输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

常见药物是否会导致致癌的胃灼热药物?

Zantac丸和药丸包
Zantac丸和药丸包(照片:ParentingPatch)

发现第二类药物被已知致癌物质污染,引起人们对FDA没有充分监测市场上现有药物的担忧。

欧洲和美国的药物监管机构都担心Zantac的安全性,Zantac是数百万人用于胃灼热缓解的常用药物,因为它可能含有致癌物质。

Zantac可能受到污染的消息是在上周五发布的 据路透社报道 Zantac,也被称为雷尼替丁,被发现含有“某些药物中可能引起癌症的杂质”的痕迹。

美国食品和药物管理局(FDA)报告发现了杂质N-亚硝基二甲胺(NDMA),FDA和欧洲的监管机构欧洲药品管理局将对Zantac的安全性进行更深入的研究。

NDMA是一种无味,无味的黄色液体,已知会在动物身上引起癌症,并被归类为人类可能的致癌物质。 尤其是, NDMA对肝脏有毒.

Zantac中发现的杂质

根据路透社的报道,Zantac的发现来自在线药店Valisure,该公司对其销售的药物进行测试,当测试结果显示Zantac品牌(来自制造商Sanofi SA)和雷尼替丁仿制药中存在杂质时,Valisure警告FDA监管机构。

Valisure和FDA都没有发布有关测试的信息。 他们还没有发现哪种药物的杂质含有杂质,也没有发现NDMA的含量。 FDA确实注意到在不同版本的雷尼替丁中发现了不同量的NDMA。

NDMA的问题不是新问题。 去年, 发现了相同的杂质 在称为血管紧张素II受体阻滞剂或ARB的药物中,用于治疗血压和心力衰竭。 自2018以来,FDA监管机构一直在召回这些药物。 Valsartan是Diovan(诺华公司)的通用版本,已被召回。 Novartis Sandoz以及其他公司如Mylan NV和Teva Pharmaceuticals已召回这些药物,因为它们含有可能的致癌物质。

NDMA可以在制造杀虫剂和染料的某些工业过程中生产,那么为什么它会出现在药物中呢? FDA在2018报道 上述三家公司都为中国的缬沙坦制剂购买了活性药物成分(API),特别是最大的仿制药制造商浙江华海制药公司。

消费者如何受到影响

布隆伯格报道说召回事件有所扩大 51倍 自最初的这次发现以来。 ARB药物厄贝沙坦和氯沙坦被列入名单; 10公司制造这些产品并将其销售给全球30国家的数百万人。 就在上个月,美国食品和药物管理局将其NDMA调查范围扩大到ARB类药物以外的其他药物。

消费者如何受到影响? FDA估计 每天服用高剂量缬沙坦四年或更长时间的人患风险最大,而8,000中另外一人可能患上癌症。 欧洲监管机构表示存在更高的风险,估计每个3,390人中就有一人可能患上癌症。

这样的事情是如何发生的,特别是当FDA严格的新药批准程序到位以防止这样的情况时? 答案在于仿制药。 当一家公司发明一种新药时,该公司煞费苦心地经历了长达数年的通过人体临床试验证明药物疗效的过程。

然后,通用制造商会使用这些尾巴,只需要证明患者会以与名牌药物相同的速度吸收药物。 仿制药受到的审查要少得多,美国人服用的所有药物的90%都是通用的,因为它们更便宜。

美国药品不需要标注药品采购

更糟糕的是,绝大多数 (80%)API是在中国和印度的工厂生产的。 美国制药公司没有义务让美国消费者知道他们的药物来自外国。

FDA在检查这些药物方面做得很差。 事实上, 测试少于1%的药物的杂质 在他们进入美国之前,FDA对海外工厂的检查正在急剧下降。 尽管十多年前在中国开设了三个办事处并发誓要加强监控,但只有北京办事处仍然开放。

与此同时,美国食品和药物管理局表示,它正在与其他世界监管机构一起“考虑在制造过程中要求进行新的测试,以减少药物的污染。” 路透社美国食品和药物管理局药物评估和研究中心主任珍妮特伍德科克发言人表示,FDA必须更加警惕:“我认为你会在制造过程中的适当时候看到测试。”

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
杰奎琳哈维卡

杰奎琳是一名火箭科学家。 她为公民真理报道了健康,科学和科技新闻。 在她的第一职业生涯中,她管理了空间站和航天飞机的实验和数据。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Are Common Medicines Like Heartburn Drugs Causing Cancer?

Zantac Pill and Pill Pack
Zantac Pill and Pill Pack (Photo: ParentingPatch)

A second class of drugs was found to be contaminated with a known carcinogen, raising concern that the FDA is not adequately monitoring existing drugs on the market.

Drug regulators in both Europe and the United States are concerned about the safety of Zantac, a commonly used medication taken by millions of people for heartburn relief, because it might be laced with carcinogens.

News of Zantac’s possible contamination came last Friday when Reuters reported that Zantac, also known as ranitidine, was found to contain traces of “probable cancer-causing impurities in some versions of the medicine.”

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) reported finding the impurity N-nitrosodimethylamine (NDMA), and both the FDA and Europe’s regulatory body, the European Medicines Agency, will take a much closer look at Zantac’s safety.

NDMA is an odorless, tasteless yellow liquid known to cause cancer in animals and classified as a probable carcinogen for humans. In particular, NDMA is toxic to the liver.

Impurities Found in Zantac

According to the Reuters report, the Zantac discovery came from online pharmacy Valisure which tests the medication it sells, and when test results showed the presence of the impurities in both branded Zantac (from maker Sanofi SA) and generic versions of ranitidine, Valisure alerted FDA regulators.

Neither Valisure nor the FDA is releasing information regarding the tests. They have not yet revealed which versions of the drug were found to have impurities, nor have they revealed the amounts of NDMA found. The FDA did note that differing amounts of NDMA were found in the different versions of ranitidine.

The problem with NDMA is not a new one. Last year, the same impurities were found in drugs called Angiotensin II Receptor Blockers or ARBs, used to treat blood pressure and heart failure. FDA regulators have been recalling those drugs since 2018. Valsartan, the generic version of Diovan (Novartis AG), has been recalled. Novartis Sandoz, as well as other companies like Mylan NV and Teva Pharmaceuticals, have recalled the drugs because they contained probable carcinogens.

NDMA can be manufactured during certain industrial processes where pesticides and dyes are made, so why is it showing up in drugs? The FDA reported in 2018 that the three companies mentioned above all bought the active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) for their valsartan formulations from China, specifically one of the biggest generic drugmakers, Zhejiang Huahai Pharmaceuticals.

How Consumers Are Affected

Bloomberg reports that the recall was expanded 51 times since the initial Zheijiang discovery. ARB drugs irbesartan and losartan were added to the list; 10 companies make those and sell them to millions of people in 30 countries around the world. Just last month, the FDA expanded its NDMA investigation beyond the class of ARB drugs to look at other drugs.

How are consumers affected? The FDA has estimated that people who took high daily doses of valsartan for four or more years are at greatest risk and an additional one in 8,000 could get cancer. European regulators say there is a higher risk, estimating one in every 3,390 people could get cancer.

How does something like this happen, particularly when the FDA’s rigorous new drug approval process is in place to prevent instances exactly like this? The answer lies in generic drugs. When a company invents a new drug, that company painstakingly goes through the years-long process of proving drug efficacy through human clinical trials.

Generic manufacturers then ride those coattails, only having to show that the patient will absorb their drug at the same rate as the name-brand medication. The generic drugs receive much less scrutiny, and 90% of all medications that Americans take are generic because they are cheaper.

US Pharmaceuticals Not Required to Label Drug Sourcing

To make matters worse, the large majority (80%) of APIs are made in factories in China and India. U.S. pharmaceutical companies are not obligated to let American consumers know their drugs are being sourced from foreign countries.

The FDA does a poor job of checking these drugs. In fact, less than 1% of drugs are tested for impurities before they come into the U.S. Inspection of overseas factories by the FDA is in sharp decline. Despite opening three offices in China over a decade ago and vowing increased monitoring, only the Beijing office is still open.

Meanwhile, the FDA says it, along with other world regulators, is “considering requiring new testing during the manufacturing process to reduce contamination of drugs.” According to Reuters, spokesperson Janet Woodcock, the director of the FDA’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, said that the FDA is simply going to have to be more vigilant: “I think you’ll see tests added at the appropriate point during the manufacturing.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Jacqueline Havelka

Jacqueline is a rocket scientist turned writer. She covers health, science and tech news for Citizen Truth. In her first career, she managed experiments & data on the Space Station & Shuttle.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.