输入搜索

公司文化

七秒:新的Netflix系列灵感来自黑人生命的物质运动

7秒

七秒钟 是一个新的Netflix剧集,围绕着泽西市一名黑人少年的肇事逃逸,一名警察试图掩盖他的罪行。

根据执行制片人Veena Sud的说法,这个故事的灵感始于25岁的死亡 弗雷迪·格雷在警察拘留期间因颈部受伤而死于四月2015的人死于巴尔的摩,他的死亡引发了抗议和骚乱。

这是一系列引人注目的涉及警方的枪击案之一,这些枪击事件突显了执法部门与非裔美国人之间经常引起争议的关系。

这推了推 Black Lives Matter运动, 在佛罗里达州的Trayvon Martin被枪杀之后,这起始于2012。 进一步成为焦点。 该运动在全国各地有几个章节,举行集会,抵制和其他行动,以揭示警察的暴行和不平等。

您订购的 七秒钟,Sud 想告诉 这是一个严肃审视司法系统缺陷的故事,试图揭示“头条新闻背后的人类故事”。

专注于肇事逃逸而不是涉及警察的枪击事件是Sud的一个有意识的选择,她想要专注于一个她认为值得提醒人们的不可磨灭的形象:一名年轻的黑人少年受伤并离开去世。

“在电视和我们的国家布料中观看所有这些杀戮的最具挑衅性的事情之一是,一遍又一遍地听到和看到这些年轻人,无论是Tamir Rice,Michael Brown还是Trayvon Martin都离开了这么久,“她说。 “想到一个躺在寒冷中的孩子,这是一种令人难以置信的暴力和可怕的事情......就是这样一种形象,这种形象暗示某些生命在这个国家很重要而某些生活不重要。”

Sud希望该节目能够将黑人生活运动的目标保持在公众的关注之中。 她曾担任AMC犯罪剧集的执行制片人 的查杀.

该系列明星曾两次获得艾美奖冠军Regina King(美国犯罪作为拉特丽斯巴特勒,以及突围英国女演员克莱尔 - 希望阿什泰伊(福斯特医生),拉塞尔霍恩斯比(栅栏),Beau Knapp(沙堡),迈克尔莫斯利 (奥索卡),大卫里昂斯(避风港),劳尔卡斯蒂略(特派记者),Zackary Momoh(一个英国),Nadia Alexander(),Coley Speaks(),帕特里克·穆尼(公共道德)和Michelle Veintimilla().

七秒钟 是一部选集,如果它被Netflix推出另一个赛季,Sud计划专注于另一个政治问题,但仍然使用泽西城作为故事的背景。

该系列首次亮相二月23。

第一个官方预告片上周发布,首先在CNN.com上发布。

相关新闻:

新电视剧“智”,解决芝加哥的复杂性

在新的Dave Chappelle特别平等,Chappelle Skewers特朗普

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Seven Seconds: New Netflix Series Inspired By Black Lives Matter Movement

Seven Seconds: New Netflix Series Inspired By Black Lives Matter Movement

Seven Seconds is a new Netflix drama series centering around the hit-and-run of a black teenager from Jersey City by a police officer who attempted to cover up his crime.

According to executive producer Veena Sud, the inspiration for this story began with the death of 25-year-old Freddie Gray, who died in April 2015 after suffering a neck injury while in police custody whose death sparked protests and riots in Baltimore.

It was one of a string of high-profile police-involved shootings that put a spotlight on the often contentious relationship between law enforcement and African-Americans.

This pushed the Black Lives Matter movement, which started  in 2012, following the shooting death of Trayvon Martin in Florida. further into the spotlight. The movement has several chapters throughout the nation and holds rallies, boycotts and other actions to shed light on police brutality and inequality.

With Seven Seconds, Sud wants to tell a story that takes a hard look at the flaws in the justice system and attempts to reveal the “human stories behind the headlines.”

Focusing on a hit-and-run rather than a police-involved shooting was a conscious choice by Sud, who wanted to focus on an indelible image she thought was worth reminding people about: a young black teenager injured and left for dead.

“One of the most provocative things for me watching all these killings happen on television and in our national fabric is, over and over and over hearing and seeing these young people, whether its Tamir Rice or Michael Brown or Trayvon Martin left on the ground for so long,” she said. “It’s such an incredibly violent and horrific thing to think of a child lying in the cold…that was such an image that encapsulated that certain lives matter in this country and certain ones don’t.”

Sud hopes the show can keep the objectives of the Black Lives Movement in the public spotlight. She previously served as executive producer of the AMC crime drama series The Killing.

The series stars two-time Emmy winner Regina King (American Crime) as Latrice Butler, alongside breakout British actress Clare-Hope Ashitey (Doctor Foster), Russell Hornsby (Fences), Beau Knapp (Sand Castle), Michael Mosley (Ozark), David Lyons (Safe Haven), Raul Castillo (Special Correspondents), Zackary Momoh (A United Kingdom), Nadia Alexander (Blame), Coley Speaks (Circle), Patrick Murney (Public Morals) and Michelle Veintimilla (Gotham).

Seven Seconds is an anthology and if it gets picked up for another season by Netflix, Sud plans to focus on another political issue but still use Jersey City as the story’s backdrop.

The series debuts February 23.

The first official trailer was released last week, first on CNN.com.

 

Related:

New TV Series, “The Chi”, To Tackle The Complexity That Is Chicago

In New Dave Chappelle Special Equanimity, Chappelle Skewers Trump

Please rate this

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shares