اكتب للبحث

أفريقيا تحليل الشرق الأوسط

المملكة العربية السعودية ومصر والإمارات العربية المتحدة قد تشهد مذبحة سودانية "مضاءة خضراء"

متظاهرون يحملون امرأة مصابة خلال مذبحة الخرطوم.
متظاهرون يحملون امرأة مصابة خلال مذبحة الخرطوم. (الصورة: م. صالح)
(الآراء والآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.)

"كان تفريق الاعتصام أحد النقاط الرئيسية في جدول الأعمال الذي تمت مناقشته. وما لم يحصل على الضوء الأخضر من حلفائه الإقليميين لما تمكن من ارتكاب مثل هذه الجريمة ".

وقعت مذبحة في يونيو 3 خارج مقر الجيش في العاصمة السودانية الخرطوم ، حيث قتل أكثر من 100 وأصيب أكثر من 500 وفقًا لجماعات مدنية. حتى قبل وقوع الحدث المأساوي ، كان العديد من النشطاء السودانيين يشككون في دور المملكة العربية السعودية ومصر والإمارات العربية المتحدة في الشؤون السياسية للسودان.

تخريب الانتفاضات المؤيدة للديمقراطية

بعد الإطاحة بالرئيس السوداني عمر البشير في أبريل ، المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة ومصر إرسال وفود رسمية إلى السودان لمقابلة الطغمة العسكرية السودانية واستقبال وفود من الجيش السوداني. يعتقد الكثير من المتظاهرين والخبراء السودانيين أن الدول الاستبدادية لا تريد أن ترى ديمقراطية ناجحة مثبتة في السودان ، وبالتالي ، كانت هذه بداية لتخريب انتفاضة الشعب السوداني ودعوة الشعب إلى الحكم.

مع خروج البشير ، تدخل الجيش السوداني لحكم السودان. منذ الاستيلاء العسكري على السودان ، تعهدت المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة بتقديم مساعدات بقيمة 3 مليار دولار إلى المجلس العسكري السوداني. قالوا إن مبلغًا قدره 500 مليون دولار سيذهب إلى البنك المركزي السوداني ، أما الباقي فسيكون في شكل منتجات غذائية وأدوية وبترولية.

محلل جزائري سوداني أحمد عبد العزيز وقال العين الشرق الأوسط أن التبرعات قد تأتي مع السلاسل المرفقة.

وقال عبد العزيز "من الواضح أنه خلف هذا القمع ، هناك يد المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة".

في 21 أبريل ، تعهدت الرياض وأبو ظبي بتقديم 3bn إلى السودان. لم يفعلوا ذلك دون النظر. وهذا النظير ليس الديمقراطية. إنهم يريدون ... الحفاظ على مصالحهم الاقتصادية ".

وقال محمد العربي زيتوت ، الدبلوماسي الجزائري السابق ، في قناة الحوار العربية التي تتخذ من لندن مقراً لها ، الحوار ، إن السعوديين والإماراتيين عادة ما يستخدمون الأموال لرشوة السياسيين العرب في المنطقة. تضمن الرشاوى أن الدول المستقبلة أو السياسيين سيفعلون بالضبط ما يريدون منهم القيام به ، وهو قمع شعبهم والحفاظ على الأنظمة الاستبدادية.

شهداء مجزرة الخرطوم

مجزرة شهداء الخرطوم (تصوير: م. صالح)

مما أثار شكوكاً بأن المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة كانت وراء تعطيل التحول الديمقراطي في السودان هو حقيقة أنه بعد الإعلان عن حزمة مساعدات بقيمة 3 مليار دولار ، علق المجلس العسكري السوداني المحادثات مع المعارضة في مايو 15 ، وأصر على إبعاد المحتجين حواجز أمام المقر العسكري.

بعد فترة وجيزة من توقف المحادثات مع المعارضة ، التقى ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان ، في مايو 23 ، نائب رئيس المجلس العسكري السوداني وقائد قوات الدعم السريع. في المملكه العربيه السعوديه. تعهدت MBS بـ "استثمار كبير" في السودان وقال المجلس العسكري في بيان.

كما سافر رئيس المجلس العسكري اللواء عبد الفتاح البرهان إلى مصر المجاورة لإجراء محادثات مع الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي. ثم قال برهان إنه لن يقيم علاقات مع أي دولة تعمل ضد مصالح مصر وحلفائها الخليجيين. بعد أيام من تلك الزيارة ، سافر برهان إلى الإمارات للقاء ولي عهد أبو ظبي محمد بن زايد ، الذي "أكد دعم الإمارات العربية المتحدة في الحفاظ على أمن واستقرار السودان" ، وفقاً وكالة انباء.

كما سافر برهان في العاشر من مايو إلى مكة بالمملكة العربية السعودية لحضور اجتماع طارئ للزعماء العرب والخليجيين لمناقشة التوترات مع إيران. ويقال إنه التقى MBS لمناقشة آخر التطورات الإقليمية.

ثم في يونيو 6 ، عين الشرق الأوسط (MEE) تقريرا حيث أخبر خبير عسكري سوداني مجهول MEE أن المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة ومصر يجب أن تكون قد أخفقت في خطة تفكيك الاعتصام المدني خارج المقر العسكري في الخرطوم. وفقا للخبير المجهول ، نوقشت خطط لتفريق الاعتصام المدني خلال زيارات المجلس العسكري السوداني الأخيرة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة ومصر.

وقال الخبير في معرض الشرق الأوسط: "كان تفريق الاعتصام أحد النقاط الرئيسية في جدول الأعمال الذي تمت مناقشته". "ما لم يحصل على الضوء الأخضر من حلفائه الإقليميين لما تمكن من ارتكاب مثل هذه الجريمة."

تأثير دول الخليج في السودان

صلاح غوش ، رئيس التجسس السابق في السودان ، وقال السياسة الخارجية أن مشاركة الإمارات العربية المتحدة زادت بشكل كبير بعد إزالة البشير. تم تنصيب غوش نفسه رئيسًا لجهاز المخابرات السوداني بدعم من المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات ، وفقًا لمسؤولين أمريكيين حاليين وسابقين ، وفقًا لما أوردته السياسة الخارجية. وقال غوش إن الإمارات العربية المتحدة دفعت الانقلاب بينما لم تشارك المملكة العربية السعودية ومصر.

تقارير أخرى ، ومع ذلك ، مثل واحد من وكالة أسوشيتيد بريس (AP) ، ذكر أن جميع الدول العربية الثلاث دفعت لإقالة البشير في السودان جزئياً بسبب تحول ولائه نحو الدول المتنافسة. كما أشار تقرير وكالة الأسوشييتد برس إلى مسؤولين أمنيين مصريين مجهولين زعموا أن الدول الثلاث كانت مدفوعة للتدخل خشية أن يتولى الإسلاميون السلطة في السودان والتأثير المتزايد للإخوان المسلمين.

وقال مسؤول أمريكي إنه مع غياب الولايات المتحدة في السودان ، فإن دول الخليج تملأ الفراغ وتدير العرض.

"إن قادة وحكومات المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة ومصر لا يشاركوننا قيمنا الديمقراطية الأساسية ، وأن وجهات نظرهم بشأن ما ينبغي أن يحدث في السودان تختلف بشكل كبير عن السياسات التي ينبغي أن تتبعها الولايات المتحدة" ، جوني كارسون ، المساعد الأمريكي السابق وزير الخارجية، وقال السياسة الخارجية.

في بيان صدر الأسبوع الماضياتهم تحالف المحامين الديمقراطيين المعارض في السودان "بعض الدول العربية" بدعم المجلس العسكري من أجل حماية مصالحهم في البلاد. طلبوا من تلك الدول رفع أيديهم عن السودان والتوقف عن دعم المجلس العسكري وتوطيد أركان حكمه.

المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة يتهمهما الآن الكثير لتكون الدوافع الرئيسية منذ الربيع العربي من الانتفاضات المناهضة للديمقراطية في المنطقة العربية. تدخلوا في مصر من خلال دعم الجيش في انقلابهم على أول رئيس منتخب ديمقراطياً في مصر ، محمد مرسي. في ليبيا ، قاموا بتسليح الجنرال خليفة حفتر من أجل السيطرة على طرابلس وإنهاء المجلس الانتقالي المنتخب ديمقراطياً هناك.

لكن اليمن وسوريا هما أكثر الأمثلة دموية في المنطقة. أجرى السعوديون والإماراتيون حربًا بالوكالة في سوريا وشكلوا ائتلافًا في اليمن ، حيث ادعوا أن يقاتلوا ميليشيا الحوثيين المدعومة من إيران ، لكنهم ارتكبوا فظائع باسمهم.

والسؤال الحقيقي الذي يجب طرحه عن المذبحة في السودان هو: ماذا يعني إذا أعطى السعوديون المذبحة ضوءًا أخضر عندما يكونوا حليفًا تدعمه الولايات المتحدة؟ وهل يمكن للسعوديين والإماراتيين الموافقة على المذبحة في السودان دون موافقة الولايات المتحدة؟

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AFRICA ANALYSIS MIDDLE EAST

Saudi Arabia, Egypt and UAE May Have ‘Green Lighted’ Sudanese Massacre

Protestors carrying an injured woman during Khartoum massacre.
Protestors carrying an injured woman during Khartoum massacre. (Photo: M.Saleh)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“The breaking up of the sit-in was one of the main points on the agenda that was discussed. Unless he got the green light from his regional allies he would not have been able to commit such a crime.”

A massacre took place June 3 outside the army headquarters in Sudan’s capital of Khartoum, where more than 100 people were killed and over 500 were injured according to civilian groups. Even before the tragic event occurred, many Sudanese activists were suspicious about the role of Saudi Arabia, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in Sudan’s political affairs.

Sabotaging Pro-Democracy Uprisings

After the ousting of Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir in April, Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Egypt sent official delegations to Sudan to meet with the Sudanese military junta and received delegations from the Sudanese military. Many Sudanese protesters and experts believe that the authoritarian countries do not want to see a successful democracy installed in Sudan and thus, this was the beginning of a sabotage of the Sudanese people’s uprising and call for a rule by the people.

With Bashir out, Sudan’s military stepped in to rule Sudan. Since the military takeover of Sudan, Saudi Arabia and the UAE jointly pledged $3 billion worth of aid to the Sudanese military council. They said that $500 million would go to the Sudanese central bank, and the rest would be in the form of food, medicine and petroleum products.

An Algerian-Sudanese analyst Ahmed Abdelaziz told the Middle East Eye that the donations would have come with strings attached.

“It is obvious that behind this repression, there is the hand of Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates,” said Abdelaziz.

“On 21 April, Riyadh and Abu Dhabi pledged $3bn to Sudan. They did not do it without consideration. And this counterpart is not democracy. They want… their economic interests to be preserved.”

Mohamed Larbi Zitout, a former Algerian diplomat, said on the London-based Arabic language TV station, Al-Hiwar, that Saudis and Emiratis usually use money to bribe Arab politicians in the region. The bribes guarantee that receiving countries or politicians will do exactly what they want them to do, which is to repress their own people and preserve authoritarian regimes.

Martyrs of the Khartoum Massacre

Martyrs of the Khartoum Massacre (Photo: M.Saleh)

Fueling suspicions that Saudi Arabia and the UAE were behind the disruption of Sudan’s democratic transition is the fact that right after the announcement of the $3 billion dollar aid package, Sudan’s military council suspended talks with the opposition on May 15, and insisted that protesters remove barricades in front of the military headquarters.

Soon after the disruption of talks with the opposition, on May 23, Sudan’s military council deputy and the commander of the rapid support forces, Mohamed Hamdan Dagolo (widely known as Hemeti and a former Janjaweed militia leader), met Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman in Saudi Arabia. MBS pledged a “vast investment” in Sudan, as the military council said in a statement.

Military council head General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan also traveled to neighboring Egypt for talks with President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi. Burhan then said he would not forge relationships with any nation working against the interests of Egypt and its Gulf allies. Days after that visit, Burhan flew to the UAE to meet Abu Dhabi’s Crown Prince Mohamed bin Zayed, who “affirmed the UAE’s support in preserving Sudan’s security and stability,” according to the Associated Press.

Burhan also traveled on May 30 to Mecca, Saudi Arabia for an emergency meeting of Arab and Gulf leaders to discuss tensions with Iran. He reportedly met MBS to discuss the latest regional developments.

Then on June 6, the Middle East Eye (MEE) published a report where an anonymous Sudanese military expert told MEE that Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Egypt must have green-lighted the plan to break up the civilian sit-in outside military headquarters in Khartoum. According to the anonymous expert, plans to disperse the civilian sit-in had been discussed during the Sudanese military council’s recent visits to Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Egypt.

“The breaking up of the sit-in was one of the main points on the agenda that was discussed,” the expert told MEE. “Unless he got the green light from his regional allies he would not have been able to commit such a crime.”

Gulf States Growing Influence in Sudan

Salah Gosh, Sudan’s influential former spy chief, told Foreign Policy that UAE involvement increased significantly after the removal of Bashir. Gosh himself was installed as head of Sudan’s intelligence service with the support of Saudi Arabia and the Emirates, according to current and former U.S. officials, as reported by Foreign Policy. Gosh said that the UAE pushed the coup while Saudi Arabia and Egypt were not involved.

Other reports, however, such as one from the Associated Press (AP), mentioned that all three Arab countries pushed for Bashir’s removal in Sudan in part because of his shifting loyalties towards rival countries. The AP report also cited anonymous Egyptian security officials that claimed all three countries were motivated to intervene out of fear of Islamists taking power in Sudan and the growing influence of the Muslim Brotherhood.

One U.S. official said that with the absence of the U.S. in Sudan, the Gulf States are filling the void and running the show.

“The leaders and governments of Saudi Arabia, UAE, and Egypt do not share our fundamental democratic values, and their views on what should happen in Sudan diverge significantly from the policies the United States should be pursuing,” Johnnie Carson, the former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State, told Foreign Policy.

In a statement released last week, the opposing Democratic Alliance of Lawyers in Sudan accused “some Arab countries” of supporting the military council in order to protect their own interests in the country. They asked those countries to lift their hands from Sudan and stop supporting the Military Council and consolidating the pillars of its rule.

Saudi Arabia and the UAE are now accused by many to be the main drivers since the Arab Spring of anti-democratic uprisings in the Arab region. They interfered in Egypt by supporting the military in their coup d’état of Egypt’s first democratically elected president, Mohamed Morsy. In Libya, they armed General Khalifa Haftar in order to take over Tripoli and end the democratically-elected transitional council there.

But Yemen and Syria are the bloodiest examples in the region. The Saudis and Emiratis conducted a proxy war in Syria and formed a coalition in Yemen where they claimed to fight the Iranian backed Houthi militia but instead commit atrocities in their name.

The real question to ask of the massacre in Sudan is: what does it mean if the Saudis give the massacre a green light when they are a U.S. backed ally? And is it possible for the Saudis and Emiratis to approve of the massacre in Sudan without the consent of the United States?

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.