输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

一个九岁的孩子,由于债务,他的学校午餐因他的生日而被淘汰

三名儿童享用新鲜烹制的午餐,由位于波多黎各圣胡安的Inter Metro Summer Recreation Program的食品服务管理公司提供。
三名儿童享用新鲜烹制的午餐,由位于波多黎各圣胡安的Inter Metro Summer Recreation Program的食品服务管理公司提供。 (照片:美国农业部)

美国这个世界上最富有的国家应该提供免费的学校午餐吗?

根据俄亥俄州的学校午餐债务余额未付,一名9岁的男孩在生日那天将他的热午餐带到了其他学生面前。 NBC的子公司WKYC 3。

这个名叫杰斐逊的男孩将他的热午餐替换为冷奶酪三明治,为有债务余额的学生提供支持。

“在我看来,他没有欠任何东西。 我欠钱,父母,学区,“男孩的祖母,黛安贝利,告诉了 “华盛顿邮报”。 贝利说 美国有线电视新闻网 杰斐逊和他的兄弟姐妹刚刚搬进来,让他成为学校里的新生儿。 她说她的文书正在处理申请免费午餐计划。

“我的另一个问题是,如果他们从你的托盘中取出食物,就必须把它扔掉,”贝利说。 “你要扔掉它而不是给孩子喂食? 这对我来说没有意义。“

批评者认为,美国是历史上最富有的国家,应该能够为儿童提供健康的学校午餐。 其他人则指出,对低收入学生采取公共行动以支付未付债务会使他们在同学面前羞辱他们。

管理人员认为他们的预算已经紧张,他们没有其他选择来应对不断增长的债务。

然而,周一,该区负责人Jeffrey L. Miller II宣布了一项新政策:“所有参加PreK到12年级的学生将在各自的建筑物内获得当天的标准午餐,无论他们的账户余额如何。”

据称,米勒在遭到严厉批评后在Facebook上作出回应 小山,该地区将确保为学生提供热午餐,无论他们的家庭财务状况如何。

“由于学校早餐和午餐的费用,我们对家庭经济困难和挑战很敏感。 我们的工作人员将与家庭支持专家协调,继续与家人合作,确保他们能够获得所有可用资源,以协助购买学校餐。“

学校营养协会, 四分之三的学区 在2016-17学年结束时有未支付的学生餐费。 该 “纽约时报” 7月份,宾夕法尼亚州的一个学区向家长发送了一封信,警告他们,如果他们的孩子的债务余额没有支付,他们的孩子可能会被当局寄养。

美国农业部负责管理全国学校午餐计划 无法消灭学生午餐 债务。 特朗普政府已经搬到了 削减学校午餐的健康标准 切食品券。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

A Nine-Year-Old Had His School Lunch Taken Away On His Birthday Because Of Debt

Three children enjoy lunch freshly prepared and served on-site by a food service management company at the Inter Metro Summer Recreation Program in San Juan, Puerto Rico.
Three children enjoy lunch freshly prepared and served on-site by a food service management company at the Inter Metro Summer Recreation Program in San Juan, Puerto Rico. (Photo: U.S. Department of Agriculture)

Should the U.S., the richest country in the world, provide free school lunches?

A nine-year-old boy had his hot lunch taken away from him in front of other students on his birthday because of an unpaid school lunch debt balance, according to Ohio NBC affiliate WKYC 3.

The boy, named Jefferson, had his hot lunch replaced with a cold cheese sandwich, the back up for students with debt balances.

“In my mind, he didn’t owe anything. I owed the money, the parents, the school district,” the boy’s grandmother, Diane Bailey, told the Washington Post. Bailey told CNN that Jefferson and his siblings had just moved in with her, making him a new kid at the school. She said her paperwork was processing to apply for the free lunch program.

“My other question is, if they take the food off of your tray, they have to throw it away,” said Bailey. “You’re going to throw it away and not feed the child? That doesn’t make sense to me.”

Critics argue that the United States, the richest country in history, should be able to provide healthy school lunches to children. Others point to the fact that taking public action against low-income students for unpaid debt humiliates them in front of their classmates.

Administrators argue their budgets are already strained and they have no other options to counter growing debt.

On Monday, however, the district’s superintendent, Jeffrey L. Miller II, announced a new policy: “All students enrolled in PreK through twelfth grades will receive the standard lunch for the day at their respective buildings regardless of their account balance.”

Miller responded on Facebook after taking heavy criticism, according to the Hill, saying the district would make sure students are provided hot lunches regardless of their families’ financial situations.

“We are sensitive to the financial hardship families incur and challenges presented due to the cost of school breakfast and lunches. Our staff, in coordination with Family Support Specialists, will continue to work with families to ensure they have access to all available resources to assist with purchasing school meals.”

According to the School Nutrition Association, three-fourths of school districts had unpaid student meal debt at the end of the 2016-17 school year. The New York Times reported in July that a school district in Pennsylvania sent letters to parents warning them that if their childrens’ debt balances were not paid, their child could be put in foster care by authorities.

The United States Department of Agriculture, which runs the National School Lunch Program, has said it cannot wipe out student lunch debt. The Trump administration has moved to slash health standards for school lunches and cut food stamps.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.