输入搜索

警察/监狱 TRENDING警察/监狱

特朗普政府为流动儿童使用前日本拘留营

在2019寻求庇护的许多移民已带着孩子前往边境。 照片来自Jenna Mulligan
在2019寻求庇护的许多移民已带着孩子前往边境。 (照片:Jenna Mulligan)

“我们处于全面紧急状态,我不能说这更强大,系统已经破裂。”

据报道,特朗普政府计划将一千多名被拘留的儿童留在一个军事基地,在第二次世界大战期间被用作日裔美国人的拘留营。

美国国土安全部监察长办公室发布了一份报告,详细说明了多个拘留设施的“恶劣”状况,这一消息发布仅一周,这引起观察者的强烈抗议,他们认为总统的强硬移民议程是非人道和反美的。

“因为我们观察到新泽西州Adelanto和新泽西州艾塞克斯县的设施存在直接风险或严重违反拘留标准的行为,包括被拘留者牢房中的绞刑,过度限制性的隔离,医疗保健不足,未报告的安全事故以及重大的食品安全问题,在我们访问这两个设施后向ICE发布了个人报告,“他说 监察长的报告.

11,000无人陪伴的儿童仅在5月就抵达边境,40,900在2019的前四个月被拘留。 时间。 特朗普政府选择将无人陪伴的儿童送到俄克拉荷马城的西尔堡,这是一个前拘留营,由于危机的规模庞大,估计在第二次世界大战期间被剥夺了家中的120,000日本人。

特朗普不是第一个使用前拘留营的人

奥巴马政府还在2014将数千名儿童留在西尔堡堡四个月,但自前总统离任以来,这个问题已经严重恶化。 作为代理海关和边境巡逻专员约翰桑德斯 描述,“我们处于一个全面的紧急状态,我不能说这更强大,系统已经破裂。”

虽然以前的拘留营的使用并不是特朗普总统所独有的,但批评人士认为,在一个采取移民立场的政府中,许多人认为这种做法具有不必要的残酷性。

特朗普政府最近 公布 它将削减无人陪伴儿童的英语课和游乐场通道,称它将“开始缩减或终止UAC(无人陪伴未成年人)活动的奖励,这些活动对于保护生命和安全不是直接必要的,包括教育服务,法律服务和娱乐。”

扣留利润

但特朗普政府辩称,由于没有足够的资金为被拘留的儿童提供体面的生活条件,批评者指出私人公司从政府的零容忍议程中获得的利润丰厚的合同。

在2018,联邦政府花费了7.4十亿美元用于移民拘留和处理,与GEO集团和CoreCivic等私人监狱公司合作 成为最大的受益者 从支出激增。 根据联邦合同,GEO集团和CoreCivic在过去四年中“分别获得了85百万美元和121百万美元的增长”。 彭博政府。 与此同时,摩根大通(JP Morgan)和富国银行(Wells Fargo)等主要银行向私人监狱行业提供数亿贷款,直到被迫放弃公众抗议。

“移民系统被用作从社区中提取财富的工具,或者至少作为将纳税人资金流入私营部门的工具,”惩教责任项目主任Bianca Tylek告诉他们。 在这些时候.

GEO集团和CoreCivic的股票 飙升100% 特朗普当选后,两人都很慷慨 竞选捐助者 致总统 这些私营公司,以及非营利组织 西南重点项目 (收到了 626 百万加元 在2018的联邦拨款中,人们经常面临对移民的非人道待遇的指控,批评者说,政府几乎没有提供任何疏忽。

滥用移民

据拦截报道1,200和2010之间提交了超过2017对公共和私人成人拘留设施性侵犯的指控,以及 警方报告指出 数以百计的事件使儿童受害。 西南钥匙的一名艾滋病毒阳性工作者是 八月收费 骚扰至少八名未成年人; 其他西南重点病例涉及与6一样年轻的儿童。 “如果你是捕食者,它就是一个金矿,”一位精神病医生说。

未经证实的 报告 of 自杀 在监护期间死亡 调查记者写道,封锁了严峻的一幕 大卫Dayen.

原国土安全部部长 约翰·凯利 最近的一个例子是移民镇压与私人承包商之间的旋转门,以便为此提供便利。 凯利现在正在为Caliburn International提供咨询服务,该公司管理综合健康服务公司,该公司经营多个儿童扣留设施。 根据 哥伦比亚广播公司新闻 凯利将为该公司提供建议,该公司可以在340月份获得超过6百万美元的联邦资金,特别是在儿童拘留方面。

参议员伊丽莎白沃伦和众议员普拉米拉贾亚萨尔派出了一个 公开信 致Caliburn首席执行官要求提供有关凯利任命的更多信息。

“令人沮丧的是,凯利将军在几十年的公共服务中利用他的立场实施了这些残酷的政策,然后让政府从他们身上获利,我们对凯利将军忽视他从卡利布尔委员会辞职的请求感到失望董事,“立法者 .

“一夜之夜”一书的作者安德里亚·皮泽尔(Andrea Pitzer)认为,特朗普政府的政策将是一本关于集中营历史的书。 继续恶化.

“他们似乎没有计划如何处理这个问题,除了惩罚难民,寻求庇护者,”皮泽尔说。 MSNBC.

“我希望看到传染病,某些情况下的营养不良以及精神健康危机,”Pitzer说。 “我们很快就会有这个; 可能已有报道称。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON TRENDING-POLICE/PRISON

Trump Administration To Use Former Japanese Internment Camp For Migrant Children

Many migrants requesting asylum in 2019 have traveled to the border with children. Photo by Jenna Mulligan
Many migrants requesting asylum in 2019 have traveled to the border with children. Photo by Jenna Mulligan

“We are in a full-blown emergency, and I cannot say this stronger, the system is broken.”

The Trump administration is reportedly planning on keeping more than a thousand detained children in a military base that was used as an internment camp for Japanese Americans during World War II.

The news comes only a week after the Department of Homeland Security’s Office of the Inspector General released a report detailing the “egregious” conditions of multiple detention facilities, drawing an outcry from observers who consider the president’s hardline immigration agenda inhumane and anti-American.

“Because we observed immediate risks or egregious violations of detention standards at facilities in Adelanto, CA, and Essex County, NJ, including nooses in detainee cells, overly restrictive segregation, inadequate medical care, unreported security incidents, and significant food safety issues, we issued individual reports to ICE after our visits to these two facilities,” said the Inspector General’s report.

11,000 unaccompanied children arrived at the border in May alone, and 40,900 were detained in the four previous months of 2019, according to Time. The Trump administration has chosen to send unaccompanied children to Oklahoma City’s Fort Sill, a former internment camp that housed an estimated 120,000 Japanese Americans stripped from their homes during World War II, because of the overwhelming scale of the crisis.

Trump Not the First to Use Former Internment Camps

The Obama administration also kept thousands of children at Fort Sill for four months in 2014, but the problem has drastically worsened since the former president left office. As Acting Customs and Border Patrol Commissioner John Sanders described, “We are in a full-blown emergency, and I cannot say this stronger, the system is broken.”

While the usage of former internment camps is not unique to President Trump, critics view it as particularly symbolic under an administration that has taken an immigration stance many consider to be unnecessarily cruel.

The Trump administration recently announced it would cut English lessons and playground access for unaccompanied children, saying it would “begin scaling back or discontinuing awards for U.A.C. (unaccompanied minor) activities that are not directly necessary for the protection of life and safety, including education services, legal services, and recreation.”

Detention For Profit

But while the Trump administration argues it does not have enough funds to provide decent living conditions to detained children, critics point to the lucrative contracts private companies have gained from the zero-tolerance agenda of the administration.

In 2018, the federal government spent $7.4 billion on immigration detention and processing, with private prison companies like GEO Group and CoreCivic being top beneficiaries from the surge in spending. GEO Group and CoreCivic “received boosts of $85 million and $121 million respectively” in federal contracts over the past four years, according to Bloomberg Government. Meanwhile, major banks like JP Morgan and Wells Fargo provided hundreds of millions in loans to the private prison industry, until being forced to divest from public outcry.

“The immigration system is used as a vehicle to extract wealth from communities, or at the very least as a vehicle to launder taxpayer money into the private sector,” Bianca Tylek, director of the Corrections Accountability Project, told In These Times.

GEO Group and CoreCivic’s stocks surged 100% after Trump’s election, and both have been generous campaign donors to the president. These private companies, along with nonprofits like Southwest Key Programs (which received $626 million in federal grants in 2018), have faced frequent allegations of inhumane treatment of migrants, and critics say the government has provided little to no oversight.

Abuse of Migrants

According to a report from The Intercept, more than 1,200 allegations of sexual assault at both public and privately run adult detention facilities were filed between 2010 and 2017, and police reports indicate hundreds more incidents victimizing children. One HIV-positive worker at Southwest Key was charged in August with molesting at least eight minors; other Southwest Key cases involve children as young as 6. “If you’re a predator, it’s a gold mine,” said one psychiatrist.

Unconfirmed reports of suicides and deaths in custody cap off the grim scene, wrote investigative journalist David Dayen.

Former Department of Homeland Security Secretary John Kelly is a recent example of the revolving door between the immigration crackdown and the private contractors paid to facilitate it. Kelly is now advising Caliburn International, which manages Comprehensive Health Services, Inc., a company that runs multiple child detainment facilities. According to CBS News Kelly will advise the company, which could receive $340 million in federal funding over 6 months, specifically on child detention.

Sen. Elizabeth Warren and Rep. Pramila Jayapal sent an open letter to the CEO of Caliburn requesting more information on Kelly’s appointment.

“It is disheartening that General Kelly, with his decades of public service, used his position to implement such cruel policies and then left the government to profit from them, and we are disappointed that General Kelly has ignored requests that he resign from the Caliburn Board of Directors,” the lawmaker wrote.

Andrea Pitzer, the author of “One Long Night,” a book about the history of concentration camps, believes the Trump administration’s policies will continue to worsen.

“They don’t seem to have a plan on how to deal with this, other than to punish the refugees, the asylum seekers,” Pitzer told MSNBC.

“I expect to see contagious diseases, malnutrition in some cases, and mental health crises,” Pitzer said. “We’re going to have that very soon; there might be reports already coming of that.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.