输入搜索

分析 反战

桑德斯和沃伦应该知道,恶化外国政权会产生巨大的五角大楼价格标签

美国参议员伯尼·桑德斯在亚利桑那州凤凰城凤凰城会议中心举行的2016竞选集会上与支持者交谈。 4月,美国参议员伊丽莎白沃伦在内华达州拉斯维加斯的博南扎高中的市政厅与支持者交谈。 (两张照片:Gage Skidmore)
美国参议员伯尼·桑德斯在亚利桑那州凤凰城凤凰城会议中心举行的2016竞选集会上与支持者交谈。 4月,美国参议员伊丽莎白沃伦在内华达州拉斯维加斯的博南扎高中的市政厅与支持者交谈。 (两张照片:Gage Skidmore)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

桑德斯和沃伦可能不会打算批评俄罗斯和中国为五角大楼的记录开支辩护,但军工企业正在为此目的抓住它。

在民主党总统初选中的领跑者中,参议员沃伦和桑德斯不仅拥有最先进的国内议程,而且还是最具反战,支持外交的外交政策议程。 该 最清晰的区别 在他们之间是桑德斯投票反对参议院近期创纪录的军费开支的80百分比,而沃伦投票支持三分之二。

但他们的亲外交世界观有盲点。 他们通过对俄罗斯和中国的攻击来缓和他们对和平和外交的呼吁,被视为反对“专制主义”的警告。这些攻击 - 在当今的两党俄罗斯和中国抨击的背景下 - 为他们创造了一个不祥的例外。外交政策议程足以让F-35中队飞过。 这为继续美国军国主义和冒犯他们对和平的承诺的风险创造了借口。

沃伦和桑德斯的愿景

沃伦定义了她的愿景 美国外交政策的一篇文章是1月/ 2月2019版的外交事务。 她开始说,“在世界各地,民主受到攻击。 威权政府正在获得权力,右翼煽动者正在获得力量。“她问道,”我们是怎么到达这里的?“并以准确而聪明的方式回答了她的问题,解释了新自由主义的失败。

沃伦解释说,冷战结束后,美国政策制定者“开始出口一种特定品牌的资本主义,其中包括弱势监管,对富人征税低,以及有利于跨国公司的政策。 美国发生了一系列看似无休止的战争,与错误或不确定的目标进行冲突,没有明显的完成途径。 这些政策变化的影响是毁灭性的。“

沃伦对美国对恐怖主义采取军事化的做法进行了连贯的批评,并承诺削减军费,并将军队从阿富汗和伊拉克带回家。 她支持“不首先使用核武器”政策,这对于结束仍然笼罩在我们所有人身上的核毁灭威胁是一个姗姗来迟的一步。

但沃伦还对俄罗斯和中国展开了激烈的攻击,并将其与匈牙利,土耳其,菲律宾和巴西一起置于“威权主义”的保护之下。

“这种权威主义与腐败资本主义的结合,”沃伦宣称,“......允许专制领导人煽动全球民主信任危机。”然而,根据她自己的分析,它是新自由主义的“中左”和“中右翼”。 “政府已经将选民卖光为富有的企业利益,并导致公众对主流政治家和政党失去信心。 像特朗普,博尔索纳罗和杜特尔特这样的极右翼领导人的崛起是这场“全球民主信任危机”的结果,而不是其原因。

参议员桑德斯 他在密苏里州威斯敏斯特学院的2017上发表了一篇重要的外交政策演讲,其中丘吉尔在1946上发表了他的“铁幕”演讲。 桑德斯的讲话提出了一个大胆的,渐进的外交政策议程,填补了许多人认为在他的2016活动中缺失的一部分。

桑德斯引用了艾森豪威尔总统关于军事 - 工业联合体的告别演讲以及斯大林去世后的1953演讲,其中艾森豪威尔将军费开支称为“对那些饥饿和没有被喂养的人,那些感冒而且没穿衣服的人的盗窃”。

艾森豪威尔通过削减支持这种言论 美国军费开支占39百分比 在他执政的前两年,即使在冷战的极端压力下,他在担任总统职位的剩余时间里仍然保持在这个水平。

桑德斯认为,美国冷战后的“仁慈的全球霸权”目标已经“完全失去信誉”,特别是“灾难性的伊拉克战争以及它给该地区带来的不稳定和破坏。”相反,他继续说道,“我们的目标应该是建立在伙伴关系基础上的全球参与,而非主导地位。“

桑德斯继续谈论美国在其他国家的军事和秘密干预如何“造成无法估量的伤害”,提到美国在伊朗的1953政变,越南战争,智利的1973政变,萨尔瓦多和危地马拉的内战中的作用,美国在伊拉克的战争,以及沙特领导的也门战争。

桑德斯对这些干预措施对二战后马歇尔计划的成功所造成的伤害进行了对比,这是一个利用美国的力量和资源重建受战争蹂躏的国家而不是使用美国武器和秘密行动摧毁它们的好处的一个例子。 。

桑德斯将他的外交政策与他国内议程中熟悉的主题联系起来,他指出,“当这么少的人拥有这么多人时,这个星球就不会安全或平静,而且很多人都这么少。”他期待着有一天“这个星球上的人类将生活在一个和平解决国际冲突的世界,而不是大规模谋杀。”

威权主义:从李承晚和沙阿到特朗普和MBS

但是,和沃伦一样,桑德斯提到了几个“威权主义”,特别是与俄罗斯有关的,他重复了这一主题。 最近的演讲.

当桑德斯列举了美国在其他国家进行灾难性干预的历史时,他忽略了指出他的例子几乎都涉及美国对当时最极端,独裁的右翼政府的支持。

事实上,在整个冷战期间,美国一贯支持亚洲,非洲和拉丁美洲的保守派,右翼政党和政治家,在许多国家将独裁者和大规模杀人犯当权。 这些例子包括 Syngman Rhee 在韩国和 苏哈托 在印度尼西亚 种族隔离南非 蒙博托 在刚果,拉丁美洲和加勒比地区的军事独裁统治。

目前美国与沙特阿拉伯和波斯湾的其他绝对君主制国家以及西西的埃及和内塔尼亚胡的以色列联盟,清楚地表明美国仍然没有根据他们的独裁主义自由选择其朋友和盟友。

我们甚至也不能声称美国没有威权主义倾向,包括唐纳德特朗普的恐慌,“国会最好的钱可以买到”,白人民族主义的崛起,以及2百万美国人 - 不成比例的色彩谴责者美国古拉格的监禁条款和非人性化条件。

总统候选人还应该认识到,美国通过经济制裁或威胁或使用武力将其政治意愿强加于其他国家的努力本身就是威权主义的危险形式,并公然违反美国所声称的以规则为基础的国际秩序。坚持。

因此,如果我们对此诚实,俄罗斯和中国由于其独裁主义而没有赢得美国政策制定者的敌意,而是因为他们是一个强大的国家,抵制美国对“全球霸权”的野心,正如桑德斯所描述的那样。

作为对这些野心的批评者,桑德斯应该欣赏俄罗斯和中国的困境和他们必须走的好路线,以捍卫自己的主权并在经济上发展,而不会违背这种霸气,破坏性的美国军国主义。

拯救军工综合体的新战争?

在反对共产主义的45年冷战和20年全球反恐战争之后,我们下一任总统最后需要的是新冷战,“威权主义战争”或任何形式的新战争美国外交政策的原则。 威权主义不是美国在军事上可以击败的概念,不仅仅是“共产主义”或“恐怖主义”。

在威权主义是一个国际问题的范围内,它的解决方案在于进步运动和真正的政策解决方案,这将解决新自由主义的不公平现象,改善劳动人民在这里和世界各地的生活。

参议员桑德斯和沃伦已经正确地诊断出了我们社会的许多问题,并帮助制定了严肃的政策建议来解决这些问题,从全民医保到绿色新政。 我们希望这些计划将成为其他国家希望效仿的民主工作的光辉榜样。 但是,当我们几乎没有开始改革我们自己国家的认真工作时,总统候选人不应该谈论将美国民主革命输出到其他国家。

正如代表塔尔西加巴德在她的竞选活动中不断重申的那样,我们不能让这个时刻和这个和平的机会滑入新的冷战。

桑德斯和沃伦可能不会打算批评俄罗斯和中国为五角大楼的记录开支辩护,但军民工业联合体正在抓住民主党人和共和党人对俄罗斯和中国的抨击,正是出于这个目的。 经过数十年的战斗,在阿富汗和中东与游击队失去了战斗,美军现在再次准备打击“同行竞争对手”,即俄罗斯和中国。

五角大楼推出了大规模的FY2020预算提案,金额为750亿 注意到,“凭借70年来最大的研发需求,这一战略驱动的预算对下一代技术进行了必要的投资...... 这项预算所支持的运作和能力将使美国军队在未来几十年内对大国的竞争具有重要地位。“

这就是为什么预算需要这么多高科技,大票 项目:“用于先进飞机的58十亿美元,用于新型[最先进]战舰的35十亿美元,用于太空系统的14十亿美元,用于网络战的10十亿美元,用于AI和自治系统的4.6十亿美元,以及$ 2.6亿万高超音速武器。“

民主党候选人应该注意,以免他们纠缠于“威权主义”的言论,他们对俄罗斯和中国的攻击被军工利益所抓住,并编织成一条生命线,以拯救军工复合体免受真正的致命敌人:和平与裁军。

2002年, 参议员爱德华肯尼迪 他称布什政府的“先发制人”战争政策是“对21世纪美国帝国主义的呼吁,这是任何其他国家都不能或不应该接受的。”经过二十年的顽固暴力和混乱以及衰弱,不断增长的军事预算,有抱负的美国领导人不应该因为美国政策失败或与老敌人掀起新的冷战而指责其他国家。

相反,进步的候选人应该向全世界传递一个明确的信息,即美国终于准备好把这个页面转变为和平,合作和合法外交的新时代。 在他们这样做之前,直到他们在实践中支持它,现在认为俄罗斯和中国承诺不可挽回的敌意和新的军备竞赛还为时过早。

如果没有对和平与裁军的这种真正承诺,下一任总统将发现他或她自己陷入与奥巴马和特朗普同样的束缚中,浪费我们国家的稀缺资源。 记录军费开支 并引发了与俄罗斯和中国的新冷战和军备竞赛,这些国家的人民和美国公众都不愿意。


这篇文章是由 地方和平经济,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 沃尔特耶茨 八月27,2019

    这里的建议是忽略事实。 任何新政府下的五角大楼(卡特以来的每一个人)都会在这个支出上加盖印章。

    办公室里的社会民主主义意识形态会改变这一点。 在任何情况下,无视真相都不是解决方案。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS ANTI WAR

Sanders and Warren Should Know That Demonizing Foreign Regimes Produces a Hefty Pentagon Price Tag

U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders speaking with supporters at a 2016 campaign rally at the Phoenix Convention Center in Phoenix, Arizona. U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren speaking with supporters in April, 2019 at a town hall at Bonanza High School in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Both Photos: Gage Skidmore)
U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders speaking with supporters at a 2016 campaign rally at the Phoenix Convention Center in Phoenix, Arizona. U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren speaking with supporters in April, 2019 at a town hall at Bonanza High School in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Both Photos: Gage Skidmore)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Sanders and Warren may not intend their criticisms of Russia and China to justify record Pentagon spending, but the military-industrial complex is seizing on it for precisely that purpose.

Among the frontrunners in the Democratic Party presidential primary, Senators Warren and Sanders not only have the most progressive domestic agenda, but also the most anti-war, pro-diplomacy foreign policy agenda. The sharpest distinction between them is that Sanders has voted against over 80 percent of recent record military spending bills in the Senate, while Warren has voted for two-thirds of them.

But their pro-diplomacy worldview has blind spots. They have both tempered their calls for peace and diplomacy with attacks on Russia and China, framed as warnings against “authoritarianism.” These attacks—in the present-day context of bipartisan Russia- and China-bashing—carve out an ominous exception to their foreign policy agenda big enough to fly a squadron of F-35s through. This creates a pretext for continuing U.S. militarism and risks undermining their commitment to peace.

Warren’s and Sanders’ Visions

Warren defined her vision of U.S. foreign policy with an article in the January/February 2019 edition of Foreign Affairs. She began, “Around the world, democracy is under assault. Authoritarian governments are gaining power, and right-wing demagogues are gaining strength.” She asked, “How did we get here?” and answered her question with an accurate and intelligent account of the failures of neoliberalism.

Warren explained that, after the Cold War, U.S. policymakers “began to export a particular brand of capitalism, one that involved weak regulations, low taxes on the wealthy, and policies favoring multinational corporations. And the United States took on a series of seemingly endless wars, engaging in conflicts with mistaken or uncertain objectives and no obvious path to completion. The impact of these policy changes has been devastating.”

Warren made a coherent critique of the U.S.’s militarized approach to terrorism, and promised to cut military spending and bring troops home from Afghanistan and Iraq. She champions a No First Use nuclear weapons policy, which would be a long-overdue step toward ending the threat of nuclear annihilation that still hangs over us all.

But Warren also launched a fierce attack on Russia and China, lumping them together with Hungary, Turkey, the Philippines and Brazil under the umbrella of “authoritarianism.”

“This marriage of authoritarianism and corrupt capitalism,” Warren declared, “…allows authoritarian leaders to foment a global crisis of confidence in democracy.” And yet, by her own analysis, it is neoliberal “center-left” and “center-right” governments that have sold out their voters to plutocratic corporate interests and caused this public loss of faith in mainstream politicians and parties. The rise of extreme right-wing leaders like Trump, Bolsonaro and Duterte is the result of this “global crisis of confidence in democracy,” not the cause of it.

Senator Sanders gave a major foreign policy speech in 2017 at Westminster College in Missouri, from the same stage where Churchill made his “iron curtain” speech in 1946. Sanders’ speech laid out a bold, progressive foreign policy agenda, filling in what many people felt was a missing piece in his 2016 campaign.

Sanders quoted President Eisenhower’s farewell speech on the military-industrial complex and his 1953 speech after Stalin’s death, in which Eisenhower called military spending “a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed.”

Eisenhower backed up that rhetoric by slashing U.S. military spending by 39 percent in his first two years in office, and then holding it at about that level for the remainder of his presidency, even under the extreme pressures of the Cold War.

Sanders argued that the U.S. post-Cold War goal of “benevolent global hegemony” had been “utterly discredited,” particularly by “the disastrous Iraq war and the instability and destruction it has brought to the region.” Instead, he went on, “Our goal should be global engagement based on partnership, rather than dominance.”

Sanders went on to talk about how U.S. military and covert interventions in other countries “have caused incalculable harm,” mentioning U.S. roles in the 1953 coup in Iran, the Vietnam War, the 1973 coup in Chile, civil wars in El Salvador and Guatemala, the U.S. war in Iraq, and the Saudi-led war in Yemen.

Sanders contrasted the harm these interventions have done with the success of the post-WWII Marshall Plan, an example of the good that can come from using U.S. power and resources to rebuild war-torn countries instead of using U.S. weapons and covert operations to destroy them.

Connecting his foreign policy with a familiar theme from his domestic agenda, Sanders pointed out that, “The planet will not be secure or peaceful when so few have so much, and so many have so little.” And he looked forward to a day when “human beings on this planet will live in a world where international conflicts will be resolved peacefully, not by mass murder.”

Authoritarianism: From Syngman Rhee and the Shah to Trump and MBS

But, like Warren, Sanders made several references to “authoritarianism,” in particular in relation to Russia, and he has repeated that theme in more recent speeches.

When Sanders cataloged the history of disastrous U.S. interventions in other countries, he neglected to point out that his examples nearly all involved U.S. support for the most extreme, authoritarian right-wing governments of their day.

In fact, throughout the Cold War, the U.S. consistently supported conservative, right-wing parties and politicians in Asia, Africa and Latin America, bringing dictators and mass murderers to power in many countries. The examples range from Syngman Rhee in South Korea and Suharto in Indonesia to apartheid South Africa and Mobutu in the Congo to military dictatorships throughout Latin America and the Caribbean.

Current U.S. alliances with Saudi Arabia and the other absolute monarchies in the Persian Gulf, as well as Sisi’s Egypt and Netanyahu’s Israel, make it clear that the U.S. still does not choose its friends and allies based on their freedom from authoritarianism.

Nor can we even claim that the U.S. is free of authoritarian tendencies, including fear-mongering by Donald Trump, “the best Congress money can buy,” the rise of white nationalism, and 2 million Americans—disproportionately people of color—condemned to harsh prison terms and dehumanizing conditions in an American gulag.

The presidential candidates should also recognize that U.S. efforts to impose its political will on other countries through economic sanctions or by the threat or use of force are themselves a dangerous form of authoritarianism, and flagrant violations of the rules-based international order that the U.S. claims to uphold.

So if we are honest about it, Russia and China have not earned the hostility of U.S. policymakers because of their authoritarianism, but because they are large, powerful countries that have resisted U.S. ambitions for “global hegemony,” as Sanders described it.

As a critic of those ambitions himself, Sanders should appreciate Russia and China’s difficult position and the fine line they have had to walk to defend their sovereignty and develop economically without falling foul of this domineering, destructive U.S. militarism.

A New War to Rescue the Military-Industrial Complex?

After a 45-year Cold War against communism and a 20-year Global War on Terror, the last thing we need from our next president is a New Cold War, a “War on Authoritarianism” or a war of any kind as a new organizing principle for U.S. foreign policy. Authoritarianism is not a concept the U.S. can defeat militarily, any more than “communism” or “terror.”

To the extent that authoritarianism is an international problem, the solution for it lies in progressive movements and in real policy solutions that will reverse the inequities of neoliberalism and improve the lives of working people here and around the world.

Senators Sanders and Warren have correctly diagnosed many of the problems of our society and helped to craft serious policy proposals to address them, from Medicare for All to the Green New Deal. We hope that these programs will be shining examples of democracy at work that other countries will want to emulate. But presidential candidates should not talk about exporting an American democratic revolution to other countries when we have barely begun the serious work of reforming our own country.

As Representative Tulsi Gabbard keeps reiterating in her campaign, we must not let this moment and this chance for peace slip away into a New Cold War.

Sanders and Warren may not intend their criticisms of Russia and China to justify record Pentagon spending, but the military-industrial complex is seizing on the Russia- and China-bashing by both Democrats and Republicans for precisely that purpose. After decades of fighting losing battles with guerrilla forces in Afghanistan and the Middle East, the U.S. military is now once again preparing to combat “peer competitors,” i.e., Russia and China.

Rolling out its massive FY2020 budget proposal of $750 billion, the Pentagon noted, “With the largest research and development request in 70 years, this strategy-driven budget makes necessary investments in next-generation technology…. The operations and capabilities supported by this budget will strongly position the US military for great power competition for decades to come.”

That’s why the budget calls for so many high-tech, big-ticket items: “$58 billion for advanced aircraft, $35 billion for new [state-of-the-art] warships, $14 billion for space systems, $10 billion for cyberwar, $4.6 billion for AI and autonomous systems, and $2.6 billion for hypersonic weapons.”

Democratic candidates should beware lest their tangled rhetoric about “authoritarianism” and their attacks on Russia and China are seized upon by military-industrial interests and braided into a lifeline to rescue the military-industrial complex from its real mortal enemies: peace and disarmament.

In 2002, Senator Edward Kennedy called the Bush administration’s policy of “preemptive” war, “a call for 21st-century American imperialism that no other nation can or should accept.” After two decades of intractable violence and chaos and a debilitating, ever-growing military budget, aspiring U.S. leaders should not be blaming other countries for the failures of U.S. policy or whipping up a new Cold War with old enemies.

Progressive candidates should instead be sending the entire world an unequivocal message that the United States is finally ready to turn the page to a new era of peaceful, cooperative and lawful diplomacy. Until they do, and until they back it up in practice, it is premature to assume that Russia and China are committed to irredeemable hostility and a new arms race.

Without such a genuine commitment to peace and disarmament, the next president will find him- or herself caught in the same bind as Obama and Trump, squandering our country’s scarce resources on record military spending and stoking a New Cold War and arms race with Russia and China that neither the people of those nations nor the American public wants.


This article was produced by Local Peace Economy, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Walter Yeates August 27, 2019

    The suggestion here is to ignore the truth. The Pentagon under any neo cin administration (every one since Carter) is going to rubber stamp this spending.

    A Social Democratic ideology in office would change that. Ignoring the truth is not the solution in any case.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.