اكتب للبحث

AMERICAS

زعيم المعارضة الفنزويلية يبدأ الانقلاب ، المواجهات تتحول إلى عنف

نائب الرئيس مايك بينس ، خوان غايدو ، رئيس فنزويلا ، والرئيس إيفان دوك ماركيز ، رئيس كولومبيا ، الاثنين فبراير 25 ، 2019 (صور البيت الأبيض الرسمي ، د. مايلز كولين)
نائب الرئيس مايك بينس ، خوان غايدو ، رئيس فنزويلا ، والرئيس إيفان دوك ماركيز ، رئيس كولومبيا ، الاثنين فبراير 25 ، 2019 (صور البيت الأبيض الرسمي ، د. مايلز كولين)

حث خوان غايدو الجيش على الانضمام إلى "المرحلة النهائية" في كاراكاس صباح يوم الثلاثاء وأعلن "اللحظة قد حان".

بدأ زعيم المعارضة المدعوم من الولايات المتحدة خوان غيادو انتفاضة كاملة ضد الرئيس نيكولاس مادورو يوم الثلاثاء ، وهو تصعيد مفاجئ في الأزمة السياسية في فنزويلا التي يمكن أن تدفع البلاد إلى صراع أهلي عنيف. الاحتجاجات تحدث في جميع دول الأمة 24 ، و على الأقل أصيب أشخاص من 71 في العاصمة الفنزويلية ، كاراكاس.

"لحظة الآن ،" قال Guaidó في فيديو يظهر عليه مصحوبًا بالجنود والناشط ليوبولدو لوبيز ، المحتجز منذ 2014. حث زعيم المعارضة الجيش على الانضمام إلى "المرحلة النهائية" في كاراكاس صباح يوم الثلاثاء ، قائلاً: "من الواضح لنا اليوم أن القوات المسلحة هي مع الشعب وليس مع الديكتاتور".

يعتمد نجاح غيادو على الدعم العسكري ، لكن من غير الواضح حاليًا كم انشق الجيش الفنزويلي عن قضيته. اعتبارا من ظهر الثلاثاء ، يبدو أن مادورو قد حافظ على ولاء معظم مناصب جيشه العليا. براين وينتر ، رئيس تحرير مجلة أميركا الفصلية ، شرح"تقريبا كل الناس الذين أثق بهم في فنزويلا يبدوون متشائمين. يبدو أن جيادو وليوبولدو لم يبدأا اليوم بدعم عسكري رفيع المستوى. "

الشتاء في وقت لاحق تويتد نظرة من الصحفي الفنزويلي لوز ميلي رييس:

"أحد أفضل الصحفيين الفنزويليين الذين ذكروا أن العمل اليوم كان مخططًا له ليوم آخر ، وكان لديهم دعم عسكري قوي - لكنهم اضطروا إلى تقديمه لأن اعتقال غيادو كان وشيكًا ، ثم تراجع الجيش".

الرئيس مادورو تويتد صباح الثلاثاء ، أظهر القادة العسكريون "ولاءً تامًا" ، لكنه لم يظهر بعد منذ إعلان غيادو. تحدث وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبو سي ان انوولف بليتزر ، وادعى أن مادورو كان يحاول الفرار من كاراكاس قبل أن تتوقف من قبل روسيا.

"لقد شاهدنا طوال اليوم ، لقد مر وقت طويل منذ أن شاهد أي شخص مادورو. كان لديه طائرة على مدرج المطار ، وكان مستعدًا للمغادرة هذا الصباح كما نفهمها وأشار الروس إلى أنه يجب أن يبقى ".

وأضاف بومبيو أنه سيرى "تصعيدًا كبيرًا" إذا تم اعتقال جيادو ، وادعى أن الرئيس مادورو كان "متوجهاً إلى هافانا". يوم الثلاثاء ، الرئيس ترامب هدد "حظر كامل وكامل ، إلى جانب أعلى مستوى من العقوبات" على كوبا ما لم توقف البلاد على الفور عملياتها في فنزويلا.

مسؤولون أمريكيون آخرون وأشار بهم دعم غويادو طوال اليوم ، مع إعلان مستشار الأمن القومي للرئيس ترامب جون بولتون أن "جميع الخيارات مطروحة".

ما يحدث في فنزويلا؟

بصفته زعيماً للجمعية الوطنية ، أعلن خوان غايدو نفسه رئيسًا مؤقتًا في يناير ، بحجة أن الانتخابات غير الشرعية التي أجراها الرئيس مادورو منحته سلطة بموجب الدستور الفنزويلي. منذ ذلك الحين ، اعترفت الولايات المتحدة وأكثر من خمسين دولة أخرى بأن جيادو هو القائد الشرعي للبلاد. أدت الأزمة الاقتصادية الحادة التي شهدتها البلاد إلى هجرة جماعية إلى دول مجاورة مثل كولومبيا والبرازيل ، وتسببت العقوبات الأمريكية المتزايدة على النفط الفنزويلي في تفاقم المعاناة المالية للبلاد.

ينظر المؤيد إلى جيادو كمحرّر لدكتاتورية فاسدة ، بينما يرى النقاد أنه يفسد نظامًا ديمقراطيًا ومسألة غير قانونية علاقاته بواشنطن.

دعا الرئيس البرازيلى جير بولسونارو اجتماعا لكبار الوزراء اليوم لمناقشة الوضع. وفقا لأخبار AP ، قال نائب الرئيس البرازيلي هاملتون موراو إن الانتفاضة تميزت نقطة اللا عودة، لأنه "لا يوجد طريقة أخرى للخروج من هذا" بخلاف إقالة مادورو أو زعماء المعارضة جويادو ولوبيز في السجن.

بالنسبة الى فولها دي ساو باولو، تم منح 25 للأفراد العسكريين الفنزويليين حق اللجوء في السفارة البرازيلية في كاراكاس. لجأ الناشط الفنزويلي السابق ليوبولدو لوبيز إلى السفارة الشيلية في كاراكاس مع أسرته مساء الثلاثاء.

سفير فنزويلا لدى الأمم المتحدة صامويل مونكادا ادعى كان "مادورو" قد هزم "جيادو" في وقت متأخر بعد ظهر يوم الثلاثاء ، وانتقد الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريس لدعوته إلى الحوار و "أقصى درجات ضبط النفس" من جميع الأطراف بدلاً من شجب الانتفاضة.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. ستيوارت ديفيز مايو 1، 2019

    أراك يا رفاق تدفعون دعاية الحرب وأكاذيب إمبراطورية الشركات. تبا

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

AMERICAS

Venezuelan Opposition Leader Begins Coup, Clashes Turn Violent

Vice President Mike Pence, Juan Guaido of Venezuela, and President Iván Duque Márquez of Colombia, Monday February 25, 2019 (Official White House Photo by D. Myles Cullen)
Vice President Mike Pence, Juan Guaido of Venezuela, and President Iván Duque Márquez of Colombia, Monday February 25, 2019 (Official White House Photo by D. Myles Cullen)

Juan Guaido urged the military to join the “final phase” in Caracas on Tuesday morning and declared “the moment is now.”

US-supported opposition leader Juan Guiadó initiated a full-fledged uprising against President Nicolás Maduro on Tuesday, a surprise escalation in Venezuela’s political standoff that could drive the country into violent civil conflict. Protests are occurring in all of the nation’s 24 states, and at least 71 people have been injured in Venezuela’s capital, Caracas.

“The moment is now,” Guaidó said in a video showing him accompanied with soldiers and activist Leopoldo Lopez, who has been detained since 2014. The opposition leader urged the military to join the “final phase” in Caracas on Tuesday morning, saying, “today it is clear to us that the Armed Forces are with the people and not with the dictator.”

Guiadó’s success depends upon military support, but it is currently unclear how much of the Venezuelan military has defected to his cause. As of Tuesday afternoon, it appears Maduro has retained the loyalty of most of his military’s higher ups. Brian Winter, the editor-in-chief of America’s Quarterly, explained, “Almost all people I trust on Venezuela sound pessimistic. Guiadó and Leopoldo don’t appear to have begun the day with enough high-level military support.”

Winter later tweeted insight from Venezuelan journalist Luz Mely Reyes:

“One of Venezuela’s best journalists reporting that today’s action was planned for another day, and had strong military support- but they had to bring it forward because Guiado’s arrest was imminent, and then the military backed out.”

President Maduro tweeted Tuesday morning that military leaders had shown “total loyalty,” but he has yet to be seen since Guiadó’s announcement. US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, speaking to CNN‘s Wolf Blitzer, claimed Maduro was trying to flee Caracas before being stopped by Russia.

“We’ve watched throughout the day, it’s been a long time since anyone’s seen Maduro. He had an airplane on the tarmac, he was ready to leave this morning as we understand it and the Russians indicated he should stay.”

Pompeo added he would see it as a “major escalation” if Guiadó was detained, and claimed President Maduro was “headed for Havana.” On Tuesday, President Trump threatened a “full and complete embargo, together with highest level-sanctions” on Cuba unless the country immediately cease its operations in Venezuela.

Other US officials signaled their support for Guiadó throughout the day, with President Trump’s national security advisor John Bolton declaring, “all options are on the table.”

What is Happening in Venezuela?

As the National Assembly leader, Juan Guaidó declared himself interim president in January, arguing President Maduro’s 2018 illegitimate election granted him authority under the Venezuelan constitution. Since then, the United States and over fifty other countries have recognized Guiadó as the country’s rightful leader. The country’s severe economic crisis has led to mass immigration to neighboring countries like Colombia and Brazil, and increased US sanctions on Venezuelan oil have exacerbated the nation’s financial woes.

Supporter view Guiadó as a liberator of a corrupt dictatorship, while critics see him as illegitimately subverting a democratic regime and question his ties to Washington.

Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro called a meeting of top ministers Tuesday to discuss the situation. According to AP News, Brazilian Vice President Hamilton Mourão said the uprising marked the point of no return, as “there is no other way out of this” other than Maduro’s ouster or opposition leaders Guiadó and López ending up in prison.

According to Folha de Sao Paolo, 25 Venezuelan military members have been granted asylum in the Brazilian embassy in Caracas. Formerly detained Venezuelan activist Leopoldo Lopez also sought refuge in the Chilean embassy in Caracas with his family late Tuesday.

Venezuela’s UN ambassador Samuel Moncada claimed Maduro had “defeated” Guiadó late Tuesday afternoon, and criticized UN secretary general Antonio Guterres for calling for dialogue and “maximum restraint” on all sides instead of denouncing the uprising.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Stuart Davies May 1, 2019

    I see you guys are pushing the war propaganda and lies of the corporate empire. Fuck off.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.