输入搜索

国家

2020的共和党特朗普挑战者宣布

马萨诸塞州前州长威尔·威尔德在内华达州拉斯维加斯的好莱坞星球的2016 FreedomFest演讲。
马萨诸塞州前州长威尔·威尔德在内华达州拉斯维加斯的好莱坞星球的2016 FreedomFest演讲。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

在这场极大的政治纷争时期,当两个主要政党都坚持不懈地“不惜一切代价”的胜利时,美国人民的声音被忽视,我们的国家正在遭受苦难。

前两届马萨诸塞州州长比尔韦尔德周一宣布他在特朗普总统的2020共和党初选中面临挑战。

“算我一个! #Weld2020 weld2020.org,“ Weld周一下午通过Twitter宣布。

从73到1991担任马萨诸塞州州长的1997岁的Weld最后在2016担任副总统候选人在新墨西哥州前州长Gary Johnson领导的票上竞选公职。 这对二人赢得了大约 流行投票的3.28%转换为4.9百万票。

韦尔德也曾在司法部工作了七年,他似乎在宣传美国人民的声音被两个相互交战的政党淹没。

“我们的国家建立在勇气,复原力和独立性的基础之上。 在这场极大的政治纷争时期,当两个主要政党都坚持不懈地“不惜一切代价”的胜利时,美国人民的声音被忽视,我们的国家正在遭受苦难。

“现在是我们这个伟大国家的爱国男女站立和举旗的时候了。 现在是时候回归林肯的原则 - 平等,尊严和所有人的机会。 世界上没有比保存真正使美国伟大的东西更重要的事业了。 我准备好领导这场斗争,“韦尔德在一份新闻稿中说道。

为了诉诸传统的共和党财政责任问题,韦尔德的声明还声称他被卡托研究所和华尔街日报评为“该国最具财政保守的州长”。

Weld的竞选继续声称,“他减税21次,从未筹集资金,平衡预算,并监督该州债券评级的六次升级。 他签署了具有里程碑意义的福利改革,建立了公共教育标准,并且是LGBT民权的早期支持者的开拓者。“

对于韦尔德的宣布并不特别热衷的一个群体是共和党。 共和党全国委员会的发言人对韦尔德的挑战不屑一顾 在给CNBC的一份报告中“特朗普总统在共和党人中享有前所未有的支持。”

“他已经为保守派和国家提供了一长串令人难以置信的成就。 RNC和共和党坚决支持总统。

“任何挑战总统提名的努力都必将无处可去,”发言人说。

作为特朗普在共和党人中的支持率,韦尔德将面临一场艰难的战斗 据盖洛普说 在4月初以89%记录。

韦尔德的第一个竞选视频紧随特朗普后宣布“美国值得更好。”该视频随后展示了特朗普言论的一个亮点,其中包括特朗普嘲笑一名残疾记者的镜头,并有特朗普访问好莱坞录音带的声音,他吹嘘性爱袭击女性。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Republican Challenger to Trump in 2020 Announced

Former Governor William Weld of Massachusetts speaking at the 2016 FreedomFest at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Former Governor William Weld of Massachusetts speaking at the 2016 FreedomFest at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

In these times of great political strife, when both major parties are entrenched in their ‘win at all cost’ battles, the voices of the American people are being ignored and our nation is suffering.

Former two-term Massachusetts Governor Bill Weld announced his challenge to President Trump in the 2020 Republican primary on Monday.

“I’m in! #Weld2020 weld2020.org,” Weld announced via Twitter Monday afternoon.

The 73-year-old Weld, who served as Massachusetts governor from 1991 to 1997, last ran for office in 2016 as the Libertarian candidate for vice president on a ticket headed by former New Mexico governor Gary Johnson. The duo won approximately 3.28 % of the popular vote translating to 4.9 million votes.

Weld, who also spent seven years at the Department of Justice, appears to be campaigning with a message that the voice of the American people is being drowned out by two political parties at war with each other.

“Ours is a nation built on courage, resilience, and independence.  In these times of great political strife, when both major parties are entrenched in their ‘win at all cost’ battles, the voices of the American people are being ignored and our nation is suffering.

“It is time for patriotic men and women across our great nation to stand and plant a flag. It is time to return to the principles of Lincoln – equality, dignity, and opportunity for all.  There is no greater cause on earth than to preserve what truly makes America great. I am ready to lead that fight,” said Weld in a press release.

In an attempt to appeal to the traditionally Republican issue of fiscal responsibility, Weld’s statement also claimed he was ranked the “most fiscally conservative Governor in the country by the Cato Institute and the Wall Street Journal.”

Weld’s campaign goes on to claim, “He cut taxes 21 times, never raised them, balanced the budget, and oversaw six upgrades in the state’s bond rating.  He signed landmark welfare reform, established public education standards, and was a trailblazer as an early proponent for LGBT civil rights.”

One group not particularly enthusiastic about Weld’s announcement is the Republican Party. A spokesman for the Republican National Committee was dismissive of Weld’s challenge in a report to CNBC, noting, “President Trump enjoys unprecedented support among Republicans.”

“He has already delivered a long list of incredible accomplishments for conservatives and the country. The RNC and the Republican Party are firmly behind the president.

“Any effort to challenge the president’s nomination is bound to go absolutely nowhere,” the spokesman said.

Weld will have an uphill battle as Trump’s approval rating among Republicans according to Gallup was recorded at 89% in early April.

Weld’s first campaign video went right after Trump and declared that “America deserves better.” The video then shows a highlight reel of controversial Trump remarks which includes footage of Trump mocking a disabled reporter and has audio of Trump’s Access Hollywood tape where he boasts about sexually assaulting women.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.