输入搜索

国家

民主党候选人在纽约新报告发布后呼吁卡瓦诺的弹劾

Brett Kavanaugh在听到Christine Blasey Ford的性攻击指控时。 (图片:YouTube)
Brett Kavanaugh在听到Christine Blasey Ford的性攻击指控时。 (图片:YouTube)

“昨天,我们得知了另一起针对布雷特卡瓦诺的指控 - 我们在被确认之前没有发现这一点,因为参议院强迫联邦调查局匆忙调查以挽救他的提名。 我们知道他在誓言下撒谎。 他应该被弹劾。“

多名2020总统候选人呼吁在新任命后弹劾最高法院大法官布雷特卡瓦诺 “纽约时报” 报告披露了新的性行为不端指控以及去年快速追踪FBI调查的细节,这些调查忽略了对涉及此事的二十多名证人的质疑。

这份报告来自 两位记者,罗宾波格宾和凯特凯利去年在他的确认听证会上,他花了最后一个10月来调查Kavanaugh的性侵犯指控。 最具破坏性的启示涉及卡瓦诺耶鲁同学黛博拉·拉米雷斯的指控,他声称卡瓦诺在新生年的宿舍聚会上“拉下裤子,将阴茎插入她的身体”。

虽然参议院决定拉米雷斯的故事在当时缺乏足够的佐证,但该报告显示至少有七个人“在卡瓦诺先生担任联邦法官之前很久就听说过耶鲁事件”,并且拉米雷斯的法律团队向联邦调查局提供了一份清单。 “至少25个人可能已经证实了她的故事”,但该局“没有采访过他们”。

“这个过程是假的,”参议员Amy Klobuchar周日告诉美国广播公司快速跟踪的FBI调查。

该局还没有采访过拉米雷斯和卡瓦诺的同学马克斯斯蒂尔,后者管理着一个非营利组织的非营利组织,他在当时的“一个不同的醉酒宿舍派对”中通知联邦调查局和参议院类似的事件。 然而,周日“泰晤士报”在文章中附上了一条说明,澄清了斯蒂尔提到的女学生拒绝接受采访,她的朋友说她不记得这件事,“ 政治促使特朗普周一在Twitter上大肆宣传:

“'纽约时报回过头来报道Kavanaugh袭击事件。' @foxandfriends,“特朗普发推文。 “实际遭到殴打的人是卡瓦诺大法官 - 被谎言和假新闻殴打! 这就是LameStream Media与他们的合作伙伴Dems合作。“

多名2020民主党总统候选人对联邦调查局调查不充分的消息作出反应,并对拉米雷斯的故事进行了未经证实的证实,作为卡瓦诺弹劾的理由。

“这些最新的启示令人不安,”来自马萨诸塞州的民主党参议员伊丽莎白沃伦说 在Twitter上写道 关于泰晤士报的文章。 “就像任命他的人一样,卡瓦诺应该被弹劾。”

参议员卡玛拉哈里斯写道:“他通过虚假程序被判入狱,他在法庭上的地位是对追求真相和正义的侮辱。”

批评者认为,卡瓦诺已经因为强烈否认参与狂饮或不恰当的性行为而破坏了他的可信度,因为他的几个同学提出了相互矛盾的说法。 Chad Ludington,Kavanaugh以前的同学之一, 说他成了 喝醉时“好战和好斗”。

“在大学里喝啤酒没问题。 问题在于它,“Kavanaugh的耶鲁同学之一Liz Swisher说 美国有线电视新闻网。 批评者指出 多个其他矛盾 关于他的年鉴和以前的案件在他的听证会上作为证明他 在誓言下撒谎.

“昨天,我们得知了另一起针对布雷特卡瓦诺的指控 - 我们在被确认之前没有发现这一点,因为参议院强迫联邦调查局匆忙调查以挽救他的提名。 我们知道他在誓言下撒谎。 他应该被弹劾,“推特Beto O'Rourke。

特朗普总统对报告作出回应说,卡瓦诺应该“开始起诉人们诽谤,或者司法部应该来救他。”

“他是一个无辜受到虐待的无辜男人,” 特朗普写道。 “关于他的谎言。 他们想吓唬他变成自由党!“

星期六, 纽约时报报道 司法部长Barr向支持Kavanaugh听证会的律师颁发司法部颁发的杰出服务奖 法律分析师Elie Honig说 “通常会针对那些针对恐怖分子,腐败政客,贩毒集团,有组织犯罪企业等提出最大案件的检察官。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Democratic Candidates Call For Kavanaugh’s Impeachment After New NYT Report

Brett Kavanaugh during his hearing over Christine Blasey Ford's sexual assault allegations. (Photo: YouTube)
Brett Kavanaugh during his hearing over Christine Blasey Ford's sexual assault allegations. (Photo: YouTube)

“Yesterday, we learned of another accusation against Brett Kavanaugh—one we didn’t find out about before he was confirmed because the Senate forced the F.B.I. to rush its investigation to save his nomination. We know he lied under oath. He should be impeached.”

Multiple 2020 presidential candidates have called for the impeachment of Supreme Court Justice Brett Kavanaugh after a new New York Times report revealed new allegations of sexual misconduct and details about last year’s fast-tracked FBI investigation that neglected to question over two dozen witnesses involved in the matter.

The report comes from two reporters, Robin Pogrebin and Kate Kelly, who have spent the last 10 months investigating Kavanaugh’s sexual assault allegations from his confirmation hearing last year. The most damaging revelations involve an allegation from Kavanaugh’s Yale classmate Deborah Ramirez, who claimed Kavanaugh “pulled down his pants and thrust his penis at her” at a dorm party their freshmen year.

While the Senate decided Ramirez’ story lacked sufficient corroboration at the time, the report shows at least seven people “heard about the Yale incident long before Mr. Kavanaugh was a federal judge,” and that Ramirez’ legal team gave the FBI a list of “at least 25 individuals who may have had corroborating evidence” of her story, yet the bureau “interviewed none of them.”

“The process was a sham,” Sen. Amy Klobuchar told ABC on Sunday of the fast-tracked FBI investigation.

The bureau also neglected to interview Max Stier, a classmate of Ramirez and Kavanaugh who runs a DC nonprofit, who notified the FBI and the senate of a similar incident at “a different drunken dorm party” at the time. However, on Sunday the Times “appended a note to the essay clarifying that the female student referenced by Stier declined to be interviewed, and her friends say she does not recall the incident,” according to Politico, prompting Trump to lash out on Twitter Monday:

“‘The New York Times walks back report on Kavanaugh assault claim.’ @foxandfriends,” Trump tweeted. “The one who is actually being assaulted is Justice Kavanaugh – Assaulted by lies and Fake News! This is all about the LameStream Media working with their partner, the Dems.”

Multiple 2020 Democratic presidential candidates reacted to the news of the insufficient FBI investigation and unexamined corroborations to Ramirez’ story as reason for Kavanaugh’s impeachment.

“These newest revelations are disturbing,” Elizabeth Warren, the Democratic senator from Massachusetts wrote on Twitter about The Times essay. “Like the man who appointed him, Kavanaugh should be impeached.”

“He was put on the Court through a sham process and his place on the Court is an insult to the pursuit of truth and justice,” wrote Sen. Kamala Harris.

Critics argue Kavanaugh has already undermined his credibility by his emphatic denial of ever participating in binge drinking or inappropriate sexual behavior, since several of his classmates have offered conflicting accounts. Chad Ludington, one of Kavanaugh’s former classmates, said he became “belligerent and aggressive” when drunk.

“There’s no problem with drinking beer in college. The problem is lying about it,” Liz Swisher, one of Kavanaugh’s Yale classmates, told CNN. Critics point to multiple other contradictions about his yearbook and previous cases during his hearing as proof he lied under oath.

“Yesterday, we learned of another accusation against Brett Kavanaugh—one we didn’t find out about before he was confirmed because the Senate forced the F.B.I. to rush its investigation to save his nomination. We know he lied under oath. He should be impeached,” tweeted Beto O’Rourke.

President Trump responded to the report by saying that Kavanaugh should “start suing people for libel, or the Justice Department should come to his rescue.”

“He is an innocent man who has been treated HORRIBLY,” Trump wrote. “Such lies about him. They want to scare him into turning Liberal!”

On Saturday, the New York Times reported that Attorney General Barr is giving the Justice Department’s Award for Distinguished Service to lawyers who supported Kavanaugh’s hearing, an award legal analyst Elie Honig said “typically goes to prosecutors who make the biggest cases against terrorists, corrupt politicians, drug cartels, organized crime enterprises, etc.”

 

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.