اكتب للبحث

البيئة

مسؤول داخلي للانضمام إلى شركة نفط في ألاسكا بعد الضغط لتوسيع نطاق الحفر

جو بالاش (يسار) يهنئه السناتور دان سوليفان على تأكيده مساعد وزير الداخلية. (الصورة: يوتيوب)
جو بالاش (يسار) يهنئه السناتور دان سوليفان على تأكيده مساعد وزير الداخلية. (الصورة: يوتيوب)

"طوال الفترة التي قضاها في التصميم الداخلي ، قاد جو بالاش جهودًا لقمع العلوم وتجاهل حقوق السكان الأصليين والبيع في منطقة القطب الشمالي لجلب الحفر بأي ثمن."

يغادر جو بلاش ، المسؤول الأعلى في وزارة الداخلية ، منصبه لدى إدارة ترامب لبدء العمل في شركة نفط أجنبية تنقب على أراضي ولاية ألاسكا. عمل بلاش على عقد مبيعات إيجار لتوسيع إنتاج الوقود الأحفوري في ألاسكا قبل الخطوة الأخيرة للانضمام إلى شركة النفط البحثية الجديدة ومقرها غينيا ، مما أدى إلى مخاوف من الفساد.

سوف يعمل بلاش كنائب أول لرئيس الشركة للشؤون الخارجية لعمليات ألاسكا ، وفقًا لما أورده موقع واشنطن بوست. وهو يدعي أنه التزم بجميع قواعد الأخلاقيات ذات الصلة في عملية الانتقال.

أرسل السناتور توم أودال ، الديمقراطي البارز في اللجنة الفرعية لمخصصات مجلس الشيوخ ، خطابًا إلى مسؤول الأخلاقيات المعين من وزارة الداخلية يوم الأربعاء يطلب فيه أن تقدم الوزارة سجلات لجميع ملفات الأخلاقيات المقدمة من بالاش:

"أود أن يكون لدى الجمهور مصلحة ملحة في معرفة ما إذا كانت الخطوات اللازمة قد اتخذت لمعالجة هذا التضارب المحتمل في المصالح" ، كتب أودال في الرسالة.

شغل بلاش منصب مساعد وزير الداخلية لإدارة الأراضي والمعادن قبل انضمامه إلى شركة أويل سيرش. لقد كان مدافعًا عنيفًا عن حملة إدارة ترامب لـ "هيمنة الطاقة، والتي تضمنت تحركات للحفر في ملجأ القطب الشمالي في محمية النفط الوطنية في ألاسكا.

ووفقا ل التقرير الأخير من الشاهد العالميوالولايات المتحدة في طريقها إلى إنشاء ما يقرب من ثلثي إنتاج الوقود الأحفوري الجديد في العالم على مدى السنوات العشر المقبلة ، في تحد لتحذيرات لا تحصى من العلماء يحثون على الانتقال إلى الطاقة النظيفة لتجنب تغير المناخ الكارثي.

قالت دانييل برايان ، المديرة التنفيذية لمشروع الإشراف الحكومي ، إذا كان تغيير بلاش إلى البحث عن النفط "انتهى به الأمر إلى قانوني ، فهذا تأكيد إضافي لي على أن قوانيننا غير كافية". واشنطن بوست. أشار برايان إلى أن بلاش كان يستخدم منصبه لفتح الأراضي بالقرب من تطوير أويل سيرش ، مما أثار تساؤلات حول عدم الدقة:

"من الصعب أن تثق في أن القرارات التي يتخذها أثناء عمله لصالح دافعي الضرائب لم تتأثر بتطلعاته أو تأمل في الذهاب للعمل في شركة تأثرت فعليًا بعمله".

واشنطن بوست يلاحظ أن الحياة البرية ستتأثر بالقرار ، حيث أن المواقع "تعد موطنا لأعداد كبيرة من الطيور المهاجرة وكذلك الحيوانات البرية والدببة القطبية وغيرها من الحيوانات البرية." تراجعت الحماية على الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض وانتقلت مؤخرا لفتح التنمية في غابة تونغاس المطيرة في ألاسكا، أكبر غابة مطيرة وطنية في الولايات المتحدة.

كانت المنظمات البيئية الأخرى أكثر صراحة مع انتقاداتها لمرور بلاش عبر الباب الدوار.

"تضارب محتمل في المصالح ، والاستفادة من الباب الدوار DC ، والتطلع إلى الحفر على الأراضي العامة الاتحادية؟" تويتر مجموعة الحفاظ على الأراضي العامة مشروع القيم الغربية. "Balash مجرد مثال آخر على الفوضى وسوء الإدارة داخل وزير الخارجية ديفيد بيرنهاردت".

وزير الداخلية ديفيد بيرنهاردت يعتبر عضو واحد الأكثر صراعًا إدارة ترامب بأكملها. تعرض عضو اللوبي السابق في صناعة النفط للتدقيق بسبب اجتماعاته غير الشفافة مع المديرين التنفيذيين للوقود الأحفوري وجماعات الضغط. أجبر سلفه ، ريان زينك ، على التنحي وسط فضائح أخلاقية عديدة.

وبالمثل ، فإن أندرو ويلر ، مدير وكالة حماية البيئة ، هو عضو سابق في جماعات ضغط الفحم ، حيث عمل سلفه سكوت برويت أيضًا مع مصالح الوقود الأحفوري قبل يتعرضون للضغوط للاستقالة وسط فضائح متعددة. برويت الآن استشارة قطب الفحم جوزيف دبليو كرافت الثالث.

يعد مستشار الطاقة السابق بوزارة الداخلية فينسنت ديفيتو مثالاً آخر على الباب الدوار لإدارة ترامب مع شركات الوقود الأحفوري ، بعد انضمامه كوكس النفط البحرية كنائب للرئيس التنفيذي بعد ثلاثة أسابيع فقط من مغادرة الداخلية.

"طوال فترة وجوده في التصميم الداخلي ، قاد جو بالاش جهودًا لقمع العلوم وتجاهل حقوق السكان الأصليين وبيع الأراضي في القطب الشمالي للحفر بأي ثمن" ، قالت لينا موفيت من فريق Sierra Club. وقال في بيان. "الآن ، يسعى بلا خجل للاستفادة من هذا التدمير بينما يدفع الشعب الأمريكي وأراضينا العامة الثمن".

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Interior Official To Join Oil Company In Alaska After Pushing To Expand Drilling

Joe Balash (left) being congratulated by Senator Dan Sullivan on his Confirmation as Assistant Secretary of the Interior. (Photo: YouTube)
Joe Balash (left) being congratulated by Senator Dan Sullivan on his Confirmation as Assistant Secretary of the Interior. (Photo: YouTube)

“Throughout his time at Interior, Joe Balash spearheaded efforts to suppress science, ignore indigenous rights and sell off the Arctic Refuge for drilling at all costs.”

Top Interior Department official Joe Balash is leaving his post with the Trump administration to begin work at a foreign oil company that is drilling on Alaska state lands. Balash worked on holding lease sales to expand fossil fuel production in Alaska before the recent move to join the New Guinea-based Oil Search, leading to concerns of corruption.

Balash will work as the company’s senior vice president for external affairs for Alaska operations, according to the Washington Post. He claims he has abided by all relevant ethics rules in making the transition.

Sen. Tom Udall, the ranking Democrat on the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee, sent a letter to Interior’s designated ethics official Wednesday asking that the department provide records of all ethics filings made by Balash:

“I believe the public has a compelling interest in knowing whether the necessary steps were taken to address this potential conflict of interest,” wrote Udall in the letter.

Balash served as the Interior Department’s assistant secretary for land and minerals management before joining Oil Search. He was a fierce advocate of the Trump administration’s drive for “energy dominance,” which has included moves to drill in Alaska’s Arctic Refuge and National Petroleum Reserve.

According to a recent report from Global Witness, the U.S. is on track to create nearly two-thirds of the world’s new fossil fuel production over the next ten years, in defiance of countless warnings from scientists urging the transition to clean energy to avert catastrophic climate change.

If Balash’s change to Oil Search “ends up being legal, it’s further confirmation to me that our laws are simply inadequate,” Danielle Brian, executive director of the Project on Government Oversight, told the Washington Post. Brian noted that Balash had been using his position to open land near Oil Search’s development, raising questions of impropriety:

“It is hard to have confidence that decisions he was making while he was working for the taxpayers were not impacted by his aspirations or hopes to go work for a company that was materially affected by his work.”

The Post notes wildlife would be affected by the decision, as the sites “are home to large numbers of migratory birds as well as caribou, polar bears and other wildlife.” The Trump administration has rolled back protections on endangered species and recently moved to open development in Alaska’s Tongass rainforest, the largest national rainforest in the United States.

Other Environmental organizations were more blunt with their criticisms of Balash’s passage through the revolving door.

“Potential conflicts of interest, utilizing the D.C. revolving door, and looking to drill on federal public lands?” tweeted public land conservation group the Western Values Project. “Balash is just another example of the mess and mismanagement within Secretary David Bernhardt’s Interior.”

Interior Secretary David Bernhardt is regarded as the single most conflicted member of the entire Trump administration. The former oil industry lobbyist has come under scrutiny for his non-transparent meetings with fossil fuel executives and lobbyists. His predecessor, Ryan Zinke, was forced to step down amid numerous ethics scandals.

Similarly, Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Andrew Wheeler is a former coal lobbyist, whose predecessor Scott Pruitt also worked with fossil fuel interests before being pressured to resign amid multiple scandals. Pruitt is now consulting for coal magnate Joseph W. Craft III.

Former Interior Department energy counselor Vincent DeVito is another example of the Trump administration’s revolving door with fossil fuel companies, having joined Cox Oil Offshore as its executive Vice President only three weeks after departing the Interior.

“Throughout his time at Interior, Joe Balash spearheaded efforts to suppress science, ignore indigenous rights and sell off the Arctic Refuge for drilling at all costs,” the Sierra Club’s Lena Moffitt said in a statement. “Now, he’s shamelessly seeking to profit from this destruction while the American people and our public lands pay the price.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.