输入搜索

非洲

希望南苏丹成为总统和反叛领导人同意和平谈判

在隧道尽头,南苏丹的12万人不得不应对过去五年来发生的暴力和政治煽动性冲突。 这是在总统萨尔瓦·基尔同意与他的竞争对手Riek Machar博士进行和平谈判后会面,最终可能为该国带来和平。

作为现在世界上最年轻的国家,南苏丹在从2011的大苏丹获得独立后,自治的起步开始不稳定。 随着Salva Kiir担任总裁并且Riek Machar担任副手,该国开始抱有希望为其公民创造更美好的未来。 但这并不是因为总统和副手变成了激烈的竞争对手之后不久就爆发了战争。

总统萨尔瓦基尔与总统巴拉克奥巴马和第一夫人米歇尔奥巴马在白宫

较大的苏丹地区也不是和平的,但自从1956独立于英国以来一直不稳定。 该 第一次苏丹内战, 从独立开始,以1972结束,造成超过50万人死亡。 它位于北部领土和南部领土之间,后者要求在政府中拥有自治权或更多的代表权。 战争随着南苏丹自治区的建立而结束。

新成立的自治区将勉强维持十年 第二次苏丹内战 1983爆发了。 这场战争发生在苏丹中央政府和一个名为苏丹人民解放军的反叛组织之间。 它持续了22年,导致大约2万人死亡。 在2005签署了和平协议,苏丹南部的自治州得以恢复。 还成立了一个苏丹南方自治政府,以帮助治理该地区,该地区将在新西兰人民解放运动中被正式确认为南苏丹共和国。

Riek Machar博士,前南苏丹副总统和Rebel领导人

在总统基尔之后,新民族在2013爆发了民族战争 指责他的副手马查尔策划政变。 随着Kiir的Dinka社区和Machar的Nuer社区相互冲突,导致仍在进行的南苏丹内战,这场战争沿着部落线爆发。 到目前为止,冲突导致的死亡超过了 300,000人 以及超过3万人的流离失所。

联合国(UN),非洲联盟(AU)和政府间发展管理局(IGAD)一直站在试图调解两个全副武装的双方的最前线。 已经订购了许多停火协议,联合国已经威胁制裁,但战争不久就爆发了。

现在,一项新提议的和平协议有可能成为隧道尽头的光明,如果进展顺利的话。 目前的交易是复兴 另一项和平协议 最初在总统府内的2016斡旋。 该交易发生后几天暴力事件爆发,交易中止。 此后,马查尔迅速逃离该国,此后在南非被软禁。

正在促成当前和平协议的政府间发展管理局承诺,如果麦克哈尔不妨碍和平谈判,他将获得自由,之后他将被要求迁往任何非邻国南苏丹的国家。 在达成和平协议之前,联合国还重新对该国实施制裁。

和平谈判预计将在6月30之前举行。

着名的反种族隔离活动家Winnie Madikizela Mandela死于81年龄

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

0评论

  1. Phyllis Forster 六月9,2018

    玛丽安遇到的苦恼

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

Hope For South Sudan as President and Rebel Leader Agree to Peace Talks

There could be light at the end of the tunnel for the more than 12 million people of South Sudan who have had to contend with violent and politically instigated clashes over the last five years. This is after president Salva Kiir agreed to meet with his rival turned foe Dr. Riek Machar for peace talks that could finally bring peace to the country.

As the youngest nation in the world right now, South Sudan has had a rocky start of self-governance after gaining independence from the larger Sudan in 2011. With Salva Kiir as president and Riek Machar as his deputy, the country kicked off with hope for building a better future for its citizens. But that was not to be as war broke out soon after with president and deputy having turned into bitter rivals.

President Salva Kiir with President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama in the White House

The larger Sudan region has not been peaceful either but has been volatile since independence from the British in 1956. The First Sudanese Civil War, which started at independence, ended in 1972 and left more than half a million people dead. It was between the northern territory and the southern territory where the latter was demanding autonomy or more representation in government. The war ended with the creation of the South Sudan Autonomous Region.

The newly formed autonomous region would then barely last for ten years as the Second Sudanese Civil War broke out in 1983. The war was between the central government of Sudan and a rebel group named the Sudan People’s Liberation Army. It lasted for up to 22 years and led to the death of about 2 million people. A peace agreement was signed in 2005 and the autonomous state of southern Sudan was restored. An Autonomous Government of Southern Sudan was also formed to help govern the region which would in 2011 become officially recognized as the Republic of South Sudan.

Dr. Riek Machar, former deputy president of South Sudan and Rebel leader

Ethnic war broke out in the new country in 2013 after president Kiir accused his deputy Machar of plotting a coup d’état. The battle broke out along tribal lines, as Kiir’s Dinka community and Machar’s Nuer community took on each other leading to the still ongoing South Sudanese Civil War. The clash has so far led to the death of more than 300,000 people and to the displacement of more than 3 million people.

The United Nations (UN), African Union (AU) and Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) have been at the forefront of trying to mediate the two heavily armed sides. Many ceasefires have been ordered and the U.N. has threatened sanctions, but war repeatedly breaks out soon after.

Now a new proposed peace deal has a chance at being the light at the end of the tunnel if it goes well. The current deal is a revival of another peace deal originally brokered in 2016 within the presidential palace. Days after that deal violence erupted and the deal was aborted. Machar quickly fled the country after that and has been under house arrest in South Africa since then.

I.G.A.D. which is brokering the current peace deal has promised Machar with freedom if he does not obstruct the peace talks and after which he will be required to relocate to any country not neighboring South Sudan. The U.N. has also renewed sanctions on the country until a peace agreement is reached.

The peace talks are expected to be held before June 30.

Famed Anti-apartheid Activist Winnie Madikizela Mandela Dies at Age 81

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Alex Muiruri

Alex is a passionate writer born and raised in Kenya. He is professionally trained as a public health officer but loves writing more. When not writing, he enjoys reading, doing charity work and spending time with friends and family. He is also a crazy pianist!

    1

You Might also Like

0 Comment

  1. Phyllis Forster June 9, 2018

    distress inwhich Marianne had

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.