输入搜索

美洲 国家

特朗普希望为边境提供10亿美元的紧急资金,但不是为了他的墙

唐纳德·J·特朗普总统讲述了非法移民危机,并提供了边境安全的最新情况。 十一月1,2018在白宫的罗斯福厅。
唐纳德·J·特朗普总统讲述了非法移民危机,并提供了边境安全的最新情况。 十一月1,2018在白宫的罗斯福厅。 (照片:Joyce N. Boghosian官方白宫照片)

血液检测寻求庇护者的做法将阻止虚假的家庭庇护案件,或特朗普政府希望如此。

特朗普政府将对在美墨边境申请庇护的家庭进行DNA测试,并要求数十亿美元的联邦资金支持该地区的儿童保护工作。

美国国土安全部(DHS)官员告诉记者 华盛顿考官 星期三晚上DNA检测最早将于下周开始。 目标是确定并起诉任何将未成年人带到边境而不是他们孩子的成年人。

还有周三,白宫 要求提供4.5十亿美元的紧急资金 来自国会。 超过一半的人会去18年龄的移民管理,照顾和重新安置,他们无人陪伴地进入美国。

这一要求发布在官员宣布在德克萨斯州布朗斯维尔的一个无人陪伴的移民避难所中,一名16岁的危地马拉人去世的同一天。

打击贩运中美洲儿童的努力

血液检测寻求庇护者的做法将阻止虚假的家庭庇护案件,或特朗普政府希望如此。 它还将打击因儿童旅行的寻求庇护者优先考虑的贩运儿童的机会。

通过他们可靠的恐惧访谈并在美国列出赞助商的家庭通常会在三到五天内从移民保管处获释。 他们在没有执行移民保护协议的空间中提前释放是由于在今年春天边境涌入期间过度拥挤的移民拘留中心造成的。

边境避难所儿童玩具

亚利桑那州图森的Casa Alitas家庭移民收容所的儿童玩具。 (摄影:Jenna Mulligan)

因此,许多人担心移民会要求远方的家庭成员或无关的未成年人作为他们的孩子,以便在边境巡逻人员最初的逮捕期间获得更快的处理和更少的拘留时间。 国土安全部官员将开始对声称相关的羁押者进行快速DNA测试,仅在90分钟内产生结果。

ICE报道自4月29以来已经验证了18假家庭。 到目前为止,他们已经使用书面陈述和出生证明来核实关系,但非法出示虚假出生证明会使该策略无效。

边境援助需要数十亿美元

特朗普总统提议 本周对移民庇护程序进行了一系列改革,强调他的移民抵抗立场将是他竞选连任的核心要素。

在访问墨西哥/墨西哥的墨西哥边境后,总统表示,美国的庇护计划正在经历“猖獗的滥用”和“接近其突破点”。

最值得注意的是,特朗普希望将每个庇护案件的判决时间大幅缩短至180天或更短时间。 为此,政府将需要更多的移民法官,检察官和法院,其唯一的焦点是来自美国南部边境的庇护人员。

但代理国土安全部部长凯文麦卡伦南周二表示,该部门在今年四月到来之后匆匆赶来赚钱。 McAleenan和总检察长William Barr提供了一个计划来实现这种提高的处理速度,不到90天。

特朗普于周三(5月4.5)向国会提出数十亿美元的资金,要求立法者提出这些改革,以资助边境的内部和人道主义工作。 没有任何紧急资金将用于边界墙。 $ 1bn预留用于边境巡逻和ICE的运营成本,包括跨境人口走私的调查工作。

白宫 报告 边境巡逻部门受到挑战,要求找到ICE拘留中心以转移他们所理解的人。 相反,他们“越来越多地被迫为这些人口提供关键的人道主义,医疗和运输服务。”

有几次,边境巡逻人员将带着小孩的家庭送到灰狗巴士站的停车场,并鼓励他们找到一个可以过夜的庇护所或教堂。

4月15,在边境巡逻队人员逮捕并记录了寻求庇护的家庭后,14人员被送往图森的一个灰狗站。 (摄影:Jenna Mulligan)

其他资金拨款

另外10亿美元的请求被分配给美国健康与人类服务(HHS)难民重新安置办公室。 目前,该办事处有能力接收未经父母或监护人到达美国海关官员的2.8未成年人。 这些儿童被安置在设施中,旨在提供比成人拘留中心更安全,更轻松的氛围。

根据白宫的说法,无人陪伴的外国儿童(UAC)计划将在6月份耗尽其资源。 副总统迈克尔彭斯发表声明,其中包括“家庭和UAC的历史性涌入正在挑战联邦政府庇护,关心和保护我们遇到的人的能力,并提出儿童福利问题,超越那些脆弱的人的危险旅程移民承诺到达我们的南部边境。“

HHS范围内的一个设施是位于德克萨斯州布朗斯维尔的Casa Padre,上周有一名危地马拉少年患病。 16一岁,名字未公开,从Casa Padre转移到Corpus Christi医院,在那里他接受了紧急手术,后来死亡。

HHS尚未公布细节,但危地马拉领事馆宣布该病与额叶脑部感染有关。 这个男孩来自东南部的Chiquimula州,和他的兄弟一起旅行,他也是未成年人。

领事馆的官员正在努力将男孩的遗体转移到他的原籍国。 这是HHS庇护所中儿童的首次死亡。

根据提议的资金,该计划可以扩大其在卡萨帕德雷(Shel Padre)等避难所中的23,600个人的能力,这是前沃尔玛建筑群的改建空间。 大多数未成年人目前在重新安置之前平均有两个月的监禁权。

国会批准的资金将为2019结束时的床位数确保资源。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 吉姆福克斯 4-2019-XNUMX

    让我们看看,我们在南美洲和墨西哥的北三角有民主党/社会主义/活动家/律师; 即使在你读到这一点时,也会指示人们获得美国最高的“利益”和法律......“可信的恐惧。”然后你有一个民主党议员说危机被“制造”,因为每天都有数千人袭击我们的边境? 国家主权是民主党人的神话。 这场危机是由民主党人自己制造的。 毫无疑问,民主党人希望这种情况发生并且永远不会停止。他们将持有支持,允许尽可能多的非法外国人在协助边境安全之前进入该国(如果有的话)。 民主党人提供奖励,奖励......以及更多的大篷车。

    目前在我们边境的移民造成了美国纳税人的国王赎金。 逃离迫害? 或逃离免费赠品? 当墨西哥达到“安全”或询问或提供政治庇护时,他们肯定不会留在墨西哥。 为什么? 因为墨西哥会给他们什么。 因此,他们将长途跋涉到我们的边境,慷慨的民主党人以及我们的税收资金。 请注意有多少人在怀孕期间为我们的国家8-9做了漫长,艰难,危险的旅程? 在美国土地上生育,美国纳税人不仅会支付你孩子的生育费用,还会给你州政府的帮助。

    对于民主党人/进步人士/社会主义者(有什么不同?),临时保护状态(TPS)或儿童到达延期行动(DACA)等计划是永久性计划。 这些计划对民主党人来说没有任何“暂时的或推迟的”。 这些计划旨在接纳难民(通常来自第三世界),然后民主党人通过种族主义,宗教和对任何反对者的罪恶指控永久地将他们留在这里。 简单的配方效果很好。

    回复
  2. KC 4-2019-XNUMX

    民主党2020平台和目标:

    *开放边界。
    - 庇护所城市。
    - 消除ICE
    - 诋毁美国人。
    -Infanticide。
    - 非法外国人的投票权。
    - 与激进的自由主义法官一起组建法院(如9th电路)
    - 增加难民与第三世界的关系。
    - 非法外国人允许担任公职。
    -社会主义。
    - 所有人免费堕胎(纳税人资助)
    - 绿色新政。
    - 选举团结束
    - 包括非公民在内的所有人的免费医疗保险(纳税人资助)
    - 提高最低工资
    - 有青少年投票
    - !00%所有人免费大学,包括非公民。 (纳税人资助)
    - 每个种族的补救措施都被白人“伤害”了。
    -Convicts,恐怖分子投票。
    -Susie和Bobby使用相同的洗手间。
    - 晚期堕胎
    - 即使他们选择不工作,也要检查美国的每个人。

    消息来源:直接来自民主党人的口。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AMERICAS NATIONAL

Trump Wants $4.5 Billion in Emergency Funding for the Border, But Not for His Wall

President Donald J. Trump addresses the illegal immigration crisis and gives an update on border security. November 1, 2018 in the Roosevelt Room at the White House.
President Donald J. Trump addresses the illegal immigration crisis and gives an update on border security. November 1, 2018 in the Roosevelt Room at the White House. (Photo: Official White House Photo by Joyce N. Boghosian)

The practice of blood testing asylum seekers will deter false family asylum cases, or so the Trump administration hopes.

The Trump administration will phase in DNA testing of families applying for asylum at the U.S.-Mexico border and has requested billions in federal funding to support child-protection efforts in the region.

A Department of Homeland Security (DHS) official told the Washington Examiner Wednesday evening that DNA testing would begin as early as next week. The goal is to identify and prosecute any adults bringing minors across the border who are not their children.

Also Wednesday, the White House requested $4.5 billion in emergency funding from Congress. More than half would go to the management, care and resettlement of migrants under age 18, who’ve crossed unaccompanied into the United States. 

This request comes on the same day that officials announced the death of a 16-year-old Guatemalan in the custody of an unaccompanied migrant shelter in Brownsville, Texas.

Efforts to Deter Trafficking Central American Children

The practice of blood testing asylum seekers will deter false family asylum cases, or so the Trump administration hopes. It will also combat the child trafficking opportunity that arises from the priority given to asylum seekers traveling with children. 

Families who pass their credible fear interview and have listed a sponsor in the U.S. are often released from immigration custody within three to five days. Their early release in spaces where the Migrant Protection Protocols aren’t enforced is the result of overcrowded immigration detention centers during this spring’s border influx.

Border shelter child toys

Toys for children at the Casa Alitas family migrant shelter in Tucson, Arizona. (Photo by Jenna Mulligan)

As a result, many worry that migrants will claim distant family members or unrelated minors as their children, in order to receive quicker processing and less time in detention during their initial apprehensions by Border Patrol agents. DHS officers will begin to enforce rapid DNA tests on those in custody who claim to be related, producing results in just 90 minutes.

ICE reported it had verified 29 fake families since April 18. Until now, they’ve used written statements and birth certificates to verify relation, but the illegal production of false birth certificates invalidates that strategy.

Billions Needed in Border Assistance

President Trump has proposed a number of reforms to the migrant asylum process this week, highlighting that his immigration resistance stance will be a core element of his re-election campaign. 

After a visit to the U.S.-Mexico border at Mexicali/Calexico, the president stated that the U.S. asylum program was experiencing “rampant abuse” and “nearing its breaking point.”

Most remarkably, Trump hopes to drastically shorten the time spent to reach a verdict on each asylum case to just 180 days or less. To do so, the administration will require further immigration judges, prosecutors and courts with the sole focus of asylum arrivals from the southern U.S. border. 

But acting DHS Secretary Kevin McAleenan said Tuesday that the department is running out of money after arrivals spiked this April. McAleenan and Attorney General William Barr have less than 90 days to provide a plan to implement this increased processing speed.

Trump brought these reforms in front of lawmakers by requesting $4.5 billion from Congress on Wednesday, May 1,  to fund internal and humanitarian efforts at the border. None of the emergency funding will be used on the border wall. $1.1 billion is reserved for operational costs of Border Patrol and ICE, including investigative work into cross-border human smuggling.

The White House reports that Border Patrol sectors have been challenged to find ICE detention centers to transfer those they apprehend. Instead, they are “increasingly pressed into providing critical humanitarian, medical and transportation services for this population.”

On several occasions Border Patrol agents have dropped families with young children in the parking lot of a Greyhound bus station and encouraged them to find a shelter or church in which to spend the night.

On April 15, 14 people were dropped at a Greyhound station in Tucson after Border Patrol officers apprehended and documented the asylum-seeking families. (Photo by Jenna Mulligan)

Other Funding Allocations

Another $2.8 billion of the request is allocated to the U.S. Health and Human Services (HHS) Office of Refugee Resettlement. Currently, this office has capacity for about 13,000 minors who reach U.S. Customs Officers without a parent or guardian. These children are kept in facilities meant to provide a safe, more relaxed atmosphere than adult detention centers.

According to the White House, the program Unaccompanied Alien Children (UAC) will exhaust its resources by June. Vice President Michael Pence issued a statement, which included, “The historic influx of families and UAC is challenging the capacity of the Federal Government to shelter, care for and protect those we encounter, and presents child welfare concerns beyond the treacherous journey that those vulnerable migrants undertake to reach our southern border.”

One facility under the HHS scope is Casa Padre in Brownsville, Texas, where one Guatemalan teenager fell ill last week. The 16-year-old, name undisclosed, was transferred from Casa Padre to the Corpus Christi hospital, where he underwent emergency surgery and later died.

HHS has not released details, but the Guatemalan consulate announced that the illness was related to a brain infection in the frontal lobe. The boy was from the southeastern state of Chiquimula and was traveling with his brother, also a minor.

Officials from the consulate are now working to transfer the boy’s body to his country of origin. This is the first death of a child in HHS shelter custody. 

Under the funding proposed, this program could expand its capacity to 23,600 individuals, held in shelters such as Casa Padre, which is the converted space of a former Walmart complex. Most minors currently spend an average of two months in custody before they can be resettled.

Congressional approval of the funding would secure resources for this bed count through the end of 2019.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Jim Fox May 4, 2019

    Lets see, we have Democrat / Socialist / Activist / Lawyers in the Northern Triangle of South America & Mexico; even as you read this instructing the populations the “benefits” & laws of coming top the USA…..”credible fear.” Then you have a Democrat House saying the crisis is “manufactured” as literally thousands attack our border daily? National Sovereignty is a myth to Democrats. The crisis is manufactured…by the Democrats themselves. Make no mistake about this, Democrats want this to happen and never stop.. They will with hold support allowing as many illegal aliens to enter the country before assisting in border security (if ever). Democrats offer rewards, incentives so…..More caravans on the way.

    The current migration at our border is costing U.S taxpayers a Kings ransom. Fleeing persecution? or fleeing for freebies? they sure don’t stay in Mexico when they reach “safety” or ask or offered political asylum in Mexico. Why? because Mexico will give them NOTHING. So they make the long journey to our border, our generous Democrats, and our tax dollars. Notice how many have made the long, difficult, dangerous journey to our country 8-9 months pregnant? Give birth on American soil and the U.S. taxpayers will not only pay for the birth of you’re child but will also give you state government assistance.

    To Democrats/Progressives/Socialists (whats the difference?) programs like Temporary Protective Status (TPS) or Deferred Action for Childhood arrivals (DACA) are permanent programs. There is nothing “temporary or deferred” about these programs to Democrats. These programs are designed to admit refugees (usually from the third world) then Democrats fight to keep them here permanently using the charge of racism, religion, guilt against anyone opposed. Simple formula works great.

    Reply
  2. KC May 4, 2019

    Democrat 2020 Platform & Goals:

    *Open Borders.
    -Sanctuary Cities.
    -Elimination of ICE
    -Disarming Americans.
    -Infanticide.
    -Voting rights for illegal aliens.
    -Pack the courts with radical liberal judges (Like the 9th circuit)
    -Increase refugee’s from the third world.
    -Illegal aliens allowed to hold public office.
    -Socialism.
    -Free Abortions for all (Taxpayer funded)
    -The green new deal.
    -End of Electoral College
    -Free Medicare care for all including non citizens (taxpayer funded)
    -Raise Minimum Wage
    -Have adolescents vote
    -!00% free college for all, including non citizens. (tax payer funded)
    -Reparations for every race “harmed” by the white man.
    -Convicts, Terrorists voting.
    -Susie & Bobby using the same restrooms.
    -Late term abortions.
    -Pay check for every person in the US even if they choose not to work.

    Sources: Straight from the Democrat’s mouths.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.