输入搜索

国家

参议院推出法案,以阻止特朗普地产的纳税人资助旅行

海军陆战队一号总统唐纳德·J·特朗普登陆Mar-a-Lago作为一架护航直升机在星期五,三月29,2019徘徊
海军陆战队一号总统唐纳德·J·特朗普登陆Mar-a-Lago作为一架护航直升机于3月29,2019星期五徘徊。 (照片:Joyce N. Boghosian,白宫官方照片)

根据CREW的说法,总统已经花了将近三分之一的总统职位,以纳税人的费用来访问他的商业地产。

超过30参议院民主党本周提出了一项法律,禁止纳税人资金用于特朗普总统拥有的财产。 该提议是在有报道显示空军频繁留在特朗普的房产之后,以及在报告一个月之后 华盛顿道德与责任公民(CREW) 发现自从362就职以来,特朗普已经以纳税人的价格至少访问了他的房产2017次。

“以来 特朗普总统 上任后,美国人民目睹了前所未有的安排,将纳税人的钱汇入总统的口袋,“ 说过 参议员加里彼得斯,领导该立法,是国土安全和政府事务委员会的最高民主党人。

这项名为“加强对旅行,饮食和住宿的监督”或“国际法案”的法案将对这一问题进行监督 船员 自总统就职以来,已发现“至少从630特朗普政府官员那里访问过特朗普财产”。 由于总统拒绝剥离他的业务或对他的财务保持透明,不知道他从公共职位中获利多少。

“没有其他总统在服务期间保留了大规模全球业务的所有权,因此这位总统的自我充实和利益冲突代表了对民主的独特和前所未有的侮辱,”CREW的执行董事Noah Bookbinder说。

90名国会议员已让188访问特朗普财产,111外国官员留在特朗普财产,政治团体在特朗普就职典礼后在总统的财产上举办过63活动。 船员引导批评者不仅关注总统利用办公室来丰富自己,还关注特殊利益集团通过留在总统酒店和度假村来购买影响力的能力。

“特朗普组织与白宫之间的这种腐败关系使得美国公众对于总统的决定和政策是否符合国家的最佳利益,或者是否符合总统自身利益的最大利益而陷入困境,”Bookbinder说。 “新闻周刊”。 根据CREW的说法,总统已经花了将近三分之一的总统职位,以纳税人的费用来访问他的商业地产。

最近的启示表明 纳税人资金已被用于多晚住宿 由特朗普的空军在苏格兰的坦伯利度假村刺激参议员推动该法案。

最近的其他争议包括司法部长威廉巴尔 消费$ 30,000 为即将到来的圣诞派对和副总统Mike Pence预订特朗普酒店 三个小时的路程 留在苏格兰的特朗普物业。

“该法案中包含的明确规则将有助于各机构确保他们履行这一至关重要的义务,并帮助国会确保其所占用的纳税人资金不会遭受浪费,欺诈或滥用,”Bookbinder说。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Senate Introduces Bill To Stop Tax Payer-Funded Travel At Trump Properties

President Donald J. Trump aboard Marine One lands back at Mar-a-Lago as an escort helicopter hovers Friday, March 29, 2019
President Donald J. Trump aboard Marine One lands back at Mar-a-Lago as an escort helicopter hovers Friday, March 29, 2019. (Photo: Joyce N. Boghosian, official White House photo)

According to CREW, the president has spent nearly a third of his presidency visiting his business properties at taxpayer expense.

More than 30 Senate Democrats proposed a law this week to ban the spending of taxpayer funds on properties owned by President Trump. The proposal comes in the wake of reports showing frequent Air Force stays at Trump properties, and a month after a report by Citizens for Ethics and Responsibility in Washington (CREW) found that Trump has visited his properties at least 362 times at taxpayer expense since his 2017 inauguration.

“Since President Trump took office, the American people have witnessed an unprecedented arrangement that has funneled taxpayer dollars into the President’s pockets,” said Sen. Gary Peters, who led the legislation and is the top Democrat on the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee.

The bill, called the Heightened Oversight of Travel, Eating and Lodging or HOTEL Act, would put oversight to what CREW has found as a “recorded 630 visits to Trump properties from at least 250 Trump administration officials” since the president’s inauguration. With the president refusing to divest from his businesses or be transparent about his finances, its unknown how much he has profited from his public position.

“No other president has retained ownership of a massive global business while serving, so this president’s self-enrichment and conflicts of interest represent a unique and unprecedented affront to the democracy,” said CREW’s executive director Noah Bookbinder.

Ninety members of Congress have made 188 visits to a Trump property, 111 foreign officials have stayed at Trump properties, and political groups have hosted 63 events at the president’s properties since Trump’s inauguration according to CREW, leading critics to be concerned not only about the president using the office to enrich himself but also the ability of special interests to buy influence by staying at the president’s hotels and resorts.

“This corrupt relationship between the Trump Organization and the White House leaves the American public in the dark about whether presidential decisions and policy are being made in the best interest of the country or in the best interest of the president’s own bottom line,” Bookbinder told Newsweek. According to CREW, the president has spent nearly a third of his presidency visiting his business properties at taxpayer expense.

The recent revelations that taxpayer funds have been used for multi-night stays by the Air Force at Trump Turnberry resort in Scotland spurred the senators to push the bill.

Other recent controversies include Attorney General William Barr spending $30,000 to book Trump hotel for an upcoming Christmas party and Vice President Mike Pence going three hours out of his way to stay at a Trump property in Scotland.

“The clear rules included in this bill would help agencies ensure that they are living up to this crucial obligation going forward, and help Congress ensure that the taxpayer dollars it appropriates are not subject to waste, fraud or abuse,” said Bookbinder

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.