اكتب للبحث

البيئة

إدارة ترامب بخير خطة الحفر في القطب الشمالي

الحفر البحري في القطب الشمالي

الحفر البحري في القطب الشمالي لإعادة التشغيل في أواخر 2017.

في حال فاتتك ذلك ، وافقت إدارة ترامب يوم الأربعاء الماضي على أول مشروع حفر في القطب الشمالي منذ ذلك الحين محاولة شل الفاشلة في 2015. حصلت شركة Eni US ، وهي فرع لشركة إيني الإيطالية ، على الموافقة على خطة الحفر البحرية في القطب الشمالي من مكتب إدارة طاقة المحيطات (BOEM).

بالنسبة الى رويترز صرح BOEM ، "نحن نعلم أن هناك موارد هائلة من النفط والغاز تحت بحر بوفورت ، ونتطلع إلى العمل مع إيني في جهودها للاستفادة من هذه الطاقة الكامنة."

تأتي موافقة BOEM بعد شهور من البيت الأبيض أمر تنفيذي "تنفيذ إستراتيجية الطاقة الأمريكية الأولى البحرية" ويظهر تغييراً في السياسة من إدارة أوباما. مثل داخل أخبار المناخ يشير الأمر التنفيذي الصادر عن ترامب إلى جزء من محاولات الإدارة الأمريكية لدرء حظر أوباما على التنقيب الجديد في مياه القطب الشمالي. حظر أوباما لم يحمي المنطقة المستأجرة من قبل ENI لأن عقد إيني ENI ليس بالأمر الجديد. يحظر حظر أوباما أي عقود إيجار جديدة لحقوق الحفر عبر 2022.

من المتوقع أن تبدأ إيني في حفر أربعة آبار استكشافية في ديسمبر من 2017 ، مباشرة قبل انتهاء عقد الإيجار في نهاية 2017. ستبدأ العملية من جزيرة الحصى ، جزيرة التجسس ، وستمتد ستة أميال إلى منطقة تبلغ مساحتها ستة أقدام مياه فيدرالية عميقة.

لا تزال هناك تصاريح ولاية معلقة من إدارة حفظ البيئة والمكتب الفيدرالي للسلامة وإنفاذ البيئة. ومع ذلك، أفادت وكالة رويترز تاريخيا تصاريح الدولة هذه مضاءة الخضراء عموما مرة واحدة BOEM يوافق على خطة.

خاض دعاة حماية البيئة موافقة ENI ووعدوا بمواصلة القيام بذلك. في يونيو ، أرسلت 13 منظمة بيئية ، بما في ذلك Earthjustice و Greenpeace و WWF و Sierra Club ، تعليقات إلى BOEM حول خطة Eni المقترحة. داخل تقارير أخبار المناخ قالت المجموعات إن خطة "إيني" فشلت في تقييم مدى الضرر البيئي الذي يمكن أن يسببه المشروع بشكل كافٍ ، أو احتمال تسرب النفط ، أو كيفية استجابة إيني لانسكاب نفطي كبير.

كريستين مونسيل ، محامية في مركز التنوع البيولوجي ، جادل "من شأن تسرب النفط هنا أن يلحق أضرارا هائلة ، وسيكون من المستحيل تنظيفه. إدارة ترامب تهتم بوضوح فقط باسترضاء شركات النفط ، بغض النظر عن التزاماتها القانونية أو التهديدات التي تتحملها الدببة القطبية أو كوكبنا." يخطط المركز لمواصلة محاربة هجوم إدارات ترامب على الأنظمة البيئية في القطب الشمالي.

إذا كنت تبحث عن أخبار بيئية جيدة اقرأ عن أول مزرعة رياح بحرية في البلاد التي بدأت العملية هذا العام.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
لورين فون بيرنوث

لورين هو أحد مؤسسي منظمة Citizen Truth. تخرجت بشهادة في الاقتصاد السياسي من جامعة تولين. أمضت السنوات التالية في ظهور حقائب الظهر حول العالم وبدء نشاط تجاري أخضر في مجال الصحة والعافية. وجدت طريقها إلى السياسة واكتشفت شغفها بالصحافة المكرسة لإيجاد الحقيقة.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Trump Administration Okays Arctic Offshore Drilling Plan

Arctic Offshore Drilling

Arctic offshore drilling to restart in late 2017.

In case you missed it, last Wednesday the Trump administration approved the nation’s first Arctic drilling project since Shell’s failed attempt in 2015. Eni US, a branch of the Italian Eni, received the approval for the Arctic offshore drilling plan from The Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM).

According to Reuters the BOEM stated, “We know there are vast oil and gas resources under the Beaufort Sea, and we look forward to working with Eni in their efforts to tap into this energy potential.”

The approval by the BOEM comes months after the White House’s executive order “Implementing an America-First Offshore Energy Strategy” and shows a change in policy from the Obama administration. As Inside Climate News reports Trump’s executive order is part of the administration’s attempts to roll back Obama’s ban on new drilling in Arctic waters. Obama’s ban did not protect the area leased by ENI because ENI’s lease is not new. The Obama ban prohibits any new leases for drilling rights through 2022.

Eni is expected to start drilling four exploratory wells in December of 2017, right before their lease expires at the end of 2017. The operation will start from the gravel island, Spy Island, and would extend six miles out into an area of six foot deep federal waters.

A couple of state permits are still pending from the Department of Environmental Conservation and the federal Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement. However, Reuters reported those state permits are historically generally green lighted once the BOEM okays a plan.

Environmentalists fought the ENI approval and promise to continue to do so. In June, thirteen environmental organizations, including Earthjustice, Greenpeace, WWF and the Sierra Club, sent comments to BOEM about Eni’s proposed plan. Inside Climate News reports the groups said that Eni’s plan failed to adequately assess the extent of environmental harm the project could pose, the likelihood of an oil spill, or how Eni would respond to a large oil spill.

Kristen Monsell, an attorney with the Center for Biological Diversity, argued “an oil spill here would do incredible damage, and it’d be impossible to clean up… The Trump administration clearly cares only about appeasing oil companies, no matter its legal obligations or the threats to polar bears or our planet.” Monsell said the Center planned to continue to fight the Trump administrations attack on Arctic ecosystems.

If you’re looking for good environmental news read about the nation’s first offshore wind farm which began operation this year.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.