输入搜索

亚太

随着贸易战的加剧,特朗普指定中国成为货币操纵国

中华人民共和国主席习近平在会见俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京时说。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)
中华人民共和国主席习近平在会见俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京时说。 (照片:Kremlin.ru)

“经济分析表明,在一个相互联系的世界中,双边贸易战是无法取胜的。 通过解除对中国的最新关税,特朗普进一步加大了对日益破坏性争端的利害关系。 美国可能会成为更大的输家。“

随着中国对特朗普的报复,本周全面爆发的美中贸易战的最新战线令全球市场陷入动荡局面 最近的关税 通过让其货币贬值,此举为中国出口带来了竞争优势。 特朗普指示财政部长史蒂夫·努钦(Steve Mnuchin)正式将中国指定为汇率操纵者。

“通过对外汇市场的长期大规模干预,中国长期以来一直在推动人民币低估,”财政部长史蒂夫·努钦(Steve Mnuchin)在解释这一新名称时写道。 “最近几天,尽管过去积极使用这些工具,但中国已采取具体措施使人民币贬值,同时保持大量外汇储备。”

货币操纵意味着什么?

As Vox的Matt Yglesias 他写道,大多数“现代资本主义经济体根据金融市场交易员的变幻莫测”让其汇率“浮动”。但是,中国共产党对其经济的影响力超过其他主要国家,并且已经在其中使用了它的权力。过去人为地贬低其货币。

“北京试图通过让国家控制的银行部门增加贷款来增加经济,从而增加资金,”解释说 纽约时报的Keith Bradsher。 “这意味着更多的人民币徘徊,削弱了货币的价值。”

货币贬值有助于促进出口,使其为其他国家购买更便宜。 另一方面,它们使进口成本更高,并损害了国内人口的购买力。 大多数经济学家都认为,中国过去削弱了人民币汇率,以帮助建立以出口为导向的制造业,特朗普认为这是一种不公平的优势。

批评者指出其他中国经济政策是掠夺性的,例如它要求外国公司放弃做生意的商业秘密,或故意忽视外国专利和 知识产权法。 但是,虽然左翼和右翼的经济学家都在推动美国对抗中国的滥用,但批评人士认为,特朗普的贸易战是由冲动而非长期战略驱动的,最终将对全球经济产生破坏性影响。

中国掠夺性经济模型中的实际问题

美国展望的罗伯特库特纳 认为中国真正滥用全球市场体系,使该国“在工业界实现统治,对美国造成严重的经济和地缘政治后果”

库特纳 对美国贸易代表罗伯特•莱因希泽(Robert Lighthizer)表示尊重,他认为,他谨慎地将外交和经济杠杆用于中国经济模式的长期系统性变革。

“中国的重商主义制度,以及网络盗窃和窃取商业机密等具体滥用行为,确实为美国的强硬反应而大声疾呼,” Kuttner三月希望Lighthizer的长期游戏能够克服特朗普推动美中贸易政策的冲动。

然而,在最近的关税之后,库特纳认为特朗普的咆哮已经胜出,并认为总统的相对经济成功可能因此而面临风险。

“一些美国制造商现在正在寻找供应链中的中国。 这一转变可能会使越南等其他亚洲国家受益,而不是让美国受益,“写道 库特纳 在星期三。 “中国愿意降低人民币汇率,敢于美国报复,这只是特朗普虚张声势的最新证据。”

白宫可能贬值美元作出回应

爱可信 据报道,白宫可能会因人民币贬值而试图贬值美元。

美元疲软将使美国出口对其他国家的出口更便宜。 它还可以帮助以美元持有高额债务的公司和发展中国家,因为债务会变得更便宜。 然而,它会损害美国人的购买力,并使进口(可能是许多消费品)更加昂贵。

此外,特朗普总统可能难以让欧洲和加拿大的主要盟友与任何有关美元的多边协议合作,因为他一再反对它们。

贸易战在哪里?

Project Syndicate的Daniel Gros 认为贸易战对美国的危害比中国更大。 美国进口的四分之一来自中国,而中国进口的不到十分之一来自美国。 此外,针对中国的关税将使中国商品对美国消费者来说更加昂贵,同时给予欧洲,拉丁美洲和亚洲的其他美国进口商提高价格并仍具有竞争力。

总部位于美国的公司还必须承担从中国解开供应链的成本。

“经济分析表明,双边贸易战在互联世界中无法取胜,”写道 。 特朗普通过解除对中国的最新关税支持,进一步提高了日益破坏性争议的利害关系。 美国可能会成为更大的输家。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 八月8,2019

    与美国不同,中国不公平。 我们懂了。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Trump Designates China A Currency Manipulator As Trade War Intensifies

President of People's Republic of China Xi Jinping at a meeting with Russia President Vladamir Putin. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)
President of People's Republic of China Xi Jinping at a meeting with Russia President Vladamir Putin. (Photo: Kremlin.ru)

“Economic analysis suggests that bilateral trade wars are unwinnable in an interconnected world. By firing his latest tariff salvo against China, Trump has further raised the stakes in an increasingly damaging dispute. And America is likely to emerge as the bigger loser.”

The latest front in the full-blown US-China trade war has thrown global markets into turmoil this week, as China retaliated to Trump’s most recent tariffs by letting its currency fall, a move that gives Chinese exports a competitive advantage. Trump instructed Treasury Secretary Steve Mnuchin to officially designate China as a currency manipulator in response.

“China has a long history of facilitating an undervalued currency through protracted, large-scale intervention in the foreign exchange market,” Treasury Secretary Steve Mnuchin wrote in explaining the new designation. “In recent days, China has taken concrete steps to devalue its currency, while maintaining substantial foreign exchange reserves despite active use of such tools in the past.”

What Does Currency Manipulation Mean?

As Vox’s Matt Yglesias wrote, most “most modern capitalist economies let their exchange rate “float” according to the vagaries of traders in financial markets.” But the Communist Party of China holds stronger influence over its economy than other major countries, and has used its power in the past to artificially cheapen its currency.

“Beijing has tried to prop up the economy by having the state-controlled banking sector increase lending, making money more available,” explains Keith Bradsher of the New York Times. “That means even more renminbi sloshing around, weakening the currency’s value.”

Devaluing a currency helps boost exports, by making them cheaper to buy for other countries. On the flip side, they make imports more expensive and hurt the purchasing power of the domestic population. Most economists agree that China weakened its currency in the past to help build up its export-oriented manufacturing sector, something Trump views as an unfair advantage.

Critics point to other Chinese economic policies as predatory, such as its tendency to require foreign firms to give up their trade secrets to do business, or its willful neglect of foreign patents and intellectual property laws. But while economists on the left and right have both pushed the US to confront China’s abuses, critics argue Trump’s trade war is driven by impulse rather than long-term strategy, and will ultimately be destructive to the global economy.

Real Problems In China’s Predatory Economic Model

Robert Kuttner of the American Prospect argues China genuinely has perpetrated abuses of the global market system that have enabled the country “to achieve domination in industry after industry, with grave economic and geopolitical consequences for the U.S.”

Kuttner holds respect for Robert Lighthizer, the US trade representative, who he believes has the prudence to use diplomacy and economic leverage for long-term systemic change in China’s economic model.

“China’s mercantilist system, as well as specific abuses such as cyber theft and the pilfering of trade secrets, really does cry out for a muscular U.S. response,” wrote Kuttner in March, hoping Lighthizer’s long-game would overcome Trump’s impulses to define US-China trade policy.

After the most recent tariffs, however, Kuttner believes Trump’s bluster has won out, and posits the president’s relative economic success may be at risk as a result.

“Some U.S. manufacturers are now looking past China in their supply chains. That shift will probably benefit other Asian nations such as Vietnam more than it benefits the U.S,” wrote Kuttner on Wednesday. “China’s willingness to reduce the value of its currency, daring the U.S. to retaliate, is only the latest evidence that Trump’s bravado is backfiring.”

White House May Devalue Dollar In Response

Axios reports that the White House may attempt to devalue the dollar in response to the falling Chinese Renminbi.

A weaker dollar would make US exports cheaper to other countries. It would also help firms and developing countries that hold high amounts of debt in dollars, because the debt would become cheaper to pay off. However, it would hurt the purchasing power of Americans and make imports (likely many consumer goods) more expensive.

Furthermore, it might be hard for President Trump to get major allies in Europe and Canada to cooperate with any multilateral deal on the dollar, since he has repeatedly antagonized them.

Where Is The Trade War Going?

Daniel Gros of Project Syndicate argues that the trade war will be more harmful to the United States than China. One fourth of US imports come from China, while less than one tenth of China’s imports come from the US. Furthermore, the China-specific tariffs will make Chinese goods more expensive for American consumers, while giving other US importers in Europe, Latin America, and Asia room to raise their prices and still be competitive.

US-based firms will also have to bear the cost of disentangling their supply chains from China.

“Economic analysis suggests that bilateral trade wars are unwinnable in an interconnected world,” wrote Gros. “By firing his latest tariff salvo against China, Trump has further raised the stakes in an increasingly damaging dispute. And America is likely to emerge as the bigger loser.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 8, 2019

    China, unlike the USA, doesn’t play fair. We get it.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.