نظرت إليها على أنها امتداد فدرالي وتطفل على قدرتها على استخدام مبيدات آفات وأسمدة معينة.

يقول أندرو ويلر ، رئيس وكالة حماية البيئة: "القاعدة النهائية اليوم تضع حداً للاستيلاء القوي على السلطة" قال الخميس في مؤتمر صحفي. من الجدير بالذكر أن ويلر عمل لدى شركة موراي إنيرجي العملاقة للفحم قبل الانضمام إلى إدارة ترامب ، وهي الشركة التي دفعت ملايين الغرامات مقابل تلوث المياه.

جادل ويلر بأن إلغاء القيود سيعني أن "المزارعين وأصحاب العقارات والشركات سوف يقضون وقتًا وأموالًا أقل في تحديد ما إذا كانوا يحتاجون إلى تصريح فيدرالي والمزيد من الوقت لبناء البنية التحتية." لقد أوقفت قرارات المحكمة بالفعل قانون المياه النظيفة في ولايات 28 ، وتغيير وكالة حماية البيئة سوف خفض الحماية لباقي 22.

يشير مؤيدو القاعدة إلى التلوث الشديد الموجود بالفعل في مياه الشرب الأمريكية ، من PFOA "المواد الكيميائية إلى الأبد" في جميع أنحاء البلاد لقيادة التلوث في فلينت ، ميشيغان. أشارت البحوث من مجموعة العمل البيئية قدرت أن إزالة الحماية التي تعود إلى عهد أوباما يمكن أن تهدد مياه الشرب لحوالي 117 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

يجادل النقاد بأن التراجعات البيئية التنظيمية لإدارة ترامب تمثل أولوية لأرباح الشركات على الصحة العامة. العديد من قدامى المحاربين من DowDupont العمل في وزارة الزراعة ، أ تم ترشيح مونسانتو التنفيذي السابق لرئاسة الأسماك والحياة البرية الخدمة ، وجماعات الضغط الوقود الأحفوري السابقة تشغيل وكالة حماية البيئة و وزارة الداخلية.

تعهدت إدارة ترامب بشكل خاص بـ "لقد ظهر مونسانتو"على اللوائح الغليفوسات ، وحارب ضد حظر الكلوربيريفوس ، وهو مبيد حشري مرتبط بتلف شديد في الدماغ عند الأطفال ، من بين العديد من الانتكاسات التنظيمية الأخرى.

"المياه النظيفة ضرورية لكل أشكال الحياة ، ولكن بدلاً من حمايتها ، فإن إدارة ترامب تعطي" الملوثون الكبار "نشرة أخرى ،" قال مارسي كيفر ، مدير برنامج "أصدقاء الأرض". "المجتمعات الضعيفة التي تعاني بالفعل من عدم الحصول على المياه النظيفة ستتعرض لخطر أكبر بسبب هذا القرار غير الأخلاقي".

علماء البيئة يتعهدون بالرد

وبينما يشعر البعض بالقلق ، سيكون التغيير صعبًا في المحكمة العليا بعد تعيين ترامب للقضاة المحافظين بريت كافانو ونيل غورسش ، وقد تعهد دعاة حماية البيئة بمكافحة القرار.

وقال ريتشارد لازاروس ، أستاذ القانون البيئي في كلية الحقوق بجامعة هارفارد: "ستكون حالة من الفوضى" نيويورك تايمز. "سنرى الدعاوى المرفوعة في جميع أنحاء البلاد."

"لم تُظهر هذه الإدارة سوى ازدراء التراث الطبيعي الأمريكي والحياة البرية التي نعتز بها" بريت هارتلمدير الشؤون الحكومية في مركز التنوع البيولوجي. "سنحارب هذا التراجع غير القانوني وكل جانب من جوانب أجندة ترامب الضارة بالبيئة بشكل لا يصدق."

وقال بوب ويندلغاس ، الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي لشركة Clean Water Action ، "هذا الإلغاء أمر شائن" أحلام مشتركة"إنها جزء واحد فقط من هجوم واسع النطاق على الحماية الأساسية لمياهنا - ولن ندع إدارة ترامب تفوز".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Trump Administration Repeals Clean Water Regulations

Thousands marched through St. Paul, Minnesota for this anti-tar sands event. Protesters called for the end of using tar sands oil, clean water and clean energy. Date: June 6, 2015. (Photo: Fibonacci Blue)
Thousands marched through St. Paul, Minnesota for this anti-tar sands event. Protesters called for the end of using tar sands oil, clean water and clean energy. Date: June 6, 2015. (Photo: Fibonacci Blue)

“It’s going to be chaos. We’re going to see suits brought all over the country.”

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) repealed an Obama-era rule on Thursday that expanded the federal government’s regulatory power over much of the nation’s water bodies.

The Clean Water Rule, also known as Waters of the United States (WOTUS) Rule, restricted the use of pollutants near wetlands, streams, and other water bodies in order to protect the country’s drinking water. Opponents of the Clean Water Rule included many agricultural groups who viewed it as federal overreach and intrusive on their ability to use certain pesticides and fertilizers.

“Today’s final rule puts an end to an egregious power-grab,” EPA head Andrew Wheeler said Thursday in a news conference. Notably, Wheeler worked for coal giant Murray Energy before joining the Trump administration, a company that has paid millions in fines for contaminating water.

Wheeler argued the deregulation would mean “farmers, property owners and businesses will spend less time and money determining whether they need a federal permit and more time building infrastructure.” Court rulings had already stalled the Clean Water Act in 28 states, and the EPA’s change would slash the protections for the remaining 22.

Supporters of the rule point to the severe contamination already present in America’s drinking water, from PFOA ‘forever chemicals’ throughout the nation to lead contamination in Flint, Michigan. Research from the Environmental Working Group estimated that the removal of the Obama-era protections could threaten the drinking water of about 117 million people nationwide.

Critics argue the Trump administration’s environmental regulatory rollbacks represent the prioritization of corporate profits over public health. Numerous veterans of DowDupont work in the Department of Agriculture, a former Monsanto executive has been nominated to head the Fish and Wildlife Service, and former fossil fuel lobbyists run the EPA and Interior Department.

The Trump administration has notably vowed to “have Monsanto’s back” on glyphosate regulations, and fought against bans on chlorpyrifos, a pesticide linked to severe brain damage in children, among numerous other regulatory rollbacks.

“Clean water is essential to all life, but instead of protecting it, the Trump administration is giving Big Polluters another handout,” said Marcie Keever, a program director for Friends of the Earth. “Vulnerable communities who already suffer from a lack of access to clean water will be put at even greater risk by this immoral decision.”

Environmentalists Vow To Fight Back

While some are concerned the change will be hard to reverse in the Supreme Court after Trump’s appointments of conservative judges Brett Kavanaugh and Neil Gorsuch, environmentalists have pledged to fight the decision.

“It’s going to be chaos,” Richard Lazarus, a professor of environmental law at Harvard Law School, told the New York Times. “We’re going to see suits brought all over the country.”

“This administration has shown nothing but disdain for America’s natural heritage and the wildlife we cherish,” said Brett Hartl, government affairs director at the Center for Biological Diversity. “We’ll fight this illegal rollback and every aspect of Trump’s incredibly harmful anti-environmental agenda.”

“This repeal is outrageous,” said Bob Wendelgass, president and CEO of Clean Water Action, as per Common Dreams, “but it’s just one part of a broad assault on fundamental protections for our water—and we’re not going to let the Trump administration win.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.