输入搜索

非洲

南苏丹终于走上稳定政府的道路

半自治的南苏丹总统萨尔瓦·基尔等待接待奥马尔·巴希尔访问南部首都朱巴。
半自治的南苏丹总统萨尔瓦·基尔等待接待奥马尔·巴希尔访问南部首都朱巴。 日期:1月,2011。 (照片:Al Jazeera English.CC BY-SA 2.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)

在经历了灾难性的内战和对立派系之间的大量谈判之后,南苏丹开始组建一个过渡政府。

南苏丹总统萨尔瓦基尔和叛军领袖里克马查尔都是 周三同意了 到11月中旬组建过渡政府。 这一消息是在南苏丹与北苏丹分离的邻国之后几周公布的,南苏丹在2011分离后,在结束30长达一年的奥马尔·巴希尔总统之后成立了自己的过渡政府。

南苏丹信息部长Michael Makuie Lueth 当事人告诉记者 讨论了一些“小问题”和“共同原则”作为过渡政府的基础,计划于11月12成立。 去年,双方签署了一项旨在结束内战的协议,这场内战夺去了数十万人的生命,迫使三分之一的人口外出,并破坏了该国的经济。

罕见的访问

本周,马查尔从他在喀土穆的家乡基地与首都朱巴进行了罕见的访问,与基尔总统会面。 由于朱巴政府没有足够的资金将所有武装部队整合到整个南苏丹,因此推迟去年的协议实施。

南苏丹政府官员表示,本周的会议旨在解决所有悬而未决的问题,包括宪法修正案,地区国家数量和安全法律。

谈判旨在使南苏丹进入三年的过渡期,据报道Kiir和Machar对他们的谈判表示满意。 在三年期结束时,该国将举行选举。

在最近的协议之前

在苏丹中国政府对前被驱逐的总统奥马尔·巴希尔和苏丹南部叛乱分子发生数十年的战争之后,南苏丹与苏丹分道扬.. 两年后,南苏丹本身也发生了内部冲突。 在2011基尔解雇了他的副总统马查尔,两人之间的战斗随之而来。

9月,2018双方在国际和地区压力下签署了和平协议。 自从Kiir在2013解雇他之后,Machar在喀土穆逗留了一年后的10月才访问了朱巴。 他承诺现在会更多地访问朱巴。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari是加沙地带的自由撰稿人,记者和讲师。 拉米为全球多家媒体提供英语服务,包括印刷,广播和电视。 他可以在Facebook上作为Rami Munir Almeghari和电子邮件联系 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 15-2019-XNUMX

    当整个非洲大陆 - 实际上整个世界 - 在许多方面明显非常不稳定时,南苏丹如何能够变得稳定并保持稳定,所有这些都会产生严重后果。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

South Sudan is Finally on a Path to a Stable Government

Salva Kiir, president of semi-autonomous South Sudan, waits to receive Omar al Bashir on his visit to the southern capital Juba.
Salva Kiir, president of semi-autonomous South Sudan, waits to receive Omar al Bashir on his visit to the southern capital Juba. Date: January, 2011. (Photo: Al Jazeera English. CC BY-SA 2.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)

After a disastrous civil war and much negotiation between opposing factions, South Sudan is beginning to form a transitional government.

Both the president of South Sudan Salva Kiir and the rebel leader Riek Machar agreed on Wednesday to form a transitional government by the middle of November. The announcement comes just weeks after South Sudan’s neighbor to the north Sudan, which South Sudan split away from in 2011, formed its own transitional government after ending the 30 year-long presidency of Omar Al Bashir.

The Minister of Information in South Sudan Michael Makuie Lueth told reporters that the parties discussed some “minor issues” and “mutual principles” as the basis for a transitional government, planned to be established by November 12. Last year, both sides signed a deal that put an end to a civil war, which has claimed the lives of hundreds of thousands of people and forced a third of the population out, as well as ruined the country’s economy.

A Rare Visit

This week, Machar made a rare visit to the capital Juba from his home base in Khartoum to meet with President Kiir. The implementation of last year’s deal was delayed because the Juba government does not have enough funds to integrate all the armed forces across South Sudan.

Officials with the government of South Sudan said that meetings this week are aimed at sorting out all outstanding issues, including constitutional amendments, number of regional states and security laws.

The negotiations are intended to commit South Sudan to a transition period of three years, and both Kiir and Machar reportedly expressed satisfaction with their talks. At the end of the three-year period, the country will hold elections.

Prior to Recent Agreements

In 2011 following decades of war between Sudan’s central government of former ousted president Omar Al Bashir and rebels in southern Sudan, South Sudan split from Sudan. Two years later, South Sudan itself engaged in an internal conflict. In 2013 Kiir fired his vice-president Machar, and fighting between the two ensued.

In September 2018 both sides signed a peace deal under international and regional pressure. Machar visited Juba only in October of that year, after having stayed in Khartoum since Kiir sacked him in 2013. He promises more visits to Juba now.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry N Stout September 15, 2019

    How can South Sudan become and remain stable when the whole African continent — and indeed the entire world — is manifestly very unstable in many respects, all with grave consequences.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.