输入搜索

国家

特朗普政府为有生命威胁的疾病的移民提供保护

公民和移民服务处向在马萨诸塞州接受医疗护理的移民家庭发函,警告他们如果他们在33天没有离开该国,他们将被驱逐出境。 类似的信件已发送给北卡罗来纳州,加利福尼亚州和其他州的移民。 (照片:)
公民和移民服务处向在马萨诸塞州接受医疗护理的移民家庭发函,警告他们如果他们在33天没有离开该国,他们将被驱逐出境。 类似的信件已发送给北卡罗来纳州,加利福尼亚州和其他州的移民。 (照片:)

“任何人都可以想象政府会命令你将孩子与生命保障联系起来 - 将他们从病床上拉下来 - 知道这会让他们丧命吗?”

特朗普政府已经结束了一项政策,允许移民在接受治疗危及生命的疾病的同时暂时留在美国。 美联社 和NPR的会员 WBUR.

负面突然政策改变的移民包括儿童“抗击癌症,艾滋病毒,脑瘫,肌肉萎缩症,癫痫和其他严重疾病”,爱尔兰国际移民中心移民法律服务主管安东尼马里诺告诉 美联社.

本月早些时候,公民和移民服务局向在马萨诸塞州接受医疗护理的移民家庭发出了一封信,警告他们如果他们在33天没有离开该国,他们将被驱逐出境。 类似的信件已发送给北卡罗来纳州,加利福尼亚州和其他州的移民。

洪都拉斯人Mariela Sanchez告诉记者 AP 她的16岁儿子Jonathan如果被驱逐会死亡。 乔纳森患有囊性纤维化,这是一种遗传性疾病,无法治愈,影响呼吸系统和消化系统。 在医生未能治疗之后,他的姐姐在洪都拉斯死于同样的疾病。

“他会死的,”如果她的家人留在洪都拉斯,桑切斯 她的儿子说。 “我每天都会对此进行惊恐发作。”

移民和海关执法局(ICE)现在将考虑申请临时许可停留和接受治疗。

许多评论家谴责特朗普政府的举动不必要地残酷。 波士顿市长Marty Walsh称这一决定“荒谬和不人道“。

“他们不是为了搭便车而来的。 他们来救他们的孩子,“Dana-Farber /波士顿儿童癌症和血液疾病中心主任Joe Chabot告诉他们 AP.

“任何人都可以想象政府会命令你将孩子从救命医疗中解脱出来 - 把他们从病床上拉下来 - 知道这会让他们丧命吗?”马里诺告诉他们 AP.

参议员埃德·马基在周一的新闻发布会上谴责特朗普政府的最新决定,称这一行动将“恐吓那些真正为生命而战的患病儿童。”

“这是一个新低,”民主党参议员埃德马基说。 “唐纳德特朗普实际上是在驱逐患有癌症的孩子。”

美国公民自由联盟(ACLU)承诺在法庭上对抗政策变化。

“我们将把这场斗争带到法庭,” 说过 ACLU马萨诸塞州执行董事Carol Rose。 “律师正在分析各种选择。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. Brian Ho 八月28,2019

    你想帮忙,请出售你的房子来帮助他们,但不要使用我的税款。
    我甚至在老年时没有钱来解决我的健康问题。
    当我为健康而变老时,我需要政府来帮助我,因为每个人都会在晚年面临健康问题。

    回复
  2. Gene Ralno 八月29,2019

    为什么脑细胞比牙齿更多的人反对这个决定。 期望纳税人为居民或非法外国人的需求提供资金是荒谬的,无论他们是什么。 当有人死亡时,我们都会感到难过,即使他们是外国人。 但是,简单地给他们钱,因为他们不是来自美国是完全荒谬的。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Trump Administration Ends Protections For Migrants With Life-Threatening Illnesses

Citizenship and Immigration Services sent letters to immigrant families receiving medical care in Massachusetts warning them they would be deported if they don't leave the country in 33 days. Similar letters have been sent to immigrants in North Carolina, California, and other states. (Photo: Pixabay)
Citizenship and Immigration Services sent letters to immigrant families receiving medical care in Massachusetts warning them they would be deported if they don't leave the country in 33 days. Similar letters have been sent to immigrants in North Carolina, California, and other states. (Photo: Pixabay)

“Can anyone imagine the government ordering you to disconnect your child from life-saving care — to pull them from a hospital bed — knowing that it will cost them their lives?”

The Trump administration has ended a policy that allows migrants to temporarily stay in the United States while receiving treatment for life-threatening illnesses, according to reports from the Associated Press and NPR affiliate WBUR.

The immigrants facing deportation from the sudden policy change include children “fighting cancer, HIV, cerebral palsy, muscular dystrophy, epilepsy and other serious conditions,” Anthony Marino, head of immigration legal services at the Irish International Immigrant Center, told the Associated Press.

Earlier this month, Citizenship and Immigration Services sent letters to immigrant families receiving medical care in Massachusetts warning them they would be deported if they don’t leave the country in 33 days. Similar letters have been sent to immigrants in North Carolina, California, and other states.

Mariela Sanchez, a native of Honduras, told AP that her 16-year-old son Jonathan would die if deported. Jonathan has cystic fibrosis, a hereditary disease with no cure that affects the respiratory and digestive systems. His sister died of the same illness in Honduras after doctors failed to treat it.

“He would be dead,” if her family had remained in Honduras, Sanchez said of her son. “I have panic attacks over this every day.”

Requests for temporary permission to stay and receive medical treatment will now be considered by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE).

Many critics denounced the Trump administration’s move as unnecessarily cruel. Boston Mayor Marty Walsh called the decision “absurd and inhumane.”

“They’re not coming for a free ride. They’re coming to save their children,” Joe Chabot, a director at the Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center, told AP.

“Can anyone imagine the government ordering you to disconnect your child from life-saving care — to pull them from a hospital bed — knowing that it will cost them their lives?” Marino told AP.

Senator Ed Markey condemned the Trump administration’s newest decision in a press conference Monday, saying the move will “terrorize sick kids with cancer who are literally fighting for their lives.”

“This is a new low,” Democratic Sen. Ed Markey said. “Donald Trump is literally deporting kids with cancer.”

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) pledged to fight the policy change in court.

“We will take this fight to the courts,” said Carol Rose, executive director of ACLU Massachusetts. “Lawyers are analyzing options right now.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Brian Ho August 28, 2019

    You want to help, please sell your house to help them but do not use my tax money.
    I even don’t have money in the old age to fix my health issues.
    I need government to help me when I get old for my health as every one will face health problems in the old age.

    Reply
  2. Gene Ralno August 29, 2019

    Why would anyone with more brain cells than teeth object to this decision. It’s absurd to expect taxpayers to fund resident or illegal alien needs, regardless of what they are. We all feel bad when someone is dying, even if they are foreign nationals. But to simply give them money because they’re not from the U.S. is totally absurd.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.