输入搜索

分析

G7国家看起来很弱 - 伊朗和巴西可能会崛起

总统唐纳德·J·特朗普加入G7领导人和扩展G7成员,他们在G7扩展合作伙伴计划周日晚上,8月25,2019,在比亚里茨举行的G7峰会现场比亚里茨酒店为“家庭照片”做准备,法国。 (白宫官方摄影:Shealah Craighead)
总统唐纳德·J·特朗普加入G7领导人和扩展G7成员,他们在G7扩展合作伙伴计划周日晚上,8月25,2019,在比亚里茨举行的G7峰会现场比亚里茨酒店为“家庭照片”做准备,法国。 (白宫官方摄影:Shealah Craighead)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

年度G-7峰会再次相对较少 - 这个论坛似乎过时且不合时宜。

G7会议似乎 - 因为每个会议通过 - 都是浪费时间。 45th G7会议在法国,在古雅的海滨小镇比亚里茨举行。 在本次会议上,没有任何重要的事情得到认真讨论。 美国总统唐纳德特朗普说,美国和中国没有处于贸易战之中。 没有人想谈论难民危机或世界上的饥饿问题。 桌面上没有任何关于过度杠杆化银行以及银行家们称之为Great Reset或Great Reckoning的消息,这是下一次重大信贷灾难。 这些都没有被讨论过。

相反,特朗普和英国的鲍里斯·约翰逊在一个哑剧中踩得好像,而其他领导人则觉得他们自己的合法性就像水银一样溜走了。 认为G7是一个严肃的身体是失去了一个人的想法。

伊朗

法国总统埃马纽埃尔·马克龙作为G7会议的东道主,决定邀请伊朗外交部长贾瓦德·扎里夫到比亚里茨。 真诚的扎里夫来到了会场。 马克龙计算了特朗普的不稳定气质。 想象一下,如果特朗普被告知扎里夫在这里,然后特朗普说 - 扎里夫是个好人,我可以和扎里夫谈谈 - 如果他们见过(违反美国对扎里夫的制裁)......这就是马克龙必须拥有的情景指望启动2015伊朗核协议的尸体。

但特朗普没有接受诱饵。 他来到比亚里茨,约翰博尔顿,一个没有自发性的男人。 博尔顿像一块钻石一样坚硬,他的仇恨是纯洁的。 博尔顿没有机会允许特朗普在两个朝鲜之间的控制线上与金正恩一起做两步。 马克龙无法安排特朗普 - 扎里夫峰会。 它只是不在卡片中。

带来Zarif值得冒险。 这让特朗普显得不屈不挠。

巴西

马克伦急于提升他的自由主义资格,对巴西的Jair Bolsonaro发表了严厉的评论。 燃烧的亚马逊是刺激,但Bolsonaro对Macron的妻子的讨厌评论也是如此。 Bolsonaro的厌女症与他对自然世界的仇恨之间的差距很小 - 他们与那个老魔鬼,父权制一样。 如果不攻击对待女性的态度,就不可能改变像Bolsonaro这样的男人对自然的贪婪态度。

马克龙的自由主义 - 就像加拿大的贾斯汀特鲁多那样 - 正处于薄弱环节。 法国和加拿大都是采矿企业集团的所在地,每家企业都有一种厌恶环境破坏的习惯。 加拿大是世界上一半以上矿业公司的所在地(正如我们所做的那样) 文件 在Tricontinental:社会研究所)。 法国公司主导铀矿开采,但也有从法属圭亚那到加蓬,从尼日尔到哈萨克斯坦的手指。 他们可以抱怨多少亚马逊的破坏而没有手指指向他们留在地球表面的伤痕? 如此多的丑闻仍然闻所未闻只是因为有太多的丑闻需要谈论。

巴西面临着应对亚马逊火灾的巨大压力。 正是在这里,欧洲人展示了一些脊柱。 在欧洲农民的压力下,他们威胁要削减从巴西进口的牛肉,并退出欧盟 - 南方共同市场的贸易协议。 对于巴西来说,最令人羞辱的是,欧洲人表示他们不欢迎巴西加入经济合作与发展组织(OECD) - 发达国家的最终俱乐部。 Bolsonaro似乎陷入了困境。 这比他能忍受的压力更大。 虽然用于对抗火灾的$ 20万元援助计划是可怜的。

但特朗普并不在乎。 当G7讨论气候灾难和亚马逊火灾时,特朗普离开了房间。 他的空椅子是美国政府无视真正的全球危机的象征。

印度

马克龙邀请印度总理纳伦德拉莫迪参加G7会议。 莫迪被留在了后台。 他的政府基本上监禁了7百万克什米尔人。 马克龙问他这件事。 莫迪反对。 他有一种忽略问题的聪明方法。 他的印地语答案常常是罐装,上演的方式。 当莫迪在G7与特朗普举行新闻发布会时,特朗普似乎对莫迪的重复答案感到有些恼火。 他的嘴唇卷曲,他提出了尖锐,讽刺的话。 莫迪一直说,他和巴基斯坦总理伊姆兰汗将解决他们在克什米尔问题上的分歧(这似乎不太可能)。 “我和两位先生都有很好的关系,”特朗普说。 他说如果需要他愿意介入,“但我认为他们可以自己做得很好。 他们已经做了很长时间了。“他们没有。

马克龙试图成为莫迪的高级政治家,但即使在这里,马克龙的脚也处于领先地位。 法国的Rafale以数十亿欧元的价格出售印度36喷气式飞机。 印度的业务远比欧洲的虚假道德重要。

如果您坐在北京或莫斯科,您不得不对G7感到疑惑。 它似乎是不合时宜的,坐在桌子周围的旧殖民大国告诉寓言他们自己的权力。


这篇文章是由 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Vijay Prashad

Vijay Prashad是印度历史学家,编辑和记者。 他是一名写作研究员和首席记者 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。 他是主编 LeftWord书籍 和Tricontinental的主任:社会研究所。 他写了二十多本书,包括 黑暗国家:人民的第三世界历史 (The New Press,2007), 贫穷国家:全球南方可能的历史 (Verso,2013), 民族之死与阿拉伯革命的未来 (加州大学出版社,2016)和 第三世界的红星 (LeftWord,2017)。 他经常为Frontline,Hindu,Newsclick,AlterNet和BirGün写作。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS

The G7 Countries Look Feeble – Iran and Brazil Could Shore Them Up

President Donald J. Trump joins G7 Leaders and Extended G7 members as they pose for the “family photo” at the G7 Extended Partners Program Sunday evening, Aug. 25, 2019, at the Hotel du Palais Biarritz, site of the G7 Summit in Biarritz, France. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)
President Donald J. Trump joins G7 Leaders and Extended G7 members as they pose for the “family photo” at the G7 Extended Partners Program Sunday evening, Aug. 25, 2019, at the Hotel du Palais Biarritz, site of the G7 Summit in Biarritz, France. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Once again relatively little was achieved at the annual G-7 summit – a forum that appears outdated and anachronistic.

The G7 meetings seem—as each of them passes—to be a waste of time. The 45th G7 meeting was held in France, in the quaint seaside town of Biarritz. Nothing of significance was discussed with seriousness at this meeting. U.S. President Donald Trump ducked the conversation about the trade wars by saying that the U.S. and China are not in the midst of a trade war. No one wanted to talk about the refugee crisis or about the world’s hunger problems. Nothing was on the table about the over-leveraged banks and what the bankers of note call the Great Reset or the Great Reckoning, the next major credit calamity. None of this was discussed.

Instead, Trump and the UK’s Boris Johnson stomped about as if in a pantomime, while the rest of the leaders felt their own legitimacy slip away like quicksilver. To think that the G7 is a serious body is to have lost one’s mind.

Iran

France’s President Emmanuel Macron, as host of the G7 meeting, decided to invite Iran’s Foreign Minister Javad Zarif to Biarritz. Zarif, in good faith, arrived at the venue. Macron calculated on the erratic temperament of Trump. Imagine if Trump had been told that Zarif was here, and then Trump said—Zarif’s a good man, I can talk to Zarif—and then if they had met (in violation of U.S. sanctions against Zarif)… That’s the scenario that Macron must have counted upon to kick-start the cadaver of the 2015 Iran nuclear deal.

But Trump did not take the bait. He had come to Biarritz yoked to John Bolton, a man without the possibility of spontaneity. Bolton is as rigid as a piece of diamond, his hate being pure. There was no chance that Bolton would have allowed Trump the kind of two-step that Trump did with Kim Jong-un at the line of control between the two Koreas. Macron could not arrange the Trump-Zarif summit. It was just not in the cards.

Bringing Zarif was worth the risk. It made Trump seem unyielding and rigid.

Brazil

Macron, eager to burnish his liberal credentials, made harsh comments about Brazil’s Jair Bolsonaro. The burning Amazon was the spur, but so too were Bolsonaro’s nasty comments about Macron’s wife. The gap between Bolsonaro’s misogyny and his hatred of the natural world is narrow—they are joined by that old devil, patriarchy. It is impossible to change the avaricious attitude of men like Bolsonaro toward nature without also attacking their attitude toward women.

Macron’s liberalism—like that of Canada’s Justin Trudeau—is on thin ice. Both France and Canada are home to mining conglomerates, each of which has a nasty habit of being responsible for environmental destruction. Canada is home to more than half of the world’s mining firms (as we document at Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research). French firms dominate uranium mining, but also have their fingers from French Guiana to Gabon, from Niger to Kazakhstan. How much can they complain about the destruction of the Amazon without fingers pointing to the scars they have left on the earth’s surface? So many scandals remain unheard only because there are so many scandals to talk about.

Brazil is under immense pressure to deal with the Amazon fires. It is here that the Europeans have shown some spine. Under pressure from European farmers, they have threatened to cut beef imports from Brazil, and to withdraw from the European Union-Mercosur trade deal. Most humiliatingly for Brazil, the Europeans said that they would not welcome Brazil into the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)—the ultimate club of developed countries. Bolsonaro seemed to cave. This was more pressure than he could tolerate. Although the $20 million aid package to fight the fires is pitiful.

But Trump did not care. When the G7 discussed the climate catastrophe and the Amazon fires, Trump left the room. His empty chair is a symbol of the U.S. government’s disregard for the genuine planetary crises.

India

Macron invited India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi to the G7 meeting. Modi was kept in the background. His government has essentially imprisoned 7 million Kashmiris. Macron asked him about this. Modi demurred. He has a clever way of ignoring questions. His answers—in Hindi—are often canned, staged ways of saying nothing. When Modi held a press conference with Trump at the G7, Trump seemed a little annoyed by the repetitive answers from Modi. His lip curled and he offered a sharp, sarcastic remark. Modi kept saying that he and Pakistan’s Prime Minister Imran Khan would sort out their differences over Kashmir (which seems unlikely). “I have a very good relationship with both gentlemen,” Trump said. He said he was willing to step in if needed, “but I think they can do it themselves very well. They’ve been doing it for a long time.” Which they have not.

Macron tried to be the senior statesman with Modi, but even here Macron’s feet are in lead. France’s Rafale sold India 36 jets in a very corrupt deal for billions of euros. India’s business is far more important than the faux-morality of Europe.

If you are sitting in Beijing or Moscow, you have to wonder about the G7. It appears anachronistic, the old colonial powers sitting around the table telling fables about their own power.


This article was produced by Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Vijay Prashad

Vijay Prashad is an Indian historian, editor and journalist. He is a writing fellow and chief correspondent at Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute. He is the chief editor of LeftWord Books and the director of Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research. He has written more than twenty books, including The Darker Nations: A People’s History of the Third World (The New Press, 2007), The Poorer Nations: A Possible History of the Global South (Verso, 2013), The Death of the Nation and the Future of the Arab Revolution (University of California Press, 2016) and Red Star Over the Third World (LeftWord, 2017). He writes regularly for Frontline, the Hindu, Newsclick, AlterNet and BirGün.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.