输入搜索

警察/监狱

田纳西州的私人监狱凶杀率高于国营设施

私人监狱:CoreCivic休斯敦处理中心
CoreCivic休斯敦加工中心(图片来源:Patrick Feller)

“CoreCivic的盈利模式是建立在人员不足和持续锁定不稳定,极其危险的监狱的基础之上的。”

A 七月报告 来自人权保护中心(HRDC)和No Exceptions Prison Collective发现,私人营利性监狱运营商CoreCivic报告其田纳西州四所监狱的凶杀案数量是田纳西州惩教部门(TDOC)在其十个州记录的两倍多的凶杀案 - 在同一个五年时间内运行的设施。

尽管CoreCivic的监狱运营数量少于TDOC,但监狱总人口数量远少于TDOC,并且主要运营中等安全设施。

CoreCivic经营着四个田纳西州的囚犯:怀特维尔惩教所,中央惩教所,哈德曼县惩教所和特劳斯代尔 - 特纳惩教中心。

根据监狱法律新闻由人权委员会出版的Trousdale-Turner惩教中心在2016开设的出版物在州审计,立法听证会和新闻报道中受到批评。 TDOC还因在TTCC违反合同而对CoreCivic处以超过$ 2的罚款。

在HRDC和No Exceptions研究的时间段内,3月2014到6月2019,CoreCivic报告了10起囚犯杀人事件,而TDOC报告了5名囚犯被谋杀。 CoreCivics的谋杀案数量较多,尽管住房不到TDOC所在监狱人口的一半。

“从2014到6月2018,CoreCivic设施从24.65%到该州监狱人口的34.59%,平均为30.09%(FY 2019的人口数据尚未由TDOC发布且未被使用)。 因此,虽然TDOC设施平均占该州监狱人口的70%,但在CoreCivic设施中发生的凶杀案数量是其两倍。 TDOC监狱的平均凶杀率为每67囚犯.10,000,而CoreCivic设施的平均凶杀率为每3.13囚犯10,000 - 或4.64倍数,“ “监狱法律新闻”解释说.

HRDC和No Exceptions在7月份在CoreCivic位于田纳西州纳什维尔总部外的新闻发布会上首次公布了他们的调查结果。 这两个组织都是囚犯权利倡导组织,倡导反对私人监狱行业。

CoreCivic响应

在回应新闻发布会时,CoreCivic称调查结果“具有政治偏见”,并认为HRDC和No Exceptions数据分析并不是真正的“苹果对苹果”比较。

在四点声明中CoreCivic认为,TDOC所居住的女性比CoreCivic更多只有男性囚犯,因为CoreCivic甚至不容纳10,000囚犯,因此每10,000率“在统计上有问题”,更准确的比较将包括“收费数据”(关于犯罪类型的数据),并声称TDOC拥有大部分最低安全囚犯。

“监狱法律新闻”是HRDC的一份出版物,它回应说CoreCivic声称“更多集中的囚犯被判犯有谋杀罪或其他暴力罪行”是完全错误的。 相反,它声称TDOC容纳了比CoreCivic更多的被判犯有杀人罪和暴力罪的囚犯。

“根据凶杀案定罪囚犯的'集中程度',使用TDOC的XYUMX报告中的数据,四个CoreCivic监狱的人口平均2018%包括凶杀案定罪的囚犯。 然而,在国营监狱中被杀人罪的囚犯的平均百分比是15.25%。 同样,CoreCivic的声明完全是假的,“监狱法律新闻写道。

“CoreCivic的盈利模式是建立在人员不足和持续锁定不稳定,极其危险的监狱之上的。 多年来,囚犯及其亲人一直恳求政府官员进行干预,并终止CoreCivic的虐待,忽视和死亡的耕种环境。 CoreCivic被允许创建的唯一可接受的人权灾难解决方案是关闭该公司。 没有人应该从酷刑中获利,“Jeannie Alexander,律师,前TDOC牧师和无异常监狱集体主任,告诉监狱法律新闻。

私人监狱行业

营利性监狱约占美国监狱总人口的10%,但私人监狱约占美国移民和海关执法局(ICE)被拘留者的三分之二。

虽然私人监狱受到越来越严格的监督,因为政府已经转向营利性监狱拘留被ICE逮捕的人,但负面宣传已经包围了私人监狱行业多年。

事实上,CoreCivic曾经被称为美国的Corrections公司,但在10月份更名为2016,作为品牌重塑的一部分。

当奥巴马政府和监狱局下令逐步停止在2016使用私营营利性监狱时,私营监狱行业陷入困境。 据路透社报道此次宣布后,CoreCivic和另一家主要营利性监狱运营商GEO集团的股票暴跌40%。 然而,在唐纳德特朗普当选总统后不久,两家公司的股票反弹,然后美国司法部长杰夫会议下令撤销私人监狱的逐步淘汰。

尽管特朗普政策出现逆转,但对私营监狱行业的宣传取得了一定的成功。 摩根大通公司 去年三月宣布 它将“不再为私人监狱行业提供资金”。

在富国银行1月宣布减少其私人监狱银行业务后,大通公布了这一消息。

“我们对私营监狱公司的信贷风险显着下降,预计将继续下降,我们并未积极向该行业进行营销,”富国银行在其针对2018的“业务标准报告”中表示。

最近,一位领先的2020总统候选人伯尼·桑德斯(Bernie Sanders) 宣布了一项改革刑事司法系统的计划 其中包括禁止私人监狱。 桑德斯周日宣布,并计划废除死刑,结束现金保释,使大麻合法化,并通过结束过度判决将被监禁的人口减半。

“你能否相信,在2019当年,400,000人因为贫穷而在监狱等待审判?”桑德斯告诉记者 美联社。 “这是一种道德上的愤怒,这是一种法律上的愤慨。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 八月24,2019

    国退民进! 这是多么美妙(对于亿万富翁)。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

Private Prison Homicide Rates in Tennessee Vastly Higher Than State-Run Facilities

private prisons: CoreCivic Houston Processing Center
CoreCivic Houston Processing Center (Photo: Patrick Feller)

“CoreCivic’s profit model is built around understaffing and constant lockdowns of poorly run, exceedingly dangerous prisons.”

A July report from the Human Rights Defense Center (HRDC) and No Exceptions Prison Collective found that CoreCivic, a private for-profit prison operator, reported twice as many homicides at its four Tennessee prisons than the Tennessee Department of Corrections (TDOC) recorded at its ten state-run facilities in the same five year time period.

The findings come despite the fact that CoreCivic is operating fewer prisons than TDOC, housing a much smaller total prison population than TDOC and operates mostly medium-security facilities.

CoreCivic operates four Tennessee state prisoners: the Whiteville Correctional Facility, South Central Correctional Facility, Hardeman County Correctional Facility and Trousdale-Turner Correctional Center.

According to Prison Legal News, a publication by HRDC, the Trousdale-Turner Correctional Center, which opened in 2016, has been criticized in a state audit, during legislative hearings and in news reports. TDOC has also fined CoreCivic over $2 million for contract violations at TTCC.

During the time period studied by HRDC and No Exceptions, March 2014 through June 2019, CoreCivic reported ten prisoner homicides, whereas the TDOC reported five prisoners murdered. CoreCivics’ higher number of murders is despite housing less than half the prison population that TDOC houses.

“From 2014 through June 2018, CoreCivic facilities housed from 24.65% to 34.59% of the state’s prison population, with an average of 30.09% (population data for FY 2019 has not yet been released by the TDOC and was not used). Thus, while TDOC facilities housed 70% of the state’s prison population on average, twice as many homicides occurred in CoreCivic facilities. The average homicide rate in TDOC prisons was .67 per 10,000 prisoners while the average rate in CoreCivic facilities was 3.13 per 10,000 prisoners – or 4.64 times higher,” explained Prison Legal News.

HRDC and No Exceptions first announced their findings at a July press conference outside CoreCivic’s Nashville, Tennessee headquarters. Both organizations are prisoner rights’ advocacy groups that advocate against the private prison industry.

CoreCivic Responds

In response to the press conference, CoreCivic called the findings “politically biased” and argued that HRDC’s and No Exceptions data analysis was not a true “apples-to-apples” comparison.

In a four-point statement, CoreCivic argued that TDOC houses more females than CoreCivic which only houses male prisoners, that a rate-per-10,000 is “statistically questionable” because CoreCivic doesn’t even house 10,000 inmates, that a more accurate comparison would include “charge data” (data on offense type), and claimed that TDOC holds a substantial portion of minimum-security prisoners.

Prison Legal News, which is a publication of HRDC, responded that CoreCivic’s statement that it houses “a higher concentration of inmates convicted of murder or other violent crimes” was completely false. Instead, it claimed that TDOC houses more prisoners convicted of homicide and violent crimes than CoreCivic.

“In terms of the ‘concentration’ of prisoners with homicide convictions, using the data in the TDOC’s FY 2018 report, an average 15.25% of the population at the four CoreCivic prisons included prisoners with homicide convictions. Yet the average percentage of prisoners with homicide convictions in state-run prisons was 20.6%. Again, CoreCivic’s statement was completely false,” wrote Prison Legal News.

“CoreCivic’s profit model is built around understaffing and constant lockdowns of poorly run, exceedingly dangerous prisons. For years, prisoners and their loved ones have begged for government officials to intervene and put an end to CoreCivic’s cultivated environment of abuse, neglect and death. The only acceptable solution to the human rights disaster that CoreCivic has been allowed to create is to shut this corporation down. No one should profit from torture,” Jeannie Alexander, an attorney, former TDOC chaplain and director of the No Exceptions Prison Collective, told Prison Legal News.

Private Prison Industry

For-profit prisons house roughly ten percent of the total U.S. prison population, yet private prisons house approximately two-thirds of U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (I.C.E.) detainees.

While private prisons have come under increasing scrutiny as the government has turned to for-profit prisons to detain people arrested by I.C.E., negative publicity has surrounded the private prison industry for years.

In fact, CoreCivic used to be called the Corrections Corporation of America but changed its name in October of 2016 as part of a rebranding effort.

The private prison industry looked in trouble when the Obama administration and the Bureau of Prisons ordered the phasing out of the use of private for-profit prisons in 2016. According to Reuters, stocks for CoreCivic and GEO Group, another major for-profit prison operator, plummeted 40% after the announcement. However, stocks for both companies rebounded when, shortly after Donald Trump was elected president, then U.S. Attorney General Jeff sessions ordered the reversal of the private-prison phase-out.

Despite the Trump policy reversal, advocacy against the private prison industry has found moderate success. JPMorgan Chase & Co announced last March that it would “no longer bank the private prison industry.”

Chase’s announcement came after a January announcement from Wells Fargo claimed it was reducing its banking with private prisons.

“Our credit exposure to private prison companies has significantly decreased and is expected to continue to decline, and we are not actively marketing to that sector,” Wells Fargo said in its “Business Standards Report” for 2018.

Most recently, Bernie Sanders, a leading 2020 presidential candidate, announced a plan to overhaul the criminal justice system which would include a ban on private prisons. Sanders’ announcement came on Sunday and included plans to abolish the death penalty, end cash bail, legalize marijuana and halve the incarcerated population by ending excessive sentencing.

“Can you believe that, in the year 2019, 400,000 people are in jail awaiting a trial because they are poor?” Sanders told the Associated Press. “That is a moral outrage, it is a legal outrage.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout August 24, 2019

    Privitization! How wonderful it has been (for the billionaires).

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.