输入搜索

美洲 国家 TRENDING国

特朗普要求联邦庇护制度发生巨大变化

在美国大使馆抗议特朗普移民政策
在美国大使馆抗议特朗普移民政策(照片:Beatrice Murch)

“我们的移民系统已经达到了一个突破点,因为我们继续看到大量的移民涌入,仅在3月份就有超过100,000抵达我们的边境。”

在周一签署的总统备忘录中,特朗普提议对美国庇护制度进行重大改革,最近中美洲个人和家庭越来越多地使用庇护制度。

总统提议寻求庇护者应该支付费用开始审理案件,但不保证将给予庇护。 他没有说明金额。

特朗普总统在2月2的弗吉尼亚州斯特林市CBP国家目标中心出席了关于非法移民和非法毒品走私的简报,其中涉及美国海关和边境保护局局长Kevin McAleenan。 DHS照片由捷达迪斯科拍摄

特朗普总统在2月2的弗吉尼亚州斯特林市CBP国家目标中心出席了关于非法移民和非法毒品走私的简报,其中涉及美国海关和边境保护局局长Kevin McAleenan。 (国土安全部照片:捷达迪斯科)

到达美国 - 墨西哥边境的许多人已逃离国内的敲诈勒索。 在他们的旅行期间,一些人被墨西哥卡特尔的部分人截获,他们勒索他们以便付款并在索诺兰沙漠中危险地走私他们。

一旦他们到达美国境内的边境巡逻队,许多人就要求在洪都拉斯和危地马拉等中美洲国家受到迫害,要求根据联邦和国际法提供庇护。 许多由儿童陪同的人在一周内通过拘留,并通过非营利组织释放,以便在美国的保荐人留下来,而他们的庇护案件正在审理中。

“我们的移民系统已经到了一个突破点,因为我们继续看到大量的移民涌入,仅在3月就有超过100,000到达我们的边境,”白宫的一份备忘录指的是 备忘录 状态。 “由于美国移民法的漏洞,声称恐惧的移民经常被释放到美国各地的社区,在那里他们经常无限期地存在。”

在2019寻求庇护的许多移民已带着孩子前往边境。 照片来自Jenna Mulligan

在2019寻求庇护的许多移民已带着孩子前往边境。 (照片:Jenna Mulligan)

其他人被送回墨西哥的边境城市,依靠住房系统,因为他们每月与美国的移民法庭进行协商,这是一项在 “留在墨西哥”的政策.

根据白宫的说法,只有大约12%的寻求庇护的移民才能获得庇护。 但随着最近庇护法庭的泛滥,预计案件将在裁决前进行一年或更长时间。

特朗普推动加快庇护加工时间

在最近宣布的大修中,特朗普还强调,在达成最终判决之前,任何案件的处理期限不应超过180天。 目前的延误被认为是特朗普称之为“猖獗滥用”庇护制度的原因。

特朗普向新总检察长威廉巴尔提出挑战,他是国土安全部代理秘书凯文麦卡伦南,以及移民和海关执法部门紧张的边境单位,以制定在90天内实施这些指示的策略。

总统对移民问题的强硬态度是他竞选连任的重点,这对新任命的麦卡莱南施加了压力。 尽管他作为边境巡逻专员的经验以及他与民主党立法者的关系,但许多人质疑他的策略是否足够大胆以获得特朗普总统的批准。 推动前国土安全部部长Kirstjen Nielsen辞职.

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS NATIONAL TRENDING-NATIONAL

Trump Demands Massive Changes to Federal Asylum System

Protesting Trump Immigration Policies at the US Embassy
Protesting Trump Immigration Policies at the US Embassy (Photo: Beatrice Murch)

“Our immigration system has reached a breaking point as we continue to see an overwhelming surge of migrants, with more than 100,000 arriving at our border in March alone.”

In a presidential memorandum signed Monday, Trump proposed dramatic changes to the U.S. asylum system which has recently seen increased use by Central American individuals and families.

The President proposed that asylum seekers should pay a fee to begin their case, with no assurance that the asylum will be granted. He did not specify the amount.

President Trump attends a briefing about illegal immigration and illicit drug smuggling with U.S. Customs and Border Protection Commissioner Kevin McAleenan at CBP’s National Targeting Center in Sterling, Virginia, Feb. 2. DHS photo by Jetta Disco

President Trump attends a briefing about illegal immigration and illicit drug smuggling with U.S. Customs and Border Protection Commissioner Kevin McAleenan at CBP’s National Targeting Center in Sterling, Virginia, Feb. 2. (DHS photo: Jetta Disco)

Many of those who reach the U.S.-Mexico border have fled from monetary extortion at home. During their travels, some are intercepted by portions of the Mexican cartels who extort them for payment and smuggle them dangerously across the Sonoran desert.

Once they reach Border Patrol on U.S. soil, many seek safety from persecution in Central American countries such as Honduras and Guatemala by requesting asylum protection under federal and international law. Many of those accompanied by children pass through detainment in under a week, and are released via nonprofit organizations to stay with sponsors in the U.S. while their asylum cases are pending.

“Our immigration system has reached a breaking point as we continue to see an overwhelming surge of migrants, with more than 100,000 arriving at our border in March alone,” a White House memo referring to the memorandum states. “As a result of loopholes in United States immigration law, migrants claiming fear are often released into communities across the United States, where they often remain indefinitely.”

Many migrants requesting asylum in 2019 have traveled to the border with children. Photo by Jenna Mulligan

Many migrants requesting asylum in 2019 have traveled to the border with children. (Photo: Jenna Mulligan)

Others are sent back to border cities of Mexico to rely on shelter systems as they navigate monthly appointments with immigration courts in the U.S., a strategy enforced under the “Remain in Mexico” policy.

Only about 12 percent of migrants seeking asylum are awarded it, according to the White House. But with recent flooding of the asylum courts, cases are expected to proceed for a year or more before reaching adjudication.

Trump Pushes For Faster Asylum Processing Times

In his recently announced overhaul, Trump also emphasized that the processing period of any case should take no more than 180 days before a final verdict is reached. The current delays are considered causal to what Trump referred to as “rampant abuse” of the asylum system.

Trump challenged his new attorney general William Barr, acting Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security Kevin McAleenan, and the straining border units of Immigration and Customs Enforcement to build the tactics to implement these directions within 90 days.

The president’s hard line on immigration is a central focus of his re-election campaign, which puts pressure on newly appointed McAleenan. Despite his experience as a Border Patrol commissioner and his rapport with Democratic lawmakers, many have questioned if his tactics will be bold enough to receive approval from President Trump, who pushed the former DHS Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen to resign.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.