اكتب للبحث

أوروبا

المملكة المتحدة في حالة اضطراب مع بوريس جونسون يكافح للسيطرة على خطة خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي

بوريس جونسون ، ثم نائب وزير الخارجية وشؤون الكومنولث ، مؤتمر تشاتام هاوس في لندن بالمملكة المتحدة. التاريخ: أكتوبر 2017 ، فندق سانت بانكراس رينيسانس ، لندن.
بوريس جونسون ، ثم نائب وزير الخارجية وشؤون الكومنولث ، مؤتمر تشاتام هاوس في لندن بالمملكة المتحدة. التاريخ: أكتوبر 2017 ، فندق سانت بانكراس رينيسانس ، لندن. (الصورة: تشاتام هاوس)

"هذا غير مسبوق بما يحدث لديمقراطيتنا. من الإيجابي أن المحكمة قضت اليوم بأن هذا غير قانوني ".

منذ فوزه في انتخابات حزب المحافظين ليحل محل تيريزا ماي كرئيس للحزب ورئيس وزراء المملكة المتحدة (المملكة المتحدة) ، تولى بوريس جونسون مسؤولية لمفاوضات خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي (EU). ومع ذلك ، لم يجد جونسون أي نجاح في إيجاد حل مناسب لجميع الأطراف المعنية.

شهدت الأحداث الأخيرة حزب جونسون المحافظ انتقادات مذهلة لقراره.

جونسون سوء معاملة المنشقين المحافظين

وقال الإذاعة الوطنية العامة: "وافق مجلس اللوردات البريطاني على إجراء يوم الجمعة يمنع خطة رئيس الوزراء بوريس جونسون بمغادرة الاتحاد الأوروبي الشهر المقبل دون التوصل إلى اتفاق ، مع إعطاء الموافقة النهائية على مشروع قانون أقره مجلس العموم في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع". (NPR) في إشارة إلى التصويت في سبتمبر 6th في البرلمان. "كان من المتوقع على نطاق واسع تمرير مجلس اللوردات بعد موافقة مشروع القانون في مجلس العموم يوم الأربعاء. يشرع التشريع الآن في الموافقة الملكية - وهو إجراء شكلي سيؤدي إلى تحوله إلى قانون ".

الإجراء الجديد يحل محل كوبر بيل، مع إعادة التأكيد على أن المملكة المتحدة لا يمكنها مغادرة الاتحاد الأوروبي دون إبرام صفقة محددة ، مما يجعل من المرجح إجراء استفتاء ثان لتقرير ما إذا كان خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي يتحرك إلى الأمام أم لا.

إذا لم يتم التوصل إلى اتفاق بحلول أكتوبر 19th ، فسيتطلب ذلك من جونسون مطالبة الاتحاد الأوروبي بتمديد الموعد النهائي الحالي في أكتوبر 31st. كان رد فعل جونسون صعوديًا للتصويت.

"طرد بوريس جونسون أعضاء 21 المحافظين في البرلمان ، بما في ذلك اثنين من المستشارين السابقين وحفيد ونستون تشرشل من حزبه ، بعد أن ساعدوا في إلحاق هزيمة كبيرة به في أول تصويت له في مجلس العموم كرئيس للوزراء ،" Business Insider وذكرت.

يعني أعضاء 21 في البرلمان وإزالة المحافظين السوط أن جونسون يقود الآن حكومة أقلية - وهي خطوة لم يتم استقبالها جيدًا داخل الحزب وفقًا للصحفيين الذين يتناولون الوضع في المملكة المتحدة.

تمتد صراعات جونسون إلى ما بعد حزبه وفقًا لصحيفة الغارديان ، "سيؤدي بوريس جونسون إلى أزمة قانونية ودستورية من شأنها أن تستقيل من منصبه كرئيس للوزراء إذا فشل في الامتثال لقانون يفرض عليه السعي لتمديد فترة خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي ، وفقًا لمستوى رفيع المشورة القانونية التي حصل عليها حزب العمل. "

إلى جانب الحزب الاشتراكي الديمقراطي المعارض ، الحزب الاجتماعي الليبرالي والليبرالي الديمقراطي ، أيد أيضًا فكرة اضطر جونسون إلى الاستقالة إذا خالف القانون.

"إذا رفض رئيس الوزراء الامتثال لهذا الأمر ، فعندما نكون في منطقة سياسية مجهولة تاريخياً ، سيظل الموقف القانوني واضحًا - سيكون رئيس الوزراء في حالة ازدراء لأمر من المحكمة ويتعرض ل مجموعة كاملة من العقوبات "، صرح محامو ماتريكس تشامبرز عند التحدث إلى الصحفيين في الجارديان.

الاحداث الحالية

بعد الضغط من أجل الامتياز ، وحل البرلمان بين الجلسات ، تعرض جونسون لضغوط هائلة لاستعادة الحكومة إلى الجلسة. اتخذت أحزاب المعارضة البارزة وسائل قانونية في محاولة لإجبار القضية ، "طالب كل من حزب العمل والحزب الوطني الليبرالي والديمقراطيين الليبراليين بسحب عاجل من البرلمان للسماح بتدقيق خطط الحكومة البريطانية ، بعد أن قضى قضاة محكمة الاستئناف الاسكتلندية ضد قرار جونسون تعليق البرلمان في الفترة التي تسبق الموعد النهائي لخروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي في أكتوبر ". وذكرت الحارس.

سأناقش هذا الأمر مع الآخرين. لكن هناك حجة مفادها أن هذا الحكم قائم الآن وأن الاختصاص غير قانوني ؛ وقال النائب العمالي كلايف لويس: "إلى أن يتم الطعن فيه وإصدار حكم جديد في محكمة أعلى ، فإن الاختصاص ليس له أي أساس قانوني".

"هذا غير مسبوق بما يحدث لديمقراطيتنا. من الإيجابي أن المحكمة قضت اليوم بأن هذا غير قانوني. وقال زعيم الديمقراطيين الليبراليين ، هناك سبب واحد وراء قيام بوريس جونسون بامتلاك البرلمان وهذا لأنه يريد أن يفرض طريقه على خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي بدون اتفاق دون التدقيق ، دون الحاجة إلى الامتثال للقواعد العادية التي يتعين على رئيس الوزراء أن يطيعها. جو سوينسون حول تعليق البرلمان.

ذكرت إدارة جونسون أنها لم تنتهك أي قوانين من خلال الاستمرار في الامتياز ، لكن المعركة القانونية والسياسية ستستمر خلال الأيام القليلة القادمة.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
والتر ييتس

Walter Yeates هو صحفي وروائي وكاتب سيناريو يعمل في Standing Rock مع قدامى المحاربين العسكريين و First People في ديسمبر 2016. يغطي مجموعة من المواضيع في Citizen Truth وهو مفتوح للحصول على نصائح واقتراحات. تويتر: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall أو www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

EUROPE

UK in Turmoil as Boris Johnson Struggles To Control Brexit Plan

Boris Johnson then MP and Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, UK Chatham House London Conference. Date: October 2017, St Pancras Renaissance Hotel, London.
Boris Johnson then MP and Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, UK Chatham House London Conference. Date: October 2017, St Pancras Renaissance Hotel, London. (Photo: Chatham House)

“This is really unprecedented what’s happening to our democracy. It’s positive the court has ruled today that this is unlawful.”

Since winning an inter Conservative Party election to replace Theresa May as party head and Prime Minister of the United Kingdom (UK), Boris Johnson has taken over responsibility for Brexit negotiations with the European Union (EU). However, Johnson hasn’t found any success in finding a resolution suitable to all parties involved.

The most recent events have seen Johnson’s Conservative party spectacularly rebuke his decision making.

Johnson’s Mishandling of Conservative Dissent 

“Britain’s House of Lords endorsed a measure Friday that would block Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s plan to leave the European Union next month without a deal in place, giving final approval to a bill the House of Commons passed earlier this week,” said National Public Radio (NPR) in reference to a September 6th vote in Parliament. “The House of Lords’ passage was widely expected after the bill won approval in the House of Commons on Wednesday. The legislation now proceeds to royal assent — a formality that will result in its becoming law.”

The new measure replaces the Cooper Bill, reaffirming that the UK cannot leave the EU without a specific deal in place, making it more likely a second referendum is held to decide whether Brexit moves forward or not. 

If a deal isn’t reached by October 19th, it would require Johnson to ask the EU for an extension to the current October 31st deadline. Johnson reacted in a bullish manner to the vote.

“Boris Johnson has expelled 21 Conservative members of parliament, including two former chancellors and Winston Churchill’s grandson from his party, after they helped inflict a major defeat on him in his first House of Commons vote as prime minister,” Business Insider reported

Those 21 members of parliament and having the Conservative Whip removed means that Johnson is now leading a minority government – a move not well received within the party according to reporters covering the situation in the UK.

Johnson’s struggles extend past his party according to The Guardian, “Boris Johnson would trigger a legal and constitutional crisis that would force his resignation as prime minister if he failed to obey a law mandating him to seek another extension to Brexit, according to high-level legal advice obtained by Labour.”

Along with the Social Democratic opposition leading Labour party, the Social Liberal, Liberal Democrat party has also backed the concept of Johnson having to resign if he disobeys the law.

“If the prime minister refused to comply with this order, then, while we would be in historically uncharted political territory, the legal position would remain clear – the prime minister would be in contempt of an order of the court and would be exposed to a full range of sanctions,” Matrix Chambers’ lawyers stated when speaking to reporters at The Guardian.

Current Events

After pushing for Prorogation, the dissolving of Parliament between sessions, Johnson has undergone massive pressure to recall government back to session. Leading opposition parties have taken to legal means in an attempt to force the issue, “Labour, the SNP and Lib Dems all demanded an urgent recall of parliament to allow scrutiny of the government’s Brexit plans, after Scottish appeal court judges ruled against Johnson’s decision to suspend parliament in the run-up to the October Brexit deadline,” reported The Guardian.

 “I am going to be discussing this with others; but there is an argument that that judgment now stands, and that the prorogation is illegal; and until it’s challenged and a new judgment is made in a higher court, the prorogation has no legal basis,” said Labour MP Clive Lewis.

“This is really unprecedented what’s happening to our democracy. It’s positive the court has ruled today that this is unlawful. There is one reason why Boris Johnson has prorogued parliament and that is because he wants to force through his no-deal Brexit without having scrutiny, without having to obey the normal rules that a prime minister has to obey by,” said Liberal Democrat leader, Jo Swinson about the suspension of Parliament. 

Johnson’s administration states they have not broken any laws by continuing through with prorogation, yet the legal and political battle will continue over the next several days.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.