输入搜索

公司文化

斯嘉丽约翰逊:她应该被允许扮演任何人吗?

斯嘉丽·约翰逊
斯嘉丽约翰逊,2012。 (照片:©JCS)

“如果我们只是让别人有自己的感受而不希望每个人都能感受到我们的行为,我认为社会会更紧密。”

当谈到扮演某些电影角色时,电影女演员斯嘉丽约翰逊显然反对政治正确性。

在当前的问题 仿佛 杂志,超级明星说:“我应该被允许玩任何人,或任何树,或任何动物,因为这是我的工作和我的工作要求。”

她的声明似乎是为了回应她去年在即将到来的项目中扮演跨性别者的强烈反对, 擦和浴缸。 批评者被冒犯了,这个角色没有给予真正的跨性别者。 这位女演员最初拒绝退缩,但最终放弃了这个角色。

约翰逊还因为在2017电影中担任主角而面临过此前的审查 攻壳机动队,基于日本流行的漫画和以亚洲主角为中心的动漫,约翰逊最终描绘了这一漫画。

她的新人 访问 并非完全是关于政治正确性,但“好莱坞收入最高的女演员”似乎坦率地说。

“我觉得这是我的业务趋势,它需要因各种社会原因而发生,但有时它会影响艺术时感到不舒服,因为我认为艺术应该没有限制,”她说。

“我认为,如果我们只是允许其他人有自己的感受而不希望每个人都能感受到我们的行为,那么社会就会更加紧密联系起来,”她继续道。

这不是约翰逊第一次谴责政治正确性。 面对可能扮演跨性别男人的争议 擦和浴缸她举了一些过去扮演跨性格角色的演员的例子,比如Jeffrey Tambor,Jared Leto和Felicity Huffman。

不出所料,她的新评论 仿佛 杂志点燃了 反弹 在媒体中,指责是不敏感,有权利,没有思想 - 以及白人特权的一个例子。 其含义是,有色人种和LGBTQ的演员需要更多的机会,而那些基本上扮演描绘这些人的角色的白人演员只会剥夺他们的机会。

有趣的是,当一个有色人物描绘出一个传统上是高加索人的角色时,就会有人称赞,例如最近的人物 铸件 非洲裔美国女演员哈莉贝利在迪士尼的即将到来 小美人鱼。 虽然这个消息也遭到了强烈反对,但同样支持贝利的人是否会捍卫约翰逊声称演员应该能够扮演任何角色,而不管种族呢?

约翰逊也接受了她的新采访 仿佛 - 自称 为了“点击诱饵”,她的话只是脱离了背景。

她解释说她只是在采访中回答了一个问题,即“关于政治正确与艺术之间的对立”。

“我个人认为,在一个理想的世界里,任何一个演员都应该能够扮演任何人,各种形式的艺术应该对政治正确性免疫。 这就是我正在制造的一点,虽然没有遇到过这种情况,“她澄清道。

约翰逊还补充道:“我认识到,实际上,我的行业普遍存在差异,偏向于高加索人,顺式性别的演员,而且并非所有演员都有同样的机会获得我的荣誉。 我继续支持并始终保持每个行业的多样性,并将继续为包含每个人的项目而战。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

1评论

  1. Willis E. Blackmore July 15, 2019

    哦,来吧! 当然,变性演员会很棒,但演员扮演各种各样的角色。 这就是他们的所作所为!

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Scarlett Johansson: Should She ‘Be Allowed to Play Any Person?’

Scarlett Johansson
Scarlett Johansson, 2012. (Photo: © JCS)

“I think society would be more connected if we just allowed others to have their own feelings and not expect everyone to feel the way we do.”

Movie actress Scarlett Johansson apparently spoke out against political correctness when it comes to being cast in certain film roles.

In the current issue of As If magazine, the superstar said “I should be allowed to play any person, or any tree, or any animal because that is my job and the requirements of my job.”

Her statement would seem to be in response to the backlash she received last year for being cast as a trans man in an upcoming project, Rub & Tub. Detractors were offended that the role wasn’t given to an actual trans actor. The actress initially refused to back down, but eventually relinquished the role.

Johansson also faced previous scrutiny for being cast as the lead in the 2017 movie Ghost in the Shell, based on a popular Japanese manga and anime that centered on an Asian protagonist, which Johansson ultimately portrayed.

Her new interview was not exclusively about political correctness, but the “highest-paid actress in Hollywood” appeared to address it candidly.

“I feel like it’s a trend in my business and it needs to happen for various social reasons, yet there are times it does get uncomfortable when it affects the art because I feel art should be free of restrictions,” she said.

“I think society would be more connected if we just allowed others to have their own feelings and not expect everyone to feel the way we do,” she continued.

This isn’t the first time Johansson rebuked political correctness. When facing the controversy over potentially playing a trans man in Rub & Tub, she gave examples of cisgendered actors who played trans characters in the past such as Jeffrey Tambor, Jared Leto, and Felicity Huffman.

Unsurprisingly, her new comments with As If magazine have ignited backlash in the media, with accusations of being insensitive, entitled, and thoughtless—as well as an example of white privilege. The implications are that actors who are people of color and LGBTQ need more opportunities and that white cisgendered actors who essentially take on roles depicting these very people only deprives them of it.

Interestingly, there has been praise when a person of color portrays a character who was traditionally Caucasian, such as the recent casting of African-American actress Halle Bailey in Disney’s upcoming The Little Mermaid. Although the news was also met with significant backlash, would the same people who support Bailey defend Johansson’s claims that an actor should be able to play any character, regardless of race then?

Johansson has also followed up on her new interview with As Ifclaiming that her words were simply taken out of context for the sake of “click bait”.

She explained that she was merely answering a question in her interview “about the confrontation between political correctness and art.”

“I personally feel that, in an ideal world, any actor should be able to play anybody and art, in all forms, should be immune to political correctness. That is the point I was making, albeit didn’t come across that way,” she clarified.

Johansson also added: “I recognize that in reality, there is a widespread discrepancy amongst my industry that favors Caucasian, cis-gendered actors and that not every actor has been given the same opportunities that I have been privileged to. I continue to support, and always have, diversity in every industry and will continue to fight for projects where everyone is included.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

1 Comment

  1. Willis E. Blackmore July 15, 2019

    Oh, come on! Certainly, a transgender actor would be great, but actors play all kinds of roles. That’s what they do!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.